DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 6,947,318).
The disclosure of fig(s). 1-15 of Fujita is incorporated into an embodiment as considered below, since elements are analogous and similarly referenced in each figure. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the figure(s) with the embodiment as taught for the purpose of improving the overall performance by utilizing an improved tunning and trimming scheme, which achieves accurate readings (column/line(s): 6/26-34-12/26-27).
Regarding claim 9, Fujita discloses a magnetoresistive device comprising:
a memory array (MRAM 11; fig. 1); and
at least one antifuse block (16; fig. 1, 2) including one or more groups of trim-enable and antifuse MTJs (M1 and bM1; fig. 2, 4; further “magneto-resistive effect element M1 has a function as an anti-fuse” column/line(s): 11/35-37; bM1, along with M1, functions to store tuning information that enables a trim signal; column/line(s): 4/59-67 and 5/1-4),
wherein each group of the one or more group of trim-enable (bM1) and antifuse MTJs (M1) includes at least one trim-enable MTJ and at least one antifuse MTJ (fig. 3 column/line(s): 5/43-46).
Fujita does not expressly disclose memory array including magnetic tunnel junctions (MTJs).
Fujita teaches the memory array including magneto-resistive effect elements as memory cells (column/line(s): 3/26-28).
Magneto-resistive effect elements and MTJs are common and well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is modifiable as taught to include the memory array having magnetic tunnel junctions, for the purpose of improving the overall performance by utilizing an improved tunning and trimming scheme, which achieves accurate readings (column/line(s): 6/26-34-12/26-27).
Regarding claim 10, Fujita discloses the magnetoresistive device of claim 9, wherein the at least one antifuse block is positioned adjacent the memory array (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Fujita discloses magnetoresistive device of claim 9, wherein a size of each in the memory array is different from a size of each of the trim-enable and antifuse MTJs in the at least one antifuse block (column/line(s): 5/5-8).
Fujita does not expressly disclose of the plurality of MTJs in the memory array.
Fujita teaches the memory array including magneto-resistive effect elements as memory cells (column/line(s): 3/26-28).
Magneto-resistive effect elements and MTJs are common and well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is modifiable as taught to include the memory array having magnetic tunnel junctions, for the purpose of improving the overall performance by utilizing an improved tunning and trimming scheme, which achieves accurate readings (column/line(s): 6/26-34-12/26-27).
Regarding claim 12, Fujita discloses the magnetoresistive device of claim 9, wherein the plurality of MTJs in the memory array are placed on different wordlines and bitlines from those of the trim- enable and antifuse MTJs in the at least one antifuse block (column/line(s): 3/32-44).
Regarding claim 15, Fujita discloses the magnetoresistive device of claim 9, further including: a circuit (17; fig. 3) configured to determine a logical state of each of the at least one trim- enable MTJ and at least one antifuse MTJ (column/line(s): 5/64-67 and 6/1-5), wherein the circuit includes one or more scan-chains (i.e. scanning programmed state of both Mi and bM1; fig. 3).
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-8, 14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 6,947,318) in view of Lee et al. (US 11,177,010 “Lee”).
The disclosure of fig(s). 1-15 of Fujita is incorporated into an embodiment as considered below, since elements are analogous and similarly referenced in each figure. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the figure(s) with the embodiment as taught for the purpose of improving the overall performance by utilizing an improved tunning and trimming scheme, which achieves accurate readings (column/line(s): 6/26-34-12/26-27).
Regarding claim 1, Fujita discloses a magnetoresistive device comprising:
a set of antifuse magnetic tunnel junctions (MTJs) (M1; fig. 2, 4; further “magneto-resistive effect element M1 has a function as an anti-fuse” column/line(s): 11/35-37);
a trim-enable MTJ (bM1; fig. 2, 4; further, along with M1, functions to store tuning information that enables a trim signal; column/line(s): 4/59-67 and 5/1-4) associated with the set of antifuse MTJs (M1), wherein each of the set of antifuse MTJs (M1) and the trim-enable MTJ (bM1) has a logical state (i.e. of bit data; column/line(s): 4/59-65), the logical state being a first logical state or a second logical state (the bit data being in logical state of “1” or “0”; column/line(s): 5/26-36); and
a circuit (17; fig. 1) configured to determine the logical state of each of the set of antifuse MTJs and the trim-enable MTJ (column/line(s): 5/64-67 and 6/1-5).
