DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,239,451 (‘451). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘451 patent discloses a kit comprising: a non-placebo challenge meal formulation comprising allergen, wherein the allergen is present in the non-placebo challenge meal formulation in an amount of more than about 10% w/w and less than about 25% w/w; and a placebo challenge meal formulation comprising no food allergen, wherein the placebo challenge meal formulation comprises an additive present in an amount of from about 0.05% w/w to less than 0.9% w/w of the placebo challenge meal formulation, wherein the additive is selected from the group consisting of: maltodextrin, dextrin, cyclodextrin and combinations thereof.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to obtain the claimed invention given the claims of the ‘451 patent. This is because the ‘451 patent discloses a kit similar to the present invention, namely, a kit that comprises a placebo challenge meal formulation comprising no food allergen; and a non-placebo challenge meal formulation comprising an allergen, wherein the allergen is present in the non-placebo challenge meal formulation in an amount of more than 10% w/w and less than 25% w/w.
Claims 21-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,439,342 (‘342). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘342 patent claims a kit comprising: a placebo challenge meal formulation comprising no food allergen; and a non-placebo challenge meal formulation comprising an allergen, wherein the allergen is present in the non-placebo challenge meal formulation in an amount of more than 10% w/w and less than 25% w/w; wherein the placebo and non-placebo challenge meal formulations each comprise: 20% w/w to 60% w/w of a matrix formation component, wherein the matrix formation component comprises a starch and a sucrose; 10% w/w to 35% w/w of a texturizing component, wherein the texturizing component comprises an oil component and a surfactant; and 10% w/w to 45% w/w of a flavor/color masking component; and wherein the placebo challenge meal formulation comprises an additive present in an amount of from about 0.05% w/w to about 1.0 w/w of the placebo food challenge meal formulation, and wherein the additive is selected from the group consisting of: maltodextrin, dextrin, cyclodextrin and combinations thereof, and wherein, upon reconstitution with water, the placebo and the non-placebo challenge meal formulations each form a mousse. Peanut allergen is found in claim 4. Maltodextrin is found in claim 5. Polysorbate 60 is found in claim 9. The claimed flavor and/or color masking is found in claims 11-15.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to obtain the claimed invention given the claims of the ‘342 patent. This is because the ‘342 patent discloses a kit similar to the present invention, namely, a kit that comprises a placebo challenge meal formulation comprising no food allergen; and a non-placebo challenge meal formulation comprising an allergen, wherein the allergen is present in the non-placebo challenge meal formulation in an amount of more than 10% w/w and less than 25% w/w.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raff US 2015/0343075, in view of Walser et al. US 2016/0030289.
Raff teaches a placebo composition that is similar in color and texture compared to a composition comprising peanut flour, and which comprises: one or more glidants in an amount of from about 0.01% to about 10% w/w of the placebo composition, one or more lubricants in an amount of from about 0.01% to about 10% w/w of the placebo composition, one or more diluents in an amount of from about 1% to about 99% w/w of the placebo composition, and one or more colorants in an amount of from about 0.01% to about 10% w/w of the placebo. See abstract and paragraphs 0037-0039. Diluents include surfactant, starch and sucrose is found in paragraphs 0046 and 0068. Maltodextrin and cyclodextrin and dextrin are found in paragraphs 0046, 0068-0070.
Raff does not specifically teach the peanut flour composition comprising the claimed amount of peanut.
Walser teaches a low dose capsule formulation comprising, (a) mixing peanut flour and diluent in a first blend; (b) adding about 45% of diluent in a second blend; (c) adding remaining diluent in a third blend; (d) adding a glidant and/or lubricant in a final blend; and (e) encapsulating blended powder in a capsule. In one embodiment, the diluent of step (a) comprises starch or lactose, microcrystalline cellulose (Avicel.RTM.), or dicalcium phosphate. In another embodiment, the diluent of step (b) and/or (c) comprises starch, lactose, microcrystalline cellulose (Avicel.RTM.), or dicalcium phosphate. In another embodiment, the glidant of step (d) glidant of step (d) comprises colloidal silicon dioxide (Cab-O-Sil), talc (e.g., Ultra Talc 4000), or combinations thereof. In another embodiment, the lubricant of step (d) comprises magnesium stearate. In one non-limiting example, the glidant comprises Cab-O-Sil. In one embodiment, step (d) comprises adding a glidant or a lubricant. See paragraph 0006. Peanut flour in the capsule is in an amount ranging from 10-15% is found in paragraph 0050.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the peanut flour capsule taught in Walser in the kit with the expectation of at least similar result. This is because Walser teaches using low dose peanut capsule for oral desensitization is known in the art, and this is because Raff teaches the desirability for preparing a kit that comprises both a placebo capsule and a peanut flour capsule for the treatment of peanut allergy.
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Raff US 2015/0343075 A1, in view of Wood et al. WO 2013/173697A1.
Raff teaches a placebo composition that is similar in color and texture compared to a composition comprising peanut flour, and which comprises: one or more glidants in an amount of from about 0.01% to about 10% w/w of the placebo composition, one or more lubricants in an amount of from about 0.01% to about 10% w/w of the placebo composition, one or more diluents in an amount of from about 1% to about 99% w/w of the placebo composition, and one or more colorants in an amount of from about 0.01% to about 10% w/w of the placebo. See abstract and paragraphs 0037-0039. Diluents include surfactant, starch and sucrose is found in paragraphs 0046 and 0068. Maltodextrin and cyclodextrin and dextrin are found in paragraphs 0046, 0068-0070.
Raff does not teach the claimed non-placebo challenge meal formulation.
Wood teaches an oral thin film containing allergens. See abstract. The film comprises less than about 25%w/w allergen extract such as peanut. See paragraphs 0015, 0032 and Example 1. The film further comprising about 0.005% to 5%w/w sweetener such as dextrin.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the teaching of Raff to include the thin film allergen composition of Wood with the expectation to obtain a kit with at least a placebo and a non-placebo composition similar to taste and look. This is because Raff teaches the desirability for making a kit comprising a placebo composition that is similar in color and texture compared to a composition comprising peanut flour. This is because Wood teaches the use of a non-placebo composition comprising dextrin in the claimed amount is known and useful in the art. Therefore, one of the ordinary in the art would have been motivated to include an allergen treating composition of Wood in the kit and in view of the teaching of Raff, making the non-placebo to mimic the film, hence, having a composition comprising dextrin in the claimed amount.
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615