DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims are directed to calculating if there is enough energy for trips based on different parameters. Exactly how these values are calculated are not described in the specification with sufficient clarity.
Claims 1-2, 18, and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1-2, 18, and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: if the one-way trips can be combined with the round trips.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to analysis without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 recite an abstract idea in the form of a mental process. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) stating “a claim to ‘collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis’ where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind.” Claim 1 describes a mental process that could be done by a mind or using pen and paper by first obtaining data about the first traveling area from simply looking at energy available and determining some type of trip depending on length and ability to replenish energy which a person with a pen and paper could easily do, analyzing that information while obtaining it to see if it meet a first energy requirement which also could be done on pen and paper, and displaying the first traveling area. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because it is “[g]enerally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.” MPEP 2106.04(d)(l). Here, there are no additional elements because the vehicle related nature of these calculations simply provide nominal meanings and only output to the cartography field of use. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are “[g]enerally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.” MPEP 2106.05(l)(A). Accordingly, the claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8.` The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
9. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Jotanovic reference (US Patent Publication 2013/0173097).
10. Regarding claim 1, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
a vehicle navigation method of navigating a vehicle, comprising:
obtaining a first traveling area of the vehicle, wherein the first traveling area is determined by a first set of locations that corresponds to the vehicle and that meets a first energy requirement; and the first energy requirement comprises at least one:
a one-way trip is achievable upon a depletion of current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a consumption of a first proportion range of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a consumption to a second proportion range of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a replenishment of first target energy, a round trip is achievable upon the depletion of the current remaining energy, a round trip is achievable upon a consumption of a third proportion range of the current remaining energy, a round trip is achievable upon a consumption to a fourth proportion range of the remaining energy, or a round trip is achievable upon a replenishment of second target energy; and
displaying the first traveling area of the vehicle.
This is obvious because it is an example of applying a known technique (planning trips based on energy resources—See US Patent Publication No. 2013/0173097 entire document including [Paragraph 0035]) to a known device (vehicles) ready for improvement (to optimize those resources) to yield predictable results (conserve energy).
11. Regarding claim 2, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
further comprising:
obtaining a second traveling area of the vehicle, wherein the second traveling area is determined by a second set of locations that corresponds to the vehicle and that meets a second energy requirement; the second energy requirement comprises at least one of: a one-way trip is achievable upon a depletion of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a consumption of the first proportion range of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a replenishment of the first target energy, a round trip is achievable upon a depletion of the current remaining energy, a round trip is achievable upon a consumption of the second proportion range of the current remaining energy, or a round trip is achievable upon a replenishment of the second target energy; and
the second energy requirement is different from the first energy requirement; and
displaying the second traveling area. This is obvious because it is an example of applying a known technique (planning trips based on energy resources—See US Patent Publication No. 2013/0173097 entire document including [Paragraph 0035]) to a known device (vehicles) ready for improvement (to optimize those resources) to yield predictable results (conserve energy). Furthermore, this is mere duplication of parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wherein the method further comprising: obtaining a second traveling area of the vehicle, wherein the second traveling area is determined by a second set of locations location set that corresponds to the vehicle and that meets a second energy requirement; the second energy requirement comprises at least one of the following: a one-way trip is achievable upon a depletion of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a consumption of the first proportion range of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a replenishment of the first target energy, a round trip is achievable upon a depletion of the current remaining energy, a round trip is achievable upon a consumption of the second proportion range of the current remaining energy, or a round trip is achievable upon a replenishment of the second target energy; and the second energy requirement is different from the first energy requirement; and displaying the second traveling area, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
12. Regarding claim 3, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
wherein display colors of the first traveling area and the second traveling area are different. This would be obvious to try. The colors must be identical or different which is two identifiable, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
13. Regarding claim 4, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
further comprising:
displaying the first traveling area based on a trigger condition, comprising at least one of: the current remaining energy is less than an energy threshold, a range corresponding to a current state of charge is less than a first range threshold, a remaining range of a navigation route corresponding to the vehicle is less than a second range threshold, a speed of the vehicle is less than a vehicle speed threshold, a user operation is performed, or a navigation application is started. This is obvious because it is an example of applying a known technique (planning trips based on energy resources—See US Patent Publication No. 2013/0173097 entire document including [Paragraph 0035]) to a known device (vehicles) ready for improvement (to optimize those resources) to yield predictable results (conserve energy).
14. Regarding claim 5, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
further comprises:
displaying driving reference information of the vehicle and at least one of a navigation route of the vehicle from a current location to a destination or an energy replenishment station on the navigation route, wherein the driving reference information comprises at least one of: a traveling area of the vehicle, a result of whether the destination is reachable, a result of whether a round trip to the destination is achievable, remaining energy or a range available upon reaching the destination, or remaining energy or a range available upon achieving a round trip to the destination. This is obvious because it is an example of applying a known technique (planning trips based on energy resources—See US Patent Publication No. 2013/0173097 entire document including [Paragraph 0035]) to a known device (vehicles) ready for improvement (to optimize those resources) to yield predictable results (conserve energy).
