Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrand (US Patent 5,023,967) in view of Poulos (US PG-Pub 2006/0059621).
Regarding Claim 1, Ferrand discloses a patient support tilt bed (100), comprising: a base frame (104); a patient support assembly (106) connected to the base frame, the patient support assembly having a separate moveable head section (164) and foot section (164) (see Fig. 14), wherein the head section is adjacent a head of the bed, the foot section is adjacent a foot end of the bed (see Fig. 3); the patient support assembly being rotatable to place the patient support assembly in a tilted position with the entire patient support assembly generally in-line in an orientation greater than 30 degrees (see Fig. 15). Ferrand fails to disclose a weighing system, the weighing system includes a load cell, the load cell does not contact a floor for the bed. Poulos teaches disclose a weighing system (34), the weighing system includes a load cell (36), the load cell does not contact a floor for the bed (see Fig. 6). Ferrand and Poulos are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. patient supports. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the tilt bed of Ferrand with the weight system of Poulos. The motivation would have been to measure the weight of a patient and determine if a patient is losing or gaining weight.
Regarding Claim 2, Ferrand discloses a release (see control related to hydraulic pump 633 in Fig. 74) to allow the patient support assembly to move from the tilted position to a generally horizontal position.
Regarding Claim 3, Ferrand discloses a plurality of casters (122) and a locking system (124) that stabilizes the bed prior to the patient support assembly being rotated into the tilted position (see Col. 12, Lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 4, Ferrand discloses wherein the locking system is in a lock mode before allowing the patient support assembly to go into the tilted position (see Col. 12, Lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 7, Ferrand discloses a caster (122), the caster is in contact with the floor when the patient support assembly is in the tilted position (see Col. 12, Lines 6-14).
Regarding Claim 8, Ferrand discloses plurality of siderails (220).
Regarding Claim 9, Ferrand discloses wherein the plurality of siderails has a first position and a second position (see Fig. 18).
Regarding Claim 10, Ferrand discloses a tilt frame (108) connected to the patient support assembly, the tilt frame being rotatable to place the patient support assembly in the tilted position.
Regarding Claim 11, Ferrand discloses wherein the tilt frame comprises a rigid longitudinal frame member to support the patient support assembly (see Fig. 3, including at least support plates 146).
Regarding Claim 12, Ferrand discloses wherein a tilt actuator (128, 134, and 144) rotates the patient support assembly (see Fig. 15).
Regarding Claim 13, Ferrand discloses wherein the tilt frame is hingedly connected to the base frame (at u-joint 156 about axis 126, see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Ferrand discloses an intermediate frame assembly (108) connected to the base frame, wherein one or more actuators raise and lower each end of the intermediate assembly (see Fig. 15).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-53 of U.S. Patent No. 11,116,684. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application do not contain structure that signifies a patentable difference of the claims of the patent. The patent (see at least claims 37 and 48-50) describes the tilt bed as having a similar weighing system as that of the instant application’s claim 1 while also providing all of the structure required of instant application’s claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 5 and 6 require subject matter previously determined as allowable in parent application 17/496,525 (see Claims 21 and 22 as filed 12/20/2023 and subsequent Non-Final Rejection mailed 04/04/2024). Ferrand as modified fails to teach “wherein the locking system includes a brake lock function, when the patient support assembly is in the tilted position, the locking system prevents the brake lock function from becoming disengaged until the patient support assembly is rotated back to a generally horizontal position” or “wherein the locking system includes a first brake pedal, a second brake pedal, the first and second brake pedals are connected to the locking system, the first and second brake pedals independently control the locking system.” The locking system of Ferrand is merely adjustable legs 124 that are movable up and down so that the casters 122 can disengage or engage the floor, respectively. There is no prevention of the locking system from becoming disengaged or pedals connected to the locking system that independently control the locking system.
Conclusion
/ERIC J KURILLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619