Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification objections in the Office action of 08/042026 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Boco Boddecker, DE 203 13 556).
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-8, a key cylinder device (10) for a vehicle door, the key cylinder device comprising:
a key cylinder turnable between an operation position at which a door lock device can be switched to a locked state or an unlocked state and a non-operation position at which the door lock device cannot be switched (P3, para. [5], Figures 1-3, 6.);
a turning member (19) attached to the key cylinder and turnable integrally with the key cylinder (P4, para. [1-2]); and
a pulling member (25, 36) having one end (26) connected to the turning member (19) and configured to transmit an operating force of the key cylinder by key operation to the door lock device via the turning member (P4, para. [1-2]);
wherein the turning member (19) includes a winding portion (the portion, on which the cable winds, includes 29, 33) around which the pulling member (cable 36) is windable by turning of the key cylinder from the non-operation position to the operation position (Figures 3, 6.); and
wherein the winding portion (29, 33) includes a concave groove (29, Figures 2-3) formed in an arc shape (As shown below, Figure 3) and defined by a pair of sidewalls (As shown below in Figure 8) and a groove bottom (As shown below in Figure 3 and 8), wherein the pair of sidewalls extends radially outward from the groove bottom relative to a rotation axis (20, Figure 1) of the key cylinder (as shown below in Figure 2), each sidewall of the pair of sidewalls extending a same distance from the groove bottom (As shown below in Figure 8.)
For claim 3, D1 discloses the key cylinder device for a vehicle door according to claim 1, wherein the winding portion (29, 33) extends in a circumferential direction around a rotation axis of the key cylinder (Figure 2.)
For claim 8, D1 discloses the key cylinder device for a vehicle door according to claim 1, wherein the winding portion (29, 33) extends in a circumferential direction around the rotation axis of the key cylinder (Figure 2.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Boco Boddecker, DE 203 13 556) in view of D2 (Knott, US 4,080,812).
For claim 4, D1 discloses the key cylinder device for a vehicle door according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the key cylinder is disposed at a lower end portion of the vehicle door.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-7, a key cylinder lock 18 disposed at a lower end portion of the vehicle trunk door to facilitate the opening of the door to utilize the entire trunk space. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 to have the key cylinder disposed at a lower end portion of the vehicle door, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing a way to use the entire trunk space.
For claim 9, D1 discloses the key cylinder device for a vehicle door according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the key cylinder is disposed at a lower end portion of the vehicle door.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-7, a key cylinder lock 18 disposed at a lower end portion of the vehicle trunk door to facilitate the opening of the door to utilize the entire trunk space. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 to have the key cylinder disposed at a lower end portion of the vehicle door, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing a way to use the entire trunk space.
Claim(s) 5-7, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Boco Boddecker, DE 203 13 556) in view of D3 (Katagiri, et al., US Pub. App. 2012-0137743).
For claim 5, D1 discloses the key cylinder device for a vehicle door according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the key cylinder is disposed such that a key hole is directed to a lower side.
D3 teaches, in Figures 1-2, 4-12, and 14, a vehicle door with a key cylinder 5 having the key hole directed to a lower side to protect the key hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a key cylinder is disposed such that a key hole is directed to a lower side, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of protecting the key hole.
For claim 6, D1 discloses the key cylinder device for a vehicle door according to claim 1, but does not disclose comprising a cover configured to cover at least the key cylinder and suppress operation from outside.
D3 teaches, in Figures 1-2, 4-12, and 14, a vehicle door with a key cylinder 5 having a pivotable shutter (cover) 4 to cover the key hole. The shutter 4 pivots to reveal the key hole only by pivoting the door handle beyond a certain limit (Para. [0050-0052]), thus protecting the key hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a cover configured to cover at least the key cylinder and suppress operation from outside, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of protecting the key hole.
For claim 7, D1 discloses the key cylinder device for a vehicle door according to claim 1, but does not disclose comprising a cover configured to cover at least the key cylinder and prevent entering of water.
D3 teaches, in Figures 1-2, 4-12, and 14, a vehicle door with a key cylinder 5 having longitudinal axis tilted such that the key hole faces the ground, and a pivotable shutter (cover) 4 to cover the key hole. The shutter 4 pivots to reveal the key hole only by pivoting the door handle beyond a certain limit (Para. [0050-0052]). Both the shutter and the tilting of key cylinder protect the key hole from elements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a cover configured to cover at least the key cylinder and prevent entering of water, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of protecting the key hole from elements.
For claim 10, D1 discloses the key cylinder device for a vehicle door according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the key cylinder is disposed such that a key hole is directed to a lower side.
D3 teaches, in Figures 1-2, 4-12, and 14, a vehicle door with a key cylinder 5 having the key hole directed to a lower side to protect the key hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a key cylinder is disposed such that a key hole is directed to a lower side, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of protecting the key hole.
For claim 11, D1 discloses the key cylinder device for a vehicle door according to claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the key cylinder is disposed such that a key hole is directed to a lower side.
D3 teaches, in Figures 1-2, 4-12, and 14, a vehicle door with a key cylinder 5 having the key hole directed to a lower side to protect the key hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a key cylinder is disposed such that a key hole is directed to a lower side, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of protecting the key hole.
For claim 12, D1 discloses the key cylinder device for a vehicle door according to claim 1, but does not disclose comprising a cover configured to cover at least the key cylinder and suppress operation from outside.
D3 teaches, in Figures 1-2, 4-12, and 14, a vehicle door with a key cylinder 5 having a pivotable shutter (cover) 4 to cover the key hole. The shutter 4 pivots to reveal the key hole only by pivoting the door handle beyond a certain limit (Para. [0050-0052]), thus protecting the key hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a cover configured to cover at least the key cylinder and suppress operation from outside, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of protecting the key hole.
For claim 13, D1 discloses the key cylinder device for a vehicle door according to claim 1, but does not disclose comprising a cover configured to cover at least the key cylinder and prevent entering of water.
D3 teaches, in Figures 1-2, 4-12, and 14, a vehicle door with a key cylinder 5 having longitudinal axis tilted such that the key hole faces the ground, and a pivotable shutter (cover) 4 to cover the key hole. The shutter 4 pivots to reveal the key hole only by pivoting the door handle beyond a certain limit (Para. [0050-0052]). Both the shutter and the tilting of key cylinder protect the key hole from elements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a cover configured to cover at least the key cylinder and prevent entering of water, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of protecting the key hole from elements.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants’ disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few of the prior art cited but not applied include Patel (US 9,593,514); Schroll (US Pub. App. 2019-0128027); and Nagaoka (US Pub. App. 2019-0136588).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675