DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 03/04/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-8, 10, 12, 15, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capp et al (US 2015/0350786 A1) in view of Quelhas et al (NPL, Optimum design of group delay equalizers).
Regarding claim 1, Capp et al disclose a method comprising: for each all-pass filter k in a set of one or more all-pass filters, setting an initial value (Capp et al; Para [0031][0073]) but do not expressly disclose of each of a plurality of parameters comprising a pole amplitude rₖ and a pole frequency wₖ; setting a pole-amplitude constraint comprising a minimum pole-amplitude value and a maximum pole amplitude value; setting a pole-frequency constraint comprising a minimum pole-frequency value and a maximum pole-frequency value; for each of a plurality of iterations q until a stopping condition is met: determining a group delay (wₘ) of the set of all-pass filters using the pole amplitudes rᵏ⁹) (q) and the pole frequencies wₖ; determining, using an error function, a mismatch between the group delay (wₘ) and a goal group delay (wₘ); and updating, using a stochastic-search technique and based on the mismatch between (wₘ) and τd (wₘ), rₖ and wₖ; and generating a final set of all-pass filters using rₖ and wₖ from the final iteration. However, in the same field of endeavor, Quelhas et al disclose a method comprising: setting an initial value of each of a plurality of parameters comprising a pole amplitude rₖ and a pole frequency wₖ (Quelhas et al; Page 9; Fig 8; initial guess ); setting a pole-amplitude constraint comprising a minimum pole-amplitude value and a maximum pole amplitude value (Quelhas et al; Page 8; lines 10-30); setting a pole-frequency constraint comprising a minimum pole-frequency value and a maximum pole-frequency value (Quelhas et al; Page 8; lines 1-10); for each of a plurality of iterations q until a stopping condition is met (Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 9; lines 1-15): determining a group delay (wₘ) of the set of all-pass filters using the pole amplitudes rk (q) and the pole frequencies wₖ (Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 9; lines 1-15); determining, using an error function, a mismatch between the group delay (wₘ) and a goal group delay (wₘ)(Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 9; lines 1-15); and updating, using a stochastic-search technique and based on the mismatch between (wₘ) and τd (wₘ), rₖ and wₖ(Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 8; lines 15-30); and generating a final set of all-pass filters using rₖ and wₖ from the final iteration (Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 9; lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Quelhas et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to exhibit approximately linear phase in the frequency band of interest (Quelhas et al; Page 1; lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 4, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the method of Claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the stopping condition comprises one or more of (1) a predetermined period of time or (2) a predetermined number of iterations. However, in the same field of endeavor, Quelhas et al disclose a method wherein the stopping condition comprises one or more of (1) a predetermined period of time or (2) a predetermined number of iterations (Quelhas; Page 10; table 3; number of iterations). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Quelhas et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to exhibit approximately linear phase in the frequency band of interest (Quelhas et al; Page 1; lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 7, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the method of Claim 1, further comprising using the final set of all-pass filters to equalize a group delay present in an audio signal (Capp et al; Para [0031][0073]).
Regarding claim 8, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the method of Claim 1, further comprising using the final set of all-pass filters for forward modeling of a group delay in an audio signal (Capp et al; Para [0031][0073]).
Regarding claim 10, Capp et al disclose one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media storing instructions that are operable when executed to (Capp et al; Para [0019]): for each all-pass filter k in a set of one or more all-pass filters, set an initial value (Capp et al; Para [0031][0073]) of each of a plurality of parameters comprising a pole amplitude rₖ and a pole frequency wₖ; set a pole-amplitude constraint comprising a minimum pole-amplitude value and a maximum pole amplitude value; set a pole-frequency constraint comprising a minimum pole-frequency value and a maximum pole-frequency value; for each of a plurality of iterations q until a stopping condition is met: determine a group delay (wₘ) of the set of all-pass filters using the pole amplitudes rᵏ⁹) and the pole frequencies wₖ; determine, using an error function, a mismatch between the group delay (wₘ) and a goal group delay τd(wₘ); and update, using a stochastic-search technique and based on the mismatch between (wₘ) and τd d(wₘ), rₖ and wₖ; and generate a final set of all-pass filters using rₖ and wₖ from the final iteration. However, in the same field of endeavor, Quelhas et al disclose a device comprising: setting an initial value of each of a plurality of parameters comprising a pole amplitude rₖ and a pole frequency wₖ (Quelhas et al; Page 9; Fig 8; initial guess ); setting a pole-amplitude constraint comprising a minimum pole-amplitude value and a maximum pole amplitude value (Quelhas et al; Page 8; lines 10-30); setting a pole-frequency constraint comprising a minimum pole-frequency value and a maximum pole-frequency value (Quelhas et al; Page 8; lines 1-10); for each of a plurality of iterations q until a stopping condition is met (Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 9; lines 1-15): determining a group delay (wₘ) of the set of all-pass