DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mototsuji et al. (Pub. No.: JP 2024023040 A, machine translation included).
Regarding claim 1, Mototsuji teaches a vehicle lighting system (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, paragraph [0061], “The interior lighting device 40 includes an interior light 41 and a control unit 42”), comprising:
one or more linear lighting devices affixed to one or more locations of the vehicle (FIG. 2, paragraph [0061], “The interior light 41 is located inside the vehicle 20. For example, as shown in Figure 2, the interior light 41 is located on the dashboard 21, door 22, or ceiling 23 inside the vehicle 20”);
one or more sensor devices affixed to the vehicle, wherein the one or more sensor devices are configured to determine status information associated with the vehicle (paragraph [0134], “Control unit 43 Attitude change mechanism 51 Human presence sensor 52 Temperature sensor 53 Humidity sensor 54 Carbon monoxide concentration sensor 55”);
a computing device (FIG. 2, control unit 42) in communication with the one or more linear lighting devices and the one or more sensor devices, wherein the computing device is configured to: receive the status information (paragraph [0069], “if the interior temperature of the vehicle 20 is above the first temperature, the control unit 42 uses the posture changing mechanism 43 to change the posture of the interior lights 41 so that the light from the interior lights 41 is visible from outside the vehicle 20. For example, the orientation of the interior light 41 is changed so that the light from the interior light 41 reflects onto the windshield 25 or the door window 26”);
determine, based on the status information, one or more conditions associated with the vehicle (paragraph [0126], “the control unit 62 receives information indicating the status of the vehicle from an in-vehicle device such as a locking device, and determines whether the vehicle 20 is in an abnormal state based on that information”);
generate, based on the one or more conditions, one or more signals for controlling the one or more linear lighting devices to output one or more lighting patterns; and cause, based on the one or more signals, the one or more linear lighting devices to output the one or more lighting patterns (paragraph [0026], “the interior light 11 is controlled to light up in different ways depending on the color of the traffic light (red, blue, and yellow) by appropriately combining different colors, lighting patterns, and light-emitting areas”).
Regarding claim 2, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more locations comprise one or more interior locations (FIG. 2, paragraph [0061], “The interior light 41 is located inside the vehicle 20. For example, as shown in Figure 2, the interior light 41 is located on the dashboard 21, door 22, or ceiling 23 inside the vehicle 20”).
Regarding claim 3, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more locations comprise a location adjacent to a front driver-side door of the vehicle (FIG. 2, driver-side door 41) a location adjacent to a front passenger-side door (FIG. 2, front passenger-side door 41) of the vehicle, one or more locations within a windshield assembly of the vehicle (FIG. 2, 61), one or more locations of an instrument panel of the vehicle, one or more locations of a center console of the vehicle (FIG. 2, 11,41,61), or one or more locations of a bulkhead of the vehicle (FIG. 2, 11,41), or combinations thereof (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more linear lighting devices are configured in a vertical configuration along one or more of a pillar between the front driver-side door and a front windshield of the vehicle (FIG. 2, the interior vertical light 61 is placed inside the vehicle 20, in right side between door and windshield) which shows a a pillar between respective sections of a windshield assembly of the vehicle, or a pillar between the front passenger-side door and the front windshield vehicle (FIG. 2, the interior vertical light 61 is placed inside the vehicle 20, in left side between door and windshield).
Regarding claim 5, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more linear lighting devices (FIG. 2, 61) are affixed to an A-pillar of a windshield assembly of the vehicle (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more linear lighting devices are configured in a horizontal configuration along one or more locations of the instrument panel (FIG. 2, the interior light device 60 include a fixing member 65).
Regarding claim 7, Mototsuji further teaches each linear lighting device of the one or more linear lighting devices comprises a strip of one or more LEDs (paragraph [0062], “the interior light 41 has multiple LEDs”).
