DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 12-13 & 15-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 12-13 & 15-16: “predetermined angle” is not sufficiently defined in the claim, given it is lacking language to clarify it is the carry case’s angle of tilt from a completely upright position. The meaning of the predetermined angle is clear from the specification and therefore the Examiner has conducted the examiner with this definition of the predetermined angle.
Claims 15 & 16: The Examiner recommends “keep the first placement section horizontal” be rephrased for clarity, wherein the first placement section’s position is more clearly specified, such as stating that the section remains parallel to the ground. This is a suggested change and not required.
Claim 16: “an permissible range” should be corrected to “a permissible range”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brasil (US 20190381817 A1) in view of Capello & Salussolia (US 20010017644 A1; herein referred to as “Capello”) and further in view of Vellutato (US 20150084488 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Brasil teaches a carry case comprising:
a housing main body (i.e., “1”; Brasil: ¶0036 & Fig. 2);
a first accommodation section (i.e., “printer module 30”) configured to accommodate, in a first accommodation region within the housing main body (i.e., inside region of “30”), a plurality of recording devices (i.e., “more than one printer”; Brasil: ¶0036, ¶0008 & Fig. 2);
a second accommodation section (i.e., “electric module 20”) configured to accommodate, in the housing main body in a second accommodation region (i.e., inside region of “20”) that is aligned in the vertical direction with the first accommodation region (i.e., “30”; Brasil: ¶0036 & Fig. 2);
a first opening and closing door (i.e., “32”) configured to open and close in a first surface (Brasil: ¶0042 & Fig. 2);
a second opening and closing door (i.e., “33”) configured to open and close in a second surface that is opposite from the first surface (Brasil: ¶0044 & Fig. 2)
Brasil is silent on
a first accommodation section configured to accommodate, in a first accommodation region within the housing main body, a plurality of recording devices in a state of being stacked in a plurality of tiers in a vertical direction.
a second accommodation section configured to accommodate, in the housing main body in a second accommodation region that is aligned in the vertical direction with the first accommodation region, a power supply device (i.e., portable battery) that supplies electric power to the plurality of recording devices
and a wheel that is below the housing main body and that enables moving the housing main body.
Cappello teaches
a first accommodation section configured to accommodate, in a first accommodation region within the housing main body, a plurality of recording devices in a state of being stacked in a plurality of tiers in a vertical direction (i.e., printer “20” is “suitable for being stacked with other equipment”; Cappello: ¶0012 & Fig. 1). In other words, Cappello teaches that the plurality of recording devices (which are pieces of equipment) housed in Brasil’s first accommodation section, can be stacked on top of each other.
Vellutato teaches
a second accommodation section (i.e., “120”) configured to accommodate, in the housing main body in a second accommodation region that is aligned in the vertical direction with the first accommodation region (i.e., “114”), a power supply device (i.e., portable battery) that supplies electric power to the plurality of recording devices (Vellutato: ¶0015, ¶0023, & Fig. 2). In other words, Vellutato teaches that, similar to Brasil’s two accommodation sections that are vertically-aligned, the lower accommodation section can store a power supply device.
and a wheel that is below the housing main body and that enables moving the housing main body (i.e., “106” Vellutato: ¶0013 & Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil by specifying Brasil’s plurality of recording devices as vertically-stacked recording devices taught by Cappello, because vertically-stackable recording devices save space on a surface of Brasil’s first accommodation section, by decreasing the footprint area taken up by multiple recording devices that are positioned on top of each other rather than positioned side-to-side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil so that Brasil’s second accommodation section, which contains electrical items, also is configured to contain a portable battery as taught by Vellutato. Incorporating a portable battery is beneficial given it enables the cabinet to be more portable and to not require attachment to outside power sources while powering the printer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil to have wheels attached to the housing main body, as taught by Vellutato. Incorporating wheels to the carry case taught by Brasil is beneficial, because it enables the cabinet to be portable.
With respect to Claim 5, Brasil in view of Capello, and further in view of Vellutato teaches the carry case according to claim 1 (see claim 1).
Brasil is silent on further comprising: a grip section configured to be gripped by a user.
Vellutato teaches further comprising: a grip section configured to be gripped by a user (i.e., handles on doors; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil to incorporate a grip section, so that the doors of Brasil’s carry case can be manually gripped, beneficially improving the ease with which a user can open and close the doors.
