DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 19 appears to be missing “and” in “comprises first second parts.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: guiding assembly in claims 1 and 16.
The structures are described in Applicant’s specification page 12 lines 27-29: “guiding assembly which may comprise hardware elements including door arm assemblies (or, equivalently, arm assemblies) and/or rails which guide and/or constrain the movement of a door along a travel path”, and in page 16 lines 5-7: “guiding assembly 110 is formed of a guiding linkage assembly, an arm assembly, a combination of linkages/arms and guiding rails.”
Double Patenting
Claims 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,252,918. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 16 is generic to all that is recited in claims 13 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,252,918 and claim 17 is generic to all that is recited in claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,252,918.
Conflicting claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,252,918 recite arm instead of guiding assembly, where arm is a species of guiding assembly. Therefore, the arm recited in U.S. Patent No. 12,252,918 anticipates the generic limitation guiding assembly as claimed in claim 16 of the instant application. Conflicting claim 13 in U.S. Patent No. 12,252,918 recites lateral vector instead of longitudinal vector as claimed in claim 17 of the instant application. However, lateral and longitudinal appear to be referring to the same direction, where longitudinal means the longitudinal direction of the vehicle and lateral refers to the lateral direction of the door, which is the same as the longitudinal direction of the vehicle. As such, claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,252,918 anticipates claim 17 of the instant application.
In other words, each one of claims 13 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,252,918 fully encompasses the subject matter of claim 16 and claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,252,918 fully encompasses the subject matter of claim 17, therefore anticipate claims 16 and 17. Since it has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, claims 16-17 are not patentably distinct from the respective mentioned claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,252,918. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitations “the first part” in line 2 and “the second part” in line 3. There are insufficient antecedent bases for the limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Von Seggern et al. (US 3337993 A).
Regarding claim 1, Von Seggern discloses a vehicle (11 in Fig. 1) comprising: a side wall (23 in Fig. 1) shaped to define a door opening (27 in Fig. 1) and a door-exclusion zone (wheel well for front wheel 15 in Fig. 1), the door-exclusion zone having a maximum height that is higher than a bottom edge (see annotated Fig. 1) of the door opening and lower than a top edge (see annotated Fig. 1) of the door opening; a door (33 in Fig. 1) having a closed-door position (Fig. 1, solid line position) aligned with the door opening and an open-door position (Fig. 1, dashed line position above the wheel well) higher in its entirety than the door-exclusion zone in its entirety (Fig. 1, both door parts 35 and 37 are entirely above the wheel well); and a guiding assembly (Fig. 1, 39, 49, 53, and 71, arms and/or rails) coupled to the door and arranged to constrain the movement of the door between the closed-door position and the open-door position to a travel-path (Fig. 2, as indicated by the arrows, door travels in a path that does not interfere with the wheel well) that precludes the door from impinging on the door-exclusion zone; wherein the door movement constrained to the travel-path includes, in a door- opening mode, an upward vector (Fig. 2 upwardly pointing arrow on the door’s lower part 37) and a longitudinal vector (Fig. 2, rearwardly pointing arrow on the door’s upper part 35, rearward is the direction towards the wheel well) toward the door-exclusion zone, and in a door-closing mode, a downward vector and a longitudinal vector away from the door-exclusion zone (Col. 1 lines 29-30, order is reverse when closing the door).
Figure 1 Annotated Fig. 1 from Von Seggern
Regarding claim 2, Von Seggern discloses the vehicle of claim 1, comprising a rail (39 in Fig. 1) coupled to a major surface (Fig. 1-2, side surface) of the side wall, the guiding assembly and the rail being arranged to constrain movement of the door between the closed-door position and the open-door position (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Von Seggern discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the door-exclusion zone comprises at least one of a wheel well (Fig. 1, wheel well of wheel 15), a cargo compartment and an air conditioner.
Regarding claim 6, Von Seggern discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the door is a multi-part door (Fig. 1, parts 37 and 35) movably coupled to the side wall (Fig. 1, movable between closed and opened positions) of the vehicle and comprises first and second parts (Fig. 1, first part 37 and second part 35), at least one of the first and second parts being movable with respect to the other (Fig. 2, first part 37 slides upward relative to the second part 35).
