DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-19 and 26-31 is/are pending in the application.
Claim(s) 1-19 and 26-31 is/are examined on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2025 and 03/04/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second O-ring on the nose” and “a valve in the injection port” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3, 9-11, and 30-31 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, “the method of claim 1” should read – the [[apparatus of claim 1 --.
Claim 9, “the method of claim 1” should read – the [[apparatus of claim 1 --.
Claim 10, “the method of claim 1” should read – the [[apparatus of claim 1 --.
Claim 11, “the method of claim 1” should read – the [[apparatus of claim 1 --.
Claim 30, “the method of claim 27” should read – the [[apparatus of claim 27 --.
Claim 31, “the method of claim 26” should read – the [[apparatus of claim 26 --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “the coupler body and the stalk are configured to mate together by inserting the nose into the cavity … when misalignment forces are applied to the mated coupler body and the stalk” which are indefinite. There is not sufficient antecedent basis for “mated coupler body and stalk” in the claim. In addition, it is unclear from the claim which structure is the “mated coupler body and stalk”. The limitation has been examined below as if it read -- the coupler body and the stalk are configured to mate together to form a mated coupler body and stalk by inserting the nose into the cavity … when misalignment forces are applied to the mated coupler body and [[
Claim(s) 2-16 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 1 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 15, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osterkil (US PAT 6334634).
Regarding claim 1, Osterkil discloses a safe disconnect coupler apparatus for medical tubing (a tube fitting 10: Col. 3, line 32 – Col. 4, line 24; Fig. 2), the apparatus comprising:
a coupler body (a collett 13: Col. 3, lines 33-50; Fig. 2) with a longitudinal axis (axis 41: Fig. 2) and a lumen extending through a first tubing connector of the coupler body (a bore 15 extending through a first tubing connector of the coupler body 13: Col. 3, lines 33-50; Fig. 2; wherein a first tubing connector of the coupler body 13 is a tubing connector for a tubing 20) and through a cylindrical nose of the coupler body (see annotated Fig. 2 below);
a resilient O-ring circumferentially surrounding a base of the nose (a sealing device 30 circumferentially surrounding a base of the nose: Col. 4, lines 1-11 and Fig. 2) and protruding radially from the nose (Fig. 2); and
a slip-off stalk with a longitudinal axis (a body 11 with a longitudinal axis 41: Col. 3, lines 33-50; Fig. 2) and a lumen extending through a second tubing connector of the stalk and through a cylindrical cavity of the stalk (a lumen between a ramped surface 25 and a ramped surface 24, extending through a second tubing connector of the stalk and a cavity of the stalk: Col. 4, line 66 – Col. 5, line 10; Fig. 2), the cavity having a detent groove extending circumferentially around an inside wall of the cavity (a detent groove 31 extending circumferentially around a ramped surface 25 of the cavity: Fig. 2),
wherein the coupler body and the stalk are configured to mate together by inserting the nose into the cavity (Fig. 2) such that the O-ring protrudes into and seals against the detent groove (Fig. 2) while maintaining a gap between the nose and the inside wall (a gap between the nose and the inside wall 25: Fig. 2);
wherein when misalignment forces are applied to the mated coupler body and the stalk, a tip of the coupler body nose bears against the inside wall of the stalk to preserve alignment between the mated coupler body and the stalk (see annotated Fig. 2 below), and the O-ring continues to protrude into and seal against the detent groove all of a way around a circumference of the cavity (the O-ring 30 is capable of protruding into and sealing against the detent groove all of a way around a circumference of the cavity: Col. 2, lines 45-65; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Osterkil further discloses the cylindrical nose and the cylindrical cavity are slightly conical frustums (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Osterkil further discloses the O-ring is a distinct part that is held within a trench seat in the nose (the O-ring 30 is held in place with adhesive or various types of projections from or depressions into either the outer surface 23 of the collett 13 or the inner surface 26 of the body 11: Col. 3, line 67 – Col. 4, line 3; and Fig. 2; thus, the O-ring 30 of Osterkil is a distinct part and a depression on the outer surface 23 encompasses the claimed trench seat in the nose).