15. Regarding claim 6, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
further comprising:
displaying a location reached upon a consumption of a fifth proportion range of the current remaining energy on the navigation route. This is mere duplication of parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wherein the method further comprises: displaying a location reached upon a consumption of a fifth proportion range of the current remaining energy on the navigation
route, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
16. Regarding claim 7, the Jotanovic reference further discloses:
wherein the result of whether the destination is reachable comprised in the driving reference information indicates that the destination is unreachable, or the result of whether a round trip to the destination is achievable comprised in the driving reference information indicates that a round trip to the destination is unachievable, the method further comprising: displaying a location reached upon the depletion of the current remaining energy on the navigation route. This is obvious because it is an example of applying a known technique (planning trips based on energy resources—See US Patent Publication No. 2013/0173097 entire document including [Paragraph 0036]) to a known device (vehicles) ready for improvement (to optimize those resources) to yield predictable results (conserve energy).
17. Regarding claim 8, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
wherein the obtaining the first traveling area of the vehicle comprises:
obtaining energy consumption impact information and the current remaining energy of the vehicle, wherein the energy consumption impact information comprises at least one of driving information, vehicle weight information, or environment information;
obtaining, based on the energy consumption impact information and the current remaining energy, the first set of locations that corresponds to the vehicle and that meets the first energy requirement; and obtaining the first traveling area of the vehicle by connecting a plurality of locations comprised in the first set of locations. This is obvious because it is an example of applying a known technique (planning trips based on energy resources—See US Patent Publication No. 2013/0173097 entire document including [Paragraph 0033—deplete energy
level . . . smaller available driving range]) to a known device (vehicles) ready for improvement (to optimize those resources) to yield predictable results (conserve energy).
18. Regarding claim 9, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose: wherein the energy consumption impact information comprises the driving information; and the obtaining the energy consumption impact information of the vehicle comprises:
obtaining driving information corresponding to a driver's account, based on a statistical learning for a historical driving record corresponding to the driver's account, the historical driving record comprises at least one of an acceleration, a deceleration, or a traveling speed, comprising at least one of a straight speed or a turning speed. This is obvious because it is an example of applying a known technique (planning trips based on energy resources related to individual usage—See US Patent Publication No. 2013/0173097 entire document including [Paragraph 0035—driving techniques of particular users]) to a known device (vehicles) ready for improvement (to optimize those resources) to yield predictable results (conserve energy).
19. Regarding claim 10, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
wherein the energy consumption impact information comprises the vehicle weight information, and the obtaining the energy consumption impact information of the vehicle comprises: obtaining a quantity of passengers carried by the vehicle, and obtaining a vehicle weight increment based on the quantity of passengers and a passenger reference weight; or obtaining borne weights of all seats of the vehicle, and obtaining the vehicle weight increment based on the borne weights of all the seats; or obtaining the vehicle weight increment based on input weight information; and obtaining the vehicle weight information based on the vehicle weight increment and an initial weight of the vehicle. The examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the art to use vehicle weight, passenger weight, etc., in the calculation of energy consumption in vehicle. See US Patent Publication No. 2018/0143035 A1 Paragraph 0169.
20. Regarding claim 11, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
wherein the energy consumption impact information comprises the environment information, comprising a heading direction and at least one of a wind direction or a wind strength; and the obtaining the energy consumption impact information of the vehicle comprises: obtaining information about a first location on a traveling route of the vehicle, wherein the first location is any location on the traveling route; and
obtaining at least one of the wind direction or the wind strength based on the information about the first location, and obtaining a heading direction of the vehicle at the first location based on the traveling route. The examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the art to use vehicle heading direction, wind resistance, etc., in the calculation of energy consumption in vehicle. See US Patent Publication No. 2018/0143035 A1 Paragraph 0169.
21. Regarding claim 12, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
wherein the obtaining, based on the energy consumption impact information and the current remaining energy, the first set of locations that corresponds to the vehicle and that meets the first energy requirement comprises: obtaining vehicle energy consumption of the vehicle based on the energy consumption impact information, wherein the vehicle energy consumption comprises at least one of first vehicle energy consumption, second vehicle energy consumption, or third vehicle energy consumption, the first vehicle energy consumption is determined based on the driving information, the second vehicle energy consumption is determined based on the vehicle weight information, and the third vehicle energy consumption is determined based on the environment information; and obtaining, based on the vehicle energy consumption and the current remaining energy of the vehicle, the first set of locations that corresponds to the vehicle and that meets the first energy requirement. The examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the art to use these parameters in the calculation of energy consumption in vehicle. See US Patent Publication No. 2018/0143035 A1 Paragraph 0169.
