DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 (Figs. 1-4) the reply filed on October 29, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 29, 2025.
Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are presented for examination below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ventilation apertures as recited in claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 6-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a sheet material comprising a first outer layer, a second outer layer, and an adhesive layer disposed between the first outer layer and the second outer layer.” The limitation is indefinite, as it is unclear if the second outer layer is a second layer that is formed on an outside of the belt (i.e., on a side of the belt that is disposed away from the wearer’s body), or if the second outer layer is an inner layer (i.e., a layer that is configured to be worn against the wearer’s body). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as follows: “a sheet material comprising an an inner layer, and an adhesive layer disposed between the inner layer.”
Claim 11 recites the limitation “wherein the adhesive layer comprises, layered in order from an inner side to an outer side: a first adhesive layer, a cushioning layer, a second adhesive layer, a breathable layer, and a third adhesive layer.” The limitation is indefinite, as it is confusing how the adhesive layer can include three adhesive layers, a cushioning layer, and a breathable layer. It is also unclear whether the cushioning layer and breathable layer have adhesive properties, since they are included within the claimed “adhesive layer.” For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as follows: “wherein the adhesive layer is a first adhesive layer, and the abdominal support belt comprises, layered in order from an inner side to an outer side: the inner layer, [[a]] the first adhesive layer, a cushioning layer, a second adhesive layer, a breathable layer, [[and]] a third adhesive layer, and the outer layer.” Note the incorporation of the interpretation of claim 1 above.
Dependent claims are rejected at least for depending from rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 15, and 17-20 (regarding claims 1-3, 6-10, 15, and 17, as best as can be understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peters (US Patent No. 5,188,585).
Regarding claim 1, Peters discloses an abdominal support belt (100, 200), comprising:
a waist support portion (see annotated Fig. 3) having a first upper edge and a first lower edge (see annotated Fig. 3), wherein the waist support portion is configured to extend around a user's waist region and along both sides of the user (see at least Fig. 2);
a lower abdominal support portion (200) having a second upper edge and a second lower edge (see annotated Fig. 4), wherein the waist support portion and the lower abdominal support portion are connected at a junction (removable junction defined by complementary hook and loop fasteners 218, 34 between 100 and 200, see Figs. 1-4 and column 4, line 43 – column 5, line 53), and the lower abdominal support portion is configured to be positioned over a lower abdominal region of the user when worn (see at least Figs. 1-2 and column 4, line 43 – column 5, line 53, lower abdominal support portion 200 is “adapted to be infinitely positioned” along primary band 100 depending on the relative positions of the hook and loop fasteners, and is therefore capable of being used/positioned over a lower abdominal region of the user);
wherein at least one of the waist support portion or the lower abdominal support portion is at least partially formed from a sheet material (“elasticized laminates” as described in column 4, lines 17-24) comprising a first outer layer (2), a second outer layer (6), and an adhesive layer disposed between the first outer layer and the second outer layer (see Figs. 5 and 8 and column 4, lines 17-24; Peters discloses wherein the primary and secondary belts 100, 200 each include an intermediate foam center 4 that is “adhered to both inner and outer layers 2 and 6” and therefore includes at least one adhesive layer disposed between the first outer layer and the second outer layer).
Regarding claim 2, Peters further discloses an upper abdominal support portion (see annotated Fig. 3) configured to be positioned over a region of the user between a lower chest edge and an area above the navel when worn (see Figs. 1-4, note that the upper abdominal support portion extends at least between a lower chest edge and an area above the navel when worn).
Regarding claim 3, Peters further discloses wherein the upper abdominal support portion and the waist support portion are integrally formed as a single piece (see Fig. 3 and column 4, lines 17-24; the upper abdominal support portion and the waist support portion together form primary belt 100 which is described as a “one-piece elasticized laminate”).