Fujita does not expressly disclose wherein the logical state of each antifuse MTJ in the set of antifuse MTJs is read when the trim-enable MTJ has the second logical state, and wherein the logical state of every antifuse MTJ in the set of antifuse MTJs is determined to be the first logical state when the trim-enable MTJ has the first logical state.
Lee discloses wherein the logical state of each memory in the set of memories is read when another memory has the second logical state (logical bit value of zero, i.e. resistance at below a reference resistance, then a read circuit reads a bit value; column/line(s): 6/25-47), and wherein the logical state of every memory in the set of memories is determined to be the first logical state when the another memory has the first logical state (logical bit value of one, i.e. resistance at above the reference resistance, then the read circuit determines all bit values to be one; column/line(s): 6/25-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is modifiable as taught by for the purpose of achieving higher read accuracy and reduces leakage current (column/line(s): 6/38-50 of Lee), which is common and well known in the art to improve the overall integrity of data storage.
Regarding claim 2, Fujita does not expressly disclose the magnetoresistive device of claim 1, wherein the trim-enable MTJ includes at least three MTJs.
Fujita in an embodiment, teaches at least three circuits MTJ circuits (17; fig. 2, i.e. each circuit 17 having a trim-enable MTJ, further m storage elements > 1; fig. 3, 9, column/line(s): 5/43-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is modifiable as taught by the embodiment (e.g. includes at least three MTJs), where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, i.e. “at least three MTJs,” involves only routine skill in the art. Such a conclusion is reasonably expected since workable ranges are common and well known in the prior art and can be interpreted broadly; it has been held that without a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or a critical reason why the invention requires the particular limitation, the number of MTJs as disclosed by Fujita makes the limitation obvious for the purpose of improving the overall performance by utilizing an improved tunning and trimming scheme, which achieves accurate readings (column/line(s): 6/26-34-12/26-27).
Regarding claim 5, Fujita discloses the magnetoresistive device of claim 1, wherein the trim-enable MTJ and the set of antifuse MTJs are positioned proximate a memory array (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Fujita does not expressly disclose the magnetoresistive device of claim 1, wherein the trim-enable MTJ and the set of antifuse MTJs are included within a memory array.
Fujita teaches within a memory array (array 11; fig. 1, further particular elements can be arranged in an arbitrary area; column/line(s): 6/35-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is modifiable as taught by the embodiment (e.g. the trim-enable MTJ and the set of antifuse MTJs are included within a memory array), where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable arrangements, i.e. “within a memory array,” involves only routine skill in the art. Such a conclusion is reasonably expected since workable arrangements are common and well known in the prior art and can be interpreted broadly; it has been held that without a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or a critical reason why the invention requires the particular limitation, the arrangement as disclosed by Fujita makes the limitation obvious for the purpose of improving the overall performance by utilizing an improved tunning and trimming scheme, which achieves accurate readings (column/line(s): 6/26-34-12/26-27).
Regarding claim 8, Fujita discloses the magnetoresistive device of claim 1, wherein each of the trim-enable MTJ and the set of antifuse MTJs includes a size that is smaller or larger than a size of a typical MTJ (column/line(s): 5/5-8).
Regarding claim 14, Fujita discloses the magnetoresistive device of claim 9, further including: a circuit (17; fig. 1) configured to determine a logical state of each of the at least one trim- enable MTJ and at least one antifuse MTJ in each group (column/line(s): 5/64-67 and 6/1-5).
Fujita does not expressly disclose wherein the logical state of the at least one antifuse MTJ in the group is read when the at least one trim-enable MTJ in the group has a second logical state, and wherein the logical state of the at least one antifuse MTJ is determined to be a first logical state when the at least one trim-enable MTJ has the first logical state.
Lee discloses wherein the memory in the group is read when the at least another one memory in the group has a second logical state (logical bit value of zero, i.e. resistance at below a reference resistance, then a read circuit reads a bit value; column/line(s): 6/25-47), and wherein the logical state of the at least one memory is determined to be a first logical state when the another one memory has the first logical state (logical bit value of one, i.e. resistance at above the reference resistance, then the read circuit determines all bit values to be one; column/line(s): 6/25-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is modifiable as taught by for the purpose of achieving higher read accuracy and reduces leakage current (column/line(s): 6/38-50 of Lee), which is common and well known in the art to improve the overall integrity of data storage.
