DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03 March 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2025/0074059 – hereinafter Park.)
Regarding claim 1,
Park discloses an inkjet recording apparatus [100 in fig. 1], comprising:
a recording head [100 in fig. 1] that includes an ink ejection surface having openings of nozzles [110 in fig. 2] for ejecting ink onto a recording medium [paragraph 0038];
a cap [210 in figs. 1-2] that is attachable to and detachable from the ink ejection surface and caps the ink ejection surface [paragraphs 0052-0053 and 0056-0057];
a cleaning liquid supply portion [400 in figs. 4A-4B] that supplies a cleaning liquid [‘CL’ in fig. 2] to a closed space between the ink ejection surface and the cap [as seen in figs. 1-2; paragraphs 0062, 0065, 0070 and 0079];
a supply port [211 in fig. 2] that is provided in the cap so that the cleaning liquid flows therethrough into an inside of the cap [paragraphs 0070 and 0097]; and
a liquid level adjusting portion [part of controller 610 in figs. 8A-8B] that adjusts a liquid level of the cleaning liquid in the closed space so that a liquid surface of the cleaning liquid stored in the closed space contacts the ink ejection surface and so that the cleaning liquid is prevented from leaking out of the closed space [paragraphs 0065 and 0138-0153; as seen in figs. 8A-8B.]
Regarding claim 2,
Park further discloses wherein the liquid level adjusting portion has an overflow port [path through which the liquid overflowing from cap 210 enters tray 230 in fig. 9] that is arranged above a height level of the ink ejection surface in the cap [implicit from figs. 2 (which shows positioning of the head when attached to the cap) and 9] and through which the cleaning liquid in the closed space overflows [paragraphs 0156-0160.]
Regarding claim 3,
Park further discloses the inkjet recording apparatus further comprising:
a supply pump [410 in figs. 4A-4B and 6] that is provided in the cleaning liquid supply portion and delivers the cleaning liquid toward the closed space [paragraph 0081];
a control portion [610 in figs. 8A-8B] that controls an operation of the supply pump [paragraph 0084],
wherein
the liquid level adjusting portion [500 (which includes electrodes 510/520) in figs. 8A-8B] includes a liquid level sensor that senses the liquid level of the cleaning liquid in the closed space [paragraphs 0082 and 0142-153], and
based on a sensed value obtained by the liquid level sensor, the control portion controls the supply pump so that the liquid surface of the cleaning liquid contacts the ink ejection surface [paragraphs 0082-0086.]
Regarding claim 4,
Park further discloses wherein the liquid level sensor is provided at the cap [as seen in figs. 8A-8B.]
Regarding claim 5,
Park further discloses wherein the liquid level sensor is provided at the recording head [paragraph 0083.]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wanibe (JP 2017-128010) discloses an inkjet recording apparatus [1 in fig. 1], comprising:
a recording head [6 in fig. 1] that includes an ink ejection surface having openings of nozzles for ejecting ink onto a recording medium [paragraph 0024]; a cap [7 in fig. 1] that is attachable to and detachable from the ink ejection surface and caps the ink ejection surface [paragraph 0025]; a cleaning liquid supply portion [3 in fig. 1] that supplies a cleaning liquid to a closed space between the ink ejection surface and the cap [paragraphs 0025-0026]; a supply port [15 in fig. 1] that is provided in the cap so that the cleaning liquid flows therethrough into an inside of the cap [paragraphs 0025-0026]; and a liquid level adjusting portion that adjusts a liquid level of the cleaning liquid in the closed space so that a liquid surface of the cleaning liquid stored in the closed space contacts the ink ejection surface and so that the cleaning liquid is prevented from leaking out of the closed space [paragraphs 0025 and 0050.]
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853