DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
11645841 B2
19/069,140
1. A method comprising: identifying, by a processing system comprising at least one processor, a user viewpoint of a user at a first venue; matching, by the processing system, a viewpoint at a second venue to the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue, wherein the first venue has a first area of performance and the second venue has a second area of performance, wherein the matching comprises aligning at least one first visual marker of the first area of performance with at least one second visual marker of the second area of performance, wherein the at least one first visual marker of the first venue is obtained from a video from an augmented reality device of the user, wherein the at least one second visual marker of the second venue is obtained from at least one device at the second venue that provides a visual content of the second venue; detecting, by the processing system, a trigger condition to provide the visual content of the second venue to the user at the first venue; obtaining, by the processing system, the visual content of the second venue, wherein the visual content of the second venue is obtained from the viewpoint at the second venue; and providing, by the processing system, the visual content of the second venue to the augmented reality device of the user at the first venue, wherein the augmented reality device presents the visual content of the second venue as a visual overlay within a field of view of the user.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first venue and the second venue are of a same venue type.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the same venue type comprises a sporting venue type, wherein the at least one first visual marker or the at least one second visual marker comprises at least one of: at least one field line; at least a portion of a goal; at least one wall; at least a portion of an infield; at least one foul ball post; at least one rink board; at least one lane line; at least one net; at least one backboard; at least one hoop; or at least one track feature.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein the first venue and the second venue have corresponding stages for performance, wherein the at least one first visual marker and the at least one second visual marker comprise at least one feature shared by the corresponding stages.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the trigger condition comprises a user input via the augmented reality device.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the trigger condition comprises an occurrence of a defined occurrence type at one of: the first venue or the second venue.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the trigger condition is detected from: at least one of audio data of the first venue or video data of the first venue; at least one of audio data of the second venue or video data of the second venue; an announcement at the first venue or the second venue; or a voice pattern of an announcer at the first venue or the second venue.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the matching comprises: matching a first position of the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue to a second position of the viewpoint of the second venue.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the first position comprises a first seat at the first venue, and wherein the second position comprises a second seat at the second venue.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein first position and the second position have a same orientation and distance to corresponding first and second performance areas of the first venue and the second venue.
1. A method comprising: detecting, by a processing system comprising at least one processor, a trigger condition to provide a visual content of a second venue to a user at a first venue, wherein the apparatus comprises an augmented reality device of the user; identifying, by the processing system, a user viewpoint of the user at the first venue; obtaining, by the processing system, the visual content of the second venue, wherein the visual content of the second venue is obtained from a viewpoint at the second venue that is matched to the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue; and presenting, by the processing system, the visual content of the second venue as a visual overlay within a field of view of the user.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first venue and the second venue are of a same venue type.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the at least one visual marker comprises at least one of: at least one field line; at least a portion of a goal; at least one wall; at least a portion of an infield; at least one foul ball post; at least one rink board; at least one lane line; at least one net; at least one backboard; at least one hoop; or at least one track feature.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the first venue and the second venue have corresponding areas of performance.
13. The method of claim 1, wherein the trigger condition comprises a user input via the augmented reality device.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the trigger condition comprises an occurrence of a defined occurrence type at one of: the first venue or the second venue.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the trigger condition is detected from: at least one of: audio data of the first venue or video data of the first venue; at least one of: audio data of the second venue or video data of the second venue; an announcement at the first venue or the second venue; or a voice pattern of an announcer at the first venue or the second venue.
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the viewpoint at the second venue that is matched comprises: matching a first position of the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue to a second position of the viewpoint of the second venue.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the first position comprises a first seat at the first venue, and wherein the second position comprises a second seat at the second venue.
16. The method of claim 14, wherein first position and the second position have a same orientation and distance to corresponding performance areas of the first venue and the second venue.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system including at least one processor, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: identifying a user viewpoint of a user at a first venue; matching a viewpoint at a second venue to the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue, wherein the first venue has a first area of performance and the second venue has a second area of performance, wherein the matching comprises aligning at least one first visual marker of the first area of performance with at least one second visual marker of the second area of performance, wherein the at least one first visual marker of the first venue is obtained from a video from an augmented reality device of the user, wherein the at least one second visual marker of the second venue is obtained from at least one device at the second venue that provides a visual content of the second venue; detecting a trigger condition to provide the visual content of the second venue to the user at the first venue; obtaining the visual content of the second venue, wherein the visual content of the second venue is obtained from the viewpoint at the second venue; and providing the visual content of the second venue to the augmented reality device of the user at the first venue, wherein the augmented reality device presents the visual content of the second venue as a visual overlay within a field of view of the user.
17. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system including at least one processor, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: detecting, a trigger condition to provide a visual content of a second venue to a user at a first venue, wherein the apparatus comprises an augmented reality device of the user; identifying a user viewpoint of the user at the first venue; obtaining the visual content of the second venue, wherein the visual content of the second venue is obtained from a viewpoint at the second venue that is matched to the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue; and presenting the visual content of the second venue as a visual overlay within a field of view of the user.
18. An apparatus comprising: a processing system including at least one processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: detecting, a trigger condition to provide a visual content of a second venue to a user at a first venue, wherein the apparatus comprises an augmented reality device of the user; identifying a user viewpoint of the user at the first venue; matching a viewpoint at the second venue to the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue, wherein the first venue and the second venue have corresponding areas of performance; obtaining the visual content of the second venue, wherein the visual content of the second venue is obtained from the viewpoint at the second venue that is matched to the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue; and presenting the visual content of the second venue as a visual overlay within a field of view of the user, wherein the presenting comprises aligning at least one visual marker of the first venue and at least one corresponding visual marker of the second venue, wherein the at least one visual marker of the first venue is obtained from a video from the augmented reality device of the user, wherein at least one corresponding visual marker of the second venue is obtained from at least one device at the second venue that provides the visual content of the second venue.
19. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the first venue and the second venue are of a same venue type.
18. An apparatus comprising: a processing system including at least one processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: detecting, a trigger condition to provide a visual content of a second venue to a user at a first venue, wherein the apparatus comprises an augmented reality device of the user; identifying a user viewpoint of the user at the first venue; obtaining the visual content of the second venue, wherein the visual content of the second venue is obtained from a viewpoint at the second venue that is matched to the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue; and presenting the visual content of the second venue as a visual overlay within a field of view of the user.
19. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the first venue and the second venue are of a same venue type.
It is clear that all the elements of the application claims 1, 2, 6, 3, 13, 7, 8, 14, 15 and 17-19 are to be found in patent claims 1-9, 11, 18 and 19 (as the application claims 1, 2, 6, 3, 13, 7, 8, 14, 15 and 17-19 fully encompasses patent claims 1-9, 11, 18 and 19). The difference between the application claims 1, 2, 6, 3, 13, 7, 8, 14, 15 and 17-19 and the patent claims 1-9, 11, 18 and 19 lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1-9, 11, 18 and 19 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims 1, 2, 6, 3, 13, 7, 8, 14, 15 and 17-19. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims 1, 2, 6, 3, 13, 7, 8, 14, 15 and 17-19 is anticipated by claims 1-9, 11 and 17-19 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claims 1-9, 11 and 17-19 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisner et al., U.S. Patent Number 9,268,406 B2, in view of Correira, U.S. Patent Number 11,977,671 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Geisner discloses a method comprising: detecting, by a processing system comprising at least one processor, a trigger condition (col. 16, lines 46-47, an application can identify or register an action which is a pre-collision event or a collision trigger or collision itself for processing); provide a visual content of a second venue to a user at a first venue (col. 3, lines 58-62, user’s sports has an away game; team’s home stadium will be open for people to enter with their personal A/V apparatus; people in the home stadium can see the game being played remotely by their personal A/V apparatus), wherein the apparatus comprises an augmented reality device of the user (figure 1A -2B; col. 4, lines 34-36, personal A/V apparatus including a near-eye, augmented reality (AR) display); identifying, by the processing system, a user viewpoint of the user at the first venue (col. 2, lines 26-28, receiving user input including a viewing position selection at a first location where the event is occurring; col. 22, lines 16-17, determines a display field of view of a near-eye, augmented reality display device); obtaining, by the processing system, the visual content of the second venue, wherein the visual content of the second venue is obtained from a viewpoint at the second venue that is matched to the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue (col. 1, line -col. 2, line 1, a second coordinate system for a second location having a second event space for hosting a same type of event as the event occurring at the first location; col. 22, lines 5-10, scene mapping engine, the virtual spectator application maps the one or more 3D space positions or position volumes of the one or more event objects in the first 3D coordinate system for a first location to a second 3D coordinate system for a second location remote from the first location; figures 7A and 7B, col. 22, lines 31—32, different event spaces, baseball fields, with similar geometries; col. 22, lines, 34-37, 3D coordinate system for the first baseball field mapping position volumes of objects and a 3D coordinate system for the second baseball filed mapping position volumes of objects); and presenting, by the processing system, the visual content of the second venue as a visual overlay within a field of view of the user (col. 22, lines 46-47, supplemental overlay data may be displayed to show the differences in the event spaces).
However it is noted that while Geisner discloses that an application can identify an action which is a collision trigger and separately providing visual content of a second venue to a user at a first venue, Geisner fails to specifically disclose the visual content is provided upon detecting a trigger condition.
