DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the above identified application filed on April 20, 2026. The application contains claims 1-20.
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 11, 14, 15, and 18 are amended
Claims 1-20 are pending
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on April 20, 2026 have been fully considered and the objections and rejections are updated accordingly.
Specification
In view of the amendments to the specification, the objections to the specification are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
In view of the amendments to the claims, the claim objections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of the amendments to the claims, the 35 USC § 112 claim rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s amendments to the claims do not overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections to claims 1-20 for being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the new limitations introduced with the amendments are addressed with new rationale. Please refer to the updated 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections as set forth below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In response to Applicant’s arguments with respect to the new limitations introduced with the amendments “for reuse in the data dictionary to limit growth of primary key IDs in the data dictionary”, the examiner notes this limitation is taught by the previously cited reference ZHENG et al. (US 20210117443 A1) as explained in the previous office action and further enhanced in the updated 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The 2019 PEG guidance for subject matter eligibility is applied in the following analyses:
At Step 1
The inventions of claims 1, 8, and 15 are directed to the statutory categories of a process (claims 1-7), a machine (claims 8-14), and a manufacture (claims 15-20). Thus, the claimed invention is directed to statutory subject matter.
The following analysis refers to representative claim 1, but the same analysis applies to independent claims 8 and 15, which recite similar limitations.
At Step 2A, Prong One
Claims 1, 8, and 15 each recite abstract ideas in the following limitations:
“in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold: deleting the key-value pair”. Both determining that a deadline is approaching and deleting expiring data can be practically performed in the human mind. Therefore, this limitation may be characterized as a mental process.
At Step 2A, Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims recite the additional elements of:
“obtaining maintenance duration of a key-value pair maintained by a data dictionary, wherein a key of the key-value pair comprises a primary key comprised in a data record stored in a database, a value of the key-value pair comprises a primary key identifier (ID) obtained by mapping the primary key” may be characterized as insignificant extra-solution activity, particularly preliminary data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
“writing the primary key ID into a list of IDs to be allocated for reuse in the data dictionary to limit growth of primary key IDs in the data dictionary”. The element “for reuse in the data dictionary” recites the intended use of the list of IDs, and the element “to limit growth of primary key IDs in the data dictionary” recites the natural result of the reusing. Recited at a high level of generality, this limitation may be characterized as insignificant extra-solution activity, particularly post-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
“at least one processor” (claims 8 and 15) and “a memory” (claim 8) may be characterized as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
At Step 2B
Claims 1, 8, and 15 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above the additional elements constitute a high-level recitation of a generic computer components which represent mere instructions to apply on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activities including preliminary data gathering and post-solution activity.
As per MPEP 2106.05(II), at Step 2B the conclusions for these additional elements under MPEP §§ 2106.05(a) - (c), (e) (f) and (h) from Step 2A Prong Two are carried over and they do not provide significantly more. The additional elements from Step 2A Prong Two considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity per MPEP § 2106.05(g) are re-evaluated as follows:
“obtaining maintenance duration of a key-value pair maintained by a data dictionary, wherein a key of the key-value pair comprises a primary key comprised in a data record stored in a database, a value of the key-value pair comprises a primary key identifier (ID) obtained by mapping the primary key”. Obtaining maintenance duration is claimed at a high level of generality and as insignificant extra-solution activities. The courts have found these functions as well understood and routine activities, see MPEP 2106.05(d) [Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information)].
“writing the primary key ID into a list of IDs to be allocated for reuse in the data dictionary to limit growth of primary key IDs in the data dictionary” are claimed at a high level of generality and as insignificant extra-solution activities. The courts have found these functions as well understood and routine activities, see MPEP 2106.05(d) [Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93].
Even when considered in combination, these additional elements do not provide an inventive concept or significantly more.
Therefore, claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Dependent claims 2, 9, and 16 each recite additional elements of “determining the maintenance duration of the key-value pair based on a difference between the latest use moment indicated by the timestamp and a current moment”. Similar to the independent claims above, this “determining …” can be practically performed in the human mind. Therefore, this limitation may be characterized as a mental process.
