DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-12, 14-20 are pending.
Claims 2, 9, and 13 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections previously made and the amended claims filed on 7/9/2026 have been fully considered. In view of the claim amendments, the rejections are being updated accordingly.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments on the cited reference Wang fails to discloses the amended limitations of “determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, whether the query request has a definite answer, and in accordance with a determination that the query request does not have a definite answer, generating, based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, a key information prompt; and displaying, at a preset position of a display interface, the first display information, and displaying, next to the first display information on the same display interface, key information prompt” as recited in the independent claims have been fully considered.
In response to the arguments, it is submitted that Wang properly discloses amended limitations as least in view of Wang discloses determine whether the query is has a definite answer represented by a precise answer based on the demand analysis and search result, and generate a key information prompt—which is merely a type of data information such as but not limited to “Attractions” -- based on the first dimension and demand analysis of multi-demand query request “Wu town” that does not have a precise answer ([0061], [0066]),
Thus, for least the reasoning stated above, it is submitted that the Wang properly discloses the cited limitations; see the updated rejections below for detail.
Furthermore, it is submitted that all limitations in pending claims--including those not specifically argued--are properly addressed. The reason is set forth in the rejections. See claim analysis below for detail.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 15 objected to because of the following informalities: missing a comma (,) between “result” and “whether” in the limitation “determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial result whether the query request has a definite answer…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-12, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Each of the independent claims 1, 12 and 20 recited claims recites mental processes in the limitations of “performing, based on a received query request, demand analysis to obtain a demand analysis result”, “performing a search to obtain an initial search result… comprises: determining… a search keyword; performing…the search to obtain the initial search result”, “determining… first display information”, “determining… whether the query request has a definite answer and in accordance with a determination… generating, …a key information prompt”. Each of these limitations could be done mentally based on the gathered information. Mental processes are directed to one of the abstract ideas groups as set forth by Prong One in Step 2A of the 2019 Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Additionally, the final step of “displaying, at a preset position … the first display information, and displaying, next to the first display information, key information prompt” does not provide any integration into a practical application. Rather, the limitation appears to be mere data outputting and applying the abstract idea.
As an initial point, if two pieces of information (i.e. claimed first display information, and key information prompt) are displayed at the same time, the two pieces of information must in be display next to or adjacent of each other in some fashion since there’s no other way of displaying two pieces of information where they are not “next” to one another on the same user interface correspond to the same display interface as claimed, unless they were displayed entirely separately. Thus, claimed displaying is nothing more than merely “display first information” and “display key information prompt”, as there is no significance or purpose in the claim or disclosure for any specific “preset position”. Accordingly, the claimed display is merely directed to data outputting of the abstract idea and insignificant extra-solution activity
Even considering the claims as a whole, and given the breadth of the claimed display “display first information” and “display key information prompt”, presenting this information next to each other would not provide any integration into a practical application, since the claims are not claiming any inventive new display format, and nothing in the disclosure recite any improvement to the display or how it functions. Merely stating displaying or providing more information together is a benefit, but that would apply even outside of a computer if this information was merely sent to the user in some other fashion. Hence the displaying step is directed merely an insignificant extra-solution activity that would not sufficiently amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Further, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additional elements (e.g. initial search result, demand analysis result, first display information, key information prompt) are directed to types of information, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claims are more than a drafting effort design to monopolize exception, because the claimed steps could be performed in a same manner to achieve the same outcome with other types of information other than the ones being used in the claims.
Hence, the claims do not include additional elements or the combination of the elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and fail to integrate the judicial exception into practical application according to Prong Two in Step 2A of the 2019 Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance because the claimed elements or their combination do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Further, in view of Step 2B of the 2019 Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it is determined that the computing elements (such as a memory, a processor, computer program) in the claims amount to no more than usage of a generic computing system having a generic computing components, which fails to provide an inventive concept or significantly more than abstract idea because the elements do not necessary improve the functional of a computing system or an improvement to a technical field since network computing is well known.
