DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 8/5/2026 is acknowledged. The applicant has indicated that claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-14 and 18-20 read on the elected species. However, it appears that Claims 6-7 and 14 more appropriately read on a non-elected Species V (Fig. 11C). Accordingly, Claims 3, 6-7, 11, 14-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 8-10, 12-13 and 18-20 are being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted 5/30/2025 and 8/4/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
Figs. 1A-B, 5A-B should be designated by a legend such as --PRIOR ART-- or --RELATED ART-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 19, respectively, of co-pending Application No. 19/069,666 (“Reference Application”), corresponding to U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0300629. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the identified claims of the Reference Application recite substantially the same limitations recited in the identified claims of the present application. The following charts identify which claims from the present application correspond to conflicting claims of the Reference Application.
Present Application
Reference Application
Claim 1: An acoustic wave device comprising:
Claim 9: A multi-mode surface acoustic wave device comprising: A multi-mode surface acoustic wave device comprising:
a piezoelectric layer;
[inherent in the surface acoustic wave device]
an interdigital transducer electrode over the piezoelectric layer, the interdigital transducer electrode including a first bus bar, a first set of fingers extending from the first bus bar, a second bus bar, and a second set of fingers extending from the second bus bar
a first interdigital transducer electrode including a first bus bar and a first finger extending from the first bus bar;
a second interdigital transducer including a second bus bar and a second finger extending from the second bus bar; and
a conductive structure including a first portion positioned on the first bus bar and a second portion at least partially positioned over the first set of fingers, the second portion spaced from the first set of fingers by a gap.
a conductive structure including a first portion positioned on the first bus bar, a second portion at least partially positioned over the first finger, and a third portion positioned on the second bus bar, the second portion extends between the first and third portions and spaced from the first finger by a gap.
Present Application
Reference Application
Claim 19: A surface acoustic wave device comprising:
Claim 18: A multi-mode surface acoustic wave device comprising:
a piezoelectric layer;
[inherent in the surface acoustic wave device]
an interdigital transducer electrode over the piezoelectric layer; and
a first interdigital transducer electrode including an active region;
a second interdigital transducer electrode longitudinally positioned from the first interdigital transducer electrode; and
a conductive structure electrically connected to a terminal of the interdigital transducer electrode and partially positioned over an active region of the interdigital transducer electrode, the conductive structure spaced from the interdigital transducer electrode by an air gap.
a conductive structure electrically connecting the first and second interdigital transducer electrodes, at least a portion of the conductive structure being positioned over and spaced apart from the active region of the first interdigital transducer electrode;
Claim 19: wherein the portion of the conductive structure is spaced apart from the active region by an air gap.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. The identified claims of the Reference Application recite additional limitations and therefore meet the identified claims of the present application under an “anticipation” analysis in the provisional double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 10, 12-13, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0364306, filed 3/7/2022 (“Fujimori”).
Fujimori discloses in Figs. 1-4, 11 and the corresponding description:
Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 10, 12-13, 18-19
An acoustic wave device (Figs. 1-3, acoustic wave device 1, ¶¶24-45) comprising:
a piezoelectric layer (Figs. 2-3, piezoelectric substrate 100, ¶37, made of lithium tantalate or lithium niobate) ;
an interdigital transducer electrode (120) over the piezoelectric layer, the interdigital transducer electrode including a first bus bar (Fig. 4, D2), a first set of fingers extending from the first bus bar, a second bus bar (D1), and a second set of fingers extending from the second bus bar (Fig. 4, ¶39).
a conductive structure (Figs. 2-3, shield layer 145, ¶44-45) including a first portion positioned on the first bus bar (¶45) and a second portion at least partially positioned over the first set of fingers (Fig. 2, shield layer is positioned over the entire IDT 120), the second portion spaced from the first set of fingers by a gap (¶44, shield layer 145 is disposed in the hollow space 171; Fig. 9, ¶¶61-63).
Because Fujimori discloses that “one electrode D2 of the resonator 120 of the parallel arm resonator is connected to the shield layer 145” (¶45), at least the connection portion of the shield layer is positioned on the first bus bar D2. Because Fujimori discloses that the shield layer 145 is positioned over the entire IDT 120, at least a portion (“second portion”) of the shield layer 145 is positioned the first set of fingers and the active region.
Regarding claim 18, Fujimori discloses another acoustic wave device (Figs. 1-2, ¶32, two acoustic wave devices 120; Fig. 11, second acoustic wave device 125, ¶¶68-76).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimori in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0267968, published 8/29/2019 (“Hamatani”).
Regarding Claim 8, Fujimori discloses all the limitations except “a first reflector and a second reflector, the interdigital transducer electrode positioned between the first and second reflectors.”
However, Hamatani, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a similar surface acoustic wave resonator comprising an interdigital transducer electrode 23 located between first and second reflectors 25 (Fig. 1). Hamatani teaches that having the reflectors on both sides of the interdigital transducer electrode provides the benefit of improving the reflection coefficient for the resonator (¶55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the acoustic wave device of Fujimori by adding reflectors on both sides of each of the interdigital transducer electrode for the benefit of improving the reflection coefficient for the respective resonator, as taught by Hamatani (¶55).
Regarding Claim 9, Fujimori in view of Hamatani discloses wherein the second portion is at least partially positioned over the first reflector because the shield layer of Fujimori is positioned over the entire IDT (Fujimori, Figs. 2-3)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimori in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0131347, published 5/10/2018 (“Rhee”).
Regarding Claim 20, Fujimori discloses all the limitations except a second acoustic wave device spaced from the surface acoustic wave device by a distance in a range between 1 micrometer and 20 micrometers.
However, Rhee, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a plurality of acoustic resonators (MR1, MR2 and M3) spaced apart from each other (Fig. 1). Rhee teaches that a distance between adjacent resonators can be several micrometers apart (¶49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the acoustic wave device of Fujimori by setting the distances between adjacent resonators (i.e. including the first and second resonators) to be in the range of several micrometers (i.e. several micrometers being in a range between 1 micrometer and 20 micrometers) because such a modification would have been an obvious design consideration to achieve a desired layout, with a distance being several micrometers being an acceptable range for acoustic wave resonators (Rhee, ¶49).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0028767, published 1/28/2021 (“Sugaya”) discloses an acoustic wave device 111s including a piezoelectric layer 31, IDT 32 and a conductive structure 352 (Figs. 1-3).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0346463, published 11/30/2017 (“Hatakeyama”) discloses an acoustic wave device 12 including a piezoelectric layer 10b, IDT 15, reflectors 16, and a conductive structure 37 (Figs. 1-3).
/VICTOR COLE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843