DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2025 was filed on or after the effective filing date of the instant application on 03/04/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 06/23/2025 to the claims has been accepted and entered.
Claim 1 has been canceled.
Claims 2-21 have been newly added and are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-5, 8 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 8 and 12-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,889,164. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 2, the instant application claim 2 and the US patent claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The claims differ in scope since the instant application claim 2 is broader in every aspect than the patent claim 1 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 2 of the instant application is anticipated by the patent claim 1 in that claim 1 of the patent contains all the limitations of claim 2 of the instant application. Claim 2 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claim 3 corresponds to the patent claim 4.
Claim 4 corresponds to the patent claim 1.
Claim 5 corresponds to the patent claim 8.
Claim 8 corresponds to the patent claim 13.
Claim 12 corresponds to the patent claim 12.
Claims 2-5, 8 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7, 10 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,267,567. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 2, the instant application claim 2 and the US patent claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The claims differ in scope since the instant application claim 2 is broader in every aspect than the patent claim 1 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 2 of the instant application is anticipated by the patent claim 1 in that claim 1 of the patent contains all the limitations of claim 2 of the instant application. Claim 2 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claim 3 corresponds to the patent claim 5.
Claim 4 corresponds to the patent claim 1.
Claim 5 corresponds to the patent claim 7.
Claim 8 corresponds to the patent claim 10.
Claim 12 corresponds to the patent claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giladi et al (US 2018/0352307) in view of Jarnikov (US 2014/0019767).
Regarding claim 2, Giladi discloses a method of watermarking multimedia content, the method comprising:
fragmenting an item of multimedia content into a sequence of fragments (¶ [0030]-[0031], ¶ [0048] and ¶ [0065] for segmenting a content into a plurality of content segments);
watermarking a fragment of the sequence of fragments using two or more watermarks to generate two or more variants of the fragment, wherein each variant of the two or more variants of the fragment is watermarked using a respective watermark of the two or more watermarks (¶ [0004], ¶ [0029]-[0031], ¶ [0048] and ¶ [0064] for watermarking a content segment using different watermarks to generate multiple variants of the same content segment); and
adjusting lengths of the two or more variants of the fragment to have the determined length for the fragment (Figure 3B; ¶ [0005], ¶ [0029], ¶ [0033], ¶ [0055], ¶ [0064]-[0066] and ¶ [0075] for adjusting lengths of variants of the content segment to determined same length).
Giladi is silent about determining a length for the fragment based on a temporal position of the fragment relative to other fragments of the sequence of fragments.
Jarnikov discloses determining a length for the fragment based on a temporal position of the fragment relative to other fragments of the sequence of fragments, and adjusting lengths of the two or more variants of the fragment to have the determined length for the fragment (Figures 4 and 7; ¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-[0021] and ¶ [0052]-[0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Giladi system with the teaching of Jarnikov about adjusted length indicated a temporal position of the variants of the fragments, so to provide an alternative way of indexing variants of the fragments to be identified as requested.
Regarding claim 3, Giladi in view of Jarnikov discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. The combined system further discloses wherein the length is further determined based on a length of a largest variant of the two or more variants of the fragment (taught by Giladi; ¶ [0074]-[0075]; and taught by Jarnikov; ¶ [0014]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 4, Giladi in view of Jarnikov discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. The combined system further discloses wherein the fragment comprises a first fragment, the method further comprising:
watermarking a second fragment of the sequence of fragments using the two or more watermarks to generate two or more variants of the second fragment, wherein each variant of the two or more variants of the second fragment is watermarked using a respective watermark of the two or more watermarks (taught by Giladi; ¶ [0004], ¶ [0030]-[0031], ¶ [0048] and ¶ [0064]); determining a length for the second fragment based on a temporal position of the second fragment relative to the other fragments of the sequence of fragments; and adjusting lengths of the two or more variants of the second fragment to have the determined length for the second fragment (taught by Jarnikov; Figures 4 and 7; ¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-[0021] and ¶ [0052]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 5, Giladi in view of Jarnikov discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. The combined system further discloses wherein the length for the fragment is determined such that the temporal position of the fragment is derivable from the length of the fragment modulo a predetermined number (taught by Jarnikov; ¶ [0014]-[0018], ¶ [0020]-[0023] and ¶ [0052]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 6, Giladi in view of Jarnikov discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 5. The combined system further discloses wherein the predetermined number is based on a count of fragments of the sequence of fragments (taught by Jarnikov; ¶ [0014]-[0018] and ¶ [0053]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Giladi in view of Jarnikov discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. The combined system further discloses wherein watermarking the fragment comprises embedding a watermark into at least one of audio or video of the fragment (taught by Giladi; ¶ [0026]-[0030] and ¶ [0046]-[0048]; and taught by Jarnikov; ¶ [0002] and ¶ [0047]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Giladi discloses a method for providing multimedia content, the method comprising:
receiving, from a requestor, a request for all or a part of an item of multimedia content, wherein the item of multimedia content is fragmented into a sequence of fragments (¶ [0030]-[0031], ¶ [0048] and ¶ [0064]-[0065] for receiving a request for a content being segmented into a plurality of content segments);
determining a fragment of the sequence of fragments based on a temporal position related to the request; and selecting a fragment corresponding to the determined fragment from among two or more sequences of watermarked fragments based on an identifier of the requestor (¶ [0032], ¶ [0048]-[0054] and ¶ [0067]-[0073] for determining and selecting a variant from multiple variants of watermarked content segments based on an identifier of a requestor and a time value in the request),
wherein each sequence of watermarked fragments of the two or more sequences of watermarked fragments are watermarked using a watermark of two or more respective watermarks (¶ [0004], ¶ [0029]-[0031], ¶ [0048] and ¶ [0064] for watermarking a content segment using different watermarks to generate multiple variants of the same content segment),
wherein the identifier of the requestor defines from which of the two or more sequences of watermarked fragments to select fragments based on requested temporal positions (¶ [0032], ¶ [0048]-[0054] and ¶ [0067]-[0073] for using identifier of the requestor to select variant segments based on time value).
Giladi is silent about a temporal position of the selected fragment relative to others of the sequence of fragments is derivable from a length of the fragment.
Jarnikov discloses determining a fragment of the sequence of fragments based on a temporal position related to the request; wherein a temporal position of the selected fragment relative to others of the sequence of fragments is derivable from a length of the fragment (Figures 4 and 7; ¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-[0021] and ¶ [0052]-[0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Giladi system with the teaching of Jarnikov, so to provide an alternative way of indexing variants of the fragments to be identified as requested.
Regarding claims 9-11, all limitations of claims 9-11 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 5-7 respectively.
Regarding claim 12, all functionalities of an apparatus in claim 12 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 2. Giladi in view of Jarnikov discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Giladi’s Figure 6; and Jarnikov’s Figure 6).
Regarding claims 13-17, all limitations of claims 13-17 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 3-7 respectively.
Regarding claim 18, all functionalities of an apparatus in claim 18 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 8. Giladi in view of Jarnikov discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Giladi’s Figure 6; and Jarnikov’s Figure 6).
Regarding claims 19-21, all limitations of claims 19-21 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 9-11 respectively.
Conclusion
/GIGI L DUBASKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421