22. Regarding claim 13, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
wherein the vehicle energy consumption comprises the first vehicle energy consumption, the energy consumption impact information further comprises at least one of a driving mode or an energy recovery mode configured for the vehicle, and the obtaining the vehicle energy consumption of the vehicle based on the energy consumption impact information comprises:
determining the first vehicle energy consumption of the vehicle based on the driving information and at least one of the driving mode or the energy recovery mode corresponding to the vehicle. The examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the art to use these parameters in the calculation of energy consumption in vehicle. See US Patent Publication No. 2018/0143035 A1 Paragraphs 0083 & 0169.
23. Regarding claim 14, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
wherein the vehicle energy consumption comprises the second vehicle energy consumption, and the obtaining the vehicle energy consumption of the vehicle based on the energy consumption impact information comprises: obtaining a resistance of the vehicle based on the vehicle weight information, wherein the resistance of the vehicle comprises at least one of a rolling resistance, a gradient resistance, a first air resistance, or an acceleration resistance; and determining the second vehicle energy consumption of the vehicle based on the resistance of the vehicle. The examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the art to use these parameters in the calculation of energy consumption in vehicle. See US Patent Publication No. 2018/0143035 A1 Paragraph 0169.
24. Regarding claim 15, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
wherein the vehicle energy consumption comprises the third vehicle energy consumption, and the obtaining the vehicle energy consumption of the vehicle based on the energy consumption impact information comprises: determining, based on a heading direction and at least one of a wind direction or a wind strength, a second air resistance corresponding to the vehicle; and determining the third vehicle energy consumption of the vehicle based on the second air resistance. The examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the art to use these parameters in the calculation of energy consumption in vehicle. See US Patent Publication No. 2018/0143035 A1 0169—environmental conditions such as wind resistance.
25. Regarding claim 16, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
further comprising:
obtaining road condition information of traveling from a current location of the vehicle to a destination, wherein the destination is a frequently used destination, a nearby destination, or an input target destination corresponding to the vehicle; and
obtaining a driving reference information of the vehicle based on the energy consumption impact information and the current remaining energy, comprising: obtaining, based on the energy consumption impact information, the current remaining energy, and the road condition information, the first set of locations that corresponds to the vehicle and that meets the first energy requirement. The examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the art to use these parameters in the calculation of energy consumption in vehicle. See US Patent Publication No. 2018/0143035 A1 0169—input target destination—roadway segment—corresponding to the vehicle.
26. Regarding claim 17, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
further comprising:
obtaining energy consumption impact information and the current remaining energy of the vehicle, wherein the energy consumption impact information comprises at least one of driving information, vehicle weight information, or environment information; and
obtaining the driving reference information of the vehicle based on the energy consumption impact information and the current remaining energy. The examiner takes Official Notice that it
was well known in the art to use these parameters in the calculation of energy consumption in vehicle. See US Patent Publication No. 2018/0143035 A1 Paragraph 0169.
27. Regarding claim 18, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose: an apparatus for navigating a vehicle, comprising:
an obtaining unit, configured to obtain a first traveling area of the vehicle, wherein the first traveling area is determined by a first set of locations that corresponds to the vehicle and that meets a first energy requirement; and the first energy requirement comprises at least one of: a one-way trip is achievable upon a depletion of current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a consumption of a first proportion range of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a consumption to a second proportion range of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a replenishment of first target energy, a round trip is achievable upon the depletion of the current remaining energy, a round trip is achievable upon a consumption of a third proportion range of the current remaining energy, a round trip is achievable upon a consumption to a fourth proportion range of the current remaining energy, or a round trip is achievable upon a replenishment of second target energy; and
a display unit, configured to display the first traveling area of the vehicle.
This is obvious because it is an example of applying a known technique (planning trips based on energy resources—See US Patent Publication No. 2013/0173097 entire document including [Paragraph 0035]) to a known device (vehicles) ready for improvement (to optimize those resources) to yield predictable results (conserve energy).
28. Regarding claim 19, the Jonatovic reference fails to disclose:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored therein, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform:
obtaining a first traveling area of the vehicle, wherein the first traveling area is determined by a first set of locations that corresponds to the vehicle and that meets a first energy requirement; and the first energy requirement comprises at least one of: a one-way trip is achievable upon a depletion of current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a consumption of a first proportion range of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a consumption to a second proportion range of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a replenishment of first target energy, a round trip is achievable upon the depletion of the current remaining energy, a round trip is achievable upon a consumption of a third proportion range of the current remaining energy, a round trip is achievable upon a consumption to a fourth proportion range of the remaining energy, or a round trip is achievable upon a replenishment of second target energy; and
displaying the first traveling area of the vehicle.
