DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 & 7-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1:
“a liquid discharge head comprising: multiple heads”, due to the repeated word “head” for multiple elements within the product. Examiner assumes the Applicant is referring to multiple chips/dies within a liquid discharge head or a liquid discharge unit containing multiple heads.
“the first nozzles other than the first non-discharge array in the first overlapping region”, where “array” should be pluralized.
“having first overlapping” should be corrected to “having a first overlapping”.
“the second nozzles other than the second non-discharge array in the second overlapping region”, where “array” should be pluralized.
Claim 7:
“of first nozzles” should be changed to “of the first nozzles”.
Claim 8:
“system circuitry configured to drive the liquid discharge head and the conveyor to selectively discharge the liquid droplets” should be rephrased for clarity/accuracy, given the conveyor cannot discharge droplets, so the circuitry cannot be configured to cause it to do so. The Examiner has assumed Applicant is referring to system circuitry configured to drive both the liquid discharge head and the conveyor, wherein the driving of the liquid discharge head comprises selectively discharging the liquid droplets.
“a conveyer to convey at least one of the liquid discharge heads or the medium relative to another”, where Applicant is assumed to have intended to state “each other”, otherwise the claim would be indefinite given “relative to another” is an insufficiently defined orientation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “another end of the second head” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “end of the second head” had not previously been defined, so “another end” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirai (US 20090160906 A1) in view of Rubio et al. (US 20170313062 A1; herein referred to as “Rubio”).
With respect to Claim 1, Hirai teaches a liquid discharge head (i.e., “7000”; Hirai: ¶0071, Fig. 11 & 13) comprising:
multiple heads (i.e., “1000”; Hirai: ¶0071, Fig. 11 & 13) to discharge liquid droplets onto a medium conveyed relative to the multiple heads in a conveyance direction (i.e., ejecting liquid onto the medium “P”; Hirai: ¶0071-0072, Fig. 11 & 13; note that conveyance direction of “P” is depicted in Fig. 13), the multiple heads including at least:
Annotated Hirai Fig. 11:
a first head (see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072)
having first nozzle arrays each having first nozzles arrayed in an array direction intersecting the conveyance direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072),
the first nozzle arrays arrayed in the conveyance direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072) and
having first overlapping region in one end of the first head in the array direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072); and
a second head upstream from and adjacent to the first head in the conveyance direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072),
the second head having second nozzle arrays each having second nozzles arrayed in the array direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072),
the second nozzle arrays arrayed in the conveyance direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072) and
having second overlapping region, overlapped with the first overlapping region in the array direction, in another end of the second head in the array direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072); and
Hirai is silent on circuitry configured to:
cause the first head not to discharge the liquid droplets from the first nozzles of one or more of the first nozzle arrays from an upstream end of the first head in the conveyance direction in the first overlapping region as a first non-discharge nozzle array;
cause the first head to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium from the first nozzles other than the first non-discharge nozzle array in the first overlapping region;
cause the second head not to discharge the liquid droplets from the second nozzles of one or more of the second nozzle arrays from a downstream end in the conveyance direction in the second overlapping region as a second non-discharge nozzle array; and
cause the second head to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium from the second nozzles other than the second non-discharge nozzle array in the second overlapping region.
Rubio teaches circuitry (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15) configured to (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). In other words, Rubio teaches circuitry configured to select/command each of the nozzles with a given head to deposit or not to deposit liquid droplets within the overlapping region, based on the image to be printed.
Examiner notes to Applicant that the modified heads are Hirai’s heads “1000” and nozzles “12” therein, wherein each of Hirai’s nozzles “12” are controlled via circuitry taught by Rubio (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8; Fig. 10; Fig. 15). As taught by Rubio, each of these nozzles is controlled by circuitry to selectively discharge liquid from each nozzle (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8; Fig. 10; Fig. 15) and therefore a broad assortment of head nozzle activation selections can be configured via the circuitry taught by Rubio. Hirai’s nozzles with the first and second heads, and which of them have been selected to discharge (or selected to not discharge), will be visually represented for the rest of this discussion with the following layout (wherein this default depiction is showing all nozzles discharging):
Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence within First and Second Heads (Default)
cause the first head not to discharge the liquid droplets from the first nozzles of one or more of the first nozzle arrays from an upstream end of the first head in the conveyance direction in the first overlapping region as a first non-discharge nozzle array (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 1” below);
cause the first head to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium from the first nozzles other than the first non-discharge nozzle array in the first overlapping region (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 1” below);
cause the second head not to discharge the liquid droplets from the second nozzles of one or more of the second nozzle arrays from a downstream end in the conveyance direction in the second overlapping region as a second non-discharge nozzle array (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 1” below); and
cause the second head to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium from the second nozzles other than the second non-discharge nozzle array in the second overlapping region (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 1” below).
Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence – Claim 1
Examiner notes to Applicant that the limitations concerning the discharging of liquid droplets from the first or second nozzles (i.e., whether the first or second nozzles discharge liquid droplets onto the medium or do not discharge liquid droplets onto the medium) are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Rubio. Additionally, the Examiner notes to Applicant that in Rubio, the specification teaches that each first nozzle within the first head and each second nozzle within the second head, within the overlapping region, can be controlled to discharge or to not discharge liquid (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzles taught by Hirai (“12”; see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072) with the circuitry taught by Rubio (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15), given this circuitry enables “firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays” causing each nozzle to “selectively deposit droplets of print fluid” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). This allows for dynamic adjustment of each head to deposit liquid droplets onto a medium in a wide assortment of patterns “in accordance with an image to be printed” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15).
With respect to Claim 2, Hirai as modified by Rubio teaches the liquid discharge head (i.e., “7000”; Hirai: ¶0071, Fig. 11 & 13) according to claim 1.
Hirai is silent on wherein a number of rows of the second non-discharge nozzle array is different from a number of rows of the first non-discharge nozzle array in the conveyance direction.
Rubio teaches wherein a number of rows of the second non-discharge nozzle array is different from a number of rows of the first non-discharge nozzle array in the conveyance direction (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 2” below).
Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence – Claim 2
Examiner notes to Applicant that the limitations concerning the discharging of liquid droplets from the first or second nozzles (i.e., whether the first or second nozzles discharge liquid droplets onto the medium or do not discharge liquid droplets onto the medium) are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Rubio. Additionally, the Examiner notes to Applicant that in Rubio, the specification teaches that each first nozzle within the first head and each second nozzle within the second head, within the overlapping region, can be controlled to discharge or to not discharge liquid (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzles taught by Hirai (“12”; see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072) with the circuitry taught by Rubio (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15), given this circuitry enables “firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays” causing each nozzle to “selectively deposit droplets of print fluid” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). This allows for dynamic adjustment of each head to deposit liquid droplets onto a medium in a wide assortment of patterns “in accordance with an image to be printed” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15).
With respect to Claim 3, Hirai as modified by Rubio teaches the liquid discharge head (i.e., “7000”; Hirai: ¶0071, Fig. 11 & 13) according to claim 1,
Hirai is silent on wherein a number of rows of the second non-discharge nozzle array is larger than a number of rows of the first non-discharge nozzle array in the conveyance direction.
Rubio teaches wherein a number of rows of the second non-discharge nozzle array is larger than a number of rows of the first non-discharge nozzle array in the conveyance direction (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 3” below).
Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence – Claim 3
Examiner notes to Applicant that the limitations concerning the discharging of liquid droplets from the first or second nozzles (i.e., whether the first or second nozzles discharge liquid droplets onto the medium or do not discharge liquid droplets onto the medium) are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Rubio. Additionally, the Examiner notes to Applicant that in Rubio, the specification teaches that each first nozzle within the first head and each second nozzle within the second head, within the overlapping region, can be controlled to discharge or to not discharge liquid (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzles taught by Hirai (“12”; see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072) with the circuitry taught by Rubio (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15), given this circuitry enables “firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays” causing each nozzle to “selectively deposit droplets of print fluid” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). This allows for dynamic adjustment of each head to deposit liquid droplets onto a medium in a wide assortment of patterns “in accordance with an image to be printed” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15).
With respect to Claim 4, Hirai as modified by Rubio teaches the liquid discharge head (i.e., “7000”; Hirai: ¶0071, Fig. 11 & 13) according to claim 1.
Hirai is silent on wherein a number of rows of the second non-discharge nozzle array is smaller than a number of rows of the first non-discharge nozzle array in the conveyance direction.
Rubio teaches wherein a number of rows of the second non-discharge nozzle array is smaller than a number of rows of the first non-discharge nozzle array in the conveyance direction(i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 4” below).
Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence – Claim 4
Examiner notes to Applicant that the limitations concerning the discharging of liquid droplets from the first or second nozzles (i.e., whether the first or second nozzles discharge liquid droplets onto the medium or do not discharge liquid droplets onto the medium) are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Rubio. Additionally, the Examiner notes to Applicant that in Rubio, the specification teaches that each first nozzle within the first head and each second nozzle within the second head, within the overlapping region, can be controlled to discharge or to not discharge liquid (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzles taught by Hirai (“12”; see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072) with the circuitry taught by Rubio (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15), given this circuitry enables “firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays” causing each nozzle to “selectively deposit droplets of print fluid” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). This allows for dynamic adjustment of each head to deposit liquid droplets onto a medium in a wide assortment of patterns “in accordance with an image to be printed” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15).
With respect to Claim 5, Hirai as modified by Rubio teaches the liquid discharge head (i.e., “7000”; Hirai: ¶0071, Fig. 11 & 13) according to claim 1.
Hirai is silent on wherein a number of rows of the second non-discharge nozzle array is equal to a number of rows of the first non-discharge nozzle array in the conveyance direction.
Rubio teaches wherein a number of rows of the second non-discharge nozzle array is equal to a number of rows of the first non-discharge nozzle array in the conveyance direction (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 5” below).
Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence – Claim 5
Examiner notes to Applicant that the limitations concerning the discharging of liquid droplets from the first or second nozzles (i.e., whether the first or second nozzles discharge liquid droplets onto the medium or do not discharge liquid droplets onto the medium) are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Rubio. Additionally, the Examiner notes to Applicant that in Rubio, the specification teaches that each first nozzle within the first head and each second nozzle within the second head, within the overlapping region, can be controlled to discharge or to not discharge liquid (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzles taught by Hirai (“12”; see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072) with the circuitry taught by Rubio (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15), given this circuitry enables “firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays” causing each nozzle to “selectively deposit droplets of print fluid” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). This allows for dynamic adjustment of each head to deposit liquid droplets onto a medium in a wide assortment of patterns “in accordance with an image to be printed” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15).
With respect to Claim 6, Hirai as modified by Rubio teaches the liquid discharge head (i.e., “7000”; Hirai: ¶0071, Fig. 11 & 13) according claim 1.
Hirai is silent on wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
cause the first head, in the first overlapping region:
to discharge the liquid droplets from the first nozzles in a part of a first mixed nozzle array in the first nozzle arrays; and
not to discharge the liquid droplets from the first nozzles in another part of the first mixed nozzle array in the first nozzle arrays; and
cause the second head, in the second overlapping region:
to discharge the liquid droplets from the second nozzles in a part of a second mixed nozzle array in the second nozzle arrays; and
not to discharge the liquid droplets from the second nozzles in another part of the second mixed nozzle array in the second nozzle arrays.
Rubio teaches wherein the circuitry (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15) is further configured to:
cause the first head, in the first overlapping region (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 6” below):
to discharge the liquid droplets from the first nozzles in a part of a first mixed nozzle array in the first nozzle arrays (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 6” below); and
not to discharge the liquid droplets from the first nozzles in another part of the first mixed nozzle array in the first nozzle arrays (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 6” below); and
cause the second head, in the second overlapping region (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 6” below):
to discharge the liquid droplets from the second nozzles in a part of a second mixed nozzle array in the second nozzle arrays (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 6” below); and
not to discharge the liquid droplets from the second nozzles in another part of the second mixed nozzle array in the second nozzle arrays (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 6” below).
Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence – Claim 6
Examiner notes to Applicant that the limitations concerning the discharging of liquid droplets from the first or second nozzles (i.e., whether the first or second nozzles discharge liquid droplets onto the medium or do not discharge liquid droplets onto the medium) are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Rubio. Additionally, the Examiner notes to Applicant that in Rubio, the specification teaches that each first nozzle within the first head and each second nozzle within the second head, within the overlapping region, can be controlled to discharge or to not discharge liquid (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzles taught by Hirai (“12”; see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072) with the circuitry taught by Rubio (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15), given this circuitry enables “firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays” causing each nozzle to “selectively deposit droplets of print fluid” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). This allows for dynamic adjustment of each head to deposit liquid droplets onto a medium in a wide assortment of patterns “in accordance with an image to be printed” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15).