filters using the pole amplitudes rk (q) and the pole frequencies wₖ (Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 9; lines 1-15); determining, using an error function, a mismatch between the group delay (wₘ) and a goal group delay (wₘ)(Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 9; lines 1-15); and updating, using a stochastic-search technique and based on the mismatch between (wₘ) and τd (wₘ), rₖ and wₖ(Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 8; lines 15-30); and generating a final set of all-pass filters using rₖ and wₖ from the final iteration (Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 9; lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Quelhas et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to exhibit approximately linear phase in the frequency band of interest (Quelhas et al; Page 1; lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 12, Capp et al disclose a system comprising: one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media storing instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media and operable to execute the instructions to (Capp et al; Para [0019]): for each all-pass filter k in a set of one or more all-pass filters, set an initial value (Capp et al; Para [0031][0073]) but do not expressly disclose of each of a plurality of parameters comprising a pole amplitude rₖ and a pole frequency wₖ; set a pole-amplitude constraint comprising a minimum pole-amplitude value and a maximum pole amplitude value; set a pole-frequency constraint comprising a minimum pole-frequency value and a maximum pole-frequency value; for each of a plurality of iterations q until a stopping condition is met: determine a group delay τₐₚ (wₘ) of the set of all-pass filters using the pole amplitudes rᵏ⁹) (q) and the pole frequencies wₖ; determine, using an error function, a mismatch between the group delay τₐₚ(wₘ) and a goal group delay (wₘ); and update, using a stochastic-search technique and based on the mismatch between (wₘ) and τd (wₘ), rₖ and wₖ; and generate a final set of all-pass filters using rₖ and wₖ from the final iteration. However, in the same field of endeavor, Quelhas et al disclose a device comprising: setting an initial value of each of a plurality of parameters comprising a pole amplitude rₖ and a pole frequency wₖ (Quelhas et al; Page 9; Fig 8; initial guess ); setting a pole-amplitude constraint comprising a minimum pole-amplitude value and a maximum pole amplitude value (Quelhas et al; Page 8; lines 10-30); setting a pole-frequency constraint comprising a minimum pole-frequency value and a maximum pole-frequency value (Quelhas et al; Page 8; lines 1-10); for each of a plurality of iterations q until a stopping condition is met (Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 9; lines 1-15): determining a group delay (wₘ) of the set of all-pass filters using the pole amplitudes rk (q) and the pole frequencies wₖ (Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 9; lines 1-15); determining, using an error function, a mismatch between the group delay (wₘ) and a goal group delay (wₘ)(Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 9; lines 1-15); and updating, using a stochastic-search technique and based on the mismatch between (wₘ) and τd (wₘ), rₖ and wₖ(Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 8; lines 15-30); and generating a final set of all-pass filters using rₖ and wₖ from the final iteration (Quelhas et al; Fig 8; Page 9; lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Quelhas et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to exhibit approximately linear phase in the frequency band of interest (Quelhas et al; Page 1; lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 15, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the system of Claim 12, but do not expressly disclose wherein the stopping condition comprises one or more of (1) a predetermined period of time or (2) a predetermined number of iterations. However, in the same field of endeavor, Quelhas et al disclose a method wherein the stopping condition comprises one or more of (1) a predetermined period of time or (2) a predetermined number of iterations (Quelhas; Page 10; table 3; number of iterations). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Quelhas et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to exhibit approximately linear phase in the frequency band of interest (Quelhas et al; Page 1; lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 18, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the system of Claim 12, further comprising one or more processors coupled to the storage media and operable to execute the instructions to use the final set of all-pass filters to equalize a group delay present in an audio signal (Capp et al; Para [0031][0073]).
Regarding claim 19, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the system of Claim 12, further comprising one or more processors coupled to the storage media and operable to execute the instructions to use the final set of all-pass filters for forward modeling of a group delay in an audio signal (Capp et al; Para [0031][0073]).
Claim(s) 2-3, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capp et al (US 2015/0350786 A1) in view of Quelhas et al (NPL, Optimum design of group delay equalizers) and further in view of Krusienski et al (NPL, Design and Performance of Adaptive systems based on structured stochastic optimization strategies).
Regarding claim 2, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the method of Claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the stochastic-search technique comprises Bayesian optimization. However, in the same field of endeavor, Krusienski et al disclose a method wherein the stochastic-search technique comprises Bayesian optimization (Krusienski et al; Page 12; col 1; lines 1-20). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Krusienski et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to enable a more efficient (Krusienski et al; Page 12; col 1; lines 1-20).
