DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Species I, Species 1 and Species W in the reply filed on 9/21/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 5, 6, 16 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected SPecies, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/4/2025, 6/2/2025, 6/12/2025, 8/13/2025 and 9/21/2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawaura et al. (US 2012/0004503, hereinafter Kawaura).
Regarding claims 1-4, 8, 10, 11, 13-15, 19 and 20, Kawaura discloses a medical manipulator, as seen in at least figures 2-6. The manipulator has a flexible body 42 and at least two arms 33,34 each having a first bending portion 37 and a second bending portion 38 proximal to the first bending portion, such that the first and second bending portions are each attached to an artificial muscle in the form of a wire that bendably drives each portion in two or four directions (par. 0044). Each arm has a channel 48,49 through which tools (i.e., treatment manipulators) are inserted from the proximal end of the manipulator through an insertion manipulator 16/29 and controlled at the proximal end using a drive device 28/31 (fig. 2, par. 0042, 0044, 0047, 0056-0059).
Regarding claim 9, the arm can include end effector 53 at the distal end (fig. 5 and par. 0049).
Regarding claim 12, each arm is inserted into and extends through a hole/cutout in the distal end opening of the insertion manipulator when bent (fig. 4).
Claims 1-4, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ueda (US 5,897,488).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7 and 10, Ueda discloses a medical manipulator with a flexible body 502 and an arm as seen in figure 23 with a first bending portion 503 and a second bending portion 504 proximal to the first bending portion, such that the first and second bending portions are each attached to an artificial muscle 506/507 in the form of an actuator and wire that bendably drives each portion in at least two directions (Col. 14, line 55-Col. 15, line 13). The first bending portion can have 3 artificial muscles 506/507 arranged in parallel along the axis of the arm, as seen in figure 24A and 24 B (Col. 15, lines 14-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaura in view of Ueda (US 5,897,488).
Kawaura discloses the applicant’s basic invention, including an artificial muscle in the form of a wire, but is silent as to there being multiple wires attached to the first bending portion. Ueda also discloses a medical manipulator and thus is analogous art with Kawaura. Ueda discloses a flexible body 502 and an arm as seen in figure 23 with a first bending portion 503 and a second bending portion 504 proximal to the first bending portion, such that the first and second bending portions are each attached to an artificial muscle 506/507 in the form of an actuator and wire that bendably drives each portion in at least two directions (Col. 14, line 55-Col. 15, line 13). The first bending portion can have 3 artificial muscles 506/507 arranged in parallel along the axis of the arm, as seen in figure 24A and 24 B (Col. 15, lines 14-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Kawaura to include multiple wires arranged in parallel along the axis of the arm, as taught by Ueda, in order to allow for maximum control the of the bending of the device.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 13-15, 18, 19 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-11 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 19/074,7766 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, claims 1-4, 8-11, 13-15, 19 and 20 are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the current claims.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, the artificial muscle is disclosed in the copending claims as extending along a longitudinal axis, but the copending claims are silent as to there being multiple artificial muscles. However, it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)). In this case, adding more muscles will expectedly result in the manipulation of the bending portions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 especially US 5,531,664, which discloses a bendable medical manipulator.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796