DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-19 are pending in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 12, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,272,436. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application and patent claim a computer system for: receiving patient data from one or more medical devices; storing the patient data on a centralised patient data database; receiving a request from a third-party to access the patient data; verifying that the request access information corresponds to one or more of the plurality of separate instances of patient knowledge; and granting the third-party access to the patient data stored on the centralised patient data database in response to the request access information corresponding to one or more of the plurality of separate instances of patient knowledge.
The patent further claims keying the patient data against a plurality of separate instances of patient knowledge associated with a patient such that any one of the plurality of separate instances of patient knowledge can be utilized to gain access to the patient data, the request comprising request access information based on one or more identification items associated with the patient. The instant application claims comparing and providing, while the patent used verifying and granting. The end results are similar and would have been obvious in order to guarantee the proper patient data was obtained and provided to an authorized third party requestor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dhoble (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0119290).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Dhoble teaches a system for providing access to centralised patient data captured from one or more medical devices across an open network to a third party comprising: a computer system for: receiving patient data from the one or more medical devices (paragraph 0034); storing the patient data on a centralised patient data database (paragraph 0036); receiving a request from the third party to access the centralised patient data database, the request comprising request access information, the request access information being associated with an access level (paragraph 0049 and 0086); comparing the request access information with stored access information in an access information database (paragraph 0057); and providing the third party access to a set of the patient data corresponding to the access level in response to the request access information corresponding to the stored access information in the access information database (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 3, Dhoble teaches wherein the patient data is associated with the stored access information (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 4, Dhoble teaches wherein the stored access information is related to the respective medical device the patient data is received from (paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 5, Dhoble teaches wherein the patient data is associated with multiple different instances of stored access information (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 6, Dhoble teaches wherein the set of the patient data corresponding to the access level comprises the patient data associated with stored access information that corresponds to the request access information (paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 7, Dhoble teaches wherein the third party is associated with a security level (paragraph 0083).
Regarding claim 8, Dhoble teaches wherein a full trust security level further requires the third party to provide a unique key (paragraph 0125).
Regarding claim 9, Dhoble teaches wherein the unique key comprises an API key used for authentication (paragraph 0120).
Regarding claim 10, Dhoble teaches wherein the full trust security level provides the third party access to the patient data received from any of the one or more medical devices (paragraph 0102).
Regarding claim 11, Dhoble teaches wherein a partial trust security level further requires the third party to provide a physical key (paragraph 0111).
Regarding claim 12, Dhoble teaches wherein the partial trust security level provides the third party access to the patient data received from the one or more medical devices associated with the physical key (paragraph 0111).
Regarding claim 13, Dhoble teaches wherein the patient data is received via any one or more of the following modes: GSM transmission; mobile and/or telephone transmission; VOIP transmission; modem transmission; wifi transmission; ethernet transmission; website data upload; and wireless protocol transmission (paragraph 0107).
Regarding claim 14, Dhoble teaches wherein the patient data is received via a removable memory device configured to be used with a kiosk, the kiosk configured to communicate with the computer system (paragraph 0096).
Regarding claim 15, Dhoble teaches wherein providing the third party access to the set of the patient data comprises the computer system providing a copy of the set of the patient data to the third party (paragraph 0109).
Regarding claim 16, Dhoble teaches wherein the stored access information is hashed (paragraph 0125).
Regarding claim 17, Dhoble teaches wherein the request access information is hashed (paragraph 0125).
Regarding claim 18, Dhoble teaches wherein the access level associated with the request access information is based on identification information related to one or more patients (paragraph 0048).
/BRANDON HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433