Regarding claim 16, Fujita discloses a method comprising:
selectively programming (selecting to program data “1” or “0”; column/line(s): 5/26-42) one or more antifuse bits (M1; fig. 2, 4; further “magneto-resistive effect element M1 has a function as an anti-fuse” column/line(s): 11/35-37), among a plurality of antifuse bits (i.e. of each storage element and latch circuit 17; fig. 2), to be in a second logical state (i.e. logical state “1” or “0”), wherein a remainder of the plurality of antifuse bits are in a first logical state (i.e. of dummy storage elements; fig. 9);
programming (program data “1” or “0”; column/line(s): 5/26-42) one or more trim-enable bits (bM1; fig. 2, 4; further, along with M1, functions to store tuning information that enables a trim signal; column/line(s): 4/59-67 and 5/1-4), among a plurality of trim-enable bits (i.e. of each storage element and latch circuit 17; fig. 2), to be in the second logical state (i.e. logical state “1” or “0”), wherein a remainder of the plurality of trim-enable bits are in the first logical state (i.e. of dummy storage elements; fig. 9); and
associating (via circuit 17; fig. 3) each of the plurality of trim-enable bits with a corresponding subset of the plurality of antifuse bits based on a logical state of the each of the plurality of trim- enable bits and the plurality of antifuse bits (column/line(s): 5/64-67 and 6/1-5).
Fujita does not expressly disclose such that any trim-enable bit that has the first logical state is associated with a corresponding subset of the plurality of antifuse bits that has the first logical state in its entirety, and any trim-enable bit that has the second logical state is associated with a corresponding subset of the plurality of antifuse bits that has at least one antifuse bit having the second logical state.
Lee discloses such that any bit that has the first logical state is associated with a corresponding subset of the plurality of another bits that has the first logical state in its entirety (logical bit value of one, i.e. resistance at above the reference resistance, then the read circuit determines all bit values to be one; column/line(s): 6/25-47), and any bit that has the second logical state is associated with a corresponding subset of the plurality of another bits that has at least one antifuse bit having the second logical state (logical bit value of zero, i.e. resistance at below a reference resistance, then a read circuit reads a bit value; column/line(s): 6/25-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is modifiable as taught by for the purpose of achieving higher read accuracy and reduces leakage current (column/line(s): 6/38-50 of Lee), which is common and well known in the art to improve the overall integrity of data storage.
Regarding claim 17, Fujita discloses the method of claim 16, the method further comprising: determining the logical state of each of the plurality of trim-enable bits to determine subsequent actions to be performed with respect to the corresponding subset of the plurality of antifuse bits (column/line(s): 3/64-67 and 4/1-46).
Regarding claim 17, Fujita discloses the method of claim 16, the method further comprising: determining the logical state of each of the plurality of trim-enable bits (column/line(s): 5/64-67 and 6/1-5).
Fujita does not expressly disclose upon determining the logical state of a trim-enable bit is in the first logical state, determining that the corresponding subset of the plurality of antifuse bits have the first logical state in its entirety.
Lee discloses upon determining the logical state of a trim-enable bit is in the first logical state, determining that the corresponding subset of the plurality of antifuse bits have the first logical state in its entirety (column/line(s): 6/25-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is modifiable as taught by for the purpose of achieving higher read accuracy and reduces leakage current (column/line(s): 6/38-50 of Lee), which is common and well known in the art to improve the overall integrity of data storage.
Regarding claim 19, Fujita discloses the method of claim 16, the method further comprising: determining the logical state of each of the plurality of trim-enable bits (column/line(s): 5/64-67 and 6/1-5).
Fujita does not expressly disclose upon determining the logical state of a trim-enable bit is in the second logical state, reading the logical state of each antifuse bit in the corresponding subset of the plurality of antifuse bits.
Lee discloses upon determining the logical state of a trim-enable bit is in the second logical state, reading the logical state of each antifuse bit in the corresponding subset of the plurality of antifuse bits (column/line(s): 6/25-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is modifiable as taught by for the purpose of achieving higher read accuracy and reduces leakage current (column/line(s): 6/38-50 of Lee), which is common and well known in the art to improve the overall integrity of data storage.
