Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
The instant application, filed 03 March 2025, is a provisional application of 63/561052, filed 04 March 2024, which claims the benefit of an earlier filing date to U.S. Provisional Patent Application Serial No. 69/561052, filed 04 March 2024. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 contains intended use language: “… for treating eczema”, according to MPRP section 2111.02, “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended sue of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Therefore, “for treating eczema” is not given patentable weight in product claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CRUTCHLEY (US 2022/0110868 A1, published 14 April 2022) in view of FIUME (11 October 2012, International Journal of Toxicology, 31(5), 245S-260S).
Regarding Claims 1-12 and 15, Crutchley teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising of a PDE4 inhibitor, crisaborole, in a concentration of 1-5% w/w (p.2, ¶ [0025], lines 1-4), a solubilizer, ethanol or isopropanol, in a concentration of less than 10% w/w (p.3. ¶ [0028], lines 6-14), a carbomer in concentration 0.05-5.0% w/w (p.4, ¶ [0051], lines 1-10; p.4 ¶ [0052], lines 1-4), a preservative found to be effective and useful present in an amount from 0.1-1% w/w (p.5, ¶ [0053], lines 1-14], and a suitable acid or base to have the pH of the composition to about 4-6.5 (p.5, ¶ [0055], lines 1-8, and lines 14-15). Crutchley also teaches that the composition of the present invention being dispersible in water, preferably being dilutable within water (p.4, ¶ [0050], lines 1-3).
Crutchley does not teach the compositions inclusion of a humectant.
Fiume teaches the use of propylene glycol as a humectant within cosmetic formulations, where propylene glycol functions as a skin conditioning agent, with some functioning as solvents (p.2, ¶ 8, lines 1-6). In addition to this, Fiume teaches that propylene glycol has been used in 5676 cosmetic formulations at concentrations ranging from 0% to >50% (p.2, ¶ 9, lines 4-5). Prior to the filing of the instant application, a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) following the teachings of Fiume would have found it prima facie obvious to have combined propylene glycol with the teachings of Crutchley to improve the skin conditioning capabilities of the formulation. Thus, A PHOSITA would have been motivated to utilize propylene glycol as an ingredient that further enhances the skin conditioning capabilities of the composition.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CRUTCHLEY (US 2022/0110868 A1, published 14 April 2022) in view of FIUME (11 October 2012, International Journal of Toxicology, 31(5), 245S-260S) and further in view of DESHPANDE (US 2020/0022931 A1, published 23 January 2020).
In regard to Claims 13 and 14 Crutchley teaches a topical composition comprised of crisaborole and a discontinuous and continuous phase, and teaches of applying the composition to the scalp or other skin surface through hair (p.6, ¶ [0091], lines 1-2).
The combination of Crutchley and Fiume fail to teach a method of application utilizing an applicator.
Deshpande teaches of a pharmaceutical composition for treatment of PDE related disorder and the application of said composition, “administered to a mammal by a topical route… in the form of a cream… with or without an applicator” (Claim 10). In the instant case, the term “applicator” in Deshpande’s teachings was interpreted to mean a sponge, brush or wipe.
Prior to the filing of the instant application, a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) following the teachings of Crutchley and Fiume would have found it prima facie obvious to apply a topical composition with or without the use of an applicator. Thus, a PHOSITA would have been motivated to try different applicators to enhance the application of said topical composition.
Conclusion
/E.G.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621