DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, information disclosure statements (IDS) have been filed on 03/03/2025 and on 7/17/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 is indefinite because it is unclear how many bases are being claimed, in other words, it is unclear whether the base recited in claim 13 is referring to the base recited in claim 1 or to some other element because they are given the same designation “a base”.
Claim 14 is rejected based on its dependency on claim 13.
Appropriate correction/explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gary (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20050048226 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gary teaches an artificial Christmas tree, comprising:
a plurality of frame sections (20) configured to be assembled to form a tree frame, the tree frame having an outer frame portion (22) configured to support artificial tree features;
a base (12) configured to support at least a portion of the artificial Christmas tree on a surface;
an elongated support (14 and/or 16) having a proximal end coupled to the base and an opposite distal end spaced longitudinally apart from the proximal end, a length of the support being commensurate with a height of the tree frame; and
means (56, 140) for moving the support between respective prone and erect positions.
Regarding claim 2, Gary teaches the frame sections (20) are configured to circumscribe the support (14 and/or 16) and are moveable relative to the support in the longitudinal direction along the length of the support.
Regarding claim 4, Gary teaches each respective frame section (20) includes at least two annular sector portions (22, 24) that are coupled together to circumscribe the support.
Regarding claim 15, Gary teaches an artificial Christmas tree, comprising:
a base (12);
a mounting post (16) coupled to the base and moveable between a prone position and an erect position;
an elongated support (14) having a proximal end and an opposite distal end, in which the proximal end of the support is configured to couple to the mounting post to so the support is moveable with the mounting post between respective prone and erect positions; and
a plurality of frame sections (20) configured to be assembled to form a tree frame, the tree frame having an outer frame portion (22) configured to support artificial tree features, and at least some of the frame sections are configured to circumscribe the support.
Regarding claim 20, Gary teaches each respective frame section includes at least two annular sector portions (22, 24) that are coupled together to circumscribe the support.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 9-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gary (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20050048226 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Gary teaches a mounting post (114) coupled to the base and moveable between respective prone and erect positions in which the mounting post is configured to couple to the proximal end of the support so the support is moveable with the mounting post between the respective prone and erect positions [capable]. Gary teaches various embodiments; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the base and mounting post configuration disclosed in Figs. 4-8 with the frame sections of Fig. 1. The motivation would have been to automate the embodiment disclosed in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 6, Gary as modified teaches the means (56, 140) for moving the support comprises: a hoist (140) coupled to the base and configured to move the support between the respective prone and erect positions.
Regarding claim 9, Gary as modified teaches a hoist (140, 142) coupled to at least one of the base (112) and the support (114), wherein the hoist comprises at least one flexible elongated member (126, 128) coupled to a given frame section, and the hoist is configured to vary a length of the flexible elongated member to move at least the given frame section in the longitudinal direction relative to the support.
Regarding claim 10, Gary as modified teaches the distal end of the support (114) is above the base in the erect position, wherein the length of the flexible elongated member (126, 128) extends from the distal end of the support to couple to the given frame section, and the given frame section is moveable in the longitudinal direction along the support.
Regarding claim 16, Gary as modified teaches a hoist (140, 142) coupled to at least one of the mounting post and the support, in which the hoist is configured to move the support and mounting post between respective prone and erect positions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 8, 11, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631