Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 and claim 15 recite the limitation “the reference distance”, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation “the reference distance” is interpreted as “a reference distance”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 2-5, 7, 11-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over MAZZANTE (US 20170359490 A1) in view of HOLLOWBUSH (US 20050219267 A1).
Regarding claim 2, MAZZANTE (Figs. 1-3; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses a waveform monitor for showing information of a chromaticity diagram relative to a selected gamut of colors within the chromaticity diagram (Figs. 1-2; chromaticity diagram and target color gamut TCG), comprising: an input for receiving a selected pixel color from within the chromaticity diagram (Fig. 2 and [0048]; input color point Mc within source color gamut SCG); one or more processors ([0041] and [0046]-[0048]; processor) configured to: establish a line (line L) between a starting point (point Oc) within the selected gamut (gamut TCG) and the selected pixel color (color point Mc), extend the line (line L) from the starting point through the selected pixel color (color point Mc) to an edge of a second gamut (source color gamut SCG) of the chromaticity diagram to establish an end point (end point Ic) of the line, measure an excursion value of the selected pixel color along the line (the line L is defined by points Oc, I’T-C, Mc, and Ic, L1 is a distance between the end point Ic and the starting point Oc, L2 is a distance between the edge point I’T-C and the starting point Oc, L3 is a distance between the input color point Mc and the starting point Oc, extent of excursion is determined by (L3-L2)/(L1-L2), when L3=L1, excursion value=1 (maximum), and when L3=L2, excursion value=0 (minimum)).
Annotated version of MAZZANTE’s Fig. 2
MAZZANTE does not disclose display the excursion value on the waveform monitor. However, HOLLOWBUSH (Figs. 1-4) discloses a waveform monitor for showing information of a chromaticity diagram relative to a selected gamut of colors within the chromaticity diagram, one or more processors configured to display the excursion value on the waveform monitor (Fig. 4 and [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0077]; gamut error points 114 and gamut error plot 112 representing the extent of excursion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HOLLOWBUSH to the display device of MAZZANTE. The combination/motivation would be to provide a simultaneously displayed graph of information including color gamut that relates to the input image.
Regarding claim 3, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH discloses the waveform monitor according to claim 2, MAZZANTE (Figs. 1-3; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses in which the excursion value is measured by one or more processors configured to: establish a reference length as a length of a segment of the line between an edge of the selected gamut and the end point (Fig. 2; line segment between edge point I’T-C and end point Ic, which has a length L1-L2); and set the excursion value of the selected pixel color based on a comparison of a position of the selected pixel color on the line (Fig. 2; position of color point Mc on the line L is determined by L3-L2) and the reference length (extent of excursion is determined by (L3-L2)/(L1-L2)).
Regarding claim 4, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH discloses the waveform monitor according to claim 3, MAZZANTE (Figs. 1-3; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses in which the position of the selected pixel color on the line is a distance between the edge of the selected gamut and the selected pixel color along the line (Fig. 2; position of color point Mc on the line L is determined by L3-L2, L2 is a distance between the edge point I’T-C of the gamut TCG and the starting point Oc, L3 is a distance between the input color point Mc and the starting point Oc).
Regarding claim 5, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH discloses the waveform monitor according to claim 2, MAZZANTE (Figs. 1-3; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses in which the excursion value is expressed as a percentage (extent of excursion is determined by (L3-L2)/(L1-L2)).
Regarding claim 7, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH discloses the waveform monitor according to claim 2, MAZZANTE (Figs. 1-3; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses in which the starting point is a white point of the selected gamut on the chromaticity diagram (white point Oc; Fig. 2 and [0056]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 11, MAZZANTE (Figs. 1-3; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses a method of measuring an amount of gamut excursion of a selected pixel color in an image that has a color that is not within a defined set of colors for a selected gamut of a chromaticity diagram (Figs. 1-2; chromaticity diagram and target color gamut TCG, color point Mc is not within target color gamut TCG and therefore is a gamut excursion point), the method comprising: determining a position of the selected pixel color in the chromaticity diagram (Fig. 2; input color point Mc); generating a line (line L) between a starting point (point Oc) within the selected gamut (target gamut TCG) and the selected pixel color (color point Mc); extending the line (line L) from the starting point (point Oc) through the selected pixel color (color point Mc) to an edge of a second gamut (source color gamut SCG) of the chromaticity diagram to establish an end point (end point Ic) of the line; measuring an excursion value of the selected pixel color outside the selected gamut along the line (the line L is defined by points Oc, I’T-C, Mc, and Ic, L1 is a distance between the end point Ic and the starting point Oc, L2 is a distance between the edge point I’T-C and the starting point Oc, L3 is a distance between the input color point Mc and the starting point Oc, extent of excursion is determined by (L3-L2)/(L1-L2), when L3=L1, excursion value=1 (maximum), and when L3=L2, excursion value=0 (minimum)).
MAZZANTE does not disclose displaying the excursion value. However, HOLLOWBUSH (Figs. 1-4) discloses a waveform monitor for showing information of a chromaticity diagram relative to a selected gamut of colors within the chromaticity diagram, one or more processors configured to display the excursion value on the waveform monitor (Fig. 4 and [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0077]; gamut error points 114 and gamut error plot 112 representing the extent of excursion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HOLLOWBUSH to the display device of MAZZANTE. The combination/motivation would be to provide a simultaneously displayed graph of information including color gamut that relates to the input image.