With respect to Claim 7, Hirai as modified by Rubio teaches the liquid discharge head (i.e., “7000”; Hirai: ¶0071, Fig. 11 & 13) according to claim 6.
Hirai is silent on wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause:
the first head not to discharge the liquid droplets from one or more of first nozzles from an end of the first mixed nozzle array in the array direction; and
the second head not to discharge the liquid droplets from one or more of the second nozzles from an end of the second mixed nozzle array in the array direction.
Rubio teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15):
the first head not to discharge the liquid droplets from one or more of first nozzles from an end of the first mixed nozzle array in the array direction (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 7” below); and
the second head not to discharge the liquid droplets from one or more of the second nozzles from an end of the second mixed nozzle array in the array direction (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 7” below).
Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence – Claim 7
Examiner notes to Applicant that the limitations concerning the discharging of liquid droplets from the first or second nozzles (i.e., whether the first or second nozzles discharge liquid droplets onto the medium or do not discharge liquid droplets onto the medium) are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Rubio. Additionally, the Examiner notes to Applicant that in Rubio, the specification teaches that each first nozzle within the first head and each second nozzle within the second head, within the overlapping region, can be controlled to discharge or to not discharge liquid (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzles taught by Hirai (“12”; see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072) with the circuitry taught by Rubio (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15), given this circuitry enables “firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays” causing each nozzle to “selectively deposit droplets of print fluid” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). This allows for dynamic adjustment of each head to deposit liquid droplets onto a medium in a wide assortment of patterns “in accordance with an image to be printed” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15).
With respect to Claim 8, Hirai teaches a liquid discharge apparatus (i.e., “line type printer 9000”; Hirai: ¶0084-0089 & Fig. 13) comprising:
the liquid discharge head according to claim 1 (i.e., “7000”; Hirai: ¶0071, Fig. 11 & 13);
a conveyor to convey at least one of the liquid discharge head or the medium relative to another (i.e., “paper feeding section 650”; Hirai: ¶0088 & Fig. 13); and
system circuitry configured to drive the liquid discharge head and the conveyor to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium to form an image on the medium (i.e., “control section 660 controls to operate the paper feeding section 650 and drive the head unit 630, whereby ink is coated at desired positions on the medium P”; Hirai: ¶0071, Fig. 11 & 13).
Hirai is silent on system circuitry configured to drive the liquid discharge head to selectively discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium to form an image on the medium.
Rubio teaches system circuitry (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15) configured to drive the liquid discharge head to selectively discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium to form an image on the medium (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15).
Examiner notes to Applicant that the limitations concerning the discharging of liquid droplets from the first or second nozzles (i.e., whether the first or second nozzles discharge liquid droplets onto the medium or do not discharge liquid droplets onto the medium) are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Rubio. Additionally, the Examiner notes to Applicant that in Rubio, the specification teaches that each first nozzle within the first head and each second nozzle within the second head, within the overlapping region, can be controlled to discharge or to not discharge liquid (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the liquid discharge apparatus (i.e., “line type printer 9000”; Hirai: ¶0084-0089 & Fig. 13), and nozzles therein, taught by Hirai (“12”; see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072) by incorporating system circuitry taught by Rubio (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15), given this circuitry enables the medium to be conveyed through the apparatus in relation to the heads to achieve line-type printing (Hirai: ¶0071, Fig. 11 & 13). Moreover, this circuitry enables the “firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays” causing each nozzle to “selectively deposit droplets of print fluid” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). This allows for dynamic adjustment of each head to deposit liquid droplets onto a medium in a wide assortment of patterns “in accordance with an image to be printed” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15).