Regarding claim 8, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more lighting patterns comprise one or more of a flashing light pattern, a light pattern movement along a light beam path of at least one of the one or more linear lighting devices (paragraph [0017], “that different lighting patterns include not only continuous lighting and lighting at predetermined intervals (hereinafter referred to as flashing), but also lighting at different intervals. Furthermore, different light-emitting areas include cases where different light emitting areas exist within a single interior light 11”), a color pattern, or a brightness or dimming lighting pattern (paragraph [0014], “the interior light 11 may be configured to emit light in multiple different colors. For example, multiple light sources may include multiple LEDs that emit light of each of the RGB (red, green, blue) colors or other colors”).
Regarding claim 9, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more sensor devices comprise a battery sensor, a fuel sensor, a GPS sensor, a temperature sensor, a speed sensor, a camera, or a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensor, or combinations thereof (paragraph [0041], “GPS 33 and the map information I4 obtained from the storage device 34, as well as the vehicle speed information I5 obtained from the speed sensor 35 mounted on the vehicle 20”).
Regarding claim 10, Mototsuji further teaches the status information comprises a state of charge of a battery of the vehicle, remaining fuel of the vehicle, movement information of the vehicle, navigation information (paragraph [0041], “GPS 33 and the map information I4 obtained from the storage device 34, as well as the vehicle speed information I5 obtained from the speed sensor 35 mounted on the vehicle 20”), seatbelt positions, position of one or more doors of the vehicle, incoming communication, heating and cooling information, or traffic information, or combinations thereof (paragraph [0019], “the surrounding information acquisition device 31 may be a sensor
capable of acquiring information on ambient light, temperature, and humidity. Furthermore, the surrounding information acquisition device 31”).
Regarding claim 11, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more conditions are associated with one or more of an advanced car alert system (ADAS), one or more seatbelts are not in a secure position, a navigation route of the vehicle to a destination (paragraph [0059], “the control unit 12 acquires information from the surrounding information acquisition device 31, GPS 33, or storage device 34 to determine whether there are traffic lights, stop lines, etc., in front of the vehicle 20”), a steering direction, a low state of charge of a battery of the vehicle, a low amount of fuel remaining, a heating or cooling setting of the vehicle, the vehicle is in a parked position, or one or more doors are in an open position (paragraph [0105], “An example of an abnormal state in vehicle 20 is a state in which vehicle 20 has been subjected to inappropriate access. Inappropriate access includes, for example, opening the doors of vehicle 20 or starting vehicle 20 by a third party who is not the owner of vehicle 20”).
Regarding claim 12, Mototsuji teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a device of a vehicle (FIG. 2, control unit 42), from one or more sensors of the vehicle, status information associated with the vehicle (paragraph [0069], “if the interior temperature of the vehicle 20 is above the first temperature, the control unit 42 uses the posture changing mechanism 43 to change the posture of the interior lights 41 so that the light from the interior lights 41 is visible from outside the vehicle 20. For example, the orientation of the interior light 41 is changed so that the light from the interior light 41 reflects onto the windshield 25 or the door window 26”);
determining, based on the status information received from the one or more sensors, one or more conditions associated with the vehicle (paragraph [0126], “the control unit 62 receives information indicating the status of the vehicle from an in-vehicle device such as a locking device, and determines whether the vehicle 20 is in an abnormal state based on that information”);
generating, based on the one or more conditions, one or more signals for controlling one or more linear lighting devices to output one or more lighting patterns; and causing, based on the one or more signals, the one or more linear lighting devices to output the one or more lighting patterns (paragraph [0026], “the interior light 11 is controlled to light up in different ways depending on the color of the traffic light (red, blue, and yellow) by appropriately combining different colors, lighting patterns, and light-emitting areas”).
Regarding claim 13, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more sensor devices comprise a battery sensor, a fuel sensor, a GPS sensor, a temperature sensor, a speed sensor, a camera, or a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensor, or combinations thereof (paragraph [0041], “GPS 33 and the map information I4 obtained from the storage device 34, as well as the vehicle speed information I5 obtained from the speed sensor 35 mounted on the vehicle 20”).