With respect to Claim 6, Brasil in view of Capello, and further in view of Vellutato teaches the carry case according to claim 1 (see claim 1), wherein
the first opening and closing door (i.e., “32”) is configured to open and close at least a part of the first accommodation region (i.e., “30”; Brasil: Figs. 1-2) and
in a state where the first opening and closing door (i.e., “32”) is open maintenance operations are performable on the plurality of recording devices accommodated in the first accommodation section (i.e., “more than one printer”; Brasil: ¶0036, ¶0008, & Fig. 2). It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that when Brasil’s first door is open, the recording devices stored within Brasil’s “printer module 30” are accessible (Brasil: ¶0044-0045 & Fig. 2) and therefore maintenance operations can be performed on them.
With respect to Claim 7, Brasil in view of Capello, and further in view of Vellutato teaches the carry case according to claim 1 (see claim 1), wherein
the second opening and closing door is configured to open and close at least a part of the first accommodation region (i.e., “33”; Brasil: ¶0036 & Fig. 1-2), and
in a state where the second opening and closing door is open (i.e., “33”), maintenance operations are performable on the plurality of recording devices accommodated in the first accommodation section (i.e., “more than one printer”; Brasil: ¶0036, ¶0059, ¶0008 & Fig. 2). It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that when Brasil’s second door is open, the recording devices stored within Brasil’s “printer module 30” are accessible (Brasil: ¶0044-0045 & Fig. 2) and therefore maintenance operations can be performed on them.
With respect to Claim 8, Brasil in view of Capello and further in view of Vellutato teaches the carry case according to claim 1 (see claim 1), wherein
the first opening and closing door (i.e., “32”) is configured to open and close at least a part of the first accommodation region (i.e., “30”; Brasil: Figs. 1-2) and
the main bodies of the plurality of recording devices housed in the first accommodation section are configured to be pulled out in a state where the first opening and closing door is open (i.e., when multiple printers are disposed on a rotatable table “40” which can be pulled out; Brasil: ¶0008, ¶0059, & Fig. 2). Note that Brasil is silent on the stackability of the plurality of recording devices, as claimed in Claim 1.
Cappello teaches
the main bodies of the plurality of recording devices housed in the first accommodation section are configured to be pulled out in a state where the first opening and closing door is open (i.e., printer “20” is “suitable for being stacked with other equipment”; Cappello: ¶0012). In other words, Cappello teaches that the plurality of recording devices housed in Brasil’s first accommodation section and pulled out, can be stacked vertically on top of each other. Therefore, if Brasil teaches that a printer positioned on the “rotatable table 40” can be pulled out, and that the table “40” can hold multiple printers, Brasil therefore teaches that the “rotatable table 40” could be used to pull out the stacked printers taught by Cappello.
With respect to Claim 17, Brasil teaches a recording system comprising:
a plurality of recording devices (i.e., “more than one printer”; Brasil: ¶0036, ¶0008 & Fig. 2);
a carry case configured to accommodate the plurality of recording devices (i.e., “cabinet configuration”; Brasil: Abstract, ¶0036, ¶0008, & Fig. 2), wherein the carry case includes
a housing main body (i.e., “1”; Brasil: ¶0036 & Fig. 2),
a first accommodation section (i.e., “printer module 30”) configured to accommodate the plurality of recording devices (i.e., “more than one printer”; Brasil: ¶0036, ¶0008 & Fig. 2) in the first accommodation region in the housing main body (i.e., inside region of “30”),
a second accommodation section (i.e., “electric module 20”) configured in a second accommodation region (i.e., inside region of “20”) aligned with the first accommodation region (i.e., “30”; Brasil: ¶0036 & Fig. 2) in the vertical direction in the housing main body (i.e., “1”; Brasil: ¶0036 & Fig. 2),
a first opening and closing door (i.e., “32”) configured to open and close in a first surface (Brasil: ¶0042 & Fig. 2);
a second opening and closing door (i.e., “33”) configured to open and close in a second surface opposite to the first surface (Brasil: ¶0044 & Fig. 2), and
Brasil is silent on
a power supply device configured to supply power to the plurality of recording devices; a carry case configured to accommodate the plurality of recording devices and the power supply device;
a first accommodation section configured to accommodate the plurality of recording devices in a state of being stacked in a plurality of tiers in a vertical direction in the first accommodation region in the housing main body,
a second accommodation section configured to house the power supply device in a second accommodation region aligned with the first accommodation region in the vertical direction in the housing main body
a wheel that is below the housing main body and that enables moving the housing main body.
Cappello teaches
a first accommodation section configured to accommodate the plurality of recording devices in a state of being stacked in a plurality of tiers in a vertical direction (i.e., printer “20” is “suitable for being stacked with other equipment”; Cappello: ¶0012 & Fig. 1) in the first accommodation region in the housing main body. In other words, Cappello teaches that the plurality of recording devices (which are pieces of equipment) housed in Brasil’s first accommodation section, can be vertically stacked on top of each other.
