The Application number 19/069,775 filed on 3/4/2025 has been considered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/4/2025, 5/2/2025 and 12/8/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12-13 and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,299,107. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they basically claim the same claimed invention. The claims 1, 12-13 and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,299,107 contain every element of the claims 1, 8 and 15 of the instant application, and as such, anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAN OS et al. (US 2017/0339151 hereinafter Van Os) in view of Ziraknejad et al. (US 10,701,067 hereinafter Ziraknejad).
Regarding claim 1, Van Os discloses a method performed by an electronic device, the method comprising:
receiving a proximity authorization request from an authorization requesting device in proximity to the electronic device, the proximity authorization request for authorization (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0221]-[0228], [0419]; i.e. receiving an authorization request to proceed with an action from a requesting device wherein the authenticating device is selected from a plurality of devices based on the proximity of the authenticating device to the requesting device) using a single sign-on service that provides authorization for multiple services;
presenting a local authorization request on a user interface in response to the proximity authorization request (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0228]-0236]; i.e. displaying a request for authorization to proceed with the action on the requesting device);
receiving in response to the local authorization request, user credentials for authorization of the authorization requesting device, the user credentials associated with an anonymous user identifier (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0228]-[0239], [0361]; i.e. receiving biometric information, fingerprint and password for user authentication);
transmitting, in response to the user credentials, a server authorization request to an identity management server (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0343]-[0347]; i.e. sending information to one or more financial institutions to verify payment credentials and/or receive authorization to complete the transaction);
receiving, in response to the server authorization request, an authorization response from the identity management server, the authorization response associated with the anonymous user identifier (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0234], [0343]-[0347]; i.e. receiving authorization from the financial institution); and
transmitting the authorization response to the authorization requesting device, thereby allowing the authorization requesting device to be authorized using the single sign-on service (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0239], [0270]-[0271], [0343]-[0347]; i.e. returning the authorization to the requesting device).
Van Os does not explicitly disclose using a single sign-on service that provides authorization for multiple services.
However, Ziraknejad discloses using a single sign-on service that provides authorization for multiple services (FIG. 1A-C, col. 12, lines 33-col. 13, line 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van Os and Ziraknejad in order to increase security of accessing secured network locations or services from mobile devices by using proximity devices as an additional authentication factor (Ziraknejad, col. 1, line 32-col. 2, line 6).
Regarding claim 2, Van Os in view of Ziraknejad discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, determining the proximity to the electronic device by comparing a received signal strength for the authorization requesting device to a requisite signal strength threshold (Van Os, FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0058]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Van Os in view of Ziraknejad discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the authorization response includes at least one of an authorization code or an identity token based on the anonymous user identifier (Ziraknejad, col. 7, line 65-col. 8, line14, col. 22, lines 35-64).
Regarding claim 5, Van Os in view of Ziraknejad discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the proximity authorization request is associated with an application running on the authorization requesting device, wherein the application is configured using a developer identifier based at least in part on the anonymous user identifier (Van Os, ¶ [0248]-[0251]).
Regarding claim 7, Van Os in view of Ziraknejad discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising discovering the authorization requesting device by receiving an advertisement from the authorization requesting device, the advertisement based on a discovery protocol (Van Os, FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0058]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Van Os discloses a computing device, comprising:
one or more memories (FIG. 1A-B); and
one or more processors in communication with the one or more memories and configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to perform operations comprising (FIG. 1A-B):
receiving a proximity authorization request from an authorization requesting device in proximity to the computing device, the proximity authorization request for authorization (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0221]-[0228], [0419]; i.e. receiving an authorization request to proceed with an action from a requesting device wherein the authenticating device is selected from a plurality of devices based on the proximity of the authenticating device to the requesting device) using a single sign-on service that provides authorization for multiple services;
presenting a local authorization request on a user interface in response to the proximity authorization request (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0228]-0236]; i.e. displaying a request for authorization to proceed with the action on the requesting device);
receiving in response to the local authorization request, user credentials for authorization of the authorization requesting device, the user credentials associated with an anonymous user identifier (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0228]-[0239], [0361]; i.e. receiving biometric information, fingerprint and password for user authentication);
transmitting, in response to the user credentials, a server authorization request to an identity management server (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0343]-[0347]; i.e. sending information to one or more financial institutions to verify payment credentials and/or receive authorization to complete the transaction);
receiving, in response to the server authorization request, an authorization response from the identity management server, the authorization response associated with the anonymous user identifier (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0234], [0343]-[0347]; i.e. receiving authorization from the financial institution); and
transmitting the authorization response to the authorization requesting device, thereby allowing the authorization requesting device to be authorized using the single sign-on service (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0239], [0270]-[0271], [0343]-[0347]; i.e. returning the authorization to the requesting device).