Dependent claims 3-5, 10-12, and 17-19 each recite additional elements elaborating on the further details of the abstract idea of “determining” in independent claims 1, 8, and 15 that are still mentally performable.
Dependent claims 6, 13, and 20 each recite additional elements of “in response to determining that the second key-value pair exists, updating a timestamp in a value of the second key-value pair to update a latest use moment of the second key-value pair to a current moment”. Similar to the independent claims above, this “determining …” can be practically performed in the human mind. Therefore, this limitation may be characterized as a mental process. The additional elements of “obtaining a new data record; retrieving the data dictionary to determine whether a second key-value pair corresponding to a primary key of the new data record exists” constitute insignificant extra-solution activity, particularly preliminary data gathering, in Step 2A Prong Two analysis, see MPEP 2106.05(g). In Step 2B analysis, the additional elements are well understood, routine, and conventional under 2106.05(d)(ii) as discussed with respect to independent claims 1, 8, and 15 above.
Dependent claims 7 and 14 each recite additional elements that generally link the abstract idea to a technological area – a distributed graph database, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Therefore, dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are also rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG & LIU (CN114329633A, 2021-12-31), in view of ZHENG et al. (US 20210117443 A1).
With regard to claim 1,
WANG & LIU teaches
a method for data maintenance (Page 1, Abstract), comprising:
obtaining maintenance duration of a key-value pair maintained by a data dictionary (Page 3, lines 14-17 & 29-30; Page 4, lines 4-7; Page 8, lines 27-42; Page 9, lines 25-30: obtain the key value and valid time corresponding to the key. Page 6, lines 21-29 & 38-42; Page 7, lines 4-6; Page 8, lines 27-42: data is stored in the form of key-value pair data in the data dictionary), wherein … a value of the key-value pair comprises a primary key identifier (ID) obtained by mapping the primary key (Page 6, lines 38-42; Page 7, lines 4-6; Page 8, lines 27-42: the value of the key-value pair includes a data identifier that is generated for the stored data and corresponds to the key, wherein the data identifier is “a primary key ID” of the stored data); and
in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold (Page 3, lines 14-17 & 31-33; Page 4, lines 4-7; Page 8, lines 27-42; Page 9, lines 27-30: verify whether the key value has expired based on the valid time):
WANG & LIU does not teach
wherein a key of the key-value pair comprises a primary key comprised in a data record stored in a database,
in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold:
deleting the key-value pair; and
writing the primary key ID into a list of IDs to be allocated for reuse in the data dictionary to limit growth of primary key IDs in the data dictionary.
ZHENG teaches
wherein a key of the key-value pair comprises a primary key comprised in a data record stored in a database (Fig. 2; [0037]; [0051]: the key ID may be a pointer or other reference that uniquely identifies the corresponding value, wherein storage nodes 202-212 in Fig. 2 are examples of a database),
in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold: deleting the key-value pair; and writing the primary key ID into a list of IDs to be allocated for reuse in the data dictionary to limit growth of primary key IDs in the data dictionary (Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0056]: delete the local copy of the unsuccessful key-value entry, and place the key ID in the removal list 218. The placement of the key ID in the removal list 218 enables the management server 142 to recycle the key IDs for future data, thereby avoiding the need to generate an extremely large number of key IDs for data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WANG & LIU to incorporate the teachings of ZHENG delete the key-value pair and write the primary key ID into a list of IDs to be allocated in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold wherein a key of the key-value pair comprises a primary key comprised in a data record stored in a database. Doing so would avoid the need to generate an extremely large number of key IDs for data—the key IDs associated with unsuccessful key-value entries can be recycled for use for other data as taught by ZHENG ([0056]).
With regard to claim 2,
As discussed regarding claim 1, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the method according to claim 1, wherein the value of the key-value pair further comprises a timestamp indicating a latest use moment of the key-value pair; and the obtaining maintenance duration of the key-value pair comprises:
determining the maintenance duration of the key-value pair based on a difference between the latest use moment indicated by the timestamp and a current moment (Page 6, lines 30-37: set the effective time of the target data when storing the target data and identify a piece of data as normal available data if it is within a specific period of time, otherwise, considers it to be expired and unusable. Page 2, Background technique: using timestamp to add timeliness to stored data was in the prior art).