Regarding claim 15, Osterkil further discloses the nose of the coupler body is mated with the cavity of the stalk (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 18, Osterkil discloses a method of manufacturing a safe disconnect coupler for medical tubing (a tube fitting 10: Col. 3, line 32 – Col. 4, line 24; Fig. 2), the method comprising:
providing a coupler body (a collett 13: Col. 3, lines 33-50; Fig. 2) with a longitudinal axis (axis 41: Fig. 2) and a lumen extending through a first tubing connector of the coupler body (a bore 15 extending through a first tubing connector of the coupler body 13: Col. 3, lines 33-50; Fig. 2; wherein a first tubing connector of the coupler body 13 is a tubing connector for a tubing 20) and through a cylindrical nose of the coupler body (see annotated Fig. 2 below);
forming or affixing a resilient O-ring circumferentially around a base of the nose (a sealing device 30 circumferentially surrounding a base of the nose: Col. 4, lines 1-11 and Fig. 2) such that the O-ring protrudes radially from the nose (Fig. 2);
providing a slip-off stalk with a longitudinal axis (a body 11 with a longitudinal axis 41: Col. 3, lines 33-50; Fig. 2) and a lumen extending through a second tubing connector of the stalk and through a cylindrical cavity of the stalk (a lumen between a ramped surface 25 and a ramped surface 24, extending through a second tubing connector of the stalk and a cavity of the stalk: Col. 4, line 66 – Col. 5, line 10; Fig. 2), the cavity having a detent groove extending circumferentially around an inside wall of the cavity (a detent groove 31 extending circumferentially around a ramped surface 25 of the cavity: Fig. 2); and
mating together the coupler body with the stalk by inserting the nose into the cavity (Fig. 2) such that the O-ring protrudes into and seals against the detent groove (Fig. 2) while maintaining a gap between the nose and the inside wall (a gap between the nose and the inside wall 25: Fig. 2).
Since the safe disconnect coupler of Osterkil meets the structural limitations of the claimed safe disconnect coupler, it follows naturally that the structure suggested by Osterkil will perform the method steps as presented by Applicant.
Regarding claim 19, Osterkil further discloses flexing the mated coupler body and stalk such that a tip of the coupler body nose bears against the inside wall to preserve alignment between the mated coupler body and the stalk (see annotated Fig. 2 below), and such that the O-ring continues to protrude into and seal against the detent groove all of a way around a circumference of the cavity (the O-ring 30 is capable of protruding into and sealing against the detent groove all of a way around a circumference of the cavity: Col. 2, lines 45-65; Fig. 2).
Since the safe disconnect coupler of Osterkil meets the structural limitations of the claimed safe disconnect coupler, it follows naturally that the structure suggested by Osterkil will perform the method steps as presented by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkil (US PAT 6334634).
Regarding claim 3, Osterkil further discloses a distance D from the tip of the coupler body nose to the O-ring (Fig. 2) and the O-ring protrudes from the coupler body (see rejection of claim 1 above and Fig. 2), but does not disclose the O-ring protrudes from the coupler body by at least Dtan(5°) when uncompressed.
Optimization of size and/or shape through routine experimentation is considered within the ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, routine experimentation and design choices could have been employed to modify the size/shape of the O-ring and the coupler body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Osterkil by changing the size/shape of the O-ring and the coupler body to have the O-ring protruding from the coupler body by at least Dtan(5°) when uncompressed, in order to achieve a desired connection strength between the mated coupler body and stalk, as it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (see MPEP § 2144.05(II) (A)).
Regarding claim 10, Osterkil further discloses the coupler body includes an outer profile with no hooked elements or sharp protrusions (Fig. 2), but does not disclose the coupler body includes a rounded reducer section.
Optimization of size and/or shape through routine experimentation is considered within the ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, routine experimentation and design choices could have been employed to modify the shape of the coupler body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Osterkil by have the coupler body with a rounded reducer section, in order to facilitate mating with the stalk by providing a gradual transition between portions of different diameters and promote smooth and reliable coupling of components, as it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (see MPEP § 2144.05(II) (A)).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkil (US PAT 6334634) in view of Breedon (US PGPUB 20250262421).
Regarding claim 2, Osterkil does not disclose the O-ring protrusion, a material of the O-ring, and a shape of the detent groove are selected such that the mated coupler body and stalk are configured to separate upon a longitudinal pull-apart force between 1 N and 50 N.
In the same field of endeavor, medical connector, Breedon discloses a connector 204 comprises a first part 204a and a second part 204b, wherein the first part 204a has an inlet 205 for connection to the upstream portion 202a of the chest drain tube, and wherein the second part 204b has an outlet 206 for connection to the downstream portion 202b of the chest drain tube (¶0047 and Fig. 3). Breedon further discloses a separation force between the first and second parts is between 5N and 20N (¶0017; thus, the taught pull-apart force is within the claimed pull-apart force) for the benefit(s) of maintaining connection of the first and second parts during normal use but allowing the first and second parts to become separated without risking a medical tube becoming dislodged from the patient (¶0017).