Regarding claim 8, Von Seggern discloses the vehicle of claim 6, wherein in a closed-door position, the first and second parts are aligned with the door opening (Fig. 1, solid line closed position), and in an open-door position both the first and second parts are positioned above the door-exclusion zone (Fig. 1, dashed line opened position).
Regarding claim 9, Von Seggern discloses the vehicle of claim 6, wherein the second part comprises a plurality of walls (see annotated Fig. 4) defining a cavity (see annotated Fig. 4, space inside the two walls) between two walls of the plurality of walls, and the first part is adapted to move at least partially inside the cavity (Fig. 4, 37 is inside between the two walls and along the rails 43).
Figure 2 Annotated Fig. 4 from Von Seggern
Regarding claim 11, Von Seggern discloses the vehicle of claim 6, wherein the guiding assembly is coupled to at least one of the first part and the second part and moves in conjunction therewith (Fig. 2, arms 49, 53, and 71 couples with the door and moves together with the door).
Regarding claim 12, Von Seggern discloses the vehicle of claim 6, wherein the second part is slidably movable with respect to the first part (Fig. 2, second part 37 slidable along rails 43 relative to the first part 35).
Regarding claim 13, Von Seggern discloses the vehicle of claim 6, wherein the door movement constrained to the travel-path is caused by a force applied at the first part of the door, the second part of the door or both (Fig. 2 and claim 1, door movement manually operable through the handles).
Regarding claim 15, Von Seggern discloses the vehicle of claim 6, wherein the second part of the door is slidably engaged with a rail (43 in Fig. 2) and the guiding assembly is pivotably anchored at the second part (pivot 51 in Fig. 2) of the door, the guiding assembly and the rail being arranged to constrain the movement of the door between the closed-door position and the open-door position higher than the door-exclusion zone, to a travel-path that does not impinge upon the door-exclusion zone (Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Von Seggern discloses a device that performs the function disclosed in the method claim 16 when used in normal and usual operation. Von Seggern discloses a vehicle (Fig. 1), the vehicle comprising: (i) a side wall (23 in Fig. 1) shaped to define a door opening (27 in Fig. 1) and a door-exclusion zone (wheel well for front wheel 15 in Fig. 1), the door-exclusion zone having a maximum height that is higher than a bottom edge (see annotated Fig. 1) of the door opening and lower than a top edge (see annotated Fig. 1) of the door opening, and (iii) a guiding assembly (Fig. 1, 39, 49, 53, and 71, arms and/or rails) coupled to the door, the method comprising: opening the door by moving the door from a closed-door position (Fig. 1, solid line position) aligned with the door opening to an open-door position (Fig. 1, dashed line position above the wheel well) higher than the door-exclusion zone in its entirety (Fig. 1, both door parts 35 and 37 are entirely above the wheel well), along a travel-path (Fig. 2 upward and rearward path as indicated by the arrows) constrained by arrangement of the guiding assembly to avoid impingement upon the door-exclusion zone; and closing the door by moving the door along the travel-path from the open-door position to the closed-door position (Col. 1 lines 29-30, order is reverse when closing the door).
Regarding claim 17, Von Seggern discloses the method of claim 16, wherein:(i) the closing includes (A) moving the door in a downward vector and (B) moving the door in a longitudinal vector away from the door-exclusion zone (Col. 1 lines 29-30, order is reverse as compare to opening the door), and (ii) the opening includes: (A) moving the door in an upward vector (Fig. 2 upwardly pointing arrow on the door’s lower part 37) and (B) moving the door in a longitudinal vector (Fig. 2, rearwardly pointing arrow on the door’s upper part 35, rearward is the direction towards the wheel well) toward the door-exclusion zone.