Regarding claim 20, Fujita discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the one or more antifuse bits and the one or more trim-enable bits comprise one or more magnetic tunnel junctions (MTJs) (fig. 2, 4; further “magneto-resistive effect element M1 has a function as an anti-fuse” column/line(s): 11/35-37; bM1, along with M1, functions to store tuning information that enables a trim signal; column/line(s): 4/59-67 and 5/1-4).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 6,947,318) in view of Lee et al. (US 11,177,010 “Lee”), and further in view of Pirovano (US 2022/0310195).
The disclosure of fig(s). 1-15 of Fujita is incorporated into an embodiment as considered below, since elements are analogous and similarly referenced in each figure. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the figure(s) with the embodiment as taught for the purpose of improving the overall performance by utilizing an improved tunning and trimming scheme, which achieves accurate readings (column/line(s): 6/26-34-12/26-27).
Regarding claim 3, Fujita discloses the magnetoresistive device of claim 1, wherein MTJs in the trim-enable MTJ to determine whether or not the trim-enable MTJ is programmed to the second logical state (column/line(s): 3/44-50).
Fujita as modified does not expressly disclose a triple modular redundancy is applied to take a majority vote of at least three.
Pirovano discloses wherein a triple modular redundancy is applied to take a majority vote of at least three [0038].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is further modifiable as taught by Pirovano for the purpose of improving a fault-tolerant capability of memory devices during data accessing schemes [0149 of Pirovano], which is common and well known in the art to improve the overall integrity of data storage.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 6,947,318) in view of Lee et al. (US 11,177,010 “Lee”), and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0149864 “Kim”).
The disclosure of fig(s). 1-15 of Fujita is incorporated into an embodiment as considered below, since elements are analogous and similarly referenced in each figure. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the figure(s) with the embodiment as taught for the purpose of improving the overall performance by utilizing an improved tunning and trimming scheme, which achieves accurate readings (column/line(s): 6/26-34-12/26-27).
Regarding claim 4, Fujita discloses the magnetoresistive device of claim 1, wherein the set of antifuse MTJs includes a MTJ array (fig. 2, 4, column/line(s): 11/35-37).
Fujita as modified does not expressly disclose 32-bit.
Kim discloses 32-bit [0022].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is modifiable as taught by Kim for the purpose of improving error correction capability of memory devices during data accessing schemes [0006 of Kim], which is common and well known in the art to improve the overall integrity of data storage.
Claim(s) 6, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 6,947,318) in view of Lee et al. (US 11,177,010 “Lee”), and further in view of Ramaswamy et al. (US 2012/0007037 “Ramaswamy).
The disclosure of fig(s). 1-15 of Fujita is incorporated into an embodiment as considered below, since elements are analogous and similarly referenced in each figure. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the figure(s) with the embodiment as taught for the purpose of improving the overall performance by utilizing an improved tunning and trimming scheme, which achieves accurate readings (column/line(s): 6/26-34-12/26-27).
Regarding claim 6, Fujita as modified does not expressly disclose the magnetoresistive device of claim 1, wherein an area surrounding the trim-enable MTJ and the set of antifuse MTJs is tiled with an MTJ fill pattern.
Ramaswamy discloses wherein an area surrounding is tiled with a fill pattern (memory array comprising antifuse/MRAM material is tiled with fill patterns; fig. 3-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is further modifiable as taught by Ramaswamy for the purpose of achieving particular devices in architectures that reduces leakage current [0005 of Ramaswamy], as consistent with method of manufacturing antifuse/MTJs.
Regarding claim 13, Fujita as modified does not expressly disclose the magnetoresistive device of claim 9, wherein an area surrounding the at least one antifuse block is tiled with an MTJ fill pattern.
Ramaswamy discloses wherein an area surrounding is tiled with an fill pattern (memory array comprising antifuse/MRAM material is tiled with fill patterns; fig. 3-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Fujita is further modifiable as taught by Ramaswamy for the purpose of achieving particular devices in architectures that reduces leakage current [0005 of Ramaswamy], as consistent with method of manufacturing antifuse/MTJs.
Conclusion
/UYEN SMET/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824