Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the substrate container that includes an additional substrate with a crop must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In regard to the specification at pg. 12 [0051] lines 1-2, it appears “around 30%” the incorrect symbol for degrees have been used and should be “around 30°”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In regard to claim 1, last line should read “substrate for the green roof system” so the claim language is consistent and other dependent claims depending from claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 1 and 4, the scope of the claims is unclear because a waterproof layer, by definition, prevents water to pass through it and if holes are added, then the layers are no longer considered waterproof because water is able to flow through the layer. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite due to the fact that a waterproof layer has holes therein. The claim will be examined as a layer containing holes therein.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "with respect to the horizontal plane" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This claim will be examined as “a horizontal plane” until further clarification is provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, & 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeVos (2010/0126066) in view of Ferrante et al. (2011/0146199).
In regards to claim 1, as best understood, DeVos discloses a modular green roof system comprising separate modules, wherein each module comprises:
A waterproof upper layer (as seen in fig. 1, reference element 38) comprising a plurality of through holes (as seen in fig. 2, reference element 26), an intermediate absorption layer (as seen in fig. 1, reference element 18) located at the bottom of the waterproof upper layer (as seen in fig. 3); and a lower waterproof layer (as seen in fig. 3, reference element 40) located at the bottom of the intermediate absorption layer (as seen in fig. 3);
and in that the dew water deposited on the waterproof upper layer 38 during use is filtered towards the intermediate absorption layer 18 through the holes of the upper layer, the water being retained in said second absorption layer 18, between the waterproof upper layer 38 and the waterproof lower layer 40; and wherein the intermediate absorption layer 18 is configured as a growing substrate for the green roof system (as seen in fig. 1 and 3).
DeVos does teach of low spots (as seen in fig. 1, reference element 36) which help promote rainwater to flow through the waterproof upper layer and channels (as seen in fig. 3, reference element 34) that allow the flow of water underneath the green module; however, these spots are created from pins rather than having a valley shape (pg. 4, col 1, [0046] lines 5-7). The examiner wants to note that functions of various layers may be merged into a single layer (pg. 2 col 2 [0028] lines 19-20).
DeVos does not disclose wherein each module has a shape comprising valleys and hips to evacuate excess water by inclination along the valleys. Ferrante teaches that a roof module as designed (as seen in fig. 1 & 2, pg. 1 [0017] lines 3-4) has lower channels of a valley to help evacuate excess water by inclination along the roof (as seen in fig. 5). The examiner also wants to note that these features of valleys and hips are well known in the art to navigate excess water down a roof. Therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the design choice of Ferrante into DeVos’s design to control the excess water through the channels of the tile on the waterproof upper layer and during use is filtered through the intermediate and retained.
In regards to claim 2, as best understood, DeVos in view of Ferrante discloses wherein the waterproof upper layer 38 is inclined with respect to a horizontal plane (as seen in Devos’s fig. 3). Ferrante also teaches that it is known to place the modules on a sloped surface, which is on an incline to a horizontal, in order to shed water off of a roof (as seen in Ferrante’s Fig. 5 & 6).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the waterproof upper layer 38 be on an incline with respect to a horizontal plane in order to act as a stormwater management of excess water.
In regards to claim 3, as best understood, DeVos in view of Ferrante discloses wherein the intermediate absorption layer 18 is essentially formed by expanded shale media mix or growing medium (as seen in DeVo’s fig. 3, pg. 3 col. 2 [0036] lines 7-9).
A person of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that shale is a growth substrate as supported by the definition of shale in this context as stated by Google.
In regards to claim 5, as best understood, DeVos in view of Ferrante discloses a substrate container that includes an additional substrate (as seen in DeVo’s fig. 4, reference element 32), however, DeVos in view of Ferrante does not specifically disclose that the plant is a crop but a species of Sedum (as seen in fig. 2, reference element 28).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the type of seed grown such that crops are grown like tomatoes, cucumbers, or other vegetables to reduce reliance on grocery stores, grow pesticide-free vegetables, or personal health benefits.
In regards to claim 6, as best understood, DeVos in view of Ferrante discloses the claimed invention where the outer layer (as seen in DeVos’s fig. 3, reference element 12) is made of fiberglass or thermoplastic material (TPO), (pg. 3 col 1 [0032] lines 6-11).
In regards to claim 7, as best understood, DeVos in view of Ferrante discloses the claimed invention, however, DeVos does not specifically teach the claimed material for the waterproof lower layer. Ferrante further teaches wherein the waterproof lower layer is composed of rubber (pg. 1 col 2, [0017] line 20).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the choice of design to a sheet of rubber due to its waterproof properties, accessibility, and durability.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeVos (2010/0126066) in view of Ferrante et al (2011/0146199) and in further view of Sichello (20100095586).
In regards to claim 4, as best understood, DeVos in view of Ferrante discloses the claimed invention by comprising an upper 38, intermediate 18, and lower layer 40. However, DeVos in view of Ferrante does not disclose that the openings 26 have a through hole that passes through the waterproof upper layer 38 through the absorption intermediate 18 and waterproof lower layer 40, wherein said openings are configured as a drainage element. As previously explained in claim 1, DeVos does disclose a drainage element but it is created from a pin instead of a through hole.
Sichello teaches that the face plate which includes a cover and cover openings (as seen in fig. 8 & 9, reference element 59) and containers (as seen in fig. 5, reference element 42) that have openings (as seen in fig. 5, reference element 43) on the bottom that passes through the growing substrate (as seen in fig. 2) and the back plate has back plate openings (as seen in fig. 2, reference element 24) on the horizontal surface. (as seen in fig. 3, pg. 2 col. 1 [0037] lines 3-5). A through hole only continued from the upper to the intermediate layers (as seen in fig. 9).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the design choice of design of the bottom layer to have a continuation of a through hole starting from the upper layer and ending to the lower layer configured as a drainage element due to a person of ordinary skill would measure the top layer to see how much drainage is occurring (pg. 2 col 2 [0045] lines 3-4), the intermediate absorption layer (pg. 2 col 2 [0041] lines 7-9) and the lower layer (pg. 2 col 1 [0037] lines 4-5) and modify to have a through hole starting from waterproof upper layer, intermediate absorption layer, and waterproof lower layer based on drainage requirements.
Conclusion
/GARRETT CHRISTOPHER PATTERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3633
/BRIAN E GLESSNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3633