With respect to Claim 9, Hirai teaches a liquid discharge method (Hirai: ¶0071-0072, Fig. 11 & 13) comprising:
discharging liquid droplets onto a medium (i.e., ejecting liquid onto the medium “P”; Hirai: ¶0071-0072, Fig. 11 & 13);
conveying at least one of multiple heads or the medium relative to another in a conveyance direction (i.e., ejecting liquid from heads “1000” onto the medium “P”; Hirai: ¶0071-0072, annotated Fig. 11 below & Fig. 13; note that conveyance direction of “P” is depicted in Fig. 13), the multiple heads including at least:
Annotated Hirai Fig. 11:
a first head having first nozzle arrays each having first nozzles arrayed in an array direction intersecting the conveyance direction, the first nozzle arrays arrayed in the conveyance direction and having first overlapping region in one end of the first head in the array direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072); and
a second head upstream from and adjacent to the first head in the conveyance direction, the second head having second nozzle arrays each having second nozzles arrayed in the array direction, the second nozzle arrays arrayed in the conveyance direction and having second overlapping region, overlapped with the first overlapping region in the array direction, in another end of the second head in the array direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072);
Hirai is silent on a liquid discharge method comprising:
causing the first head not to discharge the liquid droplets from the first nozzles of one or more of the first nozzle arrays from an upstream end of the first head in the conveyance direction in the first overlapping region as a first non-discharge nozzle array;
causing the first head to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium from the first nozzles other than the first non-discharge nozzle array in the first overlapping region;
causing the second head not to discharge the liquid droplets from the second nozzles of one or more of the second nozzle arrays from a downstream end in the conveyance direction in the second overlapping region as a second non-discharge nozzle array; and
causing the second head to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium from the second nozzles other than the second non-discharge nozzle array in the second overlapping region.
Rubio teaches a liquid discharge method comprising (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). In other words, Rubio teaches a method in which circuitry selects/commands each of the nozzles with a given head to deposit or not to deposit liquid droplets within the overlapping region, based on the image to be printed.
Examiner notes to Applicant that the method comprises Hirai’s heads “1000”, and the nozzles “12” therein, being controlled via circuitry taught by Rubio (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8; Fig. 10; Fig. 15). As taught by Rubio, each of these nozzles is controlled by circuitry to selectively discharge liquid from each nozzle (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8; Fig. 10; Fig. 15) and therefore a broad assortment of head nozzle activation selections can be caused via the circuitry taught by Rubio. Hirai’s nozzles with the first and second heads, and which of them have been selected to discharge (or selected to not discharge), will be visually represented for the rest of this discussion with the following layout (wherein this default depiction is showing all nozzles discharging):
Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence within First and Second Heads (Default)
causing the first head not to discharge the liquid droplets from the first nozzles of one or more of the first nozzle arrays from an upstream end of the first head in the conveyance direction in the first overlapping region as a first non-discharge nozzle array (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 9” below);
causing the first head to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium from the first nozzles other than the first non-discharge nozzle array in the first overlapping region (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 9” below);
causing the second head not to discharge the liquid droplets from the second nozzles of one or more of the second nozzle arrays from a downstream end in the conveyance direction in the second overlapping region as a second non-discharge nozzle array (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 9” below); and
causing the second head to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium from the second nozzles other than the second non-discharge nozzle array in the second overlapping region (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 9” below).
Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence – Claim 9
Examiner notes to Applicant that the limitations concerning the discharging of liquid droplets from the first or second nozzles (i.e., whether the first or second nozzles discharge liquid droplets onto the medium or do not discharge liquid droplets onto the medium) are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Rubio. Additionally, the Examiner notes to Applicant that in Rubio, the specification teaches that each first nozzle within the first head and each second nozzle within the second head, within the overlapping region, can be controlled to discharge or to not discharge liquid (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzles taught by Hirai (“12”; see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072) with the circuitry taught by Rubio (i.e. “printer controller”; Rubio: ¶0023 & Fig. 15), given this circuitry enables the liquid discharge method in which “firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays” cause each nozzle to “selectively deposit droplets of print fluid” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). This allows for dynamic adjustment of each head to deposit liquid droplets onto a medium in a wide assortment of patterns “in accordance with an image to be printed” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15).
