DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to amendment filed on 3/25/2026.
Claims 1, 3-12, 14-20 are e pending.
Claims 2, 13 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections previously made and the amended claims filed on 3/25/2026 have been fully considered. In view of the claim amendments, the rejections are being updated accordingly.
Claim objections
In view of the amendment filed, the claim objections as set forth in the previous office action are thereby withdrawn.
35 USC 101 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered.
In view of the amendment filed, the rejections as set forth in the previous office action are thereby withdrawn.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments which are primary cited reference Wang fails to discloses the amended limitations of “performing, according to a received query request, demand analysis to obtain a demand analysis result; performing, according to the demand analysis result and the query request, a search to obtain an initial search result” and “determining, according to the first display information, second display information associated with the first display information; and displaying, at a preset position of a display interface, the first display information, and displaying, next to the first display information, the second display information” recited in the independent claims have been fully considered.
In response to the arguments, it is submitted that Wang properly discloses amended limitations directed to “performing the search to obtain the initial search result comprises determining, based on the demand analysis result and the query request, a search keyword and performing, based on the search keyword, a search to obtain the initial search result” at least based Wang discloses performing a search that involves (i) determine at least one keyword related to a search demand of a user search query and (ii) performing the search using the keyword.
E.g. A keyword (e.g. weather) in the search query (e.g. “weather in Beijing”) of a single demand query is determined and is being used in the search to obtain precision search result corresponding to the initial search result ([0059-0061], Fig 4a). Plus, a keyword for subject or dimension (e.g. food) in a search query (Wu town) of a multi-demand query determined and is being used in search to obtain results of that subject or dimension corresponding to the initial search result (e.g. food) ([005-0066], Fig 7a). Since the claimed demand analysis result is not specifically defined, either one of the single demand query and multi-demand is corresponding to the demand analysis result obtained from analyzing the query request to indicate the type of searching the user is demand for ([0046-0049]).
Also, it is submitted that the newly added element of “an explanation associated with the first display information” provided by the second display information is directed to non-function data material that is not functionally involved at any of the claimed steps. All steps would be performed the same with the same outcome regardless of the explanation in the claim.
Additionally, the claimed explanation is not specifically defined. Hence the claimed explanation maybe interpreted as any data information that is provided by the second display information, and the second display information may be any type of data information based on the first display information.
Further, it is submitted that Wang properly discloses limitation of “determining, according to the first display information, second display information associated with the first display information; and displaying, at a preset position of a display interface, the first display information, and displaying, next to the first display information, the second display information” at least based on Wang discloses determining additional information corresponding to the second display information based on the first display information and displaying the second information at a location on a content page as the first display information to the user ([0060-0063], [0107-110], [0113-0114]).
E.g. determining a second display information of a context (e.g. recommendation information) provides a recommendation explanation with the term “recommendation” related to the first display information determined from the initial search result, and displaying that recommendation information at a position correspond to the pre-set position of the same displayed context page of the first displayed information to allow additional user interaction with different types of displayed information for further browsing ([0052], [0060-0063], Fig 4a-6).
Thus, for least the reasoning stated above, it is submitted that the Wang properly discloses the cited limitations; see rejections below for detail.
Furthermore, it is submitted that all limitations in pending claims--including those not specifically argued--are properly addressed. The reason is set forth in the rejections. See claim analysis below for detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-12, 14-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (Pub No.US 2017/0228459, hereinafter Wang).
Wang is cited in the previous office action.
