DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims1-5, 7-12 14-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,831 and claims 1-3, 5, 8-12, 17-19 of U.S. Patent 11,670,942. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims are essentially claiming similar subject matter.
Claims of instant Application
Claims of US patent 12249931
Claims of US patent 11670942
1. A method of operating a hybrid propulsion system, the method comprising: controllably providing a first alternating current (AC) power to a first bus and a first inverter; electrically coupling a first motor with a second inverter by way of a second bus; operably converting, by the second inverter, the first AC power received by the first inverter to a starting AC power adapted for starting the first motor; increasing the starting AC power, by the second inverter, by adjusting a phase of the starting AC power to match a phase of the first AC power received; and electrically coupling the first motor with a first bus when the starting AC power matches the first AC power received.
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claims 2-8
Claims 1-5, 7-9
Claims 1-3, 5, 8 and 9
9. A hybrid propulsion system, comprising: a first inverter; a second inverter electrically coupled with the first inverter and selectively couplable with either a first bus or a second bus; a first motor selectively couplable with either the first bus or the second bus; and a controller configured to: electrically couple the first motor with the second inverter by way of the second bus; operably convert, by controlling the second inverter, a first power received from the first inverter to a starting alternating current (AC) power adapted for starting the first motor; increase the starting AC power, by controlling the second inverter, to adjust a phase of the starting AC power to match a phase of the first power received; and electrically coupling the first motor with a first bus when the starting AC power matches the phase of the first bus.
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claims 10-18
Claims 2, 10-12, 14-16
Claims 11-12, 17-19
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (2014/0145448 A1) in view of Colby et al. (US 20050135031).
Re Claim 1: Lewis teaches method of operating a hybrid propulsion system, the method comprising: controllably providing a first alternating current (AC) power to a first bus and a first inverter (see G1-G4, 16a-b, 30 fig.2 para 0053-0056, 0059); electrically coupling a first motor with a second inverter by way of a second bus (see T1-T4 , 16b, 26, 40 fig.2 para 0056, 0062-0064); operably converting, by the second inverter, the first AC power received by the first inverter to a starting AC power adapted for starting the first motor (see 30, 34, 32, T1, fig.2 para 0056-0059).
Lewis doesn’t expressly teach increasing the starting AC power, by the second inverter, by adjusting a phase of the starting AC power to match a phase of the first AC power received; and electrically coupling the first motor with a first bus when the starting AC power matches the first AC power received.
In an analogous art Colby teaches increasing the starting AC power, by the second inverter, by adjusting a phase of the starting AC power to match a phase of the first AC power received (see 132, 134 steps 166-178 fig.8, 10 para 0004-0006, 0065-0070); and electrically coupling the first motor with a first bus when the starting AC power matches the first AC power received (see 26, 136 steps 178-186 fig 1A, 8, 10 para 0080-0085)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention was claimed to use the phase Synchronization and contactor closure control of Colby in the invention of Lewis to match inverter generated AC power with the bus AC power before electrically coupling the propulsion motor to reducing transients and ensuing the interconnection.
Re Claim 9: Lewis teaches a hybrid propulsion system, comprising: a first inverter (see 30 fig.2 para 0056-0059); a second inverter electrically coupled with the first inverter and selectively couplable with either a first bus or a second bus (see 30, 32, 34, 16a-b, 140 fig.2 para 0055-0059) ; a first motor selectively couplable with either the first bus or the second bus (see T1-T4 fig.2 para 0062-0064); and a controller configured to: electrically couple the first motor with the second inverter by way of the second bus(see 38, 40 fig.2 para 0056-0058); operably convert, by controlling the second inverter, a first power received from the first inverter to a starting alternating current (AC) power adapted for starting the first motor (see fig.2 para 0056-0059; conversion through the Dc link from first rec/inv to the second rec/inv supplying AC power from the propulsion motor);
Lewis doesn’t expressly teach increase the starting AC power, by controlling the second inverter, to adjust a phase of the starting AC power to match a phase of the first power received; and electrically coupling the first motor with a first bus when the starting AC power matches the phase of the first bus.