This is obvious because it is an example of applying a known technique (planning trips based on energy resources—See US Patent Publication No. 2013/0173097 entire document including [Paragraph 0035]) to a known device (vehicles) ready for improvement (to optimize those resources) to yield predictable results (conserve energy).
29. Regarding claim 20, the Jotanovic reference fails to disclose:
further comprising:
obtaining a second traveling area of the vehicle, wherein the second traveling area is determined by a second set of locations that corresponds to the vehicle and that meets a second energy requirement; the second energy requirement comprises at least one of: a one-way trip is achievable upon a depletion of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a consumption of the first proportion range of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a replenishment of the first target energy, a round trip is achievable upon a depletion of the current remaining energy, a round trip is achievable upon a consumption of the second proportion range of the current remaining energy, or a round trip is achievable upon a replenishment of the second target energy; and
the second energy requirement is different from the first energy requirement; and
displaying the second traveling area. This is obvious because it is an example of applying a known technique (planning trips based on energy resources—See US Patent Publication No. 2013/0173097 entire document including [Paragraph 0035]) to a known device (vehicles) ready for improvement (to optimize those resources) to yield predictable results (conserve energy). Furthermore, this is mere duplication of parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wherein the method further comprising: obtaining a second traveling area of the vehicle, wherein the second traveling area is determined by a second set of locations location set that corresponds to the vehicle and that meets a second energy requirement; the second energy requirement comprises at least one of the following: a one-way trip is achievable upon a depletion of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a consumption of the first proportion range of the current remaining energy, a one-way trip is achievable upon a replenishment of the first target energy, a round trip is achievable upon a depletion of the current remaining energy, a round trip is achievable upon a consumption of the second proportion range of the current remaining energy, or a round trip is achievable upon a replenishment of the second target energy; and the second energy requirement is different from the first energy requirement; and displaying the second traveling area, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The section 112(a) rejections have not been overcome by the arguments made by Applicant. The trips could be calculated taking into consideration many different parameters. The topology of the route, the weather conditions, the anticipated traffic, potential malfunctions/degradations in the performance of the vehicle, etc. There is no information on how much more or less energy would be consumed to achieve these trips. This directly affects the claim language of proportion range based on current remaining energy. Furthermore, section 112(b) rejection stands because no structural cooperative element. It is pretty clear that there is no connection between the one-way trips and the round-trips. They are separated in the claims. And paragraphs [0134 & 0149 & 0150]: “driving scenario” is vague, first and second traveling area do not combine one-way trips and the round-trips, and paragraph 0150 describes two one-way trips. Accordingly, the section 112 rejections stand.
The section 101 rejections are also maintained. The amendment details an action that could easily be written on a piece of paper. Furthermore, the Office will go through each step and show how the claim may be a mental process. First, obtaining a travel area of the vehicle, wherein the first traveling area is determined from a first set of locations that corresponds to the vehicle and that meets a first energy requirement—the battery range can provide this and then a multitude of locations can be placed upon the piece of paper and the range can be calculated mentally from the written locations and the range of the battery. Thus, the first energy requirement is easily determined from the destination location.
The first energy requirement comprises at least one of a one of 8 applications which can be mentally thought of and are merely calculations that can be written on a piece of paper determining how much energy is needed to go from one location to another taking into account what proportion is mentally created in the mind. The final traveling area can be displayed on a piece of paper and navigation guidance, such as “go west”, can also be written on the piece of paper. Claims 18 and 19 fall under the same analysis as the computer features added into that claim are ancillary to the claim and not enough to free the claims from a 101 rejection. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).
The section 103 rejections also stand. Common sense is applicable. This invention is straightforward. It merely (1) determines a first traveling area of a vehicle (2) that is based on a set of locations that require a certain amount of energy to get there and then (3) comes up with eight uses based on that energy amount (4) displays where the vehicle can travel based on those uses and (5) provides navigation guidance. As a simple example, a person of ordinary skill in the art with common sense could easily determine a traveling area of a vehicle based on 5 gallons and 25 miles per gallon: that vehicle can go up to 125 miles in any direction where there are roads to take the vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would also recognize the vehicle could travel 90 miles one-way or take a 60 mile round trip or use proportionally less or refuel to change the traveling area. The same applies for carbon fuels or battery vehicles. Moreover, the provided rejection is not conclusory. It articulates each and every step of the way the reasons (a) a cited reference disclosing planning trips based on energy resources (b) that vehicles are known devices (c) that the reason they are being improved is to optimize energy resources and (d) that the whole purpose is to conserve energy. Certainly, this is “articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.” MPEP 2142. The Applicant is asking for more than what is necessary.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747