Claims 21 – 40 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. No terminal disclaimer was filed as stated in the Remarks. However, an updated Double Patenting rejection was made below due to the amended claim language.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21 – 40 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amended claim language. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Copperman in view of Podgorny and Mishra, see rejection below.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 – 22, 29 – 30, 37 – 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 (including language of independent claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,248,524. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the mapping below.
Current Application 19/069,486
U.S. Patent No. 12,248 524
21. (New) A system for monitoring and optimizing work assistant search engines implemented within a computing system, comprising: a memory; and one or more processing devices, operatively coupled with the memory, to: receive diagnostic data of a work assistant search engine using an initial score model, wherein the diagnostic data includes non-identifying information associated with a user and a query; determine, based on the diagnostic data generated by the work assistant search engine while using the initial score model, a search quality metric value associated with performance of the work assistant search engine; generate, in response to determining that the search quality metric value fails to satisfy a threshold value, an updated score model for the work assistant search engine; and initiate an update to the work assistant search engine to use the updated score model.
1. A system for monitoring and optimizing work assistant search engines that are implemented within secured enterprise user computing systems, comprising:
a storage device; and
one or more processing devices, communicatively connected to the storage device, to:
receive diagnostic data of a work assistant search engine from a secured enterprise user computing system, the diagnostic data comprising feature values and scores, wherein the secured enterprise user computing system is safe from transmitting non-diagnostic data to the system, wherein the feature values are an abstract layer calculated based on a query, an identifier of a user requesting the query, and data objects representing documents identified by the work assistant search engine responsive to the query, and the abstract layer is devoid of personal information of the user or content of the documents identified by the work assistant search engine, and wherein the scores are calculated by applying a score model to the feature values;
determine, by analyzing the diagnostic data, a search quality metric value associated with the feature values and the scores;
responsive to determining that the search quality metric value differs from a target search quality metric value by a predetermined threshold value, determine an updated score model; and
provide the updated score model to the secured enterprise user computing system to update the work assistant search engine.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the scores comprise at least one of a topicality score that is determined based on one or more feature values relating to the query, the identifier of the user requesting the query, and the data objects representing documents identified by the work assistant search engine responsive to the query, or a popularity score that is determined based on one or more feature values relating to the identifier of the user requesting the query and the data objects representing documents identified by the work assistant search engine responsive to the query.
22. (New) The system of claim 21, wherein the diagnostic data comprises at least one of features or scores associated with search queries issued to the work assistant search engine.
1. A system for monitoring and optimizing work assistant search engines that are implemented within secured enterprise user computing systems, comprising:
a storage device; and
one or more processing devices, communicatively connected to the storage device, to:
receive diagnostic data of a work assistant search engine from a secured enterprise user computing system, the diagnostic data comprising feature values and scores, wherein the secured enterprise user computing system is safe from transmitting non-diagnostic data to the system, wherein the feature values are an abstract layer calculated based on a query, an identifier of a user requesting the query, and data objects representing documents identified by the work assistant search engine responsive to the query, and the abstract layer is devoid of personal information of the user or content of the documents identified by the work assistant search engine, and wherein the scores are calculated by applying a score model to the feature values;
determine, by analyzing the diagnostic data, a search quality metric value associated with the feature values and the scores;
responsive to determining that the search quality metric value differs from a target search quality metric value by a predetermined threshold value, determine an updated score model; and
provide the updated score model to the secured enterprise user computing system to update the work assistant search engine.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the scores comprise at least one of a topicality score that is determined based on one or more feature values relating to the query, the identifier of the user requesting the query, and the data objects representing documents identified by the work assistant search engine responsive to the query, or a popularity score that is determined based on one or more feature values relating to the identifier of the user requesting the query and the data objects representing documents identified by the work assistant search engine responsive to the query.
Claims 29 – 30 are rejected using similar mapping to claim 2 of the ‘524 Patent above, as well as 10 and 12 – 14.
Claims 37 – 38 are rejected using similar mapping to claim 2 of the ‘524 Patent above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 – 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0033221 issued to Copperman et al (hereinafter referred to as Copperman) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0032890 issued to Podgorny et al (hereinafter referred to as Podgorny), and in further review of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0358897 issued to Mishra et al (hereinafter Mishra).