With regard to claim 3,
As discussed regarding claim 2, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the method according to claim 2, wherein the value of the key-value pair is a value obtained by concatenating the primary key ID and the timestamp (Page 8, lines 27-42: the encapsulated V value includes the generated id identifier of the target data and the valid time. As the sole role of the timestamp is to determine whether or not the stored data has expired, the format of its storage is of no patentable significance, and it is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the timestamp in various forms for the same purpose including concatenating the primary key ID and the timestamp).
With regard to claim 4,
As discussed regarding claim 1, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the method according to claim 1, wherein the key-value pair is stored in the data dictionary in a data structure of a dictionary object, and wherein the primary key ID is a dictionary character string corresponding to the primary key and obtained by performing dictionary mapping on the primary key (due to the indefiniteness as discussed in the 112(b) rejections above, this limitation is broadly interpreted to mean obtaining the primary key ID via a map to the primary key, which is taught in Page 6, lines 38-42; Page 7, lines 4-6; Page 8, lines 27-42 as discussed in the parent claim).
With regard to claim 5,
As discussed regarding claim 4, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the method according to claim 4, wherein the dictionary character string is a numeric character string (Page 8, lines 43-44: the data types of the target data Key and Value can support all basic data types, including but not limited to String, Int, Float, Double, Char, Boolean, and Long data types, wherein Int and Long data types are examples of a numeric character string).
With regard to claim 8,
WANG & LIU teaches
an electronic device (Page 1, Abstract), comprising:
at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor (Page 3, lines 34-35: a processor and a memory) storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
obtaining maintenance duration of a key-value pair maintained by a data dictionary (Page 3, lines 14-17 & 29-30; Page 4, lines 4-7; Page 8, lines 27-42; Page 9, lines 25-30: obtain the key value and valid time corresponding to the key. Page 6, lines 21-29 & 38-42; Page 7, lines 4-6; Page 8, lines 27-42: data is stored in the form of key-value pair data in the data dictionary), wherein … a value of the key-value pair comprises a primary key identifier (ID) obtained by mapping the primary key (Page 6, lines 38-42; Page 7, lines 4-6; Page 8, lines 27-42: the value of the key-value pair includes a data identifier that is generated for the stored data and corresponds to the key, wherein the data identifier is “a primary key ID” of the stored data); and
in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold (Page 3, lines 14-17 & 31-33; Page 4, lines 4-7; Page 8, lines 27-42; Page 9, lines 27-30: verify whether the key value has expired based on the valid time):
WANG & LIU does not teach
wherein a key of the key-value pair comprises a primary key comprised in a data record stored in a database,
in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold:
deleting the key-value pair; and
writing the primary key ID into a list of IDs to be allocated for reuse in the data dictionary to limit growth of primary key IDs in the data dictionary.
ZHENG teaches
wherein a key of the key-value pair comprises a primary key comprised in a data record stored in a database (Fig. 2; [0037]; [0051]: the key ID may be a pointer or other reference that uniquely identifies the corresponding value, wherein storage nodes 202-212 in Fig. 2 are examples of a database),
in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold: deleting the key-value pair; and writing the primary key ID into a list of IDs to be allocated for reuse in the data dictionary to limit growth of primary key IDs in the data dictionary (Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0056]: delete the local copy of the unsuccessful key-value entry, and place the key ID in the removal list 218. The placement of the key ID in the removal list 218 enables the management server 142 to recycle the key IDs for future data, thereby avoiding the need to generate an extremely large number of key IDs for data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WANG & LIU to incorporate the teachings of ZHENG delete the key-value pair and write the primary key ID into a list of IDs to be allocated in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold wherein a key of the key-value pair comprises a primary key comprised in a data record stored in a database. Doing so would avoid the need to generate an extremely large number of key IDs for data—the key IDs associated with unsuccessful key-value entries can be recycled for use for other data as taught by ZHENG ([0056]).
