DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 “moto” should read --motor--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, in lines 3 & 7 the limitation “preferably” is indefinite, and it is not clear if the limitations following it are required or optional.
Regarding claim 4, in line 1, the limitation “essentially forms a structural unit” is not clear because it can’t be determined if the structural unit is required or optional.
Regarding claim 5, in line 2 the limitation “preferably” is indefinite, and it is not clear if the limitations following it are required or optional.
Regarding claim 9, in line 2 the limitation “preferably” is indefinite, and it is not clear if the limitations following it are required or optional.
Regarding claim 13, in line 2 the limitation “preferably” is indefinite, and it is not clear if the limitations following it are required or optional.
Regarding claim 14, in line 2 the limitation “preferably” is indefinite, and it is not clear if the limitations following it are required or optional.
Regarding claim 5, in line 3 the limitation “preferably” is indefinite, and it is not clear if the limitations following it are required or optional.
Regarding claim 17, in lines1 & 2 the limitation “preferably” is indefinite, and it is not clear if the limitations following it are required or optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schael et al. (WO 2008/135300) (hereinafter Schael).
Regarding claim 1, Schael discloses a furniture drive for driving a movable furniture part, comprising: at least one electric motor (38), at least one actuator (4), preferably movable back and forth between two end positions, for exerting force on the furniture part to be driven, and a transmission (32) connected between the electric motor and the actuator.
Schael does not disclose wherein the at least one electric motor has a maximum diameter of less than 18 mm, preferably less than 16 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Schael wherein the at least one electric motor has a maximum diameter of less than 18 mm, preferably less than 16 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change is size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 2, Schael, as modified, teaches a furniture drive wherein the at least one electric motor is an external rotor motor or as a disc rotor motor (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Schael, as modified, teaches a furniture drive wherein a planetary gear (37) is interposed between the at least one electric motor and the transmission.
Regarding claim 4, Schael, as modified, teaches a furniture drive wherein the planetary gear essentially forms a structural unit with the at least one electric motor (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Schael, as modified, teaches the furniture drive as claimed. Schael, as modified, does not teach wherein the planetary gear has a maximum diameter of less than 18 mm, preferably less than 16 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Schael wherein the planetary gear has a maximum diameter of less than 18 mm, preferably less than 16 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change is size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 6, Schael, as modified, teaches the furniture drive as claimed. Schael, as modified, does not teach wherein a maximum diameter of the planetary gear substantially corresponds to the maximum diameter of the at least one electric motor. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Schael wherein a maximum diameter of the planetary gear substantially corresponds to the maximum diameter of the at least one electric motor, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 7, Schael, as modified, teaches a furniture drive wherein the furniture drive comprises at least one housing (50).
Regarding claim 8, Schael, as modified, teaches a furniture drive wherein the housing has at least one recess for receiving the at least one electric motor (Figs. 4 & 5).
Regarding claim 9, Schael, as modified, teaches the furniture drive as claimed. Schael, as modified, does not teach wherein the housing has a maximum width of less than 18 mm, preferably less than 16 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Schael wherein the housing has a maximum width of less than 18 mm, preferably less than 16 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 10, Schael, as modified, teaches the furniture drive as claimed. Schael, as modified, does not teach wherein the maximum diameter of the at least one electric motor substantially corresponds to the maximum width of the housing. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Schael wherein the maximum diameter of the at least one electric motor substantially corresponds to the maximum width of the housing. A change is size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 11, Schael, as modified, teaches a furniture drive wherein the furniture drive has at least one bearing device (51, 52), via which the at least one electric moto is mounted in and/or on the housing, wherein the at least one bearing device comprises at least one damping element made of a sound-damping material.
Regarding claim 12, Schael, as modified, teaches a furniture drive wherein the transmission has at least one crown gear, bevel gear and/or worm gear (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Schael, as modified, teaches a furniture drive wherein the transmission comprises between 3 and 9, preferably 6, gear stages (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Schael, as modified, teaches a furniture drive wherein at least one transmission device (30) is provided, with which the transmission is connected to the at least one actuator, preferably wherein the transmission device comprises at least one lever, a toothing and an element interacting therewith and/or a belt.
Regarding claim 15, Schael, as modified, teaches a furniture drive wherein the at least one electric motor and the transmission are arranged in a first housing (50) and the actuator is arranged on a second housing (2) which is structurally separate from the first housing, preferably wherein the two housings are arranged one above the other in a coupled state essentially in a common plane.
Regarding claim 16, Schael, as modified, teaches a furniture drive wherein: at least one lever arrangement (30) is provided, via which the actuator is pivotally connected to the housing, and/or at least one mechanical energy accumulator (25) is provided, with which a force for compensating the weight of the furniture part to be driven can be exerted on the actuator, and/or the actuator is arranged substantially completely in the housing in a first end position.
Regarding claim 17, Schael, as modified, teaches an item of furniture, preferably an upper cabinet, comprising: at least one movable furniture part ([0006]), preferably in the form of a flap that can be opened upwards, and the furniture drive according to claim 1, wherein the furniture part is movably mounted on the furniture via the at least one furniture drive.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schael in view of Sobolewski et al. (US patent application publication 2020/0008579) (hereinafter Sobolewski).
Regarding claim 17, Schael, as modified, teaches an item of furniture wherein the furniture comprises at least one wall. Schael, as modified, does not teach wherein the housing of the at least one furniture drive is substantially completely inserted into a recess in the wall. Sobolewski teaches an item of furniture wherein a furniture drive is substantially completely inserted into a recess (427) in the wall. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Schael, as previously modified, to comprise a recess in the wall in view of Sobolewski’s teaching, because this arrangement would have improved the aesthetic appearance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it gives a general state of the art.
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637