DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 03/04/2025. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 03/04/2025 accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al (US 7400304), hereinafter Lewis.
Regarding claim 1,
Lewis discloses a lens array (an antenna arrangement VSA, Fig 5b) comprising
a first lens element (a first lens element LE501, Fig 5b) comprising a first lens (a first lens 501, Fig 5b) arranged on a first plane (a horizontal plane HP521, Fig 5b);
a second lens element (a second lens element LE502, Fig 5b) comprising a second lens (a second lens 502, Fig 5b) arranged on a second plane (a horizontal plane HP522, Fig 5b); and
a third lens element (a third lens element LE511, Fig 5b);
a feed element (a feed element 541, Fig 5b) associated with one of the first lens, the second lens, or the third lens and not associated with the other two lenses;
wherein the first lens, second lens, and third lens are arranged such that radiation (a signal; col 4, lines 54-56) directed to or emitted from the feed element does not impinge the other two lenses (Fig 5b).
Lewis does not explicitly teach the signal is radiation.
However, it is well known in the art that a signal directed to or emitted from an antenna feed is radiation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a signal directed to or emitted from an antenna feed being radiation in Lewis, in order provide a low-profile multiple beam antenna operable providing at least hemispherical coverage.
[AltContent: textbox (Lewis (US 7400304))][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (z)][AltContent: textbox (y)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (x)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (VSA)]
[AltContent: textbox (HP521)][AltContent: textbox (Lewis (US 7400304))][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (signal2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (LE502)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (VSA)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (502)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (signal)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (542)][AltContent: textbox (541)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (signal)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (501)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (LE501)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (LE511)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (HP522)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lewis teaches the first plane is offset from the second plane by a first distance (a first distance D1, Fig 5b).
Regarding claim 3,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Lewis does not explicitly teach the first distance is at least equal to 50% of a height of the first lens from the first plane.
However, figure 5a of Lewis shows the first distance is at least equal to one diameter of a lens 51.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first distance being at least equal to 50% of a height of a first lens from a first plane in Lewis as modified, in order provide a low-profile multiple beam antenna operable providing at least hemispherical coverage.
Regarding claim 4,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Lewis does not explicitly teach the first distance is at most equal to 100% of a height of the first lens from the first plane.
However, figure 5a of Lewis shows the first distance is at least equal to one diameter of the first lens from the first plane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first distance being at most equal to 100% of a height of a first lens from a first plane in Lewis as modified, in order provide a low-profile multiple beam antenna operable providing at least hemispherical coverage.
Regarding claim 5,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Lewis teaches the first lens element and the second lens element are aligned on a third plane (a third plane on z-x plane, Fig 5a) that is perpendicular to the first plane (the first plane on x-y plane, Fig 5a).
Regarding claim 6,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lewis teaches the second lens element is offset from the first lens element by a first distance (a first distance D1, Fig 5b).
Regarding claim 7,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lewis teaches the first lens element, second lens element, and third lens element are aligned on a third plane (a third plane on z-x plane, Fig 5a) perpendicular to the first plane (the first plane on x-y plane, Fig 5a).
Regarding claim 8,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lewis teaches the third lens element is arranged along the first plane (the first plane on x-y plane, Fig 5a).
Regarding claim 9,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lewis teaches the first, second, and third lens element are aligned on a third plane (a third plane on z-x plane, Fig 5a) that is perpendicular to the first plane (the first plane on x-y plane, Fig 5a).
Regarding claim 10,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lewis teaches each of the first lens and the second lens comprises a Luneburg lens.
Regarding claim 11,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Lewis does not explicitly teach the first lens element is configured to transmit and receive signals in microwave or radio frequencies.
However, Lewis teaches in one particular type of large array of full or half Luneburg lenses, it has been proposed to build a radiometer with exceptionally high gain. The antenna in that case was designed to operate at low microwave frequencies, typically less than around 5 GHz (col 1, lines 55-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first lens element being configured to transmit and receive signals in microwave or radio frequencies in Lewis as modified, in order provide a low-profile multiple beam antenna operable providing at least hemispherical coverage.
Regarding claim 12,
Lewis discloses a method of providing an electromagnetic frequency (EM) transceiver (an antenna arrangement VSA, Fig 5b), comprising:
disposing a first lens (a first lens 501, Fig 5b) on a first plane (a horizontal plane HP521, Fig 5b), a second lens (a second lens 502, Fig 5b) on a second plane (a horizontal plane HP522, Fig 5b), and a third lens (a third lens element LE511, Fig 5b) on a third plane (a third plane on z-x plane, Fig 5a); and
disposing, on a first surface area of the first lens, a first feed element (a feed element 541, Fig 5b) configured to emit a first EM signal (a signal; col 4, lines 54-56) through the first lens, wherein the first lens, second lens, and third lens are arranged offset from each other such that the first EM signal does not impinge the second lens or third lens (Fig 5b).