Regarding claim 14, Mototsuji further teaches the status information comprises a state of charge of a battery of the vehicle, remaining fuel of the vehicle, movement information of the vehicle, navigation information (paragraph [0041], “GPS 33 and the map information I4 obtained from the storage device 34, as well as the vehicle speed information I5 obtained from the speed sensor 35 mounted on the vehicle 20”), seatbelt positions, position of one or more doors of the vehicle, incoming communication, heating and cooling information, or traffic information, or combinations thereof (paragraph [0019], “the surrounding information acquisition device 31 may be a sensor
capable of acquiring information on ambient light, temperature, and humidity. Furthermore, the surrounding information acquisition device 31”).
Regarding claim 15, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more conditions are associated with one or more of an advanced car alert system (ADAS), one or more seatbelts are not in a secure position, a navigation route of the vehicle to a destination (paragraph [0059], “the control unit 12 acquires information from the surrounding information acquisition device 31, GPS 33, or storage device 34 to determine whether there are traffic lights, stop lines, etc., in front of the vehicle 20”), a steering direction, a low state of charge of a battery of the vehicle, a low amount of fuel remaining, a heating or cooling setting of the vehicle, the vehicle is in a parked position, or one or more doors are in an open position (paragraph [0105], “An example of an abnormal state in vehicle 20 is a state in which vehicle 20 has been subjected to inappropriate access. Inappropriate access includes, for example, opening the doors of vehicle 20 or starting vehicle 20 by a third party who is not the owner of vehicle 20”).
Regarding claim 16, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more linear lighting devices are affixed to one or more interior locations of the vehicle (FIG. 2, paragraph [0061], “The interior light 41 is located inside the vehicle 20. For example, as shown in Figure 2, the interior light 41 is located on the dashboard 21, door 22, or ceiling 23 inside the vehicle 20”).
Regarding claim 17, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more interior locations comprise a location adjacent to a front driver-side door of the vehicle (FIG. 2, driver-side door 41) a location adjacent to a front passenger-side door (FIG. 2, front passenger-side door 41) of the vehicle, one or more locations within a windshield assembly of the vehicle (FIG. 2, 61), one or more locations of an instrument panel of the vehicle, one or more locations of a center console of the vehicle (FIG. 2, 11,41,61), or one or more locations of a bulkhead of the vehicle (FIG. 2, 11,41), or combinations thereof (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more linear lighting devices are configured in a vertical configuration along one or more of a pillar between the front driver-side door and a front windshield of the vehicle (FIG. 2, the interior vertical light 61 is placed inside the vehicle 20, in right side between door and windshield) which shows a a pillar between respective sections of a windshield assembly of the vehicle, or a pillar between the front passenger-side door and the front windshield (FIG. 2, the interior vertical light 61 is placed inside the vehicle 20, in left side between door and windshield).
Regarding claim 19, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more linear lighting devices are configured in a horizontal configuration along one or more locations of the instrument panel (FIG. 2, the interior light device 60 include a fixing member 65).
Regarding claim 20, Mototsuji further teaches the one or more lighting patterns comprise one or more of a flashing light pattern, a light pattern movement along a light beam path of at least one of the one or more linear lighting devices (paragraph [0017], “that different lighting patterns include not only continuous lighting and lighting at predetermined intervals (hereinafter referred to as flashing), but also lighting at different intervals. Furthermore, different light-emitting areas include cases where different light emitting areas exist within a single interior light 11”), a color pattern, or a brightness or dimming lighting pattern (paragraph [0014], “the interior light 11 may be configured to emit light in multiple different colors. For example, multiple light sources may include multiple LEDs that emit light of each of the RGB (red, green, blue) colors or other colors”).
Conclusion
/SYED M KAISER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831