With respect to Claim 10, Hirai teaches a method (Hirai: ¶0071-0072, Fig. 11 & 13) , comprising:
discharging liquid droplets onto a medium (i.e., ejecting liquid onto the medium “P”; Hirai: ¶0071-0072, Fig. 11 & 13);
conveying at least one of multiple heads or the medium relative to another in a conveyance direction (i.e., ejecting liquid from heads “1000” onto the medium “P”; Hirai: ¶0071-0072, annotated Fig. 11 below & Fig. 13; note that conveyance direction of “P” is depicted in Fig. 13), the multiple heads including at least:
Annotated Hirai Fig. 11:
a first head having first nozzle arrays each having first nozzles arrayed in an array direction intersecting the conveyance direction, the first nozzle arrays arrayed in the conveyance direction and having first overlapping region in one end of the first head in the5 array direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072); and
a second head upstream from and adjacent to the first head in the conveyance direction, the second head having second nozzle arrays each having second nozzles arrayed in the array direction, the second nozzle arrays arrayed in the conveyance direction and having second overlapping region, overlapped with the first overlapping region in the array direction, in another end of the second head in the array direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072);
Hirai is silent on a non-transitory storage medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform a method, comprising:
causing the first head not to discharge the liquid droplets from the first nozzles of one or more of the first nozzle arrays from an upstream end of the first head in the conveyance direction in the first overlapping region as a first non-discharge nozzle array;
causing the first head to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium from the first nozzles other than the first non-discharge nozzle array in the first overlapping region;
causing the second head not to discharge the liquid droplets from the second nozzles of one or more of the second nozzle arrays from a downstream end in the conveyance direction in the second overlapping region as a second non-discharge nozzle array; and
causing the second head to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium from the second nozzles other than the second non-discharge nozzle array in the second overlapping region.
Rubio teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform (i.e., “controller 14” with access to a “memory 16” and “may store and run one or more program modules for implementing the process according to one or more examples” taught by Rubio; Rubio: ¶0035) a method (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). In other words, Rubio teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to perform a method in which one or more processors selects/commands each of the nozzles with a given head to deposit or not to deposit liquid droplets within the overlapping region, based on the image to be printed.
Examiner notes to Applicant that the method comprises Hirai’s heads “1000”, and the nozzles “12” therein, taught by Rubio (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8; Fig. 10; Fig. 15). As taught by Rubio, each of these nozzles is controlled in a method wherein a non-transitory storage medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform the method to selectively discharge liquid from each nozzle (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8; Fig. 10; Fig. 15) and therefore a broad assortment of head nozzle activation selections can be caused via the circuitry taught by Rubio. Hirai’s nozzles with the first and second heads, and which of them have been selected to discharge (or selected to not discharge), will be visually represented for the rest of this discussion with the following layout (wherein this default depiction is showing all nozzles discharging):
Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence within First and Second Heads (Default)
comprising:
causing the first head not to discharge the liquid droplets from the first nozzles of one or more of the first nozzle arrays from an upstream end of the first head in the conveyance direction in the first overlapping region as a first non-discharge nozzle array (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 10” below);
causing the first head to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium from the first nozzles other than the first non-discharge nozzle array in the first overlapping region (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 10” below);
causing the second head not to discharge the liquid droplets from the second nozzles of one or more of the second nozzle arrays from a downstream end in the conveyance direction in the second overlapping region as a second non-discharge nozzle array (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 10” below); and
causing the second head to discharge the liquid droplets onto the medium from the second nozzles other than the second non-discharge nozzle array in the second overlapping region (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15; also see “Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence - Claim 10” below).
Depiction of Nozzle Activation Sequence – Claim 10
Examiner notes to Applicant that the limitations concerning the discharging of liquid droplets from the first or second nozzles (i.e., whether the first or second nozzles discharge liquid droplets onto the medium or do not discharge liquid droplets onto the medium) are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Rubio. Additionally, the Examiner notes to Applicant that in Rubio, the specification teaches that each first nozzle within the first head and each second nozzle within the second head, within the overlapping region, can be controlled to discharge or to not discharge liquid (i.e., "sequence of nozzle firing commands for each nozzle array to selectively deposit droplets of print fluid…in accordance with an image to be printed….firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays"; Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzles taught by Hirai (“12”; see annotated Fig. 11 above; Hirai: ¶0071-0072) with the non-transitory storage medium taught by Rubio (i.e., “controller 14” with access to a “memory 16” and “may store and run one or more program modules for implementing the process according to one or more examples” taught by Rubio; Rubio: ¶0035), given this enables the liquid discharge method in which “firing commands for at least those overlapping nozzles of the nozzle arrays” cause each nozzle to “selectively deposit droplets of print fluid” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8 showing one selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles compared to Fig. 10 showing an alternative selection of nozzle firings for the first and second nozzles; Fig. 15). This allows for dynamic adjustment of each head to deposit liquid droplets onto a medium in a wide assortment of patterns “in accordance with an image to be printed” (Rubio: ¶0023; ¶0064; Fig. 8, 10, & 15).
Conclusion
/SHLOMIT CHELST/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853