Lewis does not explicitly teach the signal is an EM signal.
However, it is well known in the art that a signal injected into a dielectric lens by an antenna feed is an electromagnetic signal (EM signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a signal injected into a dielectric lens by an antenna feed being an EM signal in Lewis, in order provide a low-profile multiple beam antenna operable providing at least hemispherical coverage.
Regarding claim 13,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Lewis teaches disposing, on a second surface area of the second lens, a second feed element (a feed element 542, Fig 5b) configured to transmit a second EM signal (a signal2, Fig 5b) through the second lens.
Regarding claim 14,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Lewis teaches the first plane is offset from the second plane by a first distance (a first distance D1, Fig 5b).
Regarding claim 15,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 14.
Lewis does not explicitly teach the first distance is at least equal to 50% of a height of the first lens from the first plane.
However, figure 5a of Lewis shows the first distance is at least equal to one diameter of a lens 51.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first distance being at least equal to 50% of a height of a first lens from a first plane in Lewis as modified, in order provide a low-profile multiple beam antenna operable providing at least hemispherical coverage.
Regarding claim 16,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Lewis teaches each of the first and second lens comprises a Luneburg lens.
Regarding claim 17,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Lewis teaches the first lens is offset from the second lens by a first distance (a first distance D1, Fig 5b).
Regarding claim 18,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Lewis teaches the first lens, second lens, and third lens are aligned on the third plane, and wherein the third plane is perpendicular to the first plane (Fig 5a).
Regarding claim 19,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Lewis does not explicitly teach one of the first lens, second lens, or third lens is configured to transmit and receive signals in microwave or radio frequencies.
However, Lewis teaches in one particular type of large array of full or half Luneburg lenses, it has been proposed to build a radiometer with exceptionally high gain. The antenna in that case was designed to operate at low microwave frequencies, typically less than around 5 GHz (col 1, lines 55-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one of a first lens, second lens, or third lens being configured to transmit and receive signals in microwave or radio frequencies in Lewis as modified, in order provide a low-profile multiple beam antenna operable providing at least hemispherical coverage.
Regarding claim 20,
Lewis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Lewis teaches the third lens is arranged along the first plane (the first plane on x-y plane, Fig 5a).
Double Patenting
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Non Provisional Rejection, Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 of US Application 19069641 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-9 of US Patent 10923828.
US Application 19069641
Claim 1, A lens array comprising
a first lens element comprising a first lens arranged on a first plane;
a second lens element comprising a second lens arranged on a second plane; and
a third lens element;
a feed element associated with one of the first lens, the second lens, or the third lens and not associated with the other two lenses;
wherein the first lens, second lens, and third lens are arranged such that radiation directed to or emitted from the feed element does not impinge the other two lenses.
Claim 2, The lens array of claim 1, wherein the first plane is offset from the second plane by a first distance.
Claim 3, The lens array of claim 2, wherein the first distance is at least equal to 50% of a height of the first lens from the first plane.
Claim 4, The lens array of claim 2, wherein the first distance is at most equal to 100% of a height of the first lens from the first plane.
Claim 5, The lens array of claim 2, wherein the first lens element and the second lens element are aligned on a third plane that is perpendicular to the first plane.
Claim 6, The lens array of claim 1, wherein the second lens element is offset from the first lens element by a first distance.
Claim 7, The lens array of claim 1, wherein the first lens element, second lens element, and third lens element are aligned on a third plane perpendicular to the first plane.
Claim 8, The lens array of claim 1, the third lens element is arranged along the first plane.
Claim 9, The lens array of claim 1, wherein the first, second, and third lens element are aligned on a third plane that is perpendicular to the first plane.
Claim 10, The lens array of claim 1, wherein each of the first lens and the second lens comprises a Luneburg lens.
Claim 11, The lens array of claim 1, wherein the first lens element is configured to transmit and receive signals in microwave or radio frequencies.
Claim 12, A method of providing an electromagnetic frequency (EM) transceiver, comprising:
disposing a first lens on a first plane, a second lens on a second plane, and a third lens on a third plane; and
disposing, on a first surface area of the first lens, a first feed element configured to emit a first EM signal through the first lens;
wherein the first lens, second lens, and third lens are arranged offset from each other such that the first EM signal does not impinge the second lens or third lens.
Claim 13, The method of claim 12, further comprising disposing, on a second surface area of the second lens, a second feed element configured to transmit a second EM signal through the second lens.