Regarding claim 19, Von Seggern discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the door comprises first second parts (Fig. 1, first part 37 and second part 35), at least one of which is movable with respect to the other (Fig. 2, first part 37 slides upward relative to the second part 35) while transitioning the door from a closed-door position to an open-door position and vice versa, the method comprising: during both the opening and the closing, moving the first part with respect to the second part (Fig. 2, first part 37 slides upward/downward relative to the second part 35).
Regarding claim 20, Von Seggern discloses the method of claim 16, wherein: the opening includes moving the first part of the door in an upper vector (Fig. 2 upwardly pointing arrow on the door’s lower part 37) towards the second part and moving the second part of the door in a longitudinal vector (Fig. 2, rearwardly pointing arrow on the door’s upper part 35, rearward is the direction towards the wheel well) towards the door-exclusion zone, and the closing includes moving the first part of the door in a downwards vector away of the second part and moving the second part of the door in a longitudinal vector away of the door-exclusion zone (Col. 1 lines 29-30, order is reverse as compare to opening the door).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Seggern as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Crump et al. (US 20250083500 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Von Seggern discloses the vehicle of claim 6, but fails to disclose a guiding linkage arranged to transfer a force to simultaneously move the first part vertically and move the second part longitudinally.
Crump teaches a guiding linkage (Crump, 84 and 44 in Fig. 6) arranged to transfer a force to simultaneously move (Crump, Fig. 4A-4D, vertical and longitudinal motions taking place simultaneous for the two parts 48 and 50 of the door) the first part vertically and move the second part longitudinally.
Crump is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle side door with longitudinal and vertical motions when opening and closing as Von Seggern.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle as taught by Von Seggern to incorporate the teachings of Crump with a reasonable expectation of success and have linkages to move the two parts simultaneously. Doing so combines the two separate motions into one which makes the door operation more efficient and convenient.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Seggern as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heard (US 6899374 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Von Seggern discloses the vehicle of claim 1, but fails to disclose an electric motor, a pneumatic or hydraulic system adapted to apply force to actuate opening and/or closing of the door.
Heard teaches an electric motor, a pneumatic or hydraulic system (Heard, Col. 2 lines 49-52, electric motor, or pneumatic or hydraulic system) adapted to apply force to actuate opening and/or closing of the door.
Heard is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle side slidable door as Von Seggern.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle as taught by Von Seggern to incorporate the teachings of Heard with a reasonable expectation of success and have an electric motor, a pneumatic or hydraulic system. Doing so automates the door operation making it more convenient for users.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Seggern as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of awesgall (NPL - Letter Carrier (mailman) Delivery - Time Lapse).
Regarding claim 18, Von Seggern discloses the method of claim 16, additionally comprising, after the opening, the door is secured in the open-door position (Von Seggern, Fig. 9, latched in opened position).
Von Seggern fails to disclose driving the vehicle while the door is secured in the open-door position.
Awesgall teaches after the opening, driving the vehicle while the door is secured in the open-door position (awesgall, at time 12-14 second of the video and in annotated figure below).
Awesgall is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle with sliding door as Von Seggern.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of operation as taught by Von Seggern to incorporate the teachings of awesgall with a reasonable expectation of success and drive the vehicle with the door opened. Doing so allows convenient and efficient entering and exiting of a passenger or driver.
Figure 3 Annotated Screenshot from awesgall - driving with door opened
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the allowance of the claims is the inclusion in the claims of the limitations directed to the side wall is formed to include a door pocket therewithin, the major surface is a major internal surface of the door pocket, and the guiding assembly is pivotably anchored at a first end thereof within the door pocket as claimed in claim 3; and the side wall is formed to include a door pocket therewithin, and the second part is adapted to move inside the door pocket as claimed in claim 10. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. Scott (US 2658792 A) and Darrin (US 2628860 A) disclose door pockets for vehicle side doors to slide into. However, they comprise very distinct operating mechanisms for the doors that are incompatible with the multi-part door of Von Seggern that includes linkages, making a combination of Scott/Darrin with Von Seggern requiring significant structural redesign. It would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Scott or Darrin with Von Seggern absent impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references that are not relied upon all disclose vehicle side slidable door with multi-parts.
/WENWEI ZHUO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612