With regard to claim 9,
As discussed regarding claim 8, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the value of the key-value pair further comprises a timestamp indicating a latest use moment of the key-value pair; and the obtaining maintenance duration of the key-value pair comprises:
determining the maintenance duration of the key-value pair based on a difference between the latest use moment indicated by the timestamp and a current moment (Page 6, lines 30-37: set the effective time of the target data when storing the target data and identify a piece of data as normal available data if it is within a specific period of time, otherwise, considers it to be expired and unusable. Page 2, Background technique: using timestamp to add timeliness to stored data was in the prior art).
With regard to claim 10,
As discussed regarding claim 9, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the value of the key-value pair is a value obtained by concatenating the primary key ID and the timestamp (Page 8, lines 27-42: the encapsulated V value includes the generated id identifier of the target data and the valid time. As the sole role of the timestamp is to determine whether or not the stored data has expired, the format of its storage is of no patentable significance, and it is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the timestamp in various forms for the same purpose including concatenating the primary key ID and the timestamp).
With regard to claim 11,
As discussed regarding claim 8, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the key-value pair is stored in the data dictionary in a data structure of a dictionary object, and wherein the primary key ID is a dictionary character string corresponding to the primary key and obtained by performing dictionary mapping on the primary key (due to the indefiniteness as discussed in the 112(b) rejections above, this limitation is broadly interpreted to mean obtaining the primary key ID via a map to the primary key, which is taught in Page 6, lines 38-42; Page 7, lines 4-6; Page 8, lines 27-42 as discussed in the parent claim).
With regard to claim 12,
As discussed regarding claim 11, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the electronic device according to claim 11, wherein the dictionary character string is a numeric character string (Page 8, lines 43-44: the data types of the target data Key and Value can support all basic data types, including but not limited to String, Int, Float, Double, Char, Boolean, and Long data types, wherein Int and Long data types are examples of a numeric character string).
With regard to claim 15,
WANG & LIU teaches
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions for execution by at least one processor (Page 3, lines 34-35: a processor and a memory) to perform operations comprising:
obtaining maintenance duration of a key-value pair maintained by a data dictionary (Page 3, lines 14-17 & 29-30; Page 4, lines 4-7; Page 8, lines 27-42; Page 9, lines 25-30: obtain the key value and valid time corresponding to the key. Page 6, lines 21-29 & 38-42; Page 7, lines 4-6; Page 8, lines 27-42: data is stored in the form of key-value pair data in the data dictionary), wherein … a value of the key-value pair comprises a primary key identifier (ID) obtained by mapping the primary key (Page 6, lines 38-42; Page 7, lines 4-6; Page 8, lines 27-42: the value of the key-value pair includes a data identifier that is generated for the stored data and corresponds to the key, wherein the data identifier is “a primary key ID” of the stored data); and
in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold (Page 3, lines 14-17 & 31-33; Page 4, lines 4-7; Page 8, lines 27-42; Page 9, lines 27-30: verify whether the key value has expired based on the valid time):
WANG & LIU does not teach
wherein a key of the key-value pair comprises a primary key comprised in a data record stored in a database,
in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold:
deleting the key-value pair; and
writing the primary key ID into a list of IDs to be allocated for reuse in the data dictionary to limit growth of primary key IDs in the data dictionary.
ZHENG teaches
wherein a key of the key-value pair comprises a primary key comprised in a data record stored in a database (Fig. 2; [0037]; [0051]: the key ID may be a pointer or other reference that uniquely identifies the corresponding value, wherein storage nodes 202-212 in Fig. 2 are examples of a database),
in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold: deleting the key-value pair; and writing the primary key ID into a list of IDs to be allocated for reuse in the data dictionary to limit growth of primary key IDs in the data dictionary (Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0056]: delete the local copy of the unsuccessful key-value entry, and place the key ID in the removal list 218. The placement of the key ID in the removal list 218 enables the management server 142 to recycle the key IDs for future data, thereby avoiding the need to generate an extremely large number of key IDs for data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WANG & LIU to incorporate the teachings of ZHENG delete the key-value pair and write the primary key ID into a list of IDs to be allocated in response to determining that the maintenance duration reaches a predetermined duration threshold wherein a key of the key-value pair comprises a primary key comprised in a data record stored in a database. Doing so would avoid the need to generate an extremely large number of key IDs for data—the key IDs associated with unsuccessful key-value entries can be recycled for use for other data as taught by ZHENG ([0056]).