Regarding claim 3, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the method of Claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the stochastic-search technique comprises simulated annealing. However, in the same field of endeavor, Krusienski et al disclose a method wherein the stochastic-search technique comprises simulated annealing (Krusienski et al; Page 12; col 1; lines 1-20). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Krusienski et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to enable a more efficient (Krusienski et al; Page 12; col 1; lines 1-20).
Regarding claim 13, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the system of Claim 12, but do not expressly disclose wherein the stochastic-search technique comprises Bayesian optimization. However, in the same field of endeavor, Krusienski et al disclose a method wherein the stochastic-search technique comprises Bayesian optimization (Krusienski et al; Page 12; col 1; lines 1-20). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Krusienski et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to enable a more efficient (Krusienski et al; Page 12; col 1; lines 1-20).
Regarding claim 14, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the system of Claim 12, but do not expressly disclose wherein the stochastic-search technique comprises simulated annealing. However, in the same field of endeavor, Krusienski et al disclose a device wherein the stochastic-search technique comprises simulated annealing (Krusienski et al; Page 12; col 1; lines 1-20). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Krusienski et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to enable a more efficient (Krusienski et al; Page 12; col 1; lines 1-20).
Claim(s) 5, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capp et al (US 2015/0350786 A1) in view of Quelhas et al (NPL, Optimum design of group delay equalizers) and further in view of Saha et al (NPL; Optimization of IIR High pass filter using craziness based particle swarm optimization technique)
Regarding claim 5, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the method of Claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein each initial value is randomly determined. However, in the same field of endeavor, Saha et al disclose a method wherein each initial value is randomly determined (Saha et al; Page 404; col 1; Table 1; random initial parameters). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Saha et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the accuracy of the optimization (Saha et al; Page 401; col 2; lines 1-20;).
Regarding claim 16, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the system of Claim 12, but do not expressly disclose wherein each initial value is randomly determined. However, in the same field of endeavor, Saha et al disclose a device wherein each initial value is randomly determined (Saha et al; Page 404; col 1; Table 1; random initial parameters). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Saha et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the accuracy of the optimization (Saha et al; Page 401; col 2; lines 1-20;).
Claim(s) 6, 11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capp et al (US 2015/0350786 A1) in view of Quelhas et al (NPL, Optimum design of group delay equalizers) and further in view of Huang et al (NPL, Closed Form FIR Filter Design Based on Convolution window spectrum interpolation).
Regarding claim 6, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the method of Claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein each initial value is determined using a pole-amplitude closed-form analytic approach. However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang et al disclose a method wherein each initial value is determined using a pole-amplitude closed-form analytic approach (Huang et al; Page 1174; col 1; lines 30-45). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Huang et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to achieve an extremely high efficiency filter (Huang et al; Page 1173; col 1; lines 10-20;).
Regarding claim 11, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the media of Claim 10, but do not expressly disclose wherein each initial value is determined using a pole- amplitude closed-form analytic approach. However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang et al disclose a method wherein each initial value is determined using a pole-amplitude closed-form analytic approach (Huang et al; Page 1174; col 1; lines 30-45). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Huang et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to achieve an extremely high efficiency filter (Huang et al; Page 1173; col 1; lines 10-20;).
Regarding claim 17, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the system of Claim 12, but do not expressly disclose wherein each initial value is determined using a pole-amplitude closed-form analytic approach. However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang et al disclose a device wherein each initial value is determined using a pole-amplitude closed-form analytic approach (Huang et al; Page 1174; col 1; lines 30-45). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the optimization taught by Huang et al as optimization in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to achieve an extremely high efficiency filter (Huang et al; Page 1173; col 1; lines 10-20;).
Claim(s) 9, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capp et al (US 2015/0350786 A1) in view of Quelhas et al (NPL, Optimum design of group delay equalizers) and further in view of Christoph et al (US 2011/0150241 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the method of Claim 8, but do not expressly disclose wherein the group delay comprises a main-chain group delay introduced to a perceptual bass extension side chain. However, in the same field of endeavor, Christoph et al disclose a method wherein the group delay comprises a main-chain group delay introduced to a perceptual bass extension side chain (Christoph et al; Para [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the side chain delay taught by Christoph et al as group delay in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound impression in the bass frequency range (Christoph et al; Para [0007]).
Regarding claim 20, Capp et al in view of Quelhas disclose the system of Claim 19, but do not expressly disclose wherein the group delay comprises a main-chain group delay introduced to a perceptual bass extension side chain. However, in the same field of endeavor, Christoph et al disclose a device wherein the group delay comprises a main-chain group delay introduced to a perceptual bass extension side chain (Christoph et al; Para [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the side chain delay taught by Christoph et al as group delay in the method taught by Capp. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound impression in the bass frequency range (Christoph et al; Para [0007]).
Conclusion
/KUASSI A GANMAVO/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692