DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 1: Lines 3, 7-8 and 12 of the claim, it appears each instance of the limitation “the panel” should be --the at least one sound-absorbing panel-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 6 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the visible outer surface” should be --the externally visibly surface-- for consistency of the claim language. Lines 8 and 12 of the claim, it appears each instance of the limitation “the portion” should be --the at least one portion-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 9 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the outer surface” should be --the externally visible surface-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 10 of the claim, it appears the limitation “said cavity” should be --said blind cavity-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 13 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the cavity” should be --the blind cavity-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 2: Line 1 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the portion” should be --the at least one portion-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the panel” should be --the at least one sound-absorbing panel-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 3: Lines 1-2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the outer surface” should be --the externally visible surface-- for consistency of the claim language. Lines 2-3 of the claim, it appears each instance of the limitation “the panel” should be --the at least one sound-absorbing panel-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the portion” should be --the at least one portion-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 4: Lines 2 and 4-5 of the claim, it appears each instance of the limitation “the panel” should be --the at least one sound-absorbing panel-- for consistency of the claim language.
Line 3 of the claim , it appears the limitation “the portion” should be --the at least one portion-- for consistency of the claim language. Lines 4-6 of the claim, it appears each instance of the limitation “the cavity” should be --the blind cavity-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 5: Line 1 of the claim, it appears the limitation “said portion” should be --said at least one portion-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the cavity” should be --the blind cavity-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 3 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the panel” should be --the at least one sound-absorbing panel-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 6: Lines 1-2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the panel” should be --the at least one sound-absorbing panel-- for consistency of the claim language. Lines 2-3 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the outer surface” should be --the externally visible surface-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 3 of the claim, it appears the limitation “said portion” should be --said at least one portion-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 7: Line 1 of the claim, it appears the limitation “said notches” should be --said at least three notches-- for consistency of the claim language. Lines 1-2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “a blind cavity” should be --the blind cavity-- for consistency of the claim language. Lines 2-3 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the panel” should be --the at least one sound-absorbing panel-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 8: Lines 4-6 and 9 of the claim, it appears each instance of the limitation “the panel” should be --the sound-absorbing panel-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 7 of the claim, it appears the limitation “said cavity” should be --said at least one cavity-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 9 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the cavity” should be --the at least one cavity-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 9: Line 2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the panel” should be --the sound-absorbing panel-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 10: Lines 2-3 of the claim, it appears each instance of the limitation “the panel” should be --the sound-absorbing panel-- for consistency of the claim language. Lines 3-4 of the claim, it appears the limitation “said moved-away and moved-closer conditions” should be --said move-away condition and said condition moved closer-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 12: Line 3 of the claim, it appears the limitation “said moved-closer condition” should be --said condition moved closer--.
With regard to claim 13: Line 2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the panel” should be --the sound-absorbing panel-- for consistency of the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klose (DE 102 41 231 A1).
With regard to claim 8: Klose discloses a sound-absorbing panel (1) (figs. 1-7; abstract), comprising:
a contact surface contacting a wall (10) to be soundproofed and an externally visible surface opposite said contact surface (fig. 5); and
a portion (at least one of the volumes cut or 18, plug) movable with respect to the sound-absorbing panel (1) between a condition moved away from the panel (1) to define a blind cavity on the externally visible surface and a condition moved closer to the sound-absorbing panel (1) to be inserted into said blind cavity, wherein said portion (one of the volumes cut or 18, plug) in the moved-away condition allowing the insertion of a screw (15) inside the blind cavity to couple the sound-absorbing panel (1) to said wall (figs. 3 and 5; par. [0036]).
With regard to claim 9: Klose discloses that said portion (one of the volumes cut) is made integral with the sound absorbing panel (1) (fig. 3 and 5; par. [0036]).
With regard to claim 11: Klose discloses that said portion (at least of the portions cut) comprises a substantially prismatic shape with a triangular cross-section (figs. 3 and 5) .
With regard to claim 12: Klose discloses said portion (one of the volumes cut or 18, plug) comprises an outer surface coplanar to the externally visible surface of the panel (1) in said condition moved closer (figs. 3 and 5).
With regard to claim 13: Klose discloses that said cavity comprises two side surfaces converging towards an inner zone of the sound-absorbing panel (1) (fig. 5);
said screw (15) being inserted into said inner zone (fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klose (DE 102 41 231 A1).
With regard to claim 1: Klose discloses a process for assembling sound-absorbing panels (figs. 1-7; abstract), comprising:
arranging at least one sound-absorbing panel (1) at a wall (10) to be soundproofed (par. [0060]), the at least one sound-absorbing panel (1) having a contact surface contacting the wall (10) and an externally visible surface opposite said contact surface (fig. 5);
cutting the externally visible surface to define at least one portion (at least one of the volumes) of the sound-absorbing panel (1) as movable in relation to the rest of the at least one sound-absorbing panel (1) (fig. 5; par. [0036]);
moving the at least one portion (at least one of the volumes) away from the at least one sound-absorbing panel (1) by defining a blind cavity formed in the externally visible surface (fig. 5);
inserting a screw (15) into said cavity to pierce the contact surface until the screw (15) is inserted into the wall (10) (fig. 5).
Klose discloses then moving a plug (18) closer to the panel (1) to insert the plug (18) itself inside the cavity (fig. 5). Klose further discloses the plug (18) is made of mineral fiber, which is the same material as the sound-absorbing panels (par. [0039])
Klose does not disclose that the plug is the at least one portion.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Klose to have the plug be the at least one portion in order to provide the same material of a corresponding shape to fit within the respective cavity resulting in time and material savings. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying the method of Klose to have the plug be the at least one portion. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 2: Klose said at least one portion (at least one of the volumes) is made integral with the at least one sound-absorbing panel (1) (figs. 1-3 and 5; par. [0036]).
With regard to claim 6: Klose discloses that said step of cutting the at least one sound-absorbing panel (1) comprises a sub-step of making at least three notches (linear cuts forming a polygonal shape) on the externally visible surface converging with each other, said at least one sound-absorbing portion (at least one of the portions) having a substantially prismatic shape with a triangular cross-section (figs. 3 and 5).
With regard to claim 7: Klose discloses that said at least three notches (linear cuts forming a polygonal shape) define the blind cavity having side surfaces converging towards an inner zone of the at least one sound-absorbing panel (1) (figs. 3 and 5);
said screw (15) being inserted into said inner zone (fig. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 3: The combination of all the steps of the claimed process for assembling sound-absorbing panels, in particular the step of cutting the externally visible surface of the at least one sound-absorbing panel defining a hinge line of the at least one portion with the sound-absorbing panel is not adequately taught or suggested in the cited prior art of record.
With regard to claim 10: The combination of all the elements of the claimed sound-absorbing panel, in particular a hinge line between the portion and the sound-absorbing panel, the hinge line allowing the rotation of the portion with respect to the sound-absorbing panel between the moved-away condition and the condition moved closer condition is not adequately taught or suggested in the cited prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited are directed to insulation panels and/or panels having a cavity formed therein.
/JESSIE T FONSECA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633