DETAILED ACTION
This responds to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed 06/22/2026. Claims 1, 8, 15, and 21-23 have been amended. Claims 7, 14, 20 have been cancelled. Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-19, 21-23 are now pending in this Application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
There is no Terminal Disclaimer. The Examiner respectfully maintained the rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, 15-19, 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins et al (U.S. Patent No. 9,824,453), and Brahner et al (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0265037 A1), and further in view of Sakai et al (U.S. Pub No. 2011/0010667 A1).
As per claim 1, Collin discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a server from one or more sensors, first multimedia content showing one or more exterior aspects of a vehicle and vehicle-specific identifying information corresponding to the vehicle (Col 1 lines 63-67 through col 2 lines 1-4, Col 10 lines 24-49);
receiving second multimedia content showing one or more interior aspects of the vehicle (Col 8 lines 24-32, Col 12 lines 49-67);
determining, using a machine learning model trained for vehicle damage identification and based on the images data, one or more instances of damage to the vehicle and an extent of damage at each of the one or more instances of damage (Col 8 lines 33-67);
generating, for each of the one or more instances of damage and based on the extent of damage, at least one annotation indicating the extent of damage (Col 10 lines 12-26, col 12 line 10-67);
generating, based on the images data and based on the at least one annotation, an interactive multimedia content associated with the vehicle; and causing, through a user interface and responsive to a request, display of the interactive multimedia content of the vehicle (Col 13 lines 25-67).
Collin does not explicitly disclose multimedia content, generating, based on identification of one or more aspects of the vehicle in the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content, image data associated with the one or more aspects of the vehicle.
However, Brahner discloses multimedia content, generating, based on identification of one or more aspects of the vehicle in the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content, image data associated with the one or more aspects of the vehicle (par [0027, 0031, 0043-0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Brahner into the teaching of Collin in order to provide more information about vehicle.
Collin and Brahner do not explicitly disclose wherein the image data comprise modified background data based on background data of the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content.
However, Sakai discloses wherein the image data comprise modified background data based on background data of the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content (Par [0061-0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Sakai into the teaching of Collin as modified by Brahner in order to enhances user convenience (Par [0042]).
As per claim 2, Collin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the interactive multimedia content comprises an interior view of the vehicle and an exterior view of the vehicle (Col 8 lines 24-32, Col 12 lines 49-67).
As per claim 3, Collin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content are received from a staging system comprising one or more sensors and one or more light sources (Col 6 lines 25-33).
Collin does not explicitly disclose multimedia content.
However, Brahner discloses multimedia content (par [0027, 0031, 0043-0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Brahner into the teaching of Collin in order to provide more information about vehicle.
As per claim 4, Collin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the interactive multimedia content comprises a 360-degree image of the vehicle and a rotation feature such that a user may rotate the 360-degree image horizontally and vertically (Col 2 lines 5-12, Col 10 lines 12-26).
As per claim 5, Collin discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the 360-degree image of the vehicle comprises a 360-degree image of an interior view of the vehicle and a 360-degree image of an exterior view of the vehicle (Col 2 lines 5-12, Col 10 lines 12-26
As per claim 6, Collin discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, using the machine learning model and based on the one or more instances of damage and based on the extent of damage, a cost to repair each of the one or more instances of damage; and causing, based on generating the cost, display of the cost alongside the at least one annotation indicating the one or more instances of damage and the extent of damage at each of the one or more instances of damage (Col 8 lines 33-67, Col 10 lines 12-26, col 12 line 10-67).
As per claim 8, Collin discloses a device comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to: receive vehicle-specific identifying information corresponding to the vehicle (Col 1 lines 63-67 through col 2 lines 1-4);
receive, from one or more sensors first multimedia content showing one or more exterior aspects of the vehicle and vehicle-specific identifying information corresponding to the vehicle (Col 7 lines 59-67 through col 8 lines 1-12, Col 10 lines 24-49);
receive, second multimedia content showing, one or more interior aspects of the vehicle (Col 8 lines 24-32, Col 12 lines 49-67);
determine, using a machine learning model trained for vehicle damage identification and based on the image data, one or more instances of damage to the vehicle and an extent of damage at each of the one or more instances of damage (Col 8 lines 33-67);
generate, for each of the one or more instances of damage and based on the extent of damage, at least one annotation indicating the one or more instances of damage and the extent of damage (Col 10 lines 12-26, col 12 line 10-67);
generate, based on the images data and based on the at least one annotation, an interactive multimedia content associated with the vehicle; and cause, through a user interface and responsive to a request, display of the interactive multimedia content of the vehicle (Col 13 lines 25-67).
Collin does not explicitly disclose multimedia content, generating, based on identification of one or more aspects of the vehicle in the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content, image data associated with the one or more aspects of the vehicle.
However, Brahner discloses multimedia content, generating, based on identification of one or more aspects of the vehicle in the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content, image data associated with the one or more aspects of the vehicle (par [0027, 0031, 0043-0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Brahner into the teaching of Collin in order to provide more information about vehicle.
Collin and Brahner do not explicitly disclose wherein the image data comprise modified background data based on background data of the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content.
However, Sakai discloses wherein the image data comprise modified background data based on background data of the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content (Par [0061-0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Sakai into the teaching of Collin as modified by Brahner in order to enhances user convenience (Par [0042]).
As per claim 9, Collin discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the interactive multimedia content comprises an interior view of the vehicle and an exterior view of the vehicle (Col 8 lines 24-32, Col 12 lines 49-67).
As per claim 10, Collin discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content are received from a staging system comprising one or more sensors and one or more light sources (Col 6 lines 25-33).