From the teachings of Breedon, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have understood/recognized that a material of the O-ring and size/shape of the detent groove are factors that affect the force required to separate the first and second parts of the coupler while maintaining their connection during normal use. A person having ordinary skill in the art would further have understood that these parameters could be optimized through routine experimentation to achieve a desired pull-apart force.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the coupler of Osterkil in view Breedon by selecting a material of the O-ring and a shape of the detent groove and having a pull-apart force as claimed, in order to maintain connection of the coupler body and the stalk during normal use but allowing the coupler body and the stalk to become separated without risking a medical tube becoming dislodged from the patient, as suggested in ¶0017 of Breedon, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed ranges overlap with ranges disclosed by the prior art (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)), and as it also has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkil (US PAT 6334634) in view of Carrez (US PGPUB 20140209197).
Regarding claims 5-6, Osterkil does not disclose the O-ring is polymer that is over-molded around the nose and the polymer is selected from the group consisting of a silicone, a fluoroelastomer, an acrylonitrile butadiene rubber, a polypropylene, and a polyethylene.
In the same field of endeavor, medical connector, Carrez discloses an assembly/connector (Abstract and Figs. 8A-B) comprising an O-ring 53 (Figs. 8A-B) made of polymer (an elastomeric material such as silicone: ¶0113). Carrez further discloses the O-ring 53 is over-molded around a nose 50 (¶0114 and Fig. 8B) for the benefits of improving sealing of the connector (¶0112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the coupler of Osterkil in view of Carrez by substituting the O-ring with an polymer O-ring that is over-molded around the nose and selecting silicone as a polymer material, in order to improve sealing of the coupler, as suggested in ¶0112 of Carrez and as it has been held that the substitution of a known material/element for another exchangeable material/element supports a prima facie obviousness determination (See MPEP § 2143 (I) (B)).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkil (US PAT 6334634) in view of Ismert (US PGPUB 20140265303).
Regarding claims 8-9, Osterkil does not disclose the O-ring is a first O-ring, the apparatus further comprising: a second O-ring on the nose and configured to seal against the inside wall; and a lubricant or lubricious polymer on the O-ring.
In an analogous art for being directed to solve the same problem, providing sealing engagement in a coupler to form a fluid-tight seal, Ismert discloses a coupler 100 comprising a first O-ring (an O-ring 140: ¶0039 and Fig. 8). Ismert further discloses the coupler 100 comprising a second O-ring (a gasket 150: ¶0039 and Fig. 8) on a nose (element 18: Fig. 8) and configured to seal against an inside wall 122 (Figs. 4-8). Ismert also discloses a lubricant is applied to the O-ring to aid in forming and retaining the seal between a fitting and a tube (¶0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the coupler of Osterkil in view of Ismert by incorporating a second O-ring and using lubricant on the O-ring, in order to seal the coupler and aid in forming and retaining the seal, as suggested in ¶0039 and 0034 of Ismert.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkil (US PAT 6334634) in view of Davis (US PAT 5429620).
Regarding claim 11, Osterkil does not disclose a sample port in the coupler body, the sample port comprising a septum configured to allow needle access inside the coupler body.
In an analogous art for being directed to solve the same problem, providing a sampling/injection port incorporated into a connector of a tube, Davis discloses a catheter system comprising a joint 80 comprising a coupler body 82 (Col. 7, lines 50-60 and Fig. 6). Davis further discloses a sample port (a sampling/injection port 122: Col. 10, lines 16-30 and Fig. 6) in the coupler body (Fig. 6) and the sample port comprising a septum (a membrane 124: Col. 10, lines 16-30 and Fig. 6) configured to allow needle access inside the coupler body (Col. 10, lines 16-30 and Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the coupler of Osterkil in view of Davis by incorporating a sample port with a septum in the coupler body, in order to allow needle access inside the coupler body, as suggested in Col. 10, lines 16-30 of Davis.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkil (US PAT 6334634) in view of Korotko (US PGPUB 20230099569) and Davis (US PGPUB 20170239141).