Vellutato teaches
a power supply device (i.e., portable battery) configured to supply power to the plurality of recording devices (Vellutato: ¶0015, ¶0023, & Fig. 2); a carry case configured to accommodate the plurality of recording devices and the power supply device (i.e., portable battery; Vellutato: ¶0015, ¶0023, & Fig. 2); a second accommodation section (i.e., “120”) configured to house the power supply device in a second accommodation region aligned with the first accommodation region (i.e., “114”) in the vertical direction in the housing main body (Vellutato: ¶0015, ¶0023, & Fig. 2). In other words, Vellutato teaches that, similar to Brasil’s two accommodation sections that are vertically-aligned, the lower accommodation section can store a power supply device.
a wheel that is below the housing main body and that enables moving the housing main body (i.e., “106” Vellutato: ¶0013 & Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil by specifying Brasil’s plurality of recording devices as vertically-stacked recording devices taught by Cappello, because vertically-stackable recording devices save space on a surface of Brasil’s first accommodation section, by decreasing the footprint area taken up by multiple recording devices that are positioned on top of each other rather than positioned side-to-side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil so that Brasil’s second accommodation section, which contains electrical items, also is configured to contain a portable battery as taught by Vellutato. Incorporating a portable battery is beneficial given it powers the printer within the cabinet, enables the user to easily access the power source when accessing the printer by being positioned in the accommodation region below the printer’s accommodation region, and the portability of the power source enables the cabinet to be more portable and not require attachment to outside power sources while powering the printer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil to have wheels attached to the housing main body, as taught by Vellutato. Incorporating wheels to the carry case taught by Brasil is beneficial, because it enables the cabinet to be portable.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brasil in view of Capello, further in view of Vellutato, and further in view of screen captures from YouTube video clip entitled “How to Install Tiptiper Folding Dining Table with Storage?” (herein referred to as “NPL-1”; see Form 892 for more details).
With respect to Claim 2, Brasil in view of Capello and further in view of Vellutato teaches the carry case according to claim 1 (see claim 1).
Brasil is silent on further comprising: a table provided above the housing main body, wherein the table
is expandable from a storage position to an expansion position and,
when the table is expanded to the expansion position, is supported by the opened first opening and closing door and the opened second opening and closing door.
NPL-1 teaches further comprising: a table provided above the housing main body; see NPL-1, p. 1-2), wherein the table
is expandable from a storage position to an expansion position (i.e., expands from configuration shown in NPL-1, p.6 to the one shown in NPL-1, p.1) and,
when the table is expanded to the expansion position, is supported by the opened first opening and closing door and the opened second opening and closing door (see NPL-1, p.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a table to Brasil’s carry case, because it provides an extra surface upon which to place items that can also be folded and therefore not take up space when not in use (NPL-1 p.1 & p.6).
With respect to Claim 3, Brasil in view of Capello, further in view of Vellutato, and further in view of NPL-1, teaches the carry case according to claim 2 (see claim 2).
Brasil is silent on wherein the table has a placement surface on which an object to be placed is placeable when the table is expanded to the expansion position.
NPL-1 teaches wherein the table has a placement surface on which an object to be placed is placeable when the table is expanded to the expansion position (NPL-1, p.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the Brasil’s carry case to incorporate a table, as taught by NPL-1, to have a placement surface with the claimed limitations, because this extra surface can be used for periods of time for placing objects when applicable and then also be folded and not take up space when not in use (NPL-1: p.1 & p.6).
With respect to claim 4, Brasil in view of Capello, further in view of Vellutato, and further in view of NPL-1, teaches the carry case according to claim 3 (see claim 3).
Brasil is silent on further comprising: an adjuster configured to, when the table is expanded to the expansion position, adjust the height below the first opening and closing door and below the second opening and closing door.
NPL-1 teaches further comprising: an adjuster configured to, when the table is expanded to the expansion position, adjust the height below the first opening and closing door and below the second opening and closing door (NPL-1, fig. 4). NPL-1 teaches the fastener above the wheel (i.e., an adjuster) can be affixed to each door via the process of a hole and screw. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the adjuster can be re-positioned in other locations on each door (i.e., depending on where a user chooses to place the hole into which to place the screw, affixing the adjuster in between), thereby adjusting the height below each door.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil to incorporate an adjuster, as taught by NPL-1, because this beneficially enables the user to have a variety of placement options for the wheels taught by NPL-1 are attached to the housing main body, thereby beneficially being able to control the level of rise between the doors of the carry case and the floor.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brasil in view of Capello, further in view of Vellutato, and further in view of Tyus & Tyus (US 6036203 A; herein referred to as “Tyus”).