With respect claim 1, Wang discloses a method for displaying search result (abstract), comprising:
performing, based on a received query request, demand analysis to obtain a demand analysis result ([0047-0049], Fig 9: perform a demand analysis of a received query to obtain a demand analysis result represented by a determined type of demand query, the result being either a single demand query or a muti-demand query, as further disclosed in [0074-0078]);
performing a search to obtain an initial search result ([0049], Fig 4B-4D: performing a search to obtain an initial result set based on the demand analysis result that indicates the type of demand and the query, such as and not limited to initial result for a single demand query, or an initial result for a multi-demand query, which is also being described in [0059-0068] & [0084], [0095], [0110]), wherein the performing the search to obtain the initial search result comprises:
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the query request, a search keyword ([0059]: determine a search keyword based on a demand analysis result and the query request. Such as a search keyword of “weather” based on the demand analysis result of single demand query for a query request of “weather in Beijing” which leads to a search of weather and initial result relevant to weather in Beijing. The determined search keyword such as “food” for the demand analysis result of multi-demand for query request of “Wu town” as described in [0065-0068]. The determining step is further described in [0080-0083]); and
performing, based on the search keyword, the search to obtain the initial search result ([0060]: perform the search based on at least the search term to obtain the initial search result for single demand query, and result for multi-demand query as described in [0066-0068], as further described in described in [0080], [0085]).
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, first display information (first display information is merely a type of information;[0060-0063], Fig 4a-5 & 7a-7b: determine a first display information based on the demand analysis result of single demand or multi-demand, such as and not limited to determine displayed information of weather in Beijing, or “Oriental Provence Lavender” of the initial search result obtained from the demand analysis result based on the demand analysis and the initial result. The determining is further described in [0095], [0110]);
determining, based on the first display information, second display information that provides an explanation associated with the first display information (second display information and explanation are merely types of information; [0063], Fig 6: determine second display information, e.g. context information of 1st display information of “Oriental Provence Lavender” with data corresponding to explanation via user interaction, and further disclosed in [0107-110], [0113-0114]); and
displaying, at a preset position of a display interface, the first display information, and displaying, next to the first display information, the second display information ([0060-0063], Fig 4 & 2 & 6: display the first display information, e.g. information of “Oriental Provence Lavender” at a preset position such as on the top of a display interface of a user device, and display the 2nd display information next to the display information, such as on the bottom of ““Oriental Provence Lavender” as shown in Fig 6, and further disclosed in [0107-110], [0113-0114]).
With respect to claim 12, Wang discloses an electronic device, comprising a memory, a processor, a bus, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, performs a method for displaying search result (abstract, [0151-0152]), and the method comprises:
With respect claim 1, Wang discloses a method for displaying search result (abstract), comprising:
performing, based on a received query request, demand analysis to obtain a demand analysis result ([0047-0049], Fig 9: perform a demand analysis of a received query to obtain a demand analysis result represented by a determined type of demand query, the result being either a single demand query or a muti-demand query, as further disclosed in [0074-0078]);
performing a search to obtain an initial search result ([0049], Fig 4B-4D: performing a search to obtain an initial result set based on the demand analysis result that indicates the type of demand and the query, such as and not limited to initial result for a single demand query, or an initial result for a multi-demand query, which is also being described in [0059-0068] & [0084], [0095], [0110]), wherein the performing the search to obtain the initial search result comprises:
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the query request, a search keyword ([0059]: determine a search keyword based on a demand analysis result and the query request. Such as a search keyword of “weather” based on the demand analysis result of single demand query for a query request of “weather in Beijing” which leads to a search of weather and initial result relevant to weather in Beijing. The determined search keyword such as “food” for the demand analysis result of multi-demand for query request of “Wu town” as described in [0065-0068]. The determining step is further described in [0080-0083]); and
performing, based on the search keyword, the search to obtain the initial search result ([0060]: perform the search based on at least the search term to obtain the initial search result for single demand query, and result for multi-demand query as described in [0066-0068], as further described in described in [0080], [0085]).