Correia discloses detecting a trigger condition to provide a visual content of a second venue to a user at a first venue (col. 11, lines 43-47, user interface module can be designed to present visual reports to the user and receive user system selections; system selection are related to the desired environment the user would like to condition in, which actions the user desires to have trigger changes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the different event viewing as disclosed by Geisner the detecting of a trigger to provide the overlay to provide venue experiences based on a user’s desired conditions.
Regarding claim 2, Geisner discloses wherein the first venue and the second venue are of a same venue type (figures 7A and 7B, col. 1, line -col. 2, line 1, a second coordinate system for a second location having a second event space for hosting a same type of event as the event occurring at the first location; col. 22, lines 31-32, examples of different events spaces, baseball fields, with similar geometries).
Regarding claim 3, Geisner discloses wherein the first venue and the second venue have corresponding areas of performance (col. 22, lines 38-39, infields may have standard geometries, but the outfields vary in size and shape; figures 7A and 7B, baseball fields).
Regarding claim 4, Geisner discloses further comprising: matching, by the processing system, the viewpoint at the second venue to the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue (col. 22, lines 5-10, with the aid of a scene mapping engine, the virtual spectator application maps the one or more 3D space positions or position volumes of the one or more event objects in the first 3D coordinate system for the first location to a second 3D coordinate system for a second location remote from the first location).
Regarding claim 5, Geisner discloses wherein the presenting comprises: aligning at least one visual marker of the first venue and at least one corresponding visual marker of the second venue (col. 21, lines 33-34, aligning overlapping image data captured in real time; col. 22, lines 40-47, the virtual spectator application may adjust the action of the virtual event objects to conform to geometry at a remote location; for example, make a baseball go into the stands are the larger stadium to show a home room; in other examples, events are not resized).
Regarding claim 6, Geisner discloses wherein the at least one visual marker comprises at least one of: at least one field line; at least a portion of a goal; at least one wall; at least a portion of an infield; at least one foul ball post; at least one rink board; at least one lane line; at least one net; at least one backboard; at least one hoop; or at least one track feature (col. 22, lines 2-3, receives in real time one or more positions of one or more event objects; col. 22, line 38, the infield have standard geometries).
Regarding claim 7, Geisner discloses wherein the trigger condition comprises an occurrence of a defined occurrence type at one of: the first venue or the second venue (col. 16, lines 46-61, application can identify or register an action or a collision trigger or a collision itself as a gesture for processing by the physics engine; such a gesture as a collision is Joe’s holding the ball).
Regarding claim 8, it is noted that Geisner fails to disclose wherein the trigger condition is detected from: at least one of: audio data of the first venue or video data of the first venue; at least one of: audio data of the second venue or video data of the second venue; an announcement at the first venue or the second venue; or a voice pattern of an announcer at the first venue or the second venue.
Correira discloses wherein the trigger condition is detected from: at least one of: audio data of the first venue or video data of the first venue; at least one of: audio data of the second venue or video data of the second venue; an announcement at the first venue or the second venue; or a voice pattern of an announcer at the first venue or the second venue (col. 5, lines 12-18, can receive inputs from the action detection module and can query the environment learning module for audio conditioning data related to the action).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the trigger as disclosed by Geisner, the different trigger inputs including audio conditioning data related to an action to query the environment for when to provide to the user the view of the first venue or second venue.
Regarding claim 9, Geisner discloses wherein the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue is forwarded to a network server over a communications network (col. 21, lines 1-3, all this data and video is sent to data aggregator, one or more servers, which aggregates the data and sends it to Central Control and Information server).
Regarding claim 10, Geisner discloses wherein the visual content of the second venue is obtained from the network server over the communications network based on the user viewpoint (col. 21, lines 19-23, virtual data can be determined and sent by the information server over the one or more communications networks to the one or more virtual event data providers at locations where users are present like at the home stadium).
Regarding claim 11, Geisner discloses wherein the first venue and the second venue have corresponding stages for performance, wherein the at least one visual marker comprises at least one feature shared by the corresponding stages (col. 22, lines 1-3, virtual event data provider system receives in real time one or more positions of one or more event objects, like a guitarist play on stage at a concert).
Regarding claim 12, Geisner discloses wherein the at least one visual marker of the first venue is obtained from a video from the augmented reality device of the user, wherein at least one corresponding visual marker of the second venue is obtained from at least one device located at the second venue that provided the visual content of the second venue (col. 22, lines 5-10, scene mapping engine, the virtual spectator application maps the one or more 3D space positions or position volumes of the one or more event objects in the first 3D coordinate system for a first location to a second 3D coordinate system for a second location remote from the first location).