Dependent claims 3 and 14 each further recites additional mental process in limitations of “determining, … first display information comprises: when it is determined, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result…selecting N search results”, which could be done mentally based on the gathered and selecting information. Also, the additional elements (e.g. N search results) in the limitations are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 4 and 15 each further recites additional mental process in limitations of “wherein the determining… whether the query request has a definite answer … comprises: performing… extended search to obtain an extended search result; and using first M search results in the extended search result as the key information prompt…”, which could be done mentally based on the gathered and selecting information. Also, the additional elements (e.g. extended search result M search results) in the limitations are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 5 and 16 each further recites additional mental process in limitations of “wherein the performing…an extended search to obtain an extended search result comprises: calculating, …at least one of entity word relevance and similarity… performing… the extended search ”, which could be done mentally based on the gathered and analysis information. Also, the additional elements (e.g. entity word relevance, similarity) in the limitations are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 6 and 17 each further recites additional mental process in limitations of “in response to the query request having an affirmative answer, the key information prompt is supplementary information related … in response to the query request having a negative answer, the key information prompt is a solution…”, which could be done mentally based on the gathered and analysis information. Also, the additional elements (e.g. supplementary information, solution) in the limitations are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 7 and 8 each further recites additional mental process in limitations of “wherein the determining…first display information comprises: in response to determining…performing, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, an extended search…using first M search results in the extended search result …”, which could be done mentally based on the gathered and analysis information. Also, the additional elements (e.g. extended search result, N search results) in the limitations are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 8 and 19 each further recites additional mental process in limitations of “wherein the performing…an extended search to obtain an extended search result comprises: calculating, …at least one of entity word relevance and similarity… performing… the extended search ”, which could be done mentally based on the gathered and analysis information. Also, the additional elements (e.g. entity word relevance, similarity) in the limitations are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 10-11 each further recites additional mental process in limitations of “whether the query request has the definite answer is determined by: performing a semantic recognition on the query request.. determining…whether the query request has the definite answer”, which could be done mentally based on the gathered and analysis information. Also, the additional elements (e.g. query request, a demand) in the limitations are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Thus, for at least the reasoning above, the pending claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 10-11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 15 recite limitations of “…performing, based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, an extended search to obtain an extended search result; and using first M search results in the extended search result as the key information prompt…” that are contradicting with limitations of “determining… in accordance with a determination that the query request does not have a definite answer, generating, based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, a key information prompt” recited in the independent claims 1 & 12 rendering claims 4 & 15 being indefinite. The limitations in independent claims 1 & 12 indicate that the key information prompt is generated based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, not the extended search as recited in claims 4 & 15, respectively.
Claims 6 and 17 recite limitations “in response to the query request having an affirmative answer, the key information prompt is supplementary information… in response to the query request having a negative answer, the key information prompt is a solution” that are contradicting with limitations of “determining… in accordance with a determination that the query request does not have a definite answer, generating, based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, a key information prompt” recited in the independent claims 1 & 12 rendering claims 6 and 17 being indefinite. Both affirmative answer and negative answer in claims 6 and 17 are directed to definite answer. However, independent claims 1 and 12 recite the key information is generated when the query request does not have a definite answer.
Claims 10-11 recite limitations “determining, based on the demand of the query request and the initial search result, whether the query request has the definite answer” that is contradicting with the “determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, whether the query request has a definite answer” in the independent claims 1 & 12 rendering claims 6 and 17 being indefinite. The limitation of independent claims indicates that whether the query request has a definite answer is determined based on the on the demand analysis result and the initial search, and not the demand of the query request or the initial search result as recited in claims 10-11
Any claim not specifically addressed is being rejected for incorporate the deficiencies of the claim it depends on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 14-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (Pub No.US 2017/0228459, hereinafter Wang).
Wang is cited in the previous office action.