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, first display information (first display information is merely a type of information;[0060-0063], Fig 4a-5 & 7a-7b: determine a first display information based on the demand analysis result of single demand or multi-demand, such as and not limited to determine displayed information of weather in Beijing, or “Oriental Provence Lavender” of the initial search result obtained from the demand analysis result based on the demand analysis and the initial result. The determining is further described in [0095], [0110]);
determining, based on the first display information, second display information that provides an explanation associated with the first display information (second display information and explanation are merely types of information; [0063], Fig 6: determine second display information, e.g. context information of 1st display information of “Oriental Provence Lavender” with data corresponding to explanation via user interaction, and further disclosed in [0107-110], [0113-0114]); and
displaying, at a preset position of a display interface, the first display information, and displaying, next to the first display information, the second display information ([0060-0063], Fig 4 & 2 & 6: display the first display information, e.g. information of “Oriental Provence Lavender” at a preset position such as on the top of a display interface of a user device, and display the 2nd display information next to the display information, such as on the bottom of ““Oriental Provence Lavender” as shown in Fig 6, and further disclosed in [0107-110], [0113-0114]).
With respect to claims 3 and 14, Wang further discloses wherein the determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, first display information comprises:
when it is determined, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, that the query request has a definite answer, selecting N search results from the initial search result as the first display information, wherein N is a natural number ([0071]: when determine that the query has a definite answer represented by a precise result, select N results--such as prices result and a recommendation guide result-- for display, that indicate that N is a natural number).
With respect to claims 4 and 15, Wang further discloses wherein the determining, based on the first display information, second display information associated with the first display information comprises:
performing, based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, an extended search to obtain an extended search result ([0061-0063]: obtain extended search result represented by the context page); and
using first M search results in the extended search result as the second display information, wherein M is a natural number ([0060-0066], Fig 4B-8: using N number of search result of the context page as the 2nd display information as shown in the drawings, and M may be any numeric number).
With respect to claims 5 and 16, Wang further discloses wherein the performing, based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, an extended search to obtain an extended search result comprises:
calculating, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, at least one of entity word relevance and similarity, to determine at least one of a corresponding extended keyword and a relationship chain ([0071]: calculating relevancy and [0095] as described in [0095] & [0109] for extended keyword and relationship for extended search correspond to the context search via user interface); and
performing, based on at least one of the extended keywords and the relationship chain, the extended search to obtain the extended search result ([0070-0072]: perform extended search represented by the context search via user interaction according to the keyword and relationships as shown in Fig 4B-8 that one keyword is link to another of the extended result).
With respect to claims 7 and 18, Wang further discloses wherein the determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, first display information comprises:
in response to determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, that the query request does not have a definite answer, performing, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, an extended search to obtain an extended search result ([0066-0068]: when determine that the query does not have a definite answer represented by a multi-demand query does have a precise answer); and
using the first N search results in the extended search result as the first display information, wherein N is a natural number ([0062-0062], Fig 4C-5: using N number of results in the extended search result represented by the context search results as information for display).
With respect to claims 8 and 19, Wang further discloses wherein the performing, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, an extended search to obtain an extended search result comprises: calculating, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, at least one of entity word relevance and similarity, to determine at least one of a corresponding extended keyword and a relationship chain([0071]: calculating relevancy and [0095] as described in [0095] & [0109] for extended keyword and relationship for extended search correspond to the context search via user interface); and
performing, based on at least one of the extended keyword and the relationship chain, the extended search to obtain the extended search result ([0070-0072]: perform extended search represented by the context search via user interaction according to the keyword and relationships as shown in Fig 4B-8 that one keyword is link to another of the extended result).
With respect to claim 9, Wang further discloses wherein the determining, based on the first display information, second display information associated with the first display information comprises: generating, based on the demand analysis result and the first display information, a key information prompt, and using the key information prompt as the second display information (key information prompt is a type of information; [0062-0063], Fig 4B-6: generate the context information according to the 1st display information of the initial result, the context information is correspond to the key information prompt that is being used to display on an interface).
With respect to claims 10-11, Wang further discloses wherein whether the query request has the definite answer is determined by: performing a semantic recognition on the query request, and determining a demand of the query request based on a result of the semantic recognition ([0079-0080]: performing semantic analysis corresponding to the semantic recognition and determine a demand for the type of query as described in [0129]); and
determining, based on the demand of the query request and the initial search result, whether the query request has the definite answer ([0046-0047]: determine whether the query has a definite answer in view of query demand classification described in [0129] which includes a query with a precise result representing the definite answer).