Regarding claims 12-14, Osterkil does not disclose a male luer adapter having a fluid path therethrough and a first end configured to mate with a female balloon injection port of a catheter balloon and keep open a valve in the injection port; and a removable stopper on a second end of the male luer adapter, the stopper connected with the coupler body, wherein the stopper is configured to seal the fluid path until pulled away from the male luer adapter by force transmitted from the coupler body; a tether connecting the removable stopper to the coupler body; and the removable stopper is rigidly connected with the coupler body.
In the same field of endeavor, connector/coupler for a catheter system, Korotko discloses a male luer adapter having a fluid path therethrough (a connector 120 used for medical procedures in which balloon catheters are used: ¶0017 and Fig. 2), and a first end configured to mate with a female balloon injection port of a catheter balloon and keep open a valve in the injection port (an outlet end 126 configured to mate with a valve 134 connected to a balloon catheter 132: ¶0018-0022 and Figs. 2-4; wherein the valve 134 is in the open position in Figs. 4A-B) for the benefit of providing a connector for a balloon catheter assembly to inflate or deflate a balloon as needed (Abstract and ¶0022-0023).
In an analogous art for being directed to solve the same problem, providing a removable stopper connected with a coupler/connector to seal a conduit of the coupler/connector, Davis discloses a fluid transfer connector 400 comprising a conduit 422 with an engagement port 420 and a male coupling 416 (¶0056-0057 and Fig. 16). Davis further discloses the connector 400 comprising a removable stopper 430, the stopper is configured to seal the conduit 422, a tether 436 connected the stopper to the connector 400, and the removable stopper is rigidly connected with the coupler body (¶0057 and Fig. 16) for the benefits of providing a seal for the conduit and allowing for positioning the stopper in either open or closed configurations (¶0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the coupler of Osterkil in view of Korotko and Davis by incorporating a male luer adapter configured to mate with a female balloon injection port, a removable stopper on a second end of the male luer adapter, and a tether connecting the removable stopper to the coupler body, in order to provide a connector for a balloon catheter assembly to inflate or deflate a balloon as needed, provide a seal for the conduit, and allow for positioning the stopper in either open or closed configurations, as suggested in Abstract and ¶0022-0023 of Korotko and ¶0057 of Davis.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkil (US PAT 6334634) in view of Truong (US PGPUB 20210199220).
Regarding claim 16, Osterkil does not disclose a reconnection prevention mechanism configured to prevent the coupler body and cavity from being mated again after the coupler body and cavity are pulled apart.
In the same field of endeavor, connector/coupler, Truong discloses a fluid coupling device 100 comprising mating components in the form of a coupler body 160 and a cavity 110 (¶0057 and Figs. 3-4). Truong further discloses a reconnection prevention mechanism (elements 164a and 114a: ¶0068 and Fig. 4) configured to prevent the coupler body 160 and the cavity 110 from being mated again (¶0073) after the coupler body and the cavity are pulled apart (¶0073) for the benefit of creating a single-use disconnection device to inhibit biological contamination migrating into the flow path (¶0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the coupler of Osterkil in view of Truong by incorporating a reconnection prevention mechanism, in order to create a single-use disconnection device to inhibit biological contamination migrating into the flow path, as suggested in ¶0007 of Truong.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkil (US PAT 6334634) in view of Bennett (US PGPUB 20050038414).
Regarding claim 17, Osterkil discloses the safe disconnect coupler apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but does not disclose a urinary catheter urine collection kit comprising: a urine collection vessel and a catheter hub.
In the same field of endeavor, urinary catheter system, Bennett discloses a urinary catheter urine collection kit (urinary catheter system 10: ¶0024 and Fig. 1) comprising: a urine collection vessel (a collection appliance 40 that comprises a reservoir or fluid container 46: ¶0029 and Fig. 1) and a catheter hub (a second end 16 of a catheter 12: ¶0024 and Fig. 1) for the benefit of providing a pathway for urine to flow from a body of a patient into a urine receptacle (¶0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Osterkil in view of Bennett by incorporating a urine collection vessel and a catheter with a catheter hub, in order to provide a pathway for urine to flow from a body of a patient into a urine receptacle, as suggested in ¶0005 of Bennett.
Claim(s) 26 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mitts (US PGPUB 20240130887) in view of Osterkil (US PAT 6334634) and Breedon (US PGPUB 20250262421).
Regarding claim 26, Mitts discloses a urinary catheter collection vessel apparatus (a urine collection bag assembly: ¶0041 and Figs. 11-13) comprising:
a urine collection vessel (a urine collection bag 12: ¶0028-0029, 0041, and Figs. 11-13);
a medical tubing connected with the vessel (a flexible tubing 94: ¶0046 and Fig. 13); and
a coupler connected to an end of the medical tubing (element 92: ¶0046 and Fig. 13).
