DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 2.10 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 17/369,975, 18/092,445, and 18/544,698 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The specification does not provide support or enablement for the foldable structure, the first metal layer, the second mater layer, the insulating layer, the first spacing, the organic material, the second spacing, the flexible substrate, the electronic layer, the light-emitting element, the organic light-emitting diode, the inorganic light-emitting diode, and the transistor as presently claimed. Accordingly, claims 1-9 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior applications.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the foldable structure, the first metal layer, the second mater layer, the insulating layer, the first spacing, the organic material, the second spacing, the flexible substrate, the electronic layer, the light-emitting element, the organic light-emitting diode, the inorganic light-emitting diode, and the transistor as presently claimed must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not properly describe, in the application as presently filed, the foldable structure, the first metal layer, the second mater layer, the insulating layer, the first spacing, the organic material, the second spacing, the flexible substrate, the electronic layer, the light-emitting element, the organic light-emitting diode, the inorganic light-emitting diode, and the transistor as presently claimed. It is noted that the present specification and abstract includes reference to the elements stated above, see at least the abstract and paragraph [0006]. However, the brief description of the drawings and the detailed description sections of the specification does not provide support for nor structure to the invention as presently claimed. Also, it is noted that the specification does provide support for and structure to a display device in a rolled and unrolled state with heat dissipation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (10642313). With respect to claim 1, Wu et al. discloses an electronic device (ED,100), comprising: a foldable structure (FR); a first metal layer (M1) disposed on the foldable structure (FR); a second metal layer (M2) disposed on the foldable structure (FR), wherein the first metal layer (M1) is disposed between the second metal layer (M2) and the foldable structure (FR); and an insulating layer (1321) disposed between the foldable structure (FR) and the first metal layer (M1), wherein in a side view, the first metal layer (M1) comprises a first spacing (d3). With respect to claim 2, Wu et al. discloses the electronic device (ED, 100) according to claim 1, wherein the insulating layer (1321) comprises an organic material. With respect to claim 3, Wu et al. discloses the electronic device (ED, 100) according to claim 1, wherein in the side view, the insulating layer (1321) comprises a second spacing (d4). With respect to claim 4, Wu et al. discloses the electronic device (ED, 100) according to claim 3, wherein the first spacing (d3) of the first metal layer (M1) is at least partially overlapped with the second spacing (d4) of the insulating layer (1321). With respect to claim 5, Wu et al. discloses the electronic device (ED, 100) according to claim 1, wherein the foldable structure (FR) comprises a flexible substrate (SUB) and an electronic layer (190), and the flexible substrate (SUB) is disposed between the insulating layer (1321) and the electronic layer (190). With respect to claim 6, Wu et al. discloses the electronic device (ED, 100) according to claim 5, wherein the electronic layer (190) comprises a light-emitting element. With respect to claim 7, Wu et al. discloses the electronic device (ED, 100) according to claim 6, wherein the light-emitting element comprises an organic light-emitting diode. With respect to claim 8, Wu et al. discloses the electronic device (ED, 100) according to claim 6, wherein the light-emitting element comprises an inorganic light-emitting diode. With respect to claim 9, Wu et al. discloses the electronic device(ED, 100) according to claim 5, wherein the electronic layer comprises a transistor (T1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LISA LEA-EDMONDS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/LISA LEA-EDMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847 2026-08-06