DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butani et al. (US 11162909; hereinafter Butani ‘909) in view of Butani et al. (US 11246551; hereinafter Butani ‘551).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Butani ‘909 discloses a cabinet x-ray image system for obtaining x-ray images and colorized or grey scale density x-ray images of a specimen (abstract, claim 22, col. 29:54-57) with a corresponding method, the system comprising: a cabinet defining an interior chamber wherein the cabinet comprises a walled enclosure surrounding the interior chamber, a door configured to cover the interior chamber and a sampling chamber for holding the specimen; a main monitor (claim 22, col. 29:58-63); an x-ray system including: an x-ray source; a detector; and a specimen platform; and a controller (col. 22, col. 29:64-30:1) configured to: selectively energize the x-ray source to emit x-rays through the specimen to the x-ray detector; control the x-ray detector to collect a projection x-ray image of the specimen when the x-ray source is energized (claim 22, col. 30:2-8); determine the density of different areas of the specimen from data collected from the x-ray detector of the projection x-ray image of the specimen when the x-ray source is energized; create a density x-ray image of the specimen wherein the different areas of the specimen are indicated as a density or range of densities based on the determined density of different areas of the specimen; and selectively display the density x-ray image of the specimen on the main monitor (claim 22, col. 30:9-18).
However, Butani ‘909 fails to disclose a separate monitor mirroring the main monitor and displaying the x-ray image of the specimen on the separate monitor.
Butani ‘551 teaches a separate monitor mirroring the main monitor and displaying the x-ray image of the specimen on the separate monitor (viewing station 104 comprises a display device 118 and a second LCD monitor 120 for viewing the actual specimen x-ray radiogram 101, Col. 13 Ln. 52-Col. 14 Ln. 15, Fig. 11A).
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Butani ‘909 with the teaching of Butani ‘551, since one would have been motivated to make such a modification for more options (Butani ‘551: col. 13:52-14:41; fig. 11a; with 118 and 120).
Regarding claim 2, Butani ‘909 discloses wherein the specimen platform is configured for excised tissue, organ or bone specimens (claim 17; col. 29:29-31).
Regarding claim 3, Butani ‘909 discloses wherein the specimen platform is configured for any organic or inorganic specimen that fits inside an x-ray cabinet (claim 18; col. 29:32-34).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Butani ‘909 discloses wherein the cabinet x-ray image system further includes: an optical camera configured to capture an optical image of the specimen (claim 25, col. 30:28-31); and the controller is further configured to: control the optical camera system to capture and collect the optical image of the specimen; and selectively display the density x-ray image and the optical image of the specimen on the main monitor (claim 25, col. 30:32-36). Butani ‘551 teaches the separate monitor (col. 13:52-14-41; fig. 11a).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Butani ‘909 discloses wherein the density x-ray image and the optical image of the specimen are displayed overlaid (claim 26; col. 30:42-44).
Regarding claim 6, Butani ‘909 discloses wherein: the x-ray source emits a first amount of x-rays; the x-ray detector includes a plurality of pixels in an array, each pixel configured to detect a second amount of x-rays received by the pixel; and the controller is further configured to: create the density x-ray image from the plurality of pixels by comparing from the first amount of x-rays and the second amount of x-rays for each pixel in the array (claim 1, col. 27:17-44).
Regarding claim 7, Butani ‘909 discloses wherein the different areas of the specimen of the density x-ray image are displayed in different grey scale, different color or different shades of color (claim 5, col. 27:61-64).
Claim(s) 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butani ‘909 and Butani ‘551 as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Nam (US 2011/0181683).
Butani ‘909 as modified above suggests claims 1 and 8. Butani ‘909 further discloses wherein selectively displaying the density x-ray image of the specimen on the main monitor (claim 22, col. 30:9-18) comprises transmitting the density x-ray image to the monitor using an interface (for 472). Butani ‘551 further teaches selectively displaying on the separate monitor (120).
However, Butani ‘909 fails to disclose wherein selectively displaying on the separate monitor comprises transmitting to the separate monitor using a wireless interface comprising one or more of Wi-Fi 802.11, Bluetooth 802.15, or cellular 2G-6G.
Nam teaches wherein selectively displaying on the separate monitor (80) comprises transmitting to the separate monitor using a wireless interface comprising one or more of Wi-Fi 802.11, Bluetooth 802.15, or cellular 2G-6G (fig. 74; par. 418).
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the prior art with the teaching of Nam, since these communication interfaces were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, which one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to substitute. One would have been motivated to make such a modification for easier and faster communication.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butani ‘909 and Butani ‘551 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Iyer et al. (US 2022/0086690; hereinafter Iyer).
Butani ‘909 as modified above suggests claim 8. Butani ‘909 further discloses wherein selectively displaying the density x-ray image of the specimen on the main monitor (claim 22, col. 30:9-18) comprises transmitting the density x-ray image using a protocol (for 472). Butani ‘551 further teaches selectively displaying on the separate monitor (120).
However, Butani ‘909 fails to disclose wherein selectively displaying on the separate monitor comprises transmitting to the separate monitor using a protocol comprising Real-time Messaging Protocol (RTMP), Real-time Streaming Protocol (RTSP), Web Real time Communication (WebRTC) or User Datagram Protocol (UDP).
Iyer teaches wherein selectively displaying on the separate monitor comprises transmitting to the separate monitor using a protocol comprising Real-time Messaging Protocol (RTMP), Real-time Streaming Protocol (RTSP), Web Real time Communication (WebRTC) or User Datagram Protocol (UDP) (par. 48).
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the prior art with the teaching of Iyer, since these communication interfaces were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, which one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to substitute. One would have been motivated to make such a modification for higher refresh rate and/or bandwidth (Iyer: par. 48).
Conclusion
/Chih-Cheng Kao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884