DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-10 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-10 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 04/02/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is indefinite because in light of the disclosure, it is unclear what scope the recitation “V-shaped course” intends to entail.
Appropriate correction/explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yomogita (U.S. Pat. No. 9989761 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Yomogita teaches a screen adjustment device for a motor vehicle, the screen adjustment device comprising:
a screen and/or a screen support (2) for supporting the screen adapted to be reversibly moved between a parking position and at least one operating position (Figs. 1A-1C);
at least one electromotive drive unit (5) to generate an actuating force which causes the screen and/or screen support to be adjusted; and
a positioning mechanism (4) for guiding the screen and/or screen support between the parking position and the at least one operating position as well as for transmitting the actuating force,
wherein the positioning mechanism has at least one spindle drive (4j) with a threaded spindle (5n) and with a spindle nut (4n) arranged on it, and
wherein the spindle drive is coupled with the screen and/or with the screen support and with the drive unit.
Regarding claim 2, Yomogita the drive unit (5) is coupled to the spindle nut (4n) and the threaded spindle (5n) to the screen and/or to the screen support (2).
Regarding claim 4, Yomogita teaches the positioning mechanism has a longitudinal adjustment unit (s2) with a bracket (6 and/or 3 and/or Y1 see annotated figure below) and with at least one motor cage (Y2 see annotated figure below) fixed thereto, and wherein the at least one drive unit (5) is rotatably mounted in the motor cage.
Regarding claim 6, Yomogita teaches the bracket (6 and/or 3) is articulated to the screen and/or to the screen support.
Regarding claim 7, Yomogita teaches a guide groove (7a) is incorporated in the bracket in which a guide element (9b2) connected to the screen and/or to the screen support is guided in a movable manner.
Regarding claim 8, Yomogita teaches the guide groove has an essentially V-shaped course in the bracket.
Regarding claim 10, Yomogita teaches the screen adjustment device according to claim 2, wherein at least one drive unit (5) is designed such that it is adapted to be driven backwards in a direction of the parking position via a gearing and transmission (9a, 9b, p1, p2).
Alternatively, claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moussa (U.S. Pat. No. 9989761 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Yomogita teaches a screen adjustment device for a motor vehicle, the screen adjustment device comprising:
a screen and/or a screen support (20, 22) for supporting the screen adapted to be reversibly moved between a parking position and at least one operating position (Figs. 1A-1C);
at least one electromotive drive unit (24) to generate an actuating force which causes the screen and/or screen support to be adjusted; and
a positioning mechanism (28) for guiding the screen and/or screen support between the parking position and the at least one operating position as well as for transmitting the actuating force,
wherein the positioning mechanism has at least one spindle drive with a threaded spindle (26) and with a spindle nut (30) arranged on it, and
wherein the spindle drive is coupled with the screen and/or with the screen support and with the drive unit.
Regarding claim 3, The screen adjustment device according to claim 2, wherein the threaded spindle (26) is directly connected to the screen and/or to the screen support (20, 22) at an end.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631