As to claim 21, Copperman discloses a system for monitoring and optimizing work assistant search engines implemented within a computing system, comprising:
a memory (computer components including memory, storage device, interface (display and input) devices, and CPU(s), see Copperman: Para. 0038); and
one or more processing devices, operatively coupled with the memory (computer components including storage device, interface (display and input) devices, and CPU(s), see Copperman: Para. 0038), to:
receive diagnostic data of a work assistant search engine using an initial score measure (receiving a report including diagnostics such as results and f-measure for a taxonomy in response to a query and performing taxonomy improvement process based on the results and f-measures, see Copperman: Para. 0139 – 0145 and 0155 – 0161, see also assigning scores for classifications of the classifier for improving the taxonomy using a test on train (TOT) process, see Copperman: Para. 0081 – 0082 and 0139 – 0145),
determine, based on the diagnostic data generated by the work assistant search engine while using the initial score measure, a search quality metric value associated with performance of the work assistant search engine (determining the f-measure for the taxonomy based on results in the improvement of the taxonomy process and ranking knowledge containers based on query results using the improved taxonomy, see Copperman: Para. 0139 – 0145 and Para. 0155 – 0161);
generate, in response to determining that the search quality metric value fails to satisfy a threshold value, an updated score measure for the work assistant search engine (determine if the f-measure the taxonomy exceeds 85% and repeating training of the text classifier until the f-measure exceeds the threshold and ranking knowledge containers based on query results using the improved taxonomy, see Copperman: Para. 0139 – 0145 and Para. 0155 – 0161, not meeting a threshold is failing to satisfy, training of the classifier is updating of the classifier (model)); and
initiate an update to the work assistant search engine to use the updated score measure (taxonomy improvement process including adding/removing documents to train the model with good concepts until the f-measure threshold is met and ranking knowledge containers based on query results using the improved taxonomy, see Copperman: Para. 0139 - 0145 and Para. 0155 – 0161, improving the taxonomy of the knowledge base thereby improves the functioning of the search engine).
However, Copperman does not explicitly disclose initial score model; wherein the diagnostic data includes non-identifying information associated with a user and a query; and an updated score model.
Podgorny teaches initial score model (hybrid predictive model, see Podgorny: Para. 0009, 0064, 0078 - 0079);
wherein the diagnostic data includes non-identifying information associated with a user and a query (determination of content quality scores based on likelihood content support content is relevant to a user’s search query by the hybrid predictive model trained using user feedback, see Podgorny: Para. 0009, 0064, 0078 - 0079); and
an updated score model (training the hybrid predictive model based on user feedback, see Podgorny: Para. 0009, 0064, 0078 - 0079).
Podgorny and Copperman are analogous due to their disclosure of question and answering knowledge base
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Copperman’s use of improving a search engine by determining f-measure for taxonomy tags of the knowledge base for the search engine with Podgorny’s use of training hybrid predictive models using quality scores based on user feedback in order to improve content searching in a question and answer customer support system by using a crowd-machine learning hybrid predictive model (see Podgorny: Para. 0007).
However, Copperman modified by Podgorny does not explicitly disclose wherein the updated score model comprises an updated topicality score function selected from a plurality of topicality score functions, an updated popularity score function selected from a plurality of popularity score functions, or a different form of score function selected from a plurality of forms of score functions.
Mishra teaches wherein the updated score model comprises an updated topicality score function selected from a plurality of topicality score functions, an updated popularity score function selected from a plurality of popularity score functions, or a different form of score function selected from a plurality of forms of score functions (selecting new features and sampling features to determine feature scores for determining scoring models for different grid areas, such as sampling points within an area to update a continuous scoring model and integrate the model over a desired area, see Mishra: Para. 0018 – 0021, 0027, 0056 – 0060, 0062 – 0064, selection of features for determining updated continuous scoring model is selection of a different from form of sore function selected from a plurality of forms of score functions, as varying features is varying forms).
Mishra, Podgorny and Copperman are analogous due to their disclosure of models for improving the querying of data stores
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Copperman’s use of improving a search engine by determining f-measure for taxonomy tags of the knowledge base for the search engine with Podgorny’s use of training hybrid predictive models using quality scores based on user feedback with Mishra’s use of updating scoring models by selecting a different form of score function from a plurality of forms of score functions in order to increase the ability of a user to use a search engine to find features of interest in an unfamiliar geographical area.