Regarding claim 6, Peters further discloses wherein the upper abdominal support portion and the waist support portion are cut from a same sheet material (see Fig. 3 and column 4, lines 17-24; the upper abdominal support portion and the waist support portion together form primary belt 100 which is described as a “one-piece elasticized laminate”, i.e., a same sheet material).
Regarding claim 7, Peters further discloses wherein the upper abdominal support portion comprises a left strap and a right strap (see annotated Fig. 3) detachably connected to each other (via hook and loop fasteners 29, 36; see at least Figs. 2-3 and column 4, line 60 - column 6, line 21) and the left strap and the right strap are configured to extend from the waist support portion to a front side of the user when worn (see at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Peters further discloses wherein the first lower edge is configured to terminate at or below an iliac crest of the user’s pelvic when worn (see at least Fig. 2; the first lower edge is capable of terminating at or below an iliac crest of the user's pelvis when worn, depending on the size/proportions of the intended wearer).
Regarding claim 9, Peters further discloses wherein the lower abdominal support portion (200) is curved downwardly from a central region (adjacent 218) to opposing ends (adjacent 220, 222; see shape of upper edge of 200 in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Peters further discloses wherein the second upper edge includes a notch configured to avoid the navel when worn (see annotated Fig. 4 below, note that the notch is configured to avoid the navel when worn, as seen in Figs. 1-2; the Examiner further notes that the notch defines a shallow concavity consistent with the shallow concavity of notch 211 of Fig. 3 of the pending application).
Regarding claim 15, Peters further discloses wherein the first lower edge of the waist support portion is linear at least at a portion corresponding to a user’s back when worn (i.e., a central portion of the waist support portion, see Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 17, Peters further discloses wherein at least a portion of the abdominal support belt is provided with ventilation apertures (see column 4, lines 17-42; primary and secondary belts 100, 200 include an open-cell foam center 4 that includes apertures due to the open-cell construction of the foam, and which are capable of providing some degree of ventilation).
Regarding claim 18, Peters discloses an abdominal support belt (100, 200), comprising:
a waist support portion (see annotated Fig. 3) having a first upper edge and a first lower edge (see annotated Fig. 3), wherein the waist support portion is configured to extend around a user's waist region and along both sides of the user (see at least Fig. 2);
a lower abdominal support portion (200) having a second upper edge and a second lower edge (see annotated Fig. 4), wherein the waist support portion and the lower abdominal support portion are connected at a junction (removable junction defined by complementary hook and loop fasteners 218, 34 between 100 and 200, see Figs. 1-4 and column 4, line 43 – column 5, line 53), and the lower abdominal support portion is configured to be positioned over a lower abdominal region of the user when worn (see at least Figs. 1-2 and column 4, line 43 – column 5, line 53, lower abdominal support portion 200 is “adapted to be infinitely positioned” along primary band 100 depending on the relative positions of the hook and loop fasteners, and is therefore capable of being used/positioned over a lower abdominal region of the user); and
an upper abdominal support portion (see annotated Fig. 3) configured to be positioned over a region of the user between a lower chest edge and an area above the navel when worn (see Figs. 1-4, note that the upper abdominal support portion extends at least between a lower chest edge and an area above the navel when worn);
wherein the upper abdominal support portion and the waist support portion are integrally formed as a single piece (see Fig. 3 and column 4, lines 17-24; the upper abdominal support portion and the waist support portion together form primary belt 100 which is described as a “one-piece elasticized laminate”).