With regard to claim 16,
As discussed regarding claim 15, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein the value of the key-value pair further comprises a timestamp indicating a latest use moment of the key-value pair; and the obtaining maintenance duration of the key-value pair comprises:
determining the maintenance duration of the key-value pair based on a difference between the latest use moment indicated by the timestamp and a current moment (Page 6, lines 30-37: set the effective time of the target data when storing the target data and identify a piece of data as normal available data if it is within a specific period of time, otherwise, considers it to be expired and unusable. Page 2, Background technique: using timestamp to add timeliness to stored data was in the prior art).
With regard to claim 17,
As discussed regarding claim 16, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 16, wherein the value of the key-value pair is a value obtained by concatenating the primary key ID and the timestamp (Page 8, lines 27-42: the encapsulated V value includes the generated id identifier of the target data and the valid time. As the sole role of the timestamp is to determine whether or not the stored data has expired, the format of its storage is of no patentable significance, and it is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the timestamp in various forms for the same purpose including concatenating the primary key ID and the timestamp).
With regard to claim 18,
As discussed regarding claim 15, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein the key-value pair is stored in the data dictionary in a data structure of a dictionary object, and wherein the primary key ID is a dictionary character string corresponding to the primary key and obtained by performing dictionary mapping on the primary key (due to the indefiniteness as discussed in the 112(b) rejections above, this limitation is broadly interpreted to mean obtaining the primary key ID via a map to the primary key, which is taught in Page 6, lines 38-42; Page 7, lines 4-6; Page 8, lines 27-42 as discussed in the parent claim).
With regard to claim 19,
As discussed regarding claim 18, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 18, wherein the dictionary character string is a numeric character string (Page 8, lines 43-44: the data types of the target data Key and Value can support all basic data types, including but not limited to String, Int, Float, Double, Char, Boolean, and Long data types, wherein Int and Long data types are examples of a numeric character string).
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG & LIU (CN114329633A, 2021-12-31), in view of ZHENG et al. (US 20210117443 A1), and in further view of Shivanna et al. (US 20200394196 A1).
With regard to claim 6,
As discussed regarding claim 1, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the method according to claim 1, wherein the key-value pair is a first key-value pair, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining a new data record; retrieving the data dictionary to determine whether a second key-value pair corresponding to a primary key of the new data record exists (in the same manner as discussed in the parent claim);
WANG & LIU and ZHENG do not teach
in response to determining that the second key-value pair exists, updating a timestamp in a value of the second key-value pair to update a latest use moment of the second key-value pair to a current moment.
Shivanna teaches
in response to determining that the second key-value pair exists, updating a timestamp in a value of the second key-value pair to update a latest use moment of the second key-value pair to a current moment ([0021]; [0046]: to identify updates 258, the stream processor compares the latest timestamp associated with a given key-value pair in the state to the time of the most recent write to data repository 234. If the latest timestamp is greater than the time of the most recent write, the stream processor includes the key-value pair in updates 258 and subsequently writes updates 258 to data repository 234).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WANG & LIU and ZHENG to incorporate the teachings of Shivanna to update a timestamp in a value of the second key-value pair to update a latest use moment of the second key-value pair to a current moment in response to determining that the second key-value pair exists. Doing so would reduce processing, network usage, and/or overhead by allowing each write of in-memory state to the data store to be performed only for key-value pairs that have been updated since the previous write as taught by Shivanna ([0022]).
With regard to claim 13,
As discussed regarding claim 8, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the key-value pair is a first key-value pair, wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining a new data record; retrieving the data dictionary to determine whether a second key-value pair corresponding to a primary key of the new data record exists (in the same manner as discussed in the parent claim);
WANG & LIU and ZHENG do not teach
in response to determining that the second key-value pair exists, updating a timestamp in a value of the second key-value pair to update a latest use moment of the second key-value pair to a current moment.