Mitts does not disclose that the coupler is a safe disconnect coupler and that the coupler is configured to separate into a coupler body and another part upon a longitudinal pull-apart force between 1 N and 50N.
In an analogous art for being directed to solve the same problem, providing a coupler for connecting a tubing, Osterkil discloses a safe disconnect coupler (a tube fitting 10: Col. 3, line 32 – Col. 4, line 24; Fig. 2) comprising a coupler body (a collett 13: Col. 3, lines 33-50; Fig. 2) and another part (a body 11: Col. 3, lines 33-50; Fig. 2) for the benefit of providing a coupler that allows assembly and disassembly of tubing connections without tools and as rapidly as possible (Col. 1, lines 15-16).
Breedon further discloses a separation force between the first and second parts is between 5N and 20N (¶0017; thus, the taught pull-apart force is within the claimed pull-apart force) for the benefit(s) of maintaining connection of the first and second parts during normal use but allowing the first and second parts to become separated without risking a medical tube becoming dislodged from the patient (¶0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the urinary catheter collection vessel apparatus of Mitts in view Osterkil and Breedon by substituting the coupler with a safe disconnect coupler and having a pull-apart force between 1 N and 50N, in order to provide a coupler that allows assembly and disassembly of tubing connections without tools and as rapidly as possible and maintain connection of the coupler body and another part during normal use but allowing the coupler body and the another part to become separated without risking a medical tube becoming dislodged from the patient, as suggested in Col. 1, lines 15-16 of Osterkil and ¶0017 of Breedon and as it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed ranges overlap with ranges disclosed by the prior art (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 31, Mitts further discloses a urinary catheter connected with the coupler (¶0028 and 0046).
Claim(s) 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mitts (US PGPUB 20240130887) in view of Osterkil (US PAT 6334634) and Breedon (US PGPUB 20250262421), as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Korotko (US PGPUB 20230099569) and Davis (US PGPUB 20170239141).
Regarding claims 27-30, Mitts/Osterkil/Breedon does not disclose a male luer adapter having a fluid path therethrough and a first end configured to mate with a female balloon injection port of a catheter balloon and keep open a valve in the injection port; a removable stopper on a second end of the male luer adapter, the stopper connected with the coupler body, wherein the stopper is configured to seal the fluid path until pulled away from the male luer adapter by force transmitted from the coupler body; a flexible tether connecting the removable stopper to the coupler body; the removable stopper is rigidly connected with the coupler body; and a female balloon injection port mated with the male luer adapter.
In the same field of endeavor, connector/coupler for a catheter system, Korotko discloses a male luer adapter having a fluid path therethrough (a connector 120 used for medical procedures in which balloon catheters are used: ¶0017 and Fig. 2), and a first end configured to mate with a female balloon injection port of a catheter balloon and keep open a valve in the injection port (an outlet end 126 configured to mate with a valve 134 connected to a balloon catheter 132: ¶0018-0022 and Figs. 2-4; wherein the valve 134 is in the open position in Figs. 4A-B) for the benefit of providing a connector for a balloon catheter assembly to inflate or deflate a balloon as needed (Abstract and ¶0022-0023).
In an analogous art for being directed to solve the same problem, providing a removable stopper connected with a coupler/connector to seal a conduit of the coupler/connector, Davis discloses a fluid transfer connector 400 comprising a conduit 422 with an engagement port 420 and a male coupling 416 (¶0056-0057 and Fig. 16). Davis further discloses the connector 400 comprising a removable stopper 430, the stopper is configured to seal the conduit 422, a flexible tether 436 connected the stopper to the connector 400, and the removable stopper is rigidly connected with the coupler body (¶0057 and Fig. 16) for the benefits of providing a seal for the conduit and allowing for positioning the stopper in either open or closed configurations (¶0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Mitts in view of Korotko and Davis by incorporating a male luer adapter configured to mate with a female balloon injection port, a removable stopper on a second end of the male luer adapter, and a flexible tether connecting the removable stopper to the coupler body, in order to provide a connector for a balloon catheter assembly to inflate or deflate a balloon as needed, provide a seal for the conduit, and allow for positioning the stopper in either open or closed configurations, as suggested in Abstract and ¶0022-0023 of Korotko and ¶0057 of Davis.
Conclusion
/NHU Q. TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781