DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 line 2 recites “If”.
It should be “if”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 15, 17,19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20150020013 A1) in view of Aman et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20180329511 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses An electronic device, comprising:
a display module (Fig. 3 "Device display Unit 240") configured to display a mirroring image on a display window; (Fig. 15, step 1525 "Display image on mirroring screen", and fig. 16A and [0141] "the second electronic device 200 displays the received mirroring image 1621 on a mirroring screen 1620")
a communication module configured to perform communication with an external device; (Fig. 3 "device connection unit 260" and [0093] "The device connection unit 260 may be configured to establish a connection to the first electronic device 100.");
a sensor module configured to detect a user gesture of a user and generate a sensing signal corresponding to the detected user gesture; (Fig. 3 "Device input 220" and [0085] "The device input unit 220 may include various instruments such as a keyboard, mouse, voice input appliance (e.g., a microphone) and electronic pen. The device input unit 220 may also include a touchscreen.");
at least one processor; (Fig. 3 "device control unit 270") and
a memory (Fig. 3, 250) configured to allocate one or more buffer areas ([0097]) and storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individuals or collectively, cause the electronic device to: ([0032] [0062]) and
receive mirroring data from the external device through the communication module; (Fig. 15 and [0141] "Upon reception of a mirroring image 1621 from the first electronic device 100," and fig. 16A);
control the display module (210) to display the mirroring image (650) in a first display area (620) allocated in the display window (600) using the mirroring data; data (Fig. 16 and Fig. 15, step 1525 with [0141] "at operation 1525, the second electronic device 200 displays the received mirroring image 1621 on a mirroring screen 1620."); and
control the display module to display an extended mirroring image (Fig. 15, step 1545 and [0144] "the second electronic device 200 displays the file information on the mirroring screen 1620") in at least one extended display area (640) allocated in the display window (600) using the mirroring data according to the user gesture detected by the sensor module (Fig. 16B and [0144] "For example, referring to FIG. 16B, the second electronic device 200 may display file information 1640 near the cursor 1630") according to the user gesture detected by the sensor module (refer fig. 15, step 1530 with [0142] "At operation 1530, the second electronic device 200 detects user input on the mirroring screen 1620. Upon detection of user input on the mirroring screen 1620 -in particular, the region in which the mirroring image 1621 is displayed) through interaction with the user,
Kim does not disclose “wherein the at least one processor is configured to render the mirroring data used to display the mirroring image in response to the user gesture for obtaining the extended mirroring image”.
Aman disclose “wherein the at least one processor is configured to render the mirroring data used to display the mirroring image in response to the user gesture for obtaining the extended mirroring image”. ([0034] [0015] [0035] [0036] [0060])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate gesture by Aman into device of Kim. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve efficiency. (Aman: [0034])
Regarding claims, 2, 10, 17, Kim and Aman disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to temporarily store new mirroring data corresponding to a new mirroring image displayed in the first display area according to the user gesture in a first buffer area provided in the memory. (Kim Fig. 3, [0091] [0032] [0062])
Regarding claims 4, 12, 19, Kim and Aman disclose wherein the mirroring data includes meta information indicating a link or a coordinate and image information to be mirrored. (Kim Fig. 3, [0142] [0143])
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Aman disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to allocate the at least one extended display area adjacent to the first display area in an upper/lower or left/right direction according to the user gesture. (Kim Figs. 9, 11, 13, 16)
Regarding claims 7, 15, Kim and Aman disclose wherein the at least one processor, if the user gesture is detected in the at least one extended display area, identifies input information mapped to a position where the user gesture is detected in the at least one extended display area and controls the communication module to transmit the input information identified to the external device. (Aman [0034] [0015] [0035] [0036] [0060])
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is rejected for same reason as claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected for same reason as claim 1.
Alternately, claims 1, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20150020013 A1) in view of Sonoda et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20220375268 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses An electronic device, comprising:
a display module (Fig. 3 "Device display Unit 240") configured to display a mirroring image on a display window; (Fig. 15, step 1525 "Display image on mirroring screen", and fig. 16A and [0141] "the second electronic device 200 displays the received mirroring image 1621 on a mirroring screen 1620")
a communication module configured to perform communication with an external device; (Fig. 3 "device connection unit 260" and [0093] "The device connection unit 260 may be configured to establish a connection to the first electronic device 100.");
a sensor module configured to detect a user gesture of a user and generate a sensing signal corresponding to the detected user gesture; (Fig. 3 "Device input 220" and [0085] "The device input unit 220 may include various instruments such as a keyboard, mouse, voice input appliance (e.g., a microphone) and electronic pen. The device input unit 220 may also include a touchscreen.");
at least one processor; (Fig. 3 "device control unit 270") and
a memory (Fig. 3, 250) configured to allocate one or more buffer areas ([0097]) and storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individuals or collectively, cause the electronic device to: and
receive mirroring data from the external device through the communication module; (Fig. 15 and [0141] "Upon reception of a mirroring image 1621 from the first electronic device 100," and fig. 16A);
control the display module (210) to display the mirroring image (650) in a first display area (620) allocated in the display window (600) using the mirroring data; data (Fig. 16 and Fig. 15, step 1525 with [0141] "at operation 1525, the second electronic device 200 displays the received mirroring image 1621 on a mirroring screen 1620."); and
control the display module to display an extended mirroring image (Fig. 15, step 1545 and [0144] "the second electronic device 200 displays the file information on the mirroring screen 1620") in at least one extended display area (640) allocated in the display window (600) using the mirroring data according to the user gesture detected by the sensor module (Fig. 16B and [0144] "For example, referring to FIG. 16B, the second electronic device 200 may display file information 1640 near the cursor 1630") according to the user gesture detected by the sensor module (refer fig. 15, step 1530 with [0142] "At operation 1530, the second electronic device 200 detects user input on the mirroring screen 1620. Upon detection of user input on the mirroring screen 1620 -in particular, the region in which the mirroring image 1621 is displayed) through interaction with the user,
Kim does not disclose “wherein the at least one processor is configured to render the mirroring data used to display the mirroring image in response to the user gesture for obtaining the extended mirroring image”.
Sonoda disclose “wherein the at least one processor is configured to render the mirroring data used to display the mirroring image in response to the user gesture for obtaining the extended mirroring image”. ([0122] [0170] [0227] )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate gesture by Sonoda into device of Kim. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve efficiency. (Sonoda: [0122])
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is rejected for same reason as claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected for same reason as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 13, 14, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHUN-NAN LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629