With respect to Claim 9, Brasil in view of Capello, and further in view of Vellutato teaches the carry case according to claim 1 (see claim 1), further comprising:
the first opening and closing door in a state in which the first opening and closing door is closed (i.e., “32”; Brasil: ¶0042 & Fig. 1-2) and
the second opening and closing door in a state in which the second opening and closing door is closed (i.e., “33”; Brasil: ¶0044 & Fig. 1-2).
Brasil is silent on
a first locking section configured to lock the first opening and closing door in a state in which the first opening and closing door is closed and
a second locking section configured to lock the second opening and closing door in a state in which the second opening and closing door is closed.
Tyus teaches a carry case (i.e., cabinet portion “20” of tool dolly; Fig. 1-4) further comprising:
a first locking section configured to lock the first opening and closing door in a state in which the first opening and closing door is closed (i.e., “key lock 36” on each door “30”; Tyus: col. 2, ¶1; Fig. 1 & 4) and
a second locking section configured to lock the second opening and closing door in a state in which the second opening and closing door is closed (i.e., “key lock 36” on each door “30”; Tyus: col. 2, ¶1; Figs. 1 & 4).
In other words, Tyus teaches that doors on portable cabinets can be locked via locking sections.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carrying case taught by Brasil to include locking sections on multiple doors as taught by Tyus, because the ability to lock the doors taught in Brasil secures the contents within the carrying case from theft.
With respect to Claim 10, Brasil in view of Capello, and further in view of Vellutato teaches the carry case according to claim 1 (see claim 1).
Brasil is silent on further comprising: an illumination section configured to illuminate the inside of the housing main body.
Tyus teaches a carry case (i.e., cabinet portion “20” of tool dolly; ¶Fig. 1-4) further comprising: an illumination section configured to illuminate the inside of the housing main body ( “battery powered drop light 32” within the cabinet “20”; Tyus: col. 3, ¶2; Fig. 1-2). In other words, Tyus teaches that portable cabinets can be illuminated from the inside of the cabinet’s housing main body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carrying case taught by Brasil to include an illumination section within the housing main body as taught by Tyus’s cabinet (i.e., a type of housing main body), because the illumination section gives “added light” (Tyus: col. 3, ¶2), making it easier for users to see items within the housing main body.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brasil in view of Capello, further in view of Vellutato, and further in view of Kozlowski (US 6218796 B1).
With respect to Claim 11, Brasil in view of Capello, and further in view of Vellutato teaches the carry case according to claim 1 (see claim 1).
Brasil is silent on further comprising: a drive section configured to drive the wheel, wherein the drive section is configured to be accommodated in the second accommodation section.
Kozlowski teaches a drive section (i.e., “motor 52” and related wiring) configured to drive the wheel (i.e., “50”, which is mounted in the center of wheels “44”), wherein the drive section is configured to be accommodated in the second accommodation section (i.e., “12”; Kozlowski: col. 3, ¶3; col.4, ¶5; Fig. 1 & 5). Note that Kozlowski teaches the wiring portion of the drive section, that drives the center wheel, is located within an accommodation section at the bottom of the cabinet (i.e., similar positioning to the second accommodation section which is an electrical storage section positioned at the bottom of the carry case taught by Brasil). Moreover, although Kozlowski is silent on the entirety of the drive section (i.e., including the motor) being located in this bottom accommodation section, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that storing the motor in this accommodation section as well would be beneficial as it would protect the motor and make the cabinet more aesthetically pleasing. Moreover, the size of the motor indicates that it is configured such that it could be accommodated in the second accommodation section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil by incorporating an additional wheel (in addition to the wheels taught by Vellutato in claim 1) with a drive section and for the drive section to be configured to be accommodated in the second accommodation section. This wheel with a drive section is beneficial given it enables a user to more easily move the carry case.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brasil in view of Capello, further in view of Vellutato, and further in view of screen captures from YouTube video clip entitled “The Best Storage for Kitchen Cabinets – Install pull-out drawers to transform cabinets” (herein referred to as “NPL-2”; see Form 892 for more details).