With respect to claim 20, Wang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, performs a method for displaying search result (abstract, [0151-0152]), and the method comprises:
With respect claim 1, Wang discloses a method for displaying search result (abstract), comprising:
performing, based on a received query request, demand analysis to obtain a demand analysis result ([0047-0049], Fig 9: perform a demand analysis of a received query to obtain a demand analysis result represented by a determined type of demand query, the result being either a single demand query or a muti-demand query, as further disclosed in [0074-0078]);
performing a search to obtain an initial search result ([0049], Fig 4B-4D: performing a search to obtain an initial result set based on the demand analysis result that indicates the type of demand and the query, such as and not limited to initial result for a single demand query, or an initial result for a multi-demand query, which is also being described in [0059-0068] & [0084], [0095], [0110]), wherein the performing the search to obtain the initial search result comprises:
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the query request, a search keyword ([0059]: determine a search keyword based on a demand analysis result and the query request. Such as a search keyword of “weather” based on the demand analysis result of single demand query for a query request of “weather in Beijing” which leads to a search of weather and initial result relevant to weather in Beijing. The determined search keyword such as “food” for the demand analysis result of multi-demand for query request of “Wu town” as described in [0065-0068]. The determining step is further described in [0080-0083]); and
performing, based on the search keyword, the search to obtain the initial search result ([0060]: perform the search based on at least the search term to obtain the initial search result for single demand query, and result for multi-demand query as described in [0066-0068], as further described in described in [0080], [0085]).
determining, based on the demand analysis result and the initial search result, first display information (first display information is merely a type of information;[0060-0063], Fig 4a-5 & 7a-7b: determine a first display information based on the demand analysis result of single demand or multi-demand, such as and not limited to determine displayed information of weather in Beijing, or “Oriental Provence Lavender” of the initial search result obtained from the demand analysis result based on the demand analysis and the initial result. The determining is further described in [0095], [0110]);
determining, based on the first display information, second display information that provides an explanation associated with the first display information (second display information and explanation are merely types of information; [0063], Fig 6: determine second display information, e.g. context information of 1st display information of “Oriental Provence Lavender” with data corresponding to explanation via user interaction, and further disclosed in [0107-110], [0113-0114]); and
displaying, at a preset position of a display interface, the first display information, and displaying, next to the first display information, the second display information ([0060-0063], Fig 4 & 2 & 6: display the first display information, e.g. information of “Oriental Provence Lavender” at a preset position such as on the top of a display interface of a user device, and display the 2nd display information next to the display information, such as on the bottom of ““Oriental Provence Lavender” as shown in Fig 6, and further disclosed in [0107-110], [0113-0114]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, as applied to claims 5 and 16 respectively, in view of Wang et al (Pub. No.US 2022/0351721, hereinafter Wang I).
With respect to claims 6 and 17, Wang further discloses wherein: in response to the query request having an affirmative answer, the second display information is supplementary information related to the first display information ([0061], Fig 4a: supplementary information is merely a type of information data that is related to the first display information. In response to the query has a precise result correspond the precise answer, the second information is a related supplementary information, which as and not limited to the graph related to the 1st weather information for the weather query).
Wang does not explicitly disclose in response to the query request having a negative answer, the second display information is a solution related to the first display information.
However, Wang I discloses in response to the query request having a negative answer, the second display information is a solution related to the first display information ([0103]: in response the query having a negative answer, 2nd display information is a solution of returning the demand expression to the user in a form of general question for subsequent processing).
Since both Wang and Wang I are from the same field of endeavor because both are directed to processing query for results, which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and combine their teachings by incorporate the query negative answer of Wang I into Wang for determining the second display information as claimed. The motivation to combine is to enhance searching experience with efficiency for users (Wang, [0005] & [0087]; Wang I, [0009]).
Examiner Notes
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraph and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE N OWYANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168