Regarding claim 19, Peter further discloses wherein the upper abdominal support portion comprises a left strap and a right strap (see annotated Fig. 3) detachably connected to each other (via hook and loop fasteners 29, 36; see at least Figs. 2-3 and column 4, line 60 - column 6, line 21) and the left strap and the right strap are configured to extend from the waist support portion to a front side of the user when worn (see at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Peters discloses an abdominal support belt (100, 200), comprising:
a waist support portion (see annotated Fig. 3) having a first upper edge and a first lower edge (see annotated Fig. 3), wherein the waist support portion is configured to extend around a user's waist region and along both sides of the user (see at least Fig. 2);
a lower abdominal support portion (200) having a second upper edge and a second lower edge (see annotated Fig. 4), wherein the waist support portion and the lower abdominal support portion are connected at a junction (removable junction defined by complementary hook and loop fasteners 218, 34 between 100 and 200, see Figs. 1-4 and column 4, line 43 – column 5, line 53), and the lower abdominal support portion is configured to be positioned over a lower abdominal region of the user when worn (see at least Figs. 1-2 and column 4, line 43 – column 5, line 53, lower abdominal support portion 200 is “adapted to be infinitely positioned” along primary band 100 depending on the relative positions of the hook and loop fasteners, and is therefore capable of being used/positioned over a lower abdominal region of the user); and
an upper abdominal support portion (see annotated Fig. 3) configured to be positioned over a region of the user between a lower chest edge and an area above the navel when worn (see Figs. 1-4, note that the upper abdominal support portion extends at least between a lower chest edge and an area above the navel when worn);
wherein the upper abdominal support portion and the waist support portion are cut from a same sheet material (see Fig. 3 and column 4, lines 17-24; the upper abdominal support portion and the waist support portion together form primary belt 100 which is described as a “one-piece elasticized laminate”, i.e., a same sheet material).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oz (US PG Pub 2008/0029333).
Regarding claim 18, Oz discloses an abdominal support belt (10, note that belt 10 is made of sturdy yet sufficiently elastic material that is capable of providing at least some support to a wearer’s abdominal area, see paragraphs 0074-0081), comprising:
a waist support portion (side and rear portions of belt 10, including right and left side portions of upper and lower arms 35, 40; see annotated Fig. 4) having a first upper edge and a first lower edge (see annotated Fig. 4), wherein the waist support portion is configured to extend around a user's waist region and along both sides of the user (see at least Fig. 2);
a lower abdominal support portion (central portion of lower arm 40) having a second upper edge and a second lower edge (see annotated Fig. 4), wherein the waist support portion and the lower abdominal support portion are connected at a junction (along dotted line of annotated Fig. 4), and the lower abdominal support portion is configured to be positioned over a lower abdominal region of the user when worn (see at least Fig. 2); and
an upper abdominal support portion (central portion of 35, and side straps 12, 14) configured to be positioned over a region of the user between a lower chest edge and an area above the navel when worn (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 4);
wherein the upper abdominal support portion and the waist support portion are integrally formed as a single piece (see at least Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 0064-0067).
Regarding claim 19, Oz further discloses wherein the upper abdominal support portion (central portion of 35, and side straps 12, 14) comprises a left strap (12) and a right strap (14) detachably connected to each other (via opening in right strap 14, see paragraph 0071), and the left strap and the right strap are configured to extend from the waist support portion to a front side of the user when worn (see at least Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0071-0073).
Regarding claim 20, Oz discloses an abdominal support belt (10, note that belt 10 is made of sturdy yet sufficiently elastic material that is capable of providing at least some support to a wearer’s abdominal area, see paragraphs 0074-0081), comprising:
a waist support portion (side and rear portions of belt 10, including right and left side portions of upper and lower arms 35, 40; see annotated Fig. 4) having a first upper edge and a first lower edge (see annotated Fig. 4), wherein the waist support portion is configured to extend around a user's waist region and along both sides of the user (see at least Fig. 2);
a lower abdominal support portion (central portion of lower arm 40) having a second upper edge and a second lower edge (see annotated Fig. 4), wherein the waist support portion and the lower abdominal support portion are connected at a junction (along dotted line of annotated Fig. 4), and the lower abdominal support portion is configured to be positioned over a lower abdominal region of the user when worn (see at least Fig. 2); and
an upper abdominal support portion (central portion of 35, and side straps 12, 14) configured to be positioned over a region of the user between a lower chest edge and an area above the navel when worn (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 4);
wherein the upper abdominal support portion and the waist support portion are cut from a same sheet material (see at least Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 0064-0067 and 0074-0081).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 15, and 16, as best as can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oz in view of Kocevar (US PG Pub 2017/0036001).