With respect to Claim 12, Brasil teaches a carry case comprising:
a housing main body (i.e., “1”; Brasil: ¶0036 & Fig. 2);
a first accommodation section (i.e., “30”) configured to accommodate a plurality of recording devices in a first accommodation region within the housing main body (i.e., inside region of “30”; Brasil: ¶0036, ¶0008, & Fig. 2);
a second accommodation section (i.e., “electric module 20”) configured to accommodate, in the housing main body in a second accommodation region (i.e., inside region of “20”) that is aligned in the vertical direction with the first accommodation region (i.e., “30”; Brasil: ¶0036 & Fig. 2);
a horizontal maintaining section configured to, when the housing main body is inclined at a predetermined angle (see Brasil’s Fig. 2), horizontally support the plurality of recording devices accommodated in the first accommodation section (i.e., “retaining portion 41a, 41b”, which are grooved portions, can stabilize multiple printers in “printer module 30”; Brasil: ¶0059, ¶0036, ¶0008, & Fig. 2). In other words, Brasil teaches, via table “40” and its horizontal maintaining section, that a carry case can include a structural element enabling the user to pull recording devices out from the first accommodation region and can do so with structural elements that maintain the recording devices in the horizontal direction. Note that the predetermined angle can be set to zero degrees of tilt in which Brasil’s carry case is currently positioned as shown in Fig. 2, wherein the carry case is completely upright.
Brasil is silent on
a first accommodation section configured to accommodate a plurality of recording devices in a state of being stacked in a plurality of tiers in a vertical direction in a first accommodation region within the housing main body,
the recording devices performing recording by ejecting liquid;
a second accommodation section configured to accommodate, in the housing main body in a second accommodation region that is aligned in the vertical direction with the first accommodation region, a power supply device that supplies electric power to the plurality of recording devices;
a wheel that is below the housing main body and that enables moving the housing main body; and
a horizontal maintaining section configured to, when the housing main body is inclined at a predetermined angle, horizontally support the plurality of recording devices accommodated in the first accommodation section.
Capello teaches
a first accommodation section configured to accommodate a plurality of recording devices in a state of being stacked in a plurality of tiers in a vertical direction in a first accommodation region within the housing main body (i.e., printer “20” is “suitable for being stacked with other equipment”; Cappello: ¶0012 & Fig. 1). In other words, Cappello teaches that the plurality of recording devices (which are pieces of equipment) housed in Brasil’s first accommodation section, can be stacked on top of each other.
the recording devices performing recording by ejecting liquid (Cappello: ¶0046 & Fig. 2);
Vellutato teaches
a second accommodation section (i.e., “120”) configured to accommodate, in the housing main body in a second accommodation region that is aligned in the vertical direction with the first accommodation region (i.e., “114”), a power supply device that supplies electric power to the plurality of recording devices (Vellutato: ¶0015, ¶0023, & Fig. 2). In other words, Vellutato teaches that, similar to Brasil’s two accommodation sections that are vertically-aligned, the lower accommodation section can store a power supply device.
a wheel that is below the housing main body and that enables moving the housing main body (i.e., “106” Vellutato: ¶0013 & Fig. 1); and
NPL-2 teaches
a horizontal maintaining section (i.e. a pull-out drawer) configured to, when the housing main body is inclined at a predetermined angle, horizontally support the plurality of recording devices accommodated in the first accommodation section (see NPL-2 Fig. 1). In other words, NPL-2 teaches a vertically-deep, pull-out drawer meant to be used in cabinets, when modifying the first accommodation section “30” by replacing the pull-out table “40”, can store the plurality of recording devices while keeping these items within walls that are located in the horizontal direction in relation to the devices. These drawer walls can act as horizontal maintenance to the recording devices to prevent shifting. Moreover, when the predetermined angle is zero degrees, the devices are unlikely to shift. Note that, as discussed above, this plurality of recording devices are those taught by Cappello and are stacked on top of each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil by specifying Brasil’s plurality of recording devices as vertically-stacked recording devices taught by Cappello, because vertically-stackable recording devices save space on a surface of Brasil’s first accommodation section, by decreasing the footprint area taken up by multiple recording devices that are positioned on top of each other rather than positioned side-to-side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording devices in Brasil’s carry case to be performing recording by ejecting liquid as taught by Capello’s recording devices, because “ink jet technology are already so widely known in the sector art” as a method to generate printed images and because the ink jet printheads can be removable which is beneficial for maintenance of the printer (Cappello: ¶0045-0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil so that Brasil’s second accommodation section, which contains electrical items, also is configured to contain a portable battery as taught by Vellutato. Incorporating a portable battery is beneficial given it powers the printer within the cabinet, enables the user to easily access the power source when accessing the printer by being positioned in the accommodation region below the printer’s accommodation region, and the portability of the power source enables the cabinet to be more portable and not require attachment to outside power sources while powering the printer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil to have wheels attached to the housing main body, as taught by Vellutato. Incorporating wheels to the carry case taught by Brasil is beneficial, because it enables the cabinet to be portable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording devices in Brasil’s carry case to include a horizontal maintaining section that can horizontally support the plurality of recording devices as taught by NPL-2, because this decreases the recording devices’ ability to shift positions, which can prevent issues such as equipment breakages and spilling of ink.
