DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Claims 17-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/15/2026.
Disposition of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 17-20 withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-16 are examined on the merits, for which the earliest support appears to be disclosed in parent application 16/175,924, e.g. Figs. 89 and 90, which do not appear supported by any of the provisional applications to which the ‘924 application claims priority. Accordingly, the effective filing date is considered as 10/31/2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Tervo (US 20170357089 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Tervo discloses an optical structure (Fig. 6) for each eye of augmented reality eyewear (e.g. Title, Abstract) comprising:
a distal virtual image display (104b);
a proximal virtual image display (104a);
a distal internal-reflection waveguide (102b); and
a proximal internal-reflection waveguide (102a);
wherein light rays comprising a given pixel of an image from the distal virtual image display are reflected multiple times inside the distal internal-reflection waveguide before these light rays exit the distal internal-reflection waveguide (¶54, “In general, light corresponding to an image, which is coupled into the waveguide … travel through the waveguide … by way of total internal refection (TIR).”; Fig. 6 shows output coupled light exiting the distal waveguide 102b toward the eye);
wherein light rays comprising a given pixel of an image from the proximal virtual image display are reflected multiple times inside the proximal internal-reflection waveguide before these light rays exit the proximal internal- reflection waveguide (¶54, “In general, light corresponding to an image, which is coupled into the waveguide … travel through the waveguide … by way of total internal refection (TIR).”; Fig. 6 shows output coupled light exiting the proximal waveguide 102a toward the eye);
wherein light rays from the distal virtual image display and the proximal virtual image display create images of virtual objects in the person's field of view (see ¶1, “Such devices, which can be referred to as see-through, mixed reality display device systems, or as augmented reality (AR) systems, enable a user to see through the transparent or semi-transparent display of a device to view the surrounding environment, and also see images of virtual objects (e.g., text, graphics, video, etc.) that are generated for display to appear as a part of, and/or overlaid upon, the surrounding environment.”, see also ¶59, and Fig. 6 depicts the image light directed toward the eye); and
wherein light rays from the environment pass through the distal internal-reflection waveguide and/or the proximal internal- reflection waveguide to reach a person's eye (id.).
Regarding claim 11, Tervo discloses the optical structure in claim 9, and further discloses wherein the distal image display is to the right of the eye and the proximal image display is to the left of the eye, or vice versa (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Tervo discloses the optical structure in claim 9, and further discloses wherein the distal waveguide and the proximal waveguide do not overlap (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Tervo discloses the optical structure in claim 9, and further discloses wherein a waveguide is tapered (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Tervo discloses the optical structure in claim 9, and further discloses wherein light beams from a distal image display and light beams from a proximal image display combine to show one or more virtual objects and/or scenes in the person's field of view (¶3, ¶29).
Regarding claim 16, Tervo discloses the optical structure in claim 9, and further discloses wherein light beams from a distal image display and light beams from a proximal image display show different virtual objects and/or scenes in the person's field of view (¶1, “Such devices, which can be referred to as see-through, mixed reality display device systems, or as augmented reality (AR) systems, enable a user to see through the transparent or semi-transparent display of a device to view the surrounding environment, and also see images of virtual objects (e.g., text, graphics, video, etc.) that are generated for display to appear as a part of, and/or overlaid upon, the surrounding environment.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterhout (US 20160161747 A1) in view of Cheng (US 20160085074 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 6, Osterhout teaches an optical structure (Fig. 7) for each eye of augmented reality eyewear (Fig. 2, ¶40) comprising:
a first image display (202) on a first side of a person's eye (812);
a first waveguide (tapered waveguide 818) which reflects light rays from the first image display (202) multiple times (as in Fig. 7) before those light rays are directed toward the eye (812); and wherein light rays from the environment pass through the first waveguide and/or the second waveguide to reach the eye (¶40, “… forms an overlaid image that is perceived by the person as a digitally augmented image of the environment, or augmented reality (“AR”).”, see the glasses of Fig. 2).
Osterhout does not explicitly show a second image display on a second side of the eye which is opposite the first side of the eye, wherein light rays from the first image display and light rays from the second image display show one or more virtual objects in the person's field of view; or a second waveguide which reflects light rays from the second image display multiple times before those light rays are directed toward the eye. In other words, Osterhout does not explicitly show delivering multiple images to the same eye using a second set of the components.
Cheng teaches a tiled head mounted display device having a plurality of similar sets of waveguides and microdisplays for delivering multiple images to the same eye (Fig. 5a, which clearly shows the multiple internal reflections in a tapering direction, and Figs. 11a, 13a, 13b, a more expansive tiling showing the multiple internal reflections for delivering multiple images to the eye using multiple waveguides and microdisplays, see ¶73 and ¶79, a plurality of mechanically coupled prisms for providing a plurality of image channels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have followed the teachings of Cheng to improve the device of Osterhout in order to tile and thus expand the viewable image.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Osterhout teaches the optical structure in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first side is above the eye and the second side is below the eye (e.g. Cheng, Fig. 11a, waveguide and displays above and below the eye).
Notwithstanding that the modified Osterhout discloses a variety of arrangements, mere changes in orientation that otherwise don’t affect the principle of operation are prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 VI.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Osterhout teaches the optical structure in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first side is to the right of the eye and the second side is to the left of the eye (e.g. Cheng, Fig. 13b, waveguide and displays left and right of the eye).
Notwithstanding that the modified Osterhout discloses a variety of arrangements, mere changes in orientation that otherwise don’t affect the principle of operation are prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 VI.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Osterhout teaches the optical structure in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first waveguide and the second waveguide do not overlap (Cheng, Figs. 5a, 11a, 13a, 13b).
Regarding claim 7 and 8, the modified Osterhout teaches the optical structure in claim 1, and further discloses wherein light beams from a first image display and light beams from a second image display combine to show one or more virtual objects and/or scenes in the person's field of view (see Cheng, ¶5, 3D movies, video games, and sports considered as one or more different virtual objects and/or scenes, ¶9, background of tiling to achieving broader field of view of the virtual image).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Osterhout as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tervo.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Osterhout teaches the optical structure in claim 1, but does not explicitly show wherein the first waveguide and the second waveguide at least partially overlap.
Tervo teaches that the waveguides can be duplicated into a stack such that they overlap (Fig. 7, ¶81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicated the parts of the modified Osterhout into an overlapping stack for the purpose of achieving a full color display by realizing red, green, and blue waveguide channels (¶83).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tervo (US 20170357089 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Tervo discloses the optical structure in claim 9, but does not explicitly show wherein the distal image display is above the eye and the proximal image display is below the eye, or vice versa.
However, mere changes in orientation that otherwise don’t affect the principle of operation are prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI.
Regarding claim 12, Tervo discloses the optical structure in claim 9, but does not explicitly show wherein the distal waveguide and the proximal waveguide at least partially overlap.
However, in a different embodiment Tervo teaches that the waveguides can be duplicated into a stack such that they overlap (Fig. 7, ¶81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicated the parts of Tervo into an overlapping stack for the purpose of achieving a full color display by realizing red, green, and blue waveguide channels (¶83).
Conclusion
/COLLIN X BEATTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872