Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlegel et al. (USPGPub 2005/0132930).
Regarding claim 2, 4, 10, 14-15 and 17, Schlegel teaches providing a powder for faux finishing which may include primers, basecoats and accent colors [0006-0007]. Although the current claims require three containers, it is not required that the containers be different or that the contents of the containers be different. Specifically there is not structural distinction between the primer powder, basecoat powder and faux finish powder. As such, all may be the same and be in the same container. Although Schlegel does not specifically talk about containers, it is reasonably implicit that the material would be provided in some contained manner. Further however, the electrostatic guns and bed coaters [0040] of Schlegel would read upon containers. Further the type of powder is a mere recitation of intended use wherein a primer powder does not have to be used as a primer for example. The prior art powder is capable of being used as claimed and as such meets the claim limitations. Further Schlegel teaches wherein a stencil brush may be provided among other tools [0048]. Schlegel fails to teach providing instructions. However, the examiner is taking Official Notice to inform the applicant that providing instructions for the use of articles of manufacture is commonplace in almost all industries. This ranges from chemicals to cooking to automotive manuals to machinery to computers to medicine to school supplies and many other fields wherein instructions provide recommended usage guidelines for purchasers and end users. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide instructions for use for the articles of Schlegel in order to provide recommended guidelines for success use as is performed in a variety of examples. Further it is noted that what the instructions specifically state is largely inconsequential outside of a function relationship between the provided instructions and the articles provided. MPEP 2111.05 states “For example, in a kit containing a set of chemicals and a printed set of instructions for using the chemicals, the instructions are not related to that particular set of chemicals. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d at 1339, 70 USPQ2d at 1864”.
Regarding claim 3, Schlegel teaches providing different color combinations that would read upon contrasting colors [0010].
Regarding claims 5-6 and 8, Schlegel further teaches wherein the provided powder is epoxy [0025] which is a thermosetting material.
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Schlegel further teaches the provision of poly-ester epoxy [0025].
Regarding claim 11, the teachings of Schlegel are as shown above. Schlegel fails to teach wherein one of the provided colors is clear. However, a change in color would be considered a mere aesthetic design change wherein matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Regarding claim 12, it is noted that Schlegel teaches providing amounts such that thicknesses can vary widely [0041] and can reasonably be applied in as few or as many coats as desired. It is noted that the current claim does not require actually depositing the powder and therefore the number of times that the powder is deposited is not largely relevant compared to the amount of powder provided. The amount provided is seemingly provided in thicknesses such that depositions could theoretically be divided many times.
Regarding claim 13, the brush of Schlegel is reasonably capable of several of the claimed operations.
Regarding claim 16, Schlegel teaches several of the techniques claimed (claim 7).
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717