As to claim 22, Copperman modified by Podgorny and Mishra discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the diagnostic data comprises at least one of features or scores associated with search queries issued to the work assistant search engine (diagnostics including f-measure (precision and recall measure) for document tags returned from a knowledge container taxonomy, see Copperman: Para. 0139 – 0145, and including resulting documents from the query and document tags, see Copperman: Para. 0145 – 0161).
As to claim 23, Copperman modified by Podgorny and Mishra discloses the system of claim 22, wherein the scores comprise at least one of a topicality score associated with a quality of contents of a document with respect to a search query and a popularity score associated with access features of the document (probabilistic topic model generating topic model output including topic scores associated with topic terms and probabilistic topic terms that are related to one or more topics that are used to determine relevant customer support content for the search query, see Podgorny: Para. 0075, and a popularity ranking based on relevance determined by the topic, see Podgorny: Para. 0051).
As to claim 24, Copperman modified by Podgorny and Mishra discloses the system of claim 23, wherein the one or more processing devices are further configured to:
generate one or more potential score models by selecting varying features for each model, functions for calculating the topicality score, functions for calculating the popularity score, and functions for calculating a relevancy score (one or more hybrid predictive models to identify search results to provide to users in response to search queries, see Podgorny: Para. 0045, and probabilistic topic model of the hybrid predictive model generating topic model output including topic scores associated with topic terms and probabilistic topic terms that are related to one or more topics that are used to determine relevant customer support content for the search query, see Podgorny: Para. 0075, and a popularity ranking based on relevance determined by the topic, see Podgorny: Para. 0051);
perform simulations of the one or more potential score models by applying the one or more potential score models to the features included in the diagnostic data to calculate simulated scores for each of the one or more potential score models (estimating relevance of existing customer support content using machine learning to estimate a likelihood and train the hybrid predicative models, see Podgorny: Para. 0072 – 0076, using machine learning to estimate likelihood/relevancy in lieu of direct user feedback is a simulation in place of user feedback); and
select an updated score model from the one or more potential score models based on user activity (training hybrid predictive models based on machine learning feedback and/or user feedback, see Podgorny: Para. 0045, 0051 and 0072 – 0076).
As to claim 25, Copperman modified by Podgorny and Mishra discloses the system of claim 24, wherein the updated score model comprises a neural network, and wherein the simulations comprise training of the neural network (the hybrid predictive model is generated and trained using artificial neural networks, see Podgorny: Para. 0074).
As to claim 26, Copperman modified by Podgorny and Mishra discloses the system to claim 21, wherein the system is deployed in a third-party computing environment that is securely separate from a computing system executing the work assistant search engine (system is accomplished through integration of the customer database and external repositories with a customer relationship management system, see Copperman: Para. 0065, wherein the system including an e-service portal, see Para. 0037).
As to claim 27, Copperman modified by Podgorny and Mishra discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the one or more processing devices are further configured to:
record diagnostic data over a period of time (tags including times of submission and submitter ID amongst others, see Copperman: Para. 0098, the input documents and tags thereof received over time);
calculate a statistics value of the diagnostic data over time (calculate quality values for the tags, see Copperman: Para. 0159 – 0170, the documents and tags received over time); and
determine the search quality metric value associated with the diagnostic data based on the statistics value (determining values about the quality of the source knowledge container and providing ranked listed ordered by relevance in response to the query, see Copperman: Para. 0159 – 0170).
As to claim 28, Copperman modified by Podgorny and Mishra discloses system the of claim 21, wherein the diagnostic data comprises:
user interactions associated with documents identified by the work assistant search engine responsive to user queries (f-measure based on a test on train report for evaluation of manually entered (user) tags and automatically generated tags, see Copperman: Para. 0139 – 0145 and 0147 – 0149),
factor values associated with document content for calculating a topicality feature value (f-measure values used in the inspection of assigned topics in determining appropriate tags, see Copperman: Para. 0139 – 0145), and
an affinity value indicating user affinity for a corresponding document and one or more signals indicating use or staleness of the document, wherein the affinity value and one or more signals are used to calculate a popularity score (determining level of quality for the taxonomy tags based on taxonomic distance and level of previous user satisfaction with the knowledge container based on user feedback, see Copperman: Para. 0159).
Claims 29 – 36 are rejected using similar rationale to the rejection of claims 21 – 28 above.
Claims 37 – 40 are rejected using similar rationale to the rejection of claims 21 – 24 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK E HERSHLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2164