DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
1.Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIDAL et al. (US 20150085184) in view of Rodolico et al. (US 20150094118).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, VIDAL discloses a data handling arrangement for use with a portable communication device (Paragraphs: 0048, 0055 and fig.2C) comprising: a multi-port hub that interconnects with a communication port of the portable data device (Paragraphs: 0033, 0061 and fig.1A, 101: VIDAL discusses how one or more of faces of portable device 101-106 include one or more optional components, such as, a volume button or slider or controller, an earphone socket, a USB or mini-USB or micro-USB port, an HDMI port or mini-HDMI port or micro-HDMI port, or the like.); a housing assembly that encases the hub, the housing assembly defining at least one of (a) an interior of a housing for the portable communication device and an external housing relative to the portable communication device housing (Paragraphs: 0041, 0061, 0106 and fig.1A, 100: VIDAL discusses how housing 110, allow a camera (e.g., located within the housing 110) to acquire images or videos there-through; and also discusses a protective case for a smartphone or tablet or for other suitable portable electronic device); and displays data feeds from the peripheral device(s) on a display of the portable data communication device or on a remote, wireless-network-connected data communication device (Paragraphs: 0027, 0063 and 0070: VIDAL discusses how images and/or video captured by side camera(s) of the smartphone or tablet (or other device 100 or 200, or the like), broadcast using wireless link(s) and/or wired link(s), for example, to a remote location, to a remote receiver as a video conference or a video call; or the like).
VIDAL discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically point out “a data handling process, operating at least on a processor of the portable communication device, that coordinates data feeds from one or more peripheral device(s) connected to the hub”
Rodolico however discloses a data handling process, operating at least on a processor of the portable communication device, that coordinates data feeds from one or more peripheral device(s) connected to the hub (Paragraphs: 0017-0018 and 0045-0046: Rodolico discusses how an image data obtained from multiple cameras may be combined to produce a single image or video stream, such as a panoramic view image or video stream; and how a camera interface combine images from multiple cameras into a single image or video feed, such as a panoramic image or video feed, i.e. upon coordinating data feeds from one or more peripheral device(s) connected to the hub).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of VIDAL, and modify a system wherein a data handling process, operating at least on a processor of the portable communication device, that coordinates data feeds from one or more peripheral device(s) connected to the hub, as taught by Rodolico, thus providing a display insert based on edge view cameras of a mobile communication device, as discussed by Rodolico.
Considering claims 2 and 10, VIDAL discloses the data handling arrangement as set forth in claims 1 and 9, wherein the portable data communication device is a smartphone or a tablet and the display is a touchscreen (Paragraphs: 0006-0008: VIDAL discusses a portable communication device such as a smartphone or tablet).
Considering claims 3 and 11, VIDAL discloses the data handling arrangement as set forth in claims 2 and 10, wherein the peripheral device(s) include at least one of a camera, endoscope(s), medical telemetry devices, EKG, EEG, temperature monitor, lab assay, blood pressure monitor, venous/pulse oximetry device, environmental sensor and feedback-based control (Paragraphs: 0006-0007 and 0081: VIDAL discusses various cameras).
Considering claims 4 and 12, VIDAL discloses the data handling arrangement as set forth in claims 3 and 11, wherein the peripheral device(s) include a left camera and the right camera, and wherein the data handling process coordinates video data from the left camera and the right camera via the multi-port hub (Paragraphs: 0020, 0053 and fig.2B: VIDAL discusses how a portable device 200 includes four or more cameras facing different directions, i.e. obvious the device data handling processor coordinates video data from four or more cameras facing different directions).
Considering claims 5 and 13, VIDAL discloses the data handling arrangement as set forth in claims 4 and 12, wherein the hub operates using a USB standard and the data handling process includes an application is adapted to listen on all available USB channels of the hub, and initiate bidirectional, non-proprietary communication with any connected peripheral devices (Paragraphs: 0033 and 0061: VIDAL discusses a portable device with a USB or mini-USB or micro-USB port, an HDMI port or mini-HDMI port or micro-HDMI port, or the like; and a USB stands for Universal Serial Bus).
Conclusion
YOSEF K. LAEKEMARIAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2651
/YOSEF K LAEKEMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691