With respect to Claim 13, Brasil in view of Capello, further in view of Vellutato, and further in view of NPL-2, teaches the carry case according to claim 12, wherein when the housing main body is inclined at a predetermined angle (see Brasil’s Fig. 2), the horizontal maintaining section does not horizontally support the …device housed in the second accommodation section (i.e., “retaining portion 41a, 41b” are unable to support any items stored with the second accommodation section “20” regardless of the inclined angle of the carry case; Brasil: ¶0059, ¶0036, ¶0008, & Fig. 2).
Brasil is silent on the horizontal maintaining section does not horizontally support the power supply device housed in the second accommodation section.
Vellutato teaches the horizontal maintaining section does not horizontally support the power supply device (i.e., portable battery) housed in the second accommodation section (Vellutato: ¶0015, ¶0023, & Fig. 2). In other words, Vellutato teaches that, similar to Brasil’s two accommodation sections that are vertically-aligned, the lower accommodation section can store a power supply device. Therefore, the positioning of this power supply device could not be horizontally supported by Brasil’s horizontal maintaining section “40” (Brasil: Fig. 2).
Also note that, as discussed in claim 12, NPL-2 teaches the horizontal maintaining section taught in Brasil can be replaced with a pull-out drawer taught by NPL-2 (see NPL-2 Fig. 1). Even with this modification, the horizontal maintaining section would not support any devices housed in the second accommodation section (i.e., “20”) due to its positioning (Brasil: Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil so that Brasil’s second accommodation section, which contains electrical items, also is configured to contain a portable battery as taught by Vellutato. Incorporating a portable battery is beneficial given it enables the cabinet to be more portable and not require attachment to outside power sources while powering the printer. It therefore follows that, because this portable battery is stored in the second accommodation section for electrical items, it would not be horizontally supported by the horizontal maintaining section.
Also note that the motivation to modify the horizontal maintaining section “41a, 41b” in rotatable table “40” taught by Brasil by replacing it with the pull-out drawer taught by NPL-2 is discussed in claim 12 above.
With respect to Claim 14, Brasil in view of Capello, further in view of Vellutato, and further in view of NPL-2, teaches the carry case according to claim 1, wherein the second accommodation section (i.e., “20”; Brasil: Fig. 2).
Brasil is silent on wherein the second accommodation section includes
a second placement section on which the power supply device is placeable and
a first fixing section that fixes the position of the power supply device placed on the second placement section.
Vellutato teaches wherein the second accommodation section includes…power supply device (i.e., portable battery; Vellutato: ¶0015, ¶0023, & Fig. 2).
NPL-2 teaches wherein the second accommodation section includes
a second placement section on which the power supply device is placeable (i.e., the bottom surface of the inside of a pull-out drawer; NPL-2: Fig. 2-4 showing items being placed on these surfaces of pull-out drawers within accommodation sections) and
a first fixing section that fixes the position of the power supply device placed on the second placement section (i.e., a variety of fixing sections that can fix the position of an item [of various shapes and sizes] when it is placed on the inside bottom surface of a drawer; NPL-2: 2-4). A power supply device, such as one of typical commercial size to charge electronic items, could be fixed within the drawer taught by NPL-2 using one of the fixing sections taught by NPL-2. Alternatively, a smaller drawer’s surface, such as the surface of the small left-side drawer taught in NPL-2 p.4, can be used as the second placement section, wherein the drawer walls fit directly around the power supply device acting as a first fixing section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil so that Brasil’s second accommodation section, which contains electrical items, also is configured to contain a portable battery as taught by Vellutato. Incorporating a portable battery is beneficial given it enables the cabinet to be more portable and not require attachment to outside power sources while powering the printer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brasil’s second accommodation section “20” by incorporating a second placement section taught by NPL-2, given this enables the power supply device to be pulled out of the carry case taught by Brasil, beneficially enabling the user to have easier access to the power supply device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brasil’s second accommodation section “20” by incorporating a first fixing section taught by NPL-2 to fix the power supply device placed on the second placement section taught by NPL-2. This fixing section is beneficially able to store items of various sizes that are stored within a cabinet, such as a power supply device, while ensuring they do not shift while the drawer is moving.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brasil in view of Capello, further in view of Vellutato, further in view of NPL-2, and further in view of Scott (see Form 892 for more detail on this non-patent literature).