Shivanna teaches
in response to determining that the second key-value pair exists, updating a timestamp in a value of the second key-value pair to update a latest use moment of the second key-value pair to a current moment ([0021]; [0046]: to identify updates 258, the stream processor compares the latest timestamp associated with a given key-value pair in the state to the time of the most recent write to data repository 234. If the latest timestamp is greater than the time of the most recent write, the stream processor includes the key-value pair in updates 258 and subsequently writes updates 258 to data repository 234).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WANG & LIU and ZHENG to incorporate the teachings of Shivanna to update a timestamp in a value of the second key-value pair to update a latest use moment of the second key-value pair to a current moment in response to determining that the second key-value pair exists. Doing so would reduce processing, network usage, and/or overhead by allowing each write of in-memory state to the data store to be performed only for key-value pairs that have been updated since the previous write as taught by Shivanna ([0022]).
With regard to claim 20,
As discussed regarding claim 19, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU further teaches
the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, wherein the key-value pair is a first key-value pair, wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining a new data record; retrieving the data dictionary to determine whether a second key-value pair corresponding to a primary key of the new data record exists (in the same manner as discussed in the parent claim);
WANG & LIU and ZHENG do not teach
in response to determining that the second key-value pair exists, updating a timestamp in a value of the second key-value pair to update a latest use moment of the second key-value pair to a current moment.
Shivanna teaches
in response to determining that the second key-value pair exists, updating a timestamp in a value of the second key-value pair to update a latest use moment of the second key-value pair to a current moment ([0021]; [0046]: to identify updates 258, the stream processor compares the latest timestamp associated with a given key-value pair in the state to the time of the most recent write to data repository 234. If the latest timestamp is greater than the time of the most recent write, the stream processor includes the key-value pair in updates 258 and subsequently writes updates 258 to data repository 234).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WANG & LIU and ZHENG to incorporate the teachings of Shivanna to update a timestamp in a value of the second key-value pair to update a latest use moment of the second key-value pair to a current moment in response to determining that the second key-value pair exists. Doing so would reduce processing, network usage, and/or overhead by allowing each write of in-memory state to the data store to be performed only for key-value pairs that have been updated since the previous write as taught by Shivanna ([0022]).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG & LIU (CN114329633A, 2021-12-31), in view of ZHENG et al. (US 20210117443 A1), and in further view of WANG et al. (US 20220067047 A1).
With regard to claim 7,
As discussed regarding claim 1, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU and ZHENG do not teach
the method according to claim 1, wherein the database comprises a distributed graph database, and wherein the primary key is a primary key of attribute data comprised in a node and an edge in graph data stored in the distributed graph database.
WANG teaches
the method according to claim 1, wherein the database comprises a distributed graph database, and wherein the primary key is a primary key of attribute data comprised in a node and an edge in graph data stored in the distributed graph database (Abstract: a distributed graph database. Fig. 6 & 7; [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WANG & LIU and ZHENG to incorporate the teachings of WANG to apply the technology to a distributed graph database, and wherein the primary key is a primary key of attribute data comprised in a node and an edge in graph data stored in the graph database. Doing so would benefit from the Key-Value storage format that affords fast query speed, a large amount of data storage, supporting high concurrency, supporting horizontal extension of cluster mode, and supporting complex data structures such as hash, list, aggregation, ordered aggregation and so on as taught by WANG ([0112]).
With regard to claim 14,
As discussed regarding claim 8, WANG & LIU and ZHENG teach all the limitations therein.
WANG & LIU and ZHENG do not teach
the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the database comprises a distributed graph database, and wherein the primary key is a primary key of attribute data comprised in a node and an edge in graph data stored in the distributed graph database.
WANG teaches
the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the database comprises a distributed graph database, and wherein the primary key is a primary key of attribute data comprised in a node and an edge in graph data stored in the distributed graph database (Abstract: a distributed graph database. Fig. 6 & 7; [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WANG & LIU and ZHENG to incorporate the teachings of WANG to apply the technology to a distributed graph database, and wherein the primary key is a primary key of attribute data comprised in a node and an edge in graph data stored in the graph database. Doing so would benefit from the Key-Value storage format that affords fast query speed, a large amount of data storage, supporting high concurrency, supporting horizontal extension of cluster mode, and supporting complex data structures such as hash, list, aggregation, ordered aggregation and so on as taught by WANG ([0112]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOQIN HU/Examiner, Art Unit 2168
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168