In an analogous art Colby teaches increase the starting AC power, by controlling the second inverter, to adjust a phase of the starting AC power to match a phase of the first power received (see steps 166-178 fig.8, 10 para 0004-0006, 0065-0070); and electrically coupling the first motor with a first bus when the starting AC power matches the phase of the first bus (see steps 178-186 fig 1A, 10 para 0080-0085).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention was claimed to use the Synchronization and contactor sequencing control of Colby in the invention of Lewis to synchronize inverter generated AC power with the bus AC power before coupling the propulsion motor to improve stability and ensuing the interconnection.
Re Claim 2: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Lewis further teaches wherein electrical coupling further comprises electrically coupling, by way of at least a first switch and a second switch, the first motor with the second inverter (see 38, 40, fig.2 para 0057-0058).
Re Claim 3: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Colby further teaches wherein increasing the starting AC power comprises increasing, by the second inverter, a frequency of the starting AC power to match a frequency of the first AC power (see figs.8-10 para 0004-0006, 0069-0076).
Re Claim 4: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Colby further teaches wherein increasing the starting AC power comprises increasing, by the second inverter, a voltage of the starting AC power to match a voltage of the first AC power (see 132 fig.8 para 0068-0070).
Re Claim 5: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Lewis further teaches further comprising generating, by a generator, the first AC power (see G1-G4, 16a-b fig.2 para 0054).
Re Claim 6: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Lewis further teaches further comprising, after electrically coupling the first motor with a first bus, electrically coupling a second motor with the second inverter by way of the second bus (see T1-T4, figs.2-3 para 0056, 0064).
Re Claim 7: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Lewis further teaches further comprising, after electrically coupling the first motor with the first bus, electrically coupling an auxiliary power source to the first bus (see para 019, 0063) Colby further teaches such that the auxiliary power source can operably inject additional power to the first motor by way of the first bus (see para 0003-0005, 0034).
Re Claim 8: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Lewis further teaches wherein electrically coupling the auxiliary power source to the first bus includes electrically coupling the auxiliary power source to the first bus by way of the second inverter (see 16 a-b , 24, 26, G1-G4, T1-T4 para 0054, 0056, 0062-0064), Colby further teaches further comprising operably converting, by the second inverter, the additional power to additional power having a lagging power factor or a leading power factor (see fig.3, 6 para 0033-0034, 0045-0051, 0060-0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention was claimed to use the reactive power control of Colby in the inverter-based propulsion system of Lewis to control leading lagging power factor when injecting auxiliary power through inverter onto the bus thereby improving power quality and operational flexibility with predictable results.
Re Claim 10: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Lewis further teaches further comprising a generator configured to provide the first AC power to the first bus (see G1-G4, 16a-b fig.2 para 0054).
Re Claim 11: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Colby further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to increase a frequency of the starting AC power to match a frequency of the first bus (see figs.8-10 para 0004-0006, 0069-0076).
Re Claim 12: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Colby further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to increase a voltage of the starting AC power to match a voltage of the first bus (see 132 fig.8 para 0068-0070).
Re Claim 13: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Lewis further teaches further comprising, after electrically coupling the first motor with the first bus, electrically coupling an auxiliary power source to the first bus, (see para 019, 0063) Colby further teaches and wherein the controller is configured to operably inject additional power to the first motor by way of operating providing power from the auxiliary power source to the first bus (see para 0003-0005, 0034).
Re Claim 14: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Colby further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to operably convert, by controlling the second inverter, the additional power to starting AC power having a lagging power factor or a leading power factor (see fig.3, 6 para 0033-0034, 0045-0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention was claimed to use the reactive power control of Colby in the inverter-based propulsion system of Lewis to control leading lagging power factor when injecting auxiliary power through inverter onto the bus thereby improving power quality and operational flexibility with predictable results.
Re Claim 15: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Lewis further teaches A vehicle comprising the hybrid propulsion system of claim 9 (See 0017,0067 fig.2-3; marine vessel propulsion system).
Re Claim 16: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Lewis further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to electrically couple, by way of at least a first switch and a second switch, the first motor with the second inverter (see 38, 40, fig.2 para 0057-0058)..
Re Claim 17: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Colby further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to increase a frequency of the starting AC power by the second inverter to match a frequency of the first bus (see figs.8-10 para 0004-0006, 0069-0076).
Re Claim 18: combination of Lewis and Colby teaches invention set forth above, Colby further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to increase a voltage of the starting AC power by the second inverter to match a voltage of the first bus (see 132 fig.8 para 0068-0070).
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849