Van Os does not explicitly disclose using a single sign-on service that provides authorization for multiple services.
However, Ziraknejad discloses using a single sign-on service that provides authorization for multiple services (FIG. 1A-C, col. 12, lines 33-col. 13, line 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van Os and Ziraknejad in order to increase security of accessing secured network locations or services from mobile devices by using proximity devices as an additional authentication factor (Ziraknejad, col. 1, line 32-col. 2, line 6).
Regarding claim 9, see claim 2 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 11, see claim 4 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 12, see claim 5 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 14, see claim 7 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 15, Van Os discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing a plurality of instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the one or more processors to:
receive a proximity authorization request from an authorization requesting device in proximity to the computing device, the proximity authorization request for authorization (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0221]-[0228], [0419]; i.e. receiving an authorization request to proceed with an action from a requesting device wherein the authenticating device is selected from a plurality of devices based on the proximity of the authenticating device to the requesting device) using a single sign-on service that provides authorization for multiple services;
present a local authorization request on a user interface in response to the proximity authorization request (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0228]-0236]; i.e. displaying a request for authorization to proceed with the action on the requesting device);
receive in response to the local authorization request, user credentials for authorization of the authorization requesting device, the user credentials associated with an anonymous user identifier (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0228]-[0239], [0361]; i.e. receiving biometric information, fingerprint and password for user authentication);
transmit, in response to the user credentials, a server authorization request to an identity management server (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0343]-[0347]; i.e. sending information to one or more financial institutions to verify payment credentials and/or receive authorization to complete the transaction);
receive, in response to the server authorization request, an authorization response from the identity management server, the authorization response associated with the anonymous user identifier (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0234], [0343]-[0347]; i.e. receiving authorization from the financial institution); and
transmit the authorization response to the authorization requesting device, thereby allowing the authorization requesting device to be authorized using the single sign-on service (FIG. 6, 7A-L, 8A-M, ¶ [0239], [0270]-[0271], [0343]-[0347]; i.e. returning the authorization to the requesting device).
Van Os does not explicitly disclose using a single sign-on service that provides authorization for multiple services.
However, Ziraknejad discloses using a single sign-on service that provides authorization for multiple services (FIG. 1A-C, col. 12, lines 33-col. 13, line 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van Os and Ziraknejad in order to increase security of accessing secured network locations or services from mobile devices by using proximity devices as an additional authentication factor (Ziraknejad, col. 1, line 32-col. 2, line 6).
Regarding claim 16, see claim 2 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 4 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 5 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 7 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Claims 3, 6, 10, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAN OS et al. (US 2017/0339151 hereinafter Van Os) in view of Ziraknejad et al. (US 10,701,067 hereinafter Ziraknejad) and further in view of Crespo et al. (US 2007/0299920 hereinafter Crespo).
Regarding claim 3, Van Os in view of Ziraknejad discloses the method of claim 1.
Van Os in view of Ziraknejad does not explicitly disclose wherein the anonymous user identifier is a machine-generated identifier corresponding to a user email address.
However, Crespo discloses wherein the anonymous user identifier is a machine-generated identifier corresponding to a user email address (FIG. 7, ¶ [0002]-[0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van Os and Ziraknejad in order to provide user options to communicate with the service providers anonymously or not (Crespo, ¶ [0002]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Van Os in view of Ziraknejad discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the proximity authorization request comprises identifier (FIG. 9A-D, , 10A-B).
Van Os in view of Ziraknejad does not explicitly disclose a developer identifier associated with the anonymous user identifier.
However, Crespo discloses a developer identifier associated with the anonymous user identifier (FIG. 7, ¶ [0002]-[0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van Os and Ziraknejad in order to provide user options to communicate with the service providers anonymously or not (Crespo, ¶ [0002]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 10, see claim 3 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 13, see claim 6 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 17, see claim 3 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Conclusion
/C.D.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/AMIR MEHRMANESH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2435