With respect to Claim 15, Brasil teaches the carry case according to claim 12, wherein
the first accommodation section (i.e., “30”) includes a first placement section (i.e., rotatable table “40”) on which the plurality of recording devices are placeable (Brasil: ¶0008, ¶0059, & Fig. 2)
the horizontal maintaining section (i.e., “retaining portion 41a, 41b”, which are grooved portions, can stabilize multiple printers in “printer module 30”; Brasil: ¶0059, ¶0036, ¶0008, & Fig. 2). In other words, Brasil teaches, via table “40” and its horizontal maintaining section, that a carry case can include a structural element enabling the user to pull recording devices out from the first accommodation region and can do so with structural elements that maintain the recording devices in the horizontal direction.
Brasil is silent on
the first accommodation section (i.e., “30”) includes a first placement section (i.e., rotatable table “40”) on which the plurality of recording devices are placeable (Brasil: ¶0008, ¶0059, & Fig. 2) in a state of being stacked in plurality of tiers in the vertical direction,
the horizontal maintaining section includes
a guide section that guides the first placement section and
a second fixing section that fixes the first placement section to the guide section,
the guide section is fixed to the housing main body and, when the housing main body is inclined at a predetermined angle, guides the first placement section to keep the first placement section horizontal, and
when the housing main body is arranged horizontally, the second fixing section fixes the first placement section to the guide section at a position at which the first placement section is kept horizontal.
Capello teaches
the first accommodation section includes a first placement section on which the plurality of recording devices are placeable in a state of being stacked in plurality of tiers in the vertical direction (i.e., printer “20” is “suitable for being stacked with other equipment”; Cappello: ¶0012 & Fig. 1). In other words, Cappello teaches that the plurality of recording devices (which are pieces of equipment) housed in Brasil’s first accommodation section, can be stacked on top of each other.
NPL-2 teaches
a horizontal maintaining section (i.e. a pull-out drawer; see NPL-2 Fig. 1 & 3) includes
a guide section (see drawer slide portion attached to the cabinet in NPL-2 Figs. 2 & 4) that guides the first placement section (i.e., the surface that is the inner bottom of the drawer; NPL-2, Figs. 2 & 4) and
a second fixing section that fixes the first placement section to the guide section (see drawer slide portion attached to the first placement section that fixes itself to the guide section, thereby fixing the first placement section to the guide section),
Note that the drawer taught by NPL-2 is substituting the rotatable table “40” in the carry case taught by Brasil as the structural element in the carry case that can be used to pull the recording devices from the case as well as horizontally maintain them.
Scott teaches
the guide section is fixed to the housing main body (i.e., the drawer slide fixed to the housing main body side wall as shown in Scott, p.6) and, when the housing main body is inclined at a predetermined angle, guides the first placement section (i.e., the surface of the bottom portion of the drawer shown in Scott figures on p.6) to keep the first placement section horizontal (see figures on Scott p.6). Note that the figure on Scott p.6 shows a guide section that can guide the first placement section of the drawer and keeps the first placement section horizontal when the predetermined angle is zero degrees of tilt.
when the housing main body is arranged horizontally, the second fixing section fixes the first placement section to the guide section at a position at which the first placement section is kept horizontal (see Scott’s figures on p.6). Note that the first accommodation section taught by Brasil is similar to the accommodation section shown in Scott’s figures on p.6 into which the drawer is placed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil by specifying Brasil’s plurality of recording devices as vertically-stacked recording devices taught by Cappello, because vertically-stackable recording devices save space on a surface of Brasil’s first accommodation section, by decreasing the footprint area taken up by multiple recording devices that are positioned on top of each other rather than positioned side-to-side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil’s carry case by substituting the horizontal maintaining section (i.e., “40”) with the drawer taught by NPL-2 that includes a guide section and a second fixing section, because the drawer with guides has more secured movement when being pulled out from the carry case. This is beneficial as it decreases the recording devices ability to shift positions, which can prevent issues such as equipment breakages and spilling of ink.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil’s carry case by using the first placement section taught by NPL-2 and guiding it with the guide section (with the claimed limitations) as taught by Scott. Fixing the guide section to the housing main body and using a section fixing section to fix it to the first placement section because it ensures the first placement section can be stably and smoothly moved in and out of the carry case. Additionally, utilizing the guide section and second fixing section to maintain the horizontal positioning of the first placement section is beneficial because this decreases the recording devices’ (that are stored within the first accommodation region) ability to shift positions, which can prevent issues such as equipment breakages and spilling of ink.