Regarding claim 12, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH discloses the method according to claim 11, MAZZANTE (Figs. 1-3; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses in which measuring an excursion value of the selected pixel color comprises: establishing a reference length as a length of a segment of the line between an edge of the selected gamut and the end point (Fig. 2; line segment between edge point I’T-C and end point Ic, which has a length L1-L2); and setting the excursion value of the selected pixel color based on a comparison of a position of the selected pixel color on the line (Fig. 2; position of color point Mc on the line L is determined by L3-L2) and the reference length (extent of excursion is determined by (L3-L2)/(L1-L2)).
Regarding claim 13, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH discloses the method according to claim 12, MAZZANTE (Figs. 1-3; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses in which the position of the selected pixel color on the line is a distance between the edge of the selected gamut and the selected pixel color along the line (Fig. 2; position of color point Mc on the line L is determined by L3-L2, L2 is a distance between the edge point I’T-C of the gamut TCG and the starting point Oc, L3 is a distance between the input color point Mc and the starting point Oc).
Regarding claim 14, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH discloses the method according to claim 11, MAZZANTE (Figs. 1-3; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses in which the excursion value is expressed as a percentage (extent of excursion is determined by (L3-L2)/(L1-L2)).
Regarding claim 16, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH discloses the method according to claim 11, MAZZANTE (Figs. 1-3; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses in which the starting point is a white point of the selected gamut on the chromaticity diagram (white point Oc; Fig. 2 and [0056]-[0057]).
7. Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over MAZZANTE (US 20170359490 A1) in view of HOLLOWBUSH (US 20050219267 A1) and further in view of SU (US 20220139355 A1).
Regarding claim 6, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH discloses the waveform monitor according to claim 2 and the method according to claim 11, but does not disclose in which the excursion value is expressed as a value on a non-linear scale of the reference distance. However, SU (Figs. 1-6) discloses a waveform monitor, in which the excursion value is expressed as a value on a non-linear scale of the reference distance (Figs. 15-18; color point Ci and gamut excursion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SU to the display device of MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH. The combination/motivation would be to provide a system and a method for gamut error estimate and color gamut adjustment.
8. Claims 8-10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over MAZZANTE (US 20170359490 A1) in view of HOLLOWBUSH (US 20050219267 A1) and further in view of MOROVIC (US 20200186680 A1).
Regarding claim 8, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH discloses the waveform monitor according to claim 2, MAZZANTE (Figs. 1-3; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses in which the one or more processors are further configured to determine an angle between the line and a reference line that runs through the starting point (the line L is constructed, which passes through the point Oc and the point Mc and has a rotation angle Ø as illustrated in Fig. 2 reproduced). The examiner further cites MOROVIC as a reference. MOROVIC discloses one or more processors are further configured to determine an angle between the line and a reference line that runs through the starting (Figs. 6-8; gamut error point and polar angle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SU to the display device of MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH. The combination/motivation would be to provide a system and a method for gamut error estimate and color gamut adjustment.
Regarding claim 9, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH and further in view of MOROVIC discloses the waveform monitor according to claim 8, HOLLOWBUSH (Figs. 1-4) discloses which the one or more processors are further configured to display the determined angle (Fig. 4 and [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0077]; gamut error plot 112 including angle information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HOLLOWBUSH to the display device of MAZZANTE in view of SU for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 10, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH and further in view of MOROVIC discloses the waveform monitor according to claim 9, HOLLOWBUSH (Figs. 1-4) discloses in which the one or more processors are further configured to display the excursion value and to display the angle on a graph separate from the chromaticity diagram (Fig. 4 and [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0077]; gamut error plot 112 including information of extent of excursion and polar angle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HOLLOWBUSH to the display device of MAZZANTE in view of SU for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 17, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH discloses the method according to claim 11, MAZZANTE (Figs. 1-3; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses the method further comprising determining an angle between the line and a reference line that runs through the starting point (the line L is constructed, which passes through the point Oc and the point Mc and has a rotation angle Ø as illustrated in Fig. 2 reproduced). The examiner further cites MOROVIC as a reference. MOROVIC discloses one or more processors are further configured to determine an angle between the line and a reference line that runs through the starting (Figs. 6-8; gamut error point and polar angle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SU to the display device of MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH. The combination/motivation would be to provide a system and a method for gamut error estimate and color gamut adjustment.
Regarding claim 18, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH and further in view of MOROVIC discloses the method according to claim 17, HOLLOWBUSH (Figs. 1-4) discloses the method further comprising displaying the angle (Fig. 4 and [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0077]; gamut error plot 112 including angle information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HOLLOWBUSH to the display device of MAZZANTE in view of SU for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 19, MAZZANTE in view of HOLLOWBUSH and further in view of MOROVIC discloses the method according to claim 18, HOLLOWBUSH (Figs. 1-4) discloses in which displaying the excursion value and displaying the angle comprises generating a graph separate from the chromaticity diagram (Fig. 4 and [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0077]; gamut error plot 112 including information of extent of excursion and polar angle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HOLLOWBUSH to the display device of MAZZANTE in view of SU for the same reason above.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623