Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ichihashi (CN 202010386053A).
With respect to claims 1 and 14, Ichihashi disclose an image forming apparatus comprising a belt device comprising: a plurality of rollers (16 and/or 17); a belt (8) stretched and supported by the plurality of rollers (16 and/or 17); a correction mechanism (e.g., item(s) 81 and/or 82) configured to incline a roller (e.g., item 17) of the plurality of rollers in conjunction with a movement of the belt (8) in a width direction of the belt (8); a holder (e.g., item(s) 80) configured to hold a shaft (e.g., item 17b) of the roller (17) to be rotatable; a restricting member (e.g., item(s) 83 and/or bolt of page 12, fifth full paragraph of the attached English translation) on the shaft (17b) outside the holder (80) in the width direction, the restricting member configured to be indirectly or directly contactable with the holder (80) to restrict movement of the roller (17) in the width direction, and an intermediate member (e.g., item 82) between the holder (80) and the restricting member (83) on the shaft (17b), wherein the restricting member (83 and/or bolt) is fixed to the shaft (17b) and is configured to rotate with the roller (17, as shown at least by figs. 5 and/or 7), at least a surface of the intermediate member (82) is formed of a low friction material (as shown at least by figs. 5A and/or 5B), an outer diameter of the restricting member (83) is greater than an inner diameter of the intermediate member (82), the restricting member is a screw screwed into a screw hole on an end surface of the shaft (as shown at least by figs. 5A, 5B, 8-9B and/or as discussed at least in page 12, fifth full paragraph of the attached English translation).
With respect to claim 4, Ichihashi further discloses wherein at least a surface of the restricting member (83 and/or bolt) is formed of a low friction material (as shown at least by figs. 5A and/or 5B and/or as discussed at least in the fifth full paragraph of the attached English translation).
With respect to claim 5, Ichihashi further discloses wherein the restricting member (83 and/or bolt) is detachably attached to the shaft (17b, as shown at least by figs. 5A and/or 5B and/or as discussed at least in the fifth full paragraph of the attached English translation).
With respect to claim 11, Ichihashi further discloses wherein the correction mechanism includes: a sliding member slidably supported by the shaft of the one roller and having an inclined surface (e.g., item 81); and a contact member (e.g., item 82) to be contactable with the inclined surface of the sliding member (81), and wherein the one roller (17) is inclined by sliding of the inclined surface of the sliding member (81) and the contact member (82) in conjunction with an operation of the movement of the belt (8) in the width direction (as shown at least by figs. 5-10).
With respect to claim 12, Ichihashi further discloses further comprising a flange (e.g., item 80) disposed to be contactable against an end surface of the belt (8), wherein the flange (80) is pushed and moved by the belt (8) in accordance with the movement of the belt (8) in the width direction, and wherein the sliding member (81) is disposed to be contactable against the flange (80) at a position opposite a position of belt with respect to the flange (as shown at least by figs. 5-10).
With respect to claim 13, Ichihashi further discloses wherein the flange (80) is rotatable with a travel of the belt (8), and wherein the sliding member (81) is independent of the travel of the belt (as shown at least by figs. 5-10 and/or as discussed at least towards the end of page 10 through the beginning of page 11 of the attached English translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichihashi (CN 111965965 A) in view of Williams et al. (US 5576803).
With respect to claims 7-10, Ichihashi discloses the belt device according to claim 1 (as discussed above).
With further respect to claim 7, Ichihashi does not disclose wherein the restricting member is press-fitted to an end of the shaft.
With further respect to claim 7, Williams et al. teach wherein the restricting member is press-fitted to an end of the shaft (as discussed at least in col. 6, line 63 – col. 7, line 25).
With respect to claim 8, Ichihashi does not disclose wherein the restricting member is bonded or welded to an end of the shaft.
With further respect to claim 8, Williams et al. teach wherein the restricting member is bonded or welded to an end of the shaft (as discussed at least in col. 6, line 63 – col. 7, line 25).
With respect to claim 9, Ichihashi does not disclose wherein the restricting member is caulked to an end of the shaft.
With further respect to claim 9, Williams et al. teach wherein the restricting member is caulked to an end of the shaft (as discussed at least in col. 6, line 63 – col. 7, line 25).
With further respect to claim 10, Ichihashi does not disclose wherein the restricting member is formed of a metal material.
With further respect to claim 10, Williams et al. teach wherein the restricting member is formed of a metal material (as discussed at least in col. 6, line 10 – col. 7, line 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to form the restricting member of Ichihashi with any suitable material and means as taught by Williams et al. at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in achieving restriction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments dated 6/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to claims 1-6 and 11-14, Applicant argues that "the movable plate 83 is a plate like shaped structure and, as such, does not disclose or suggest that recites [sic] "the restricting member is a screw that is screwed into a screw hole on an end surface of the shaft," as recited in claim 1." The Examiner respectfully notes that the restricting member is identified in the office action dated 4/2/26 as item "83 and/or bolt". Accordingly, the Examiner maintains that item 83 and/or the bolt (as shown at least by figs. 5A and/or 5B, and/or as discussed at least in the fifth full paragraph of the English translation, page 12) still anticipate the features of amended claim 1 as discussed above.
With respect to claims 7-10, Applicant argues that "the proposed combination of Ichihashi and Williams would still not fix the restricting member to the shaft and make the restricting member rotatable together with the shaft," presumably for the same reasons identified above with respect to claims 1-6 and 11-14. The Examiner respectfully notes that the restricting member is identified in the office action dated 4/2/26 as item "83 and/or bolt". Accordingly, the Examiner maintains that item 83 and/or the bolt (as shown at least by figs. 5A and/or 5B, and/or as discussed at least in the fifth full paragraph of the English translation, page 12) still anticipate the features of amended claim 1 as discussed above.
The applicant further argues that "the proposed combination of Ichihashi and Williams would still not... reduce wear (abrasion) between the shaft and the restricting member, and maintain a relatively stable belt deviation control over time." The Examiner respectfully notes that claims 7-10 do not require the "reduce wear (abrasion) between the shaft and the restricting member, and maintain a relatively stable belt deviation control over time."
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Remarks
/JOSEPH S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
JSW