With respect to Claim 16, Brasil teaches the carry case according to claim 12, wherein
the first accommodation section (i.e., “30”) includes a first placement section (i.e., rotatable table “40”) on which the plurality of recording devices are placeable (Brasil: ¶0008, ¶0059, & Fig. 2) in a state of being stacked in plurality of tiers in the vertical direction,
the horizontal maintaining section (i.e., “retaining portion 41a, 41b”, which are grooved portions, can stabilize multiple printers in “printer module 30”; Brasil: ¶0059, ¶0036, ¶0008, & Fig. 2). In other words, Brasil teaches, via table “40” and its horizontal maintaining section, that a carry case can include a structural element enabling the user to pull recording devices out from the first accommodation region and can do so with structural elements that maintain the recording devices in the horizontal direction.
includes a guide section that guides the first placement section,
the guide section is fixed to the housing main body and, when the housing main body is inclined at a predetermined angle, guides the first placement section to keep the first placement section horizontal, and
the carry case is configured so as to maintain a distance between the guide section and the first placement section within an permissible range.
Brasil is silent on
the first accommodation section includes a first placement section on which the plurality of recording devices are placeable in a state of being stacked in plurality of tiers in the vertical direction,
the horizontal maintaining section includes a guide section that guides the first placement section,
the guide section is fixed to the housing main body and, when the housing main body is inclined at a predetermined angle, guides the first placement section to keep the first placement section horizontal, and
the carry case is configured so as to maintain a distance between the guide section and the first placement section within an permissible range.
Capello teaches
the first accommodation section includes a first placement section on which the plurality of recording devices are placeable in a state of being stacked in plurality of tiers in the vertical direction (i.e., printer “20” is “suitable for being stacked with other equipment”; Cappello: ¶0012 & Fig. 1). In other words, Cappello teaches that the plurality of recording devices (which are pieces of equipment) housed in Brasil’s first accommodation section, can be stacked on top of each other.
NPL-2 teaches
the horizontal maintaining section (i.e. a pull-out drawer; see NPL-2 Fig. 1 & 3) includes a guide section (see drawer slide portion attached to the cabinet in NPL-2 Figs. 2 & 4) that guides the first placement section (i.e., the surface that is the inner bottom of the drawer; NPL-2, Figs. 2 & 4). Note that the drawer taught by NPL-2 is substituting the rotatable table “40” in the carry case taught by Brasil as the structural element in the carry case that can be used to pull the recording devices from the case as well as horizontally maintain them.
Scott teaches
the guide section is fixed to the housing main body (i.e., the drawer slide fixed to the housing main body side wall as shown in Scott, p.6) and, when the housing main body is inclined at a predetermined angle, guides the first placement section (i.e., the surface of the bottom portion of the drawer shown in Scott figures on p.6) to keep the first placement section horizontal. Note that the figure on Scott p.6 shows a guide section that can guide the first placement section of the drawer and keeps the first placement section horizontal when the predetermined angle is zero degrees of tilt.
and the carry case is configured so as to maintain a distance between the guide section and the first placement section within an permissible range (i.e., as shown in Scott’s figure on p.6, the guide section is installed such that there is a consistent distance between the first placement section and the guide section). Note that the permissible range is not claimed with specific values to bound this range and therefore can be interpreted as being applicable to any value of distance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil by specifying Brasil’s plurality of recording devices as vertically-stacked recording devices taught by Cappello, because vertically-stackable recording devices save space on a surface of Brasil’s first accommodation section, by decreasing the footprint area taken up by multiple recording devices that are positioned on top of each other rather than positioned side-to-side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil’s carry case by substituting the horizontal maintaining section (i.e., “40”) with the drawer taught by NPL-2 that includes a guide section, because the drawer with guides has more secured movement when being pulled out from the carry case. This is beneficial as it decreases the recording devices ability to shift positions, which can prevent issues such as equipment breakages and spilling of ink.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil’s carry case by using the first placement section taught by NPL-2 and guiding it with the guide section (with the claimed limitations) as taught by Scott. Fixing the guide section to the housing main body is beneficial because it ensures the first placement section can be stably and smoothly moved in and out of the carry case. Additionally, utilizing the guide section to maintain the horizontal positioning of the first placement section is beneficial because this decreases the recording devices’ (that are stored within the first accommodation region) ability to shift positions, which can prevent issues such as equipment breakages and spilling of ink.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carry case taught by Brasil’s carry case by configuring it with the positioning the guide section and first placement section with a distance within a permission range, as taught by Scott. This configuration is beneficial because it enables the horizontal maintaining section (i.e., drawer) to be moved in and out of the carry case without getting stuck on part of the housing main body.
Conclusion
/SHLOMIT CHELST/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/GEOFFREY S MRUK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 09/04/2026