DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a calculation part configured to “input a printing condition to a prediction model” in line 7 (emphasis added). Then, in line 12, the claim recites “the printing condition including” multiple options. This seems contradictory to the “input” step of “a” printing condition. It is not clear if the input step is meant to include all of the options for the printing conditions, or if only one can be chosen from the list. For the purposes of examination, the latter will be assumed,
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Martinek et al. (Materials 2022, 15, 4734). regarding claim 1, Martinek et al. disclose “a printing result prediction device configured to predict a volume of solder paste printed by a printer onto a substrate (penultimate sentence on page 13), the printer printing the solder paste by filling the solder paste into a stencil aperture of a stencil disposed on the substrate (fifth sentence in Section 1), the device comprising: a calculation part configured to input a printing condition to a prediction model (penultimate sentence on page 13) trained by machine learning (abstract), and predict a volume of solder paste printed by the stencil aperture of the stencil in a next printing using the input printing condition (penultimate sentence on page 13 and sentence bridging pages 13 and 14), the printing condition including a printing parameter of an operation of the printer when printing (penultimate sentence on page 13).” Regarding claim 2, Martinek et al. further disclose “wherein the prediction model is a model trained using a neural network or random forests (first sentence of section 4).” Regarding claim 3, Martinek et al. further disclose “wherein the substrate used to print includes a pad on which solder paste is printed by the stencil aperture (second and fifth sentences of Section 1).” Regarding the remainder of the claim, only that which is optional is recited; therefore, no structure is recited which defines over Martinek et al. Regarding claims 4-7, only that which is optional is recited; therefore, no structure is recited which defines over Martinek et al. Regarding claim 8, Martinek et al. further disclose “an acquisition part configured to acquire volume information of a volume of solder paste printed by the stencil aperture of the stencil in a previous printing using the stencil (last paragraph on page 5: Examiner interprets whatever was used to inspect the solder paste deposits to be the recited ‘acquisition part’), the printing condition including the volume information of the volume of the solder paste printed in the previous printing (last paragraph on page 5: this is implicit in the training of the model), and a printing sequence indicating a number of uses of the stencil used to print (last paragraph on page 5: this is implicit in the training of the model).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinek et al. in view of Gong et al. (US 2020/0383212). Regarding claim 9, Martinek et al. disclose “a printing system (fifth sentence in Section 1), comprising: the device according to claim 8 (see the rejection of claim 8 above); the printer (fifth sentence in Section 1); and an inspection machine configured to detect the volume of the printed solder paste (last paragraph on page 5: Examiner interprets whatever was used to inspect the solder paste deposits to get the volume deposited to be the recited inspection machine), the acquisition part acquiring the volume information of the volume of the solder paste printed in the previous printing from the inspection machine (last paragraph on page 5).” Martinek et al. fail to disclose “the calculation part determining the printing parameter for the next printing based on the predicted volume of the solder paste, the printer performing the next printing by an operation indicated by the printing parameter for the next printing determined by the calculation part.” However, Gong et al. disclose a similar system wherein, based upon a measured printed volume of solder paste in a prior printing (paragraph 23, step S208), the printing parameters for the next printing are changed to improve print quality and yield (step s212, paragraph 29). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Martinek et al. in accordance with Gong et al. in order to improve the print quality and yield.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853