With respect claim 1, Wang discloses a method for displaying search result (abstract), comprising:
performing, based on a received query request, demand analysis to obtain a demand analysis result ([0047-0049], Fig 9: perform a demand analysis of a received query to obtain a demand analysis result represented by a determined type of demand query, the result being either a single demand query or a muti-demand query, as further disclosed in [0074-0078]);
performing a search to obtain an initial search result ([0049], Fig 4B-4D: performing a search to obtain an initial result set based on the demand analysis result that indicates the type of demand and the query, such as and not limited to initial result for a single demand query, or an initial result for a multi-demand query, which is also being described in [0059-0068] & [0084], [0095], [0110]), wherein the performing the search to obtain the initial search result comprises:
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the query request, a search keyword ([0059]: determine a search keyword based on a demand analysis result and the query request. Such as a search keyword of “weather” based on the demand analysis result of single demand query for a query request of “weather in Beijing” which leads to a search of weather and initial result relevant to weather in Beijing. The determined search keyword such as “food” for the demand analysis result of multi-demand for query request of “Wu town” as described in [0065-0068]. The determining step is further described in [0080-0083]); and
performing, based on the search keyword, the search to obtain the initial search result ([0060]: perform the search based on at least the search term to obtain the initial search result for single demand query, and result for multi-demand query as described in [0066-0068], as further described in described in [0080], [0085]).
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, first display information (first display information is merely a type of information;[0060-0068], Fig 4a & 7a: determine a first display information based on the demand analysis result of single demand or multi-demand, such as and not limited to a first display information of weather at a specific time of initial search result in Beijing, or a first display information represented by a first dimension of an aggregate result from the initial search result for multi-demand query “Wu town” obtained from the demand analysis result based on the demand analysis and the initial result. The determining is further described in [0095], [0110]);
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, whether the query request has a definite answer ([0061], [0066]: determine whether the query request has a definite answer represented whether there’s a precise answer based on the demand analysis and search result, as further describe in [0107], [0110), and in accordance with a determination that the query request does not have a definite answer, generating, based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, a key information prompt (a key information prompt is merely a type of information, as further indicated in claims 6;[0065-0068], Fig 7a: generate a key information prompt such as “Attractions” based on the first dimension and demand analysis of multi-demand query that does not have a precise answer, as further disclose in [0095-0096]); and
displaying, at a preset position of a display interface, the first display information, and displaying, next to the first display information on the same display interface, key information prompt ([0066], Fig 7a: the first information of a dimension and the prompt such as “Attraction” are being displayed next each other on the same display interface as shown in Fig 7a, as further disclosed in [0095], [0110]).
With respect to claim 12, Wang discloses an electronic device, comprising a memory, a processor, a bus, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, performs a method for displaying search result (abstract, [0151-0152]), and the method comprises:
performing, based on a received query request, demand analysis to obtain a demand analysis result ([0047-0049], Fig 9: perform a demand analysis of a received query to obtain a demand analysis result represented by a determined type of demand query, the result being either a single demand query or a muti-demand query, as further disclosed in [0074-0078]);
performing a search to obtain an initial search result ([0049], Fig 4B-4D: performing a search to obtain an initial result set based on the demand analysis result that indicates the type of demand and the query, such as and not limited to initial result for a single demand query, or an initial result for a multi-demand query, which is also being described in [0059-0068] & [0084], [0095], [0110]), wherein the performing the search to obtain the initial search result comprises:
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the query request, a search keyword ([0059]: determine a search keyword based on a demand analysis result and the query request. Such as a search keyword of “weather” based on the demand analysis result of single demand query for a query request of “weather in Beijing” which leads to a search of weather and initial result relevant to weather in Beijing. The determined search keyword such as “food” for the demand analysis result of multi-demand for query request of “Wu town” as described in [0065-0068]. The determining step is further described in [0080-0083]); and
performing, based on the search keyword, the search to obtain the initial search result ([0060]: perform the search based on at least the search term to obtain the initial search result for single demand query, and result for multi-demand query as described in [0066-0068], as further described in described in [0080], [0085]).