Claim 14, The method of claim 12, wherein the first plane is offset from the second plane by a first distance.
Claim 15, The lens array of claim 14, wherein the first distance is at least equal to 50% of a height of the first lens from the first plane.
Claim 16, The method of claim 12, wherein each of the first and second lens comprises a Luneburg lens.
Claim 17, The method of claim 12, wherein the first lens is offset from the second lens by a first distance.
Claim 18, The method of claim 12, wherein the first lens, second lens, and third lens are aligned on the third plane, and wherein the third plane is perpendicular to the first plane.
Claim 19, The method of claim 12, wherein one of the first lens, second lens, or third lens is configured to transmit and receive signals in microwave or radio frequencies.
Claim 20, The method of claim 12, wherein the third lens is arranged along the first plane.
US Patent 10923828
Claim 1, A lens array comprising
a first lens element comprising a first lens and a first feed element, wherein the first lens element is arranged on a first plane parallel to a ground; and
a second lens element juxtaposed with the first lens element and comprising a second lens and a second feed element, wherein the second lens element is arranged on a second plane parallel to the ground and to the first plane, wherein the second plane is offset perpendicularly from the first plane by a distance;
wherein the distance between the first plane and the second plane is sufficiently large that electromagnetic radiation directed to or emitted from the first feed element does not impinge upon the second lens element; and
wherein the first lens element and the second lens element are aligned on a third plane that is perpendicular to both the first and second planes.
Claim 5, The lens array of claim 4, wherein radiation directed to or emitted from the second feed element does not impinge upon the first lens or impinge upon the third lens.
Claim 1, A lens array comprising
wherein the second plane is offset perpendicularly from the first plane by a distance.
Claim 2, The lens array of claim 1, wherein the distance is at least equal to 50% of a height of the first lens from the first plane.
Claim 3, The lens array of claim 1, wherein the distance is at most equal to 100% of a height of the first lens from the first plane.
Claim 1, A lens array comprising
wherein the first lens element and the second lens element are aligned on a third plane that is perpendicular to both the first and second planes.
Claim 1, A lens array comprising
wherein the second plane is offset perpendicularly from the first plane by a distance.
Claim 7, The lens array of claim 4, wherein the first, second, and third lens element are aligned on the third plane that is perpendicular to both the first and second planes.
Claim 4, The lens array of claim 1, wherein the third lens element is arranged on the first plane with a space between the first lens element and the third lens element.
Claim 7, The lens array of claim 4, wherein the first, second, and third lens element are aligned on the third plane that is perpendicular to both the first and second planes.
Claim 8, The lens array of claim 1, wherein each of the first lens and the second lens comprises a Luneburg lens.
Claim 9, The lens array of claim 1, wherein the first lens element and the second lens element are configured to transmit and receive signals in microwave or radio frequencies.
Claim 1, A lens array comprising
a first lens element comprising a first lens and a first feed element, wherein the first lens element is arranged on a first plane parallel to a ground; and
a second lens element juxtaposed with the first lens element and comprising a second lens and a second feed element, wherein the second lens element is arranged on a second plane parallel to the ground and to the first plane, wherein the second plane is offset perpendicularly from the first plane by a distance;
wherein the distance between the first plane and the second plane is sufficiently large that electromagnetic radiation directed to or emitted from the first feed element does not impinge upon the second lens element; and
wherein the first lens element and the second lens element are aligned on a third plane that is perpendicular to both the first and second planes.
Claim 5, The lens array of claim 4, wherein radiation directed to or emitted from the second feed element does not impinge upon the first lens or impinge upon the third lens.
Claim 5, The lens array of claim 4, wherein radiation directed to or emitted from the second feed element does not impinge upon the first lens or impinge upon the third lens.
Claim 1, A lens array comprising
wherein the second plane is offset perpendicularly from the first plane by a distance.
Claim 2, The lens array of claim 1, wherein the distance is at least equal to 50% of a height of the first lens from the first plane.
Claim 8, The lens array of claim 1, wherein each of the first lens and the second lens comprises a Luneburg lens.
Claim 1, A lens array comprising
wherein the second plane is offset perpendicularly from the first plane by a distance.
Claim 7, The lens array of claim 4, wherein the first, second, and third lens element are aligned on the third plane that is perpendicular to both the first and second planes.
Claim 9, The lens array of claim 1, wherein the first lens element and the second lens element are configured to transmit and receive signals in microwave or radio frequencies.
Claim 4, The lens array of claim 1, wherein the third lens element is arranged on the first plane with a space between the first lens element and the third lens element.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845