Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 21-24 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566).
Regarding claim 1, Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) comprising: an apparatus body (fig.1&4, #A) including a guide portion (fig.4-6, #70R/#71R/#80R & #70L/#71L/#80L) and a pressing member (fig.1&4, #8a-d) movable between a first position (fig.9f, position of #8R) and a second position (fig.9e, position of #8R); and a cartridge (fig.2) configured to be attached to and detached from the apparatus body along an attaching direction while being guided by the guide portion (fig.9a-11), wherein the cartridge includes: a first unit (fig.2, #50) including an image bearing member configured to rotate about a first axis (fig.1&2, #1 rotating as seen in 1); a second unit (fig.2, #4) including a developer bearing member configured to rotate about a second axis (fig.2, #40 in direction #r2) and to bear and supply developer to the image bearing member and a pressed portion provided on the second unit (fig.9e, #46R/#46a), wherein the second unit is swingable with respect to the first unit (see relative positions in fig.2&3), about a swing axis parallel to the first axis (fig.2&3, #49), between a contact position in which the developer bearing member is in contact with the image bearing member (fig.9f) and a separated position in which the developer bearing member is separated from the image bearing member (fig.9e), wherein in a state in which the cartridge is attached to the apparatus body with the pressing member in the first position (fig.9f), the pressing member does not press the pressed portion and the second unit may be positioned at the contact position (fig.9f, #40 contacts #1 and #46a separated from #8R), wherein, in the state in which the cartridge is attached to the apparatus body and the pressing member is in the second position (fig.9e), the pressing member presses the pressed portion to position the second unit at the separated position (fig.9e, #40 separate from #1 and #46a contacts #8R), and wherein the cartridge is configured to be movable along the attaching direction to an attached position in the apparatus body irrespective of whether the pressing member is located in the first position or maintained in the second position before the cartridge reaches the attached position (fig.9a-11, given the configuration of #46a and #8, the cartridge is configured to be able to be mounted regardless of what position #8 is in since the geometries of the two contact items would allow for mutual sliding or mutual passing).
Regarding claim 21, Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) teach an image forming apparatus wherein, when the cartridge is attached to the apparatus body while the pressing member is maintained in the second position, the pressed portion is configured to contact the pressing member before the cartridge reaches the attached position, and wherein the second unit is configured to move from the contact position toward the separated position as the cartridge is moved in the attaching direction (fig.11, see proposed mounting configuration; in path E2, comes into contact before and bumps up, in path E1 comes into contact at end just before fully mounted).
Regarding claim 22, Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) teach an image forming apparatus wherein the second unit is configured to be: positioned at the contact position before the pressed portion contacts the pressing member during attachment of the cartridge (fig.9a&b); and positioned at the separated position by being pressed by the pressing member when the cartridge reaches the attached position (fig.9e).
Regarding claim 23, Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) teach an image forming apparatus wherein the cartridge further includes an urging member connected to the first unit and the second unit (fig.2, #54) and configured to urge the second unit toward the contact position (para.0066), wherein the second unit is retained at the contact position by an urging force of the urging member in a state in which the pressed portion is not pressed by the pressing member (fig.9a-b), and wherein the second unit is moved toward the separated position against the urging force of the urging member in a state in which the pressed portion is pressed by the pressing member (fig.9e).
Regarding claim 24, Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) teach an image forming apparatus wherein the attaching direction is orthogonal to the first axis (fig.9a, direction #Y is orthogonal to #1A “into the page”), wherein the cartridge includes a first guided portion and a second guided portion (fig.7&8, #56L&R) configured to be guided by the guide portion of the apparatus body (fig.9c&d, fig.10c&d, #56L&R guided by #80L&R), and wherein the cartridge is configured to be attached to the apparatus body while the first guided portion and the second guided portion are supported by the guide portion (see fig.9c&d and fig.10c&d).
Regarding claim 27, Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) teach an image forming apparatus wherein, in a state in which the second unit is positioned at the contact position (fig.9f), when viewed in an axial direction along the first axis, the pressed portion protrudes further downward than a lower edge position of the image bearing member in a direction orthogonal to the attaching direction (fig.9f, lower edge of #46R is lower than bottom edge of #1).
Regarding claim 28, Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) teach an image forming apparatus wherein, in a state in which the second unit is positioned at the contact position (fig.9f), when viewed in an axial direction along the first axis: the swing axis and the pressed portion are arranged on opposite sides of a straight line that passes through the first axis and extends in the attaching direction (fig.9f, #49 and #46R opposites sides of line through #1A parallel to #Y); and the pressed portion, the swing axis, and the first axis are arranged in this order in the attaching direction (see fig.9f).
Regarding claim 29, Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) teach an image forming apparatus wherein the first unit includes a cover member forming a side face portion of the first unit on one side in an axial direction along the first axis and configured to rotatably support the image bearing member (fig.8, side cover face of #50 supports #31L; para.0063), wherein the second unit includes a bearing member configured to rotatably support the developer bearing member on the one side in the axial direction (fig.8, side face of 7a supports fig.2, #40; para.0062&0064), wherein the second unit is swingably supported by the cover member via the bearing member (fig.2, #48), and wherein the pressed portion is provided as a part of the bearing member (fig.8, #46 is part of #48).
Regarding claim 30, Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) teach an image forming apparatus wherein the cover member and the bearing member form a swing support portion by fitting a cylindrical portion provided on one of the cover member and the bearing member into a cylindrical hole portion provided on the other of the cover member and the bearing member, wherein the swing support portion defines the swing axis (fig.9, #49 in #48a within hole of #50), and wherein the bearing member includes the pressed portion and one of the cylindrical portion and the cylindrical hole portion (fig.8, #48 comprises #48a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) in view of Kawamura (US Pub.2007/0177899).
Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) teach all of the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 25 and 26 depend.
However, Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) fail to teach wherein the pressing member being a separation lever and the apparatus body further including a cam configured to move the separation lever.
Regarding claim 25, Kawamura (US Pub.2007/0177899) teaches an image forming apparatus of a substantially similar configuration as that of Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) (see fig.1) wherein the pressing member is a separation lever configured to press the pressed portion (fig.1&6-8, #80a1-#80c1), wherein the apparatus body further includes a cam configured to move the separation lever between the first position and the second position (fig.1&6-8, #93), and wherein the separation lever in the first position is retracted from the pressed portion (fig.6) and the separation lever in the second position presses the pressed portion (fig.7-8).
Regarding claim 26, Kawamura (US Pub.2007/0177899) teaches an image forming apparatus wherein the separation lever includes an inclined portion at an upstream end portion in the attaching direction (fig.9, see unlabeled inclined forward edge of #80a1-#80c1), and wherein the inclined portion is inclined so as to be away from the pressed portion toward an upstream side in the attaching direction in the state in which the separation lever is in the second position (see fig.7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the pressing member of Kanno et al. (US Pub.2006/0045566) by using the configuration as seen in Kawamura (US Pub.2007/0177899) because it is a known alternative in the art and is a simple structure for transmitting driving force to a developing roller (para.0007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kawanami (US Pub.2015/0301497) discloses a contact separation mechanism with a lever wherein the one edge is inclined in the attaching direction.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/LKR/
8/28/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852