Regarding claim 13, Geisner discloses col. 24, lines 27-28, receives user input including a viewing position selection at a first location where the event is occurring.
Correia discloses wherein the trigger condition comprises a user input via the augmented reality device (col. 11, lines 43-47, user interface module can be designed to present visual reports to the user and receive user system selections; system selection are related to the desired environment the user would like to condition in, which actions the user desires to have trigger changes).
Regarding claim 14, Geisner discloses wherein the viewpoint at the second venue that is matched comprises: matching a first position of the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue to a second position of the viewpoint of the second venue (col. 22, lines 5-10, with the aid of a scene mapping engine, the virtual spectator application maps the one or more 3D space positions or position volumes of the one or more event objects in the first 3D coordinate system for the first location to a second 3D coordinate system for a second location remote from the first location).
Regarding claim 15, Geisner discloses wherein the first position comprises a first seat at the first venue, and wherein the second position comprises a second seat at the second venue (col. 4, lines 28-30, default position of a user used in determining a display field of view of a personal A/V apparatus in which to display virtual object for the user is his or her present data seat at present day; figure 9, display view projecting virtual event of baseball players onto a real baseball filed from a user perspective of a seat at a baseball stadium).
Regarding claim 16, Geisner discloses wherein first position and the second position have a same orientation and distance to corresponding performance areas of the first venue and the second venue (col. 22, lines 34-36, mapping position volumes of objects and a 3D coordinate system ).
Regarding claim 17, it is rejected based upon similar rational as above claim 1. Geisner further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system including at least one processor, cause the processing system to perform operations (col. 27, lines 12-26).
Regarding claims 18-20, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above claims 1, 2 and 4 respectively. Geisner further discloses an apparatus comprising: a processing system including at least one processor (902); and a computer-readable medium (904) storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system, cause the processing system to perform operations (col. 26, lines 48-59).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lowry et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0075232 A1
Lowry discloses paragraph 0053, user might view and interact with several live and post live events concurrently; paragraph 0002, VR/AR headsets; paragraph 0021, valuable temporal and spatial analytics may be gleaned; paragraph 0053, provide that user might view and interact with several live and post live events concurrently; User B might be remotely watching a hockey game at which User X is present; User B could share an event with User X who is attending a hockey game, thus allowing User X to “re-live” the moment witnessed; User X would be able to view the exact location, angle, distance and the like that User B tagged.
Herzberg et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0189166 A1
Herzberg discloses paragraph 0049, scenario could apply with tickets where there is a city light as a trigger and when the AR kicks in, you can buy this ticket for a concert, a sport event etc. It could be that specific information about that concert or event can be provided to motivate customers to purchase. That could be videos or other specific information about players, a track record, etc. In one example embodiment, a device enables or allows superimposition of a digital overlay that leads to specific action such as providing specific information; providing videos, tutorials, or any kind of content; providing options to buy; or other options; paragraph 0179, may be displayed with controls such as play/stop, fast-forward, rewind and mute that the user can press on the touch screen display 210 to allow the user to control playback of the video and/or accompanying audio.
Woods et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2018/0239144 A1
Woods discloses detecting, by a processing system comprising at least one processor, a trigger condition to provide a visual content of a second venue to a user at a first venue, wherein the apparatus comprises an augmented reality device of the user (paragraph 0013, monitoring information detected via the sensors of the system, and based on the monitored information, triggering access to virtual content; virtual content being presented as augmented reality content; paragraph 0370, prompts to initiate an activation gateway may be; an announcement in a virtual sports game may indicate that a certain athlete is performing); identifying, by the processing system, a user viewpoint of the user at the first venue (paragraph 0368, first user viewing certain content; sporting event, etc.; ); obtaining, by the processing system, the visual content of the second venue, wherein the visual content of the second venue is obtained from a viewpoint at the second venue that is matched to the user viewpoint of the user at the first venue (paragraph 0370, for users to share the view); and presenting, by the processing system, the visual content of the second venue as a visual overlay within a field of view of the user (paragraph 0727, overlays may be utilized to customize the presentation of virtual objects or images).
Jayaram et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0295040 A1
Jayaram discloses paragraph 0122, receive from content server 323 their respective graphics to be displayed by the mobile devices 321a, 321b, 321c, 321d, 321e over a view of the venue, where the graphics are specified by location and orientation in the real world coordinate system. Each of the mobile devices 321a, 321b, 321c, 321d, 321e can then use processor(s) 509 to convert the graphics into the mobile device's coordinate system based on the transformation at step 1705. The transformed graphics are then presented over a view of the venue by display.
MOTILEWA . GOOD JOHNSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2616
/MOTILEWA GOOD-JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619