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, first display information (first display information is merely a type of information;[0060-0068], Fig 4a & 7a: determine a first display information based on the demand analysis result of single demand or multi-demand, such as and not limited to a first display information of weather at a specific time of initial search result in Beijing, or a first display information represented by a first dimension of an aggregate result from the initial search result for multi-demand query “Wu town” obtained from the demand analysis result based on the demand analysis and the initial result. The determining is further described in [0095], [0110]);
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, whether the query request has a definite answer ([0061], [0066]: determine whether the query request has a definite answer represented whether there’s a precise answer based on the demand analysis and search result, as further describe in [0107], [0110), and in accordance with a determination that the query request does not have a definite answer, generating, based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, a key information prompt (a key information prompt is merely a type of information, as further indicated in claims 6;[0065-0068], Fig 7a: generate a key information prompt such as “Attractions” based on the first dimension and demand analysis of multi-demand query that does not have a precise answer, as further disclose in [0095-0096]); and
displaying, at a preset position of a display interface, the first display information, and displaying, next to the first display information on the same display interface, key information prompt ([0066], Fig 7a: the first information of a dimension and the prompt such as “Attraction” are being displayed next each other on the same display interface as shown in Fig 7a, as further disclosed in [0095], [0110]).
With respect to claims 3 and 14, Wang further discloses wherein the determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, first display information comprises:
when it is determined, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, that the query request has a definite answer, selecting N search results from the initial search result as the first display information, wherein N is a natural number ([0071]: when determine that the query has a definite answer represented by a precise result, select N results--such as prices result and a recommendation guide result-- for display, that indicate that N is a natural number).
With respect to claims 4 and 15, Wang further discloses wherein the determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial result whether the query request has a definite answer comprises:
performing, based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, an extended search to obtain an extended search result ([0061-0063]: obtain extended search result represented by the context page); and
using first M search results in the extended search result as the key information prompt, wherein M is a natural number ([0066], Fig 7a: using N number of search results as the key information prompt in the aggregate result, M may be any numeric number as shown in Fig 7a, and further disclose in [0095], [0108]).
With respect to claims 5 and 16, Wang further discloses wherein the performing, based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, an extended search to obtain an extended search result comprises:
calculating, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, at least one of entity word relevance and similarity, to determine at least one of a corresponding extended keyword and a relationship chain ([0071]: calculating relevancy and [0095] as described in [0095] & [0109] for extended keyword and relationship for extended search correspond to the context search via user interface); and
performing, based on at least one of the extended keywords and the relationship chain, the extended search to obtain the extended search result ([0070-0072]: perform extended search represented by the context search via user interaction according to the keyword and relationships as shown in Fig 4B-8 that one keyword is link to another of the extended result).
With respect to claims 7 and 18, Wang further discloses wherein the determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, first display information comprises:
in response to determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, that the query request does not have a definite answer, performing, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, an extended search to obtain an extended search result ([0066-0068]: when determine that the query does not have a definite answer represented by a multi-demand query does have a precise answer); and
using the first N search results in the extended search result as the first display information, wherein N is a natural number ([0062-0062], Fig 4C-5: using N number of results in the extended search result represented by the context search results as information for display).
With respect to claims 8 and 19, Wang further discloses wherein the performing, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, an extended search to obtain an extended search result comprises: calculating, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, at least one of entity word relevance and similarity, to determine at least one of a corresponding extended keyword and a relationship chain([0071]: calculating relevancy and [0095] as described in [0095] & [0109] for extended keyword and relationship for extended search correspond to the context search via user interface); and
performing, based on at least one of the extended keyword and the relationship chain, the extended search to obtain the extended search result ([0070-0072]: perform extended search represented by the context search via user interaction according to the keyword and relationships as shown in Fig 4B-8 that one keyword is link to another of the extended result).
With respect to claims 10-11, Wang further discloses wherein whether the query request has the definite answer is determined by: performing a semantic recognition on the query request, and determining a demand of the query request based on a result of the semantic recognition ([0079-0080]: performing semantic analysis corresponding to the semantic recognition and determine a demand for the type of query as described in [0129]); and
determining, based on the demand of the query request and the initial search result, whether the query request has the definite answer ([0046-0047]: determine whether the query has a definite answer in view of query demand classification described in [0129] which includes a query with a precise result representing the definite answer).