Regarding claim 1, Oz discloses an abdominal support belt (10, note that belt 10 is made of sturdy yet sufficiently elastic material that is capable of providing at least some support to a wearer’s abdominal area, see paragraphs 0074-0081), comprising:
a waist support portion (side and rear portions of belt 10, including right and left side portions of upper and lower arms 35, 40; see annotated Fig. 4) having a first upper edge and a first lower edge (see annotated Fig. 4), wherein the waist support portion is configured to extend around a user's waist region and along both sides of the user (see at least Fig. 2); and
a lower abdominal support portion (central portion of lower arm 40) having a second upper edge and a second lower edge (see annotated Fig. 4), wherein the waist support portion and the lower abdominal support portion are connected at a junction (along dotted line of annotated Fig. 4), and the lower abdominal support portion is configured to be positioned over a lower abdominal region of the user when worn (see at least Fig. 2).
Oz further discloses wherein at least one of the waist support portion or the lower abdominal support portion is at least partially formed from a sheet material comprising at least a first outer layer (outer layer), a second outer layer (inner layer), and an intermediate cushion/sponge layer (see paragraphs 0074-0077) but fails to further disclose an adhesive layer disposed between the first outer layer and the second outer layer. Oz is silent regarding the attachment method for coupling the layers of the sheet material together.
However, the Examiner notes that it is well known in the art to use adhesive to couple two layers of fabric together. For example, Kocevar teaches a maternity abdominal belt (10) comprising first and second layers (102, 104) that are attached to one another at upper and lower edges of the belt “in any desired fashion, preferably with sewing or an adhesive” (see Figs. 3-4 and at least paragraph 0028). The Examiner notes that the use of adhesive allows for secure attachment between the layers while reducing skin irritation from stitches/seams.
Therefore, based on Kocevar’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Oz’s belt to include an adhesive layer disposed between the first outer layer and the second outer layer at upper and lower edges of the belt, as it is well known in the art to use adhesive to couple two layers of fabric together, to provide a secure attachment between the layers while reducing skin irritation from stitches/seams.
Regarding claim 2, the modified belt of Oz (i.e., Oz in view of Kocevar) is further disclosed to comprise an upper abdominal support portion (central portion of 35 of Oz, and side straps 12, 14 of Oz) configured to be positioned over a region of the user between a lower chest edge and an area above the navel when worn (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 4 of Oz).
Regarding claim 3, the modified belt of Oz (i.e., Oz in view of Kocevar) is further disclosed wherein the upper abdominal support portion (central portion of 35 of Oz, and side straps 12, 14 of Oz) and the waist support portion (side and rear portions of belt 10 of Oz) are integrally formed as a single piece (see at least Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 0064-0067 of Oz).
Regarding claim 6, the modified belt of Oz (i.e., Oz in view of Kocevar) is further disclosed wherein the upper abdominal support portion (central portion of 35 of Oz, and side straps 12, 14 of Oz) and the waist support portion (side and rear portions of belt 10 of Oz) are cut from a same sheet material (see at least Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 0064-0067 and 0074-0081 of Oz).
Regarding claim 7, the modified belt of Oz (i.e., Oz in view of Kocevar) is further disclosed wherein the upper abdominal support portion (central portion of 35 of Oz, and side straps 12, 14 of Oz) comprises a left strap (12 of Oz) and a right strap (14 of Oz) detachably connected to each other (via opening in right strap 14, see paragraph 0071 of Oz), and the left strap and the right strap are configured to extend from the waist support portion to a front side of the user when worn (see at least Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0071-0073 of Oz).