As per claim 11, Collin discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the interactive multimedia content comprises a 360-degree image of the vehicle and a rotation feature such that a user may rotate the 360-degree image horizontally and vertically (Col 2 lines 5-12, Col 10 lines 12-26).
As per claim 12, Collin discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the 360-degree image of the vehicle comprises a 360-degree image of an interior view of the vehicle and a 360-degree image of an exterior view of the vehicle (Col 2 lines 5-12, Col 10 lines 12-26).
As per claim 13, Collin discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to: generate, based on the one or more instances of damage and the extent of damage, a cost to repair each of the one or more instances of damage; and cause, based on generating the cost, display of the cost alongside the at least one annotation indicating the one or more instances of damage and the extent of damage at each of the one or more instances of damage (Col 8 lines 33-67, Col 10 lines 12-26, col 12 line 10-67).
As per claim 15, Collin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause a server to:
receive, from one or more sensors, first multimedia content showing one or more exterior aspects of a vehicle and vehicle-specific identifying information corresponding to the vehicle (Col 1 lines 63-67 through col 2 lines 1-4, Col 10 lines 24-49);
receive second multimedia content showing one or more interior aspects of the vehicle , (Col 8 lines 24-32, Col 12 lines 49-67);
determine, using a machine learning mode trained for vehicle damage identification and based on the images data, one or more instances of damage to the vehicle and an extent of damage at each of the one or more instances of damage (Col 8 lines 33-67);
generate, for each of the one or more instances of damage and based on the extent of damage, at least one annotation indicating the one or more instances of damage and the extent of damage (Col 10 lines 12-26, col 12 line 10-67);
generate, based on the image data and based on the at least one annotation, an interactive multimedia content associated with the vehicle; and cause, through a user interface and responsive to a request, display of the interactive multimedia content of the vehicle (Col 13 lines 25-67).
However, Brahner discloses multimedia content, generating, based on identification of one or more aspects of the vehicle in the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content, image data associated with the one or more aspects of the vehicle (par [0027, 0031, 0043-0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Brahner into the teaching of Collin in order to provide more information about vehicle.
Collin and Brahner do not explicitly disclose wherein the image data comprise modified background data based on background data of the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content.
However, Sakai discloses wherein the image data comprise modified background data based on background data of the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content (Par [0061-0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Sakai into the teaching of Collin as modified by Brahner in order to enhances user convenience (Par [0042]).
As per claim 16, Collin discloses the non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the interactive multimedia content comprises an interior view of the vehicle and an exterior view of the vehicle.
As per claim 17, Collin discloses the non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the first multimedia content and the second multimedia content are received from a staging system comprising one or more sensors and one or more light sources (Col 8 lines 24-32, Col 12 lines 49-67).
As per claim 18, Collin discloses the non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the interactive multimedia content comprises a 360-degree image of the vehicle and a rotation feature such that a user may rotate the 360-degree image horizontally and vertically.
As per claim 19, Collin discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the server to:
generate, using the machine learning model and based on the one or more instances of damage and based on the extent of damage, a cost to repair each of the one or more instances of damage; and cause, based on generating the cost, display of the cost alongside the at least one annotation indicating the one or more instances of damage and the extent of damage at each of the one or more instances of damage (Col 8 lines 33-67, Col 10 lines 12-26, col 12 line 10-67).
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins et al (U.S. Patent No. 9,824,453), and Brahner et al (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0265037 A1), and further in view of Sakai et al (U.S. Pub No. 2011/0010667 A1), and further in view of Yagi et al (U.S. Pub No. 2011/0057783).
As per claim 21, Collins discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: multimedia image vehicle (Fig 6).
Collin, Brahner and Sakai do not explicitly disclose removing, by the server, the background data associated with the first multimedia; and partitioning, based on the removing, the first multimedia content into at least one portion associated with one or more aspects of the vehicle, wherein the image data associated with the first multimedia content is based on the partitioning.
However, Yagi discloses removing, by the server, the background data associated with the first multimedia; and partitioning, based on the removing, the first multimedia content into at least one portion associated with one or more aspects of the vehicle, wherein the image data associated with the first multimedia content is based on the partitioning (par [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Yagi into the teaching of Collin as modified by Brahner and Sakai in order to improve image quality (Par [0021]).
As per claim 22, Collins discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the device to: multimedia image vehicle (Fig 6).
Collin, Brahner and Sakai do not explicitly disclose removing, by the server, the background data associated with the first multimedia; and partitioning, based on the removing, the first multimedia content into at least one portion associated with one or more aspects of the vehicle, wherein the image data associated with the first multimedia content is based on the partitioning.
However, Yagi discloses removing, by the server, the background data associated with the first multimedia; and partitioning, based on the removing, the first multimedia content into at least one portion associated with one or more aspects of the vehicle, wherein the image data associated with the first multimedia content is based on the partitioning (par [0095]).
As per claim 23, Collins the non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the server to: multimedia image vehicle (Fig 6).
Collin, Brahner and Sakai do not explicitly disclose removing, by the server, the background data associated with the first multimedia; and partitioning, based on the removing, the first multimedia content into at least one portion associated with one or more aspects of the vehicle, wherein the image data associated with the first multimedia content is based on the partitioning.
However, Yagi discloses removing, by the server, the background data associated with the first multimedia; and partitioning, based on the removing, the first multimedia content into at least one portion associated with one or more aspects of the vehicle, wherein the image data associated with the first multimedia content is based on the partitioning (par [0095]).
Conclusion
June 26, 2026
/THU N NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2154