With respect to claim 20, Wang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, performs a method for displaying search result (abstract, [0151-0152]), and the method comprises:
performing, based on a received query request, demand analysis to obtain a demand analysis result ([0047-0049], Fig 9: perform a demand analysis of a received query to obtain a demand analysis result represented by a determined type of demand query, the result being either a single demand query or a muti-demand query, as further disclosed in [0074-0078]);
performing a search to obtain an initial search result ([0049], Fig 4B-4D: performing a search to obtain an initial result set based on the demand analysis result that indicates the type of demand and the query, such as and not limited to initial result for a single demand query, or an initial result for a multi-demand query, which is also being described in [0059-0068] & [0084], [0095], [0110]), wherein the performing the search to obtain the initial search result comprises:
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the query request, a search keyword ([0059]: determine a search keyword based on a demand analysis result and the query request. Such as a search keyword of “weather” based on the demand analysis result of single demand query for a query request of “weather in Beijing” which leads to a search of weather and initial result relevant to weather in Beijing. The determined search keyword such as “food” for the demand analysis result of multi-demand for query request of “Wu town” as described in [0065-0068]. The determining step is further described in [0080-0083]); and
performing, based on the search keyword, the search to obtain the initial search result ([0060]: perform the search based on at least the search term to obtain the initial search result for single demand query, and result for multi-demand query as described in [0066-0068], as further described in described in [0080], [0085]).
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, first display information (first display information is merely a type of information;[0060-0068], Fig 4a & 7a: determine a first display information based on the demand analysis result of single demand or multi-demand, such as and not limited to a first display information of weather at a specific time of initial search result in Beijing, or a first display information represented by a first dimension of an aggregate result from the initial search result for multi-demand query “Wu town” obtained from the demand analysis result based on the demand analysis and the initial result. The determining is further described in [0095], [0110]);
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, whether the query request has a definite answer ([0061], [0066]: determine whether the query request has a definite answer represented whether there’s a precise answer based on the demand analysis and search result, as further describe in [0107], [0110), and in accordance with a determination that the query request does not have a definite answer, generating, based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, a key information prompt (a key information prompt is merely a type of information, as further indicated in claims 6;[0065-0068], Fig 7a: generate a key information prompt such as “Attractions” based on the first dimension and demand analysis of multi-demand query that does not have a precise answer, as further disclose in [0095-0096]); and
displaying, at a preset position of a display interface, the first display information, and displaying, next to the first display information on the same display interface, key information prompt ([0066], Fig 7a: the first information of a dimension and the prompt such as “Attraction” are being displayed next each other on the same display interface as shown in Fig 7a, as further disclosed in [0095], [0110]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, as applied to claims 5 and 16 respectively, in view of Wang et al (Pub. No.US 2022/0351721, hereinafter Wang I).
With respect to claims 6 and 17, Wang further discloses wherein: in response to the query request having an affirmative answer, the key information prompt is supplementary information related to the first display information ([0061], [0066], Fig 4 & 7a: supplementary information is merely a type of information data that is related to the first display information. In response to the query has relevant results in each dimension correspond to affirmative answer, the key information prompt is data information that is a supplementary information, which as and not limited to the graph related to the term “Attraction” for the “Wu town” query).
Wang does not explicitly disclose in response to the query request having a negative answer, the key information prompt is a solution related to the first display information.
However, Wang I discloses in response to the query request having a negative answer, the key information prompt is a solution related to the first display information ([0103]: in response the query having a negative answer, 2nd display information is a solution of returning the demand expression to the user in a form of general question for subsequent processing).
Since both Wang and Wang I are from the same field of endeavor because both are directed to processing query for results, which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and combine their teachings by incorporate the query negative answer of Wang I into Wang for determining the second display information as claimed. The motivation to combine is to enhance searching experience with efficiency for users (Wang, [0005] & [0087]; Wang I, [0009]).
Examiner Notes
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraph and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prior art Dearing et al (Pub No. 2025/0173606) disclose discloses a same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, a computer implemented method and system configured to perform similar operations as the claimed operations, including performing search to obtain search results, and displaying different types of related information including key information prompt based on analysis.
/MICHELLE N OWYANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168