Regarding claim 8, the modified belt of Oz (i.e., Oz in view of Kocevar) is further disclosed wherein the first lower edge is configured to terminate at or below an iliac crest of the user's pelvis when worn (see at least Figs. 2 and 4; the first lower edge is capable of terminating at or below an iliac crest of the user's pelvis when worn, depending on the size/proportions of the intended wearer).
Regarding claim 15, the modified belt of Oz (i.e., Oz in view of Kocevar) is further disclosed wherein the first lower edge of the waist support portion is linear at least at a portion corresponding to the user's back when worn (see at least Figs. 1-4 of Oz; the first lower edge has a linear, i.e., substantially straight, shape).
Regarding claim 16, the modified belt of Oz (i.e., Oz in view of Kocevar) is further disclosed wherein the first lower edge slopes downwardly toward the junction (see annotated Fig. 4 of Oz).
Claims 11, 13, and 14, as best as can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Pennington et al. (herein Pennington)(US PG Pub 2025/0134184).
Regarding claim 11, Peters discloses the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
Peters further discloses wherein the adhesive layer comprises, layered in order from an inner side to an outer side: a first adhesive layer (adhesive between inner layer 6 and foam layer 4), a cushioning layer (foam layer 4), and a second adhesive layer (adhesive between open-cell foam layer 4 and outer layer 2), but fails to further disclose a breathable layer and a third adhesive layer.
However, Pennington teaches a multi-layer laminate for a supportive undergarment (see at least Figs. 4-5A comprising, in sequence from an inner side to an outer side: an inner fabric layer (408), a first foam layer (406), a mesh layer (404), a second foam layer (402), and an outer fabric layer (400), wherein the layers are adhered to one another via respective adhesive layers (see paragraphs 0060-0062 and 0078-0079), wherein the mesh layer enhances the stability, structural integrity, stretch, and/or recovery of the foam layer(s)(see paragraph 0060).
Therefore, based on Pennington’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Peters’ multi-layer laminate to further include an intermediate mesh layer laminated to the foam layer, so as to include a breathable layer (mesh layer) and a third adhesive layer (adhesive attaching the foam layer to the mesh layer), as doing so would enhance the stability, structural integrity, stretch, and/or recovery of the foam layer.
Regarding claim 13, the modified belt of Peters (i.e., Peters in view of Pennington) is further disclosed wherein the cushioning layer (4 of Peters) comprises a sponge layer (see column 4, lines 17-42 of Peters; cushioning layer 4 comprises an open-cell polyurethane foam that forms a sponge layer).
Regarding claim 14, the modified belt of Peters (i.e., Peters in view of Pennington) is further disclosed wherein the breathable layer (404 of Pennington) comprises a mesh fabric (see at least paragraph 0060 of Pennington).
Claim 12, as best as can be understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters and Pennington, as applied to claim 11 above, in view of Hammond et al. (herein Hammond)(US PG Pub 2025/0194702).
Regarding claim 12, Peters and Pennington together teach the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above, but fail to explicitly teach wherein the first adhesive layer, the second adhesive layer, and the third adhesive layer are adhesive coatings.
However, it is well-known in the art to vary the amount/density of adhesive between two layers, e.g., by providing adhesive dots, an adhesive pattern, or an adhesive coating between the layers, so as to provide a desired amount of stretchability and/or firmness to accommodate a desired amount of expansibility or support in certain areas of the garment (see paragraph 0047-0050 of Hammond).
Therefore, based on Hammond’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specifically provided the first, second, and third adhesive layers of Peters/Pennington as adhesive coatings, so as to provide a firmer, more supportive fabric laminate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Working, III (US Patent No. 6,071,175) teaches a maternity support belt comprising a waist support portion, a lower abdominal support portion, and an upper abdominal support portion detachably connected to the waist support portion; and Strottner et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0015462) teaches a seamless, one-piece maternity bodysuit comprising a waist support portion, a lower abdominal support portion, and an upper abdominal support portion.
/JOCELYN BRAVO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732