DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS provided reference US 2023/0164439 to JANG et al. (hereinafter JANG) in view of IDS provided reference US 2009/0309982 to Rouvinen et al. (hereinafter Rouvinen).
Regarding claim 1, JANG teaches a sensor shifting actuator comprising:
a housing having an internal space (body 170, see Fig. 2A);
an image sensor, accommodated in the housing, having an imaging surface (image sensor 111 accommodated in housing 170, see Fig. 2A);
a first moving frame, accommodated in the housing, configured to be movable in a direction parallel to the imaging surface, together with the image sensor (second movable body 110 moved in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis via the optical image stabilization OIS driver 120, see Fig. 2A and pars. [0064, 0066]);
a second moving frame, accommodated in the housing, configured to be movable in a direction perpendicular to the imaging surface, together with the image sensor and the first moving frame (first movable body 130 supports and moves the second movable body 110, also it tilts the image sensor via OIS driver 160 hence tilting the sensor in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface, see Figs. 2A, 7A and 7B and pars. [0064, 0138]);
a plurality of ball members, disposed between the second moving frame and the housing, configured to support another movement of the image sensor in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface (supporting balls 141 between first movable body 130 and body 170 that supports the movement, see par. [0085]).
But JANG fails to clearly specify “a bridge portion configured to curve in at least a portion thereof and support a movement of the image sensor in the direction parallel to the imaging surface”.
However, Rouvinen teaches methods and system for image stabilization, comprising a imaging system 1, and comprises a device body 10 for mounting an image sensor 80 and a lens 60 for projecting an image on the image sensor along the optical axis of the imaging system. The lens 60 is fixedly mounted on a carrier 30. The carrier can be moved in the X-direction by a first bending actuator 42 and in the Y-direction by a second bending actuator 52. The first bending actuator 42 is mounted on an outer support frame 40 of a lens plate 20, and the second bending actuator 52 is mounted on an inner support frame 50 (see par. [0036]). Rouvinen taches “a bridge portion configured to curve in at least a portion thereof and support a movement of the image sensor in the direction parallel to the imaging surface (actuator 42 bends to support the movement, see par. [0038]).
References are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and/or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned because they relate to system for image stabilization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above system as taught by JANG, by combining the components as taught by Rouvinen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide image stabilization with actuators arrange differently from the traditional methods as suggested by Rouvinen (see pars. [0008-0009]).
Regarding claim 2, JANG in view of Rouvinen teaches the sensor shifting actuator of claim 1,
wherein a sensor substrate disposed on one side of the image sensor comprises a first moving portion coupled with the first moving frame (sensor substrate 112 coupled to sensor holder 113 that moves together with second movable body 110, see par. [0064] and Fig. 2A), a second moving portion coupled with the second moving frame and spaced apart from the first moving portion (first movable body 130 is spaced apart from the first movable body 110, see Fig. 2A), and the bridge portion disposed between the first moving portion and the second moving portion (as combined the movement between the first movable body and the second movable body of JANG can be performed with actuators as taught by Rouvinen).
Regarding claim 3, JANG in view of Rouvinen teaches the sensor shifting actuator of claim 2, wherein the first moving portion and the second moving portion are formed of a rigid material, and the bridge portion is formed of a flexible material (first and second movable bodies are rigid and actuator is made from a piezoelectric material that is flexible, see Rouvinen par. [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, JANG in view of Rouvinen teaches the sensor shifting actuator of claim 2,
further comprising a connecting substrate configured to support the movement and the other movement of the image sensor, the first moving frame, and the second moving frame, and wherein one side of the connecting substrate is connected to the sensor substrate and another side of the connecting substrate is disposed in the housing (sensor substrate 112 is included in the second movable body 110 and it’s connected to the sensor and to a flexible board to the body, see Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 5, JANG in view of Rouvinen teaches the sensor shifting actuator of claim 4,
wherein the sensor substrate comprises a first connecting portion extending from the first moving portion and connecting the first moving portion and the bridge portion, and, a second connecting portion extending from the second moving portion and connecting the second moving portion and the bridge portion, and wherein the one side of the connecting substrate is connected with the first connecting portion (as combined the connection between the first movable body and the second movable body of JANG can be interconnected with actuators as taught by Rouvinen).
Regarding claim 9, JANG in view of Rouvinen teaches the sensor shifting actuator of claim 1, further comprising:
a first shake correction magnet and a second shake correction magnet disposed on the first moving frame (first driving magnet 121 and third driving magnet 161 can be disposed on the moving frame, see par. [0070]); and
a first shake correction coil and a second shake correction coil disposed in the housing to face the first shake correction magnet and the second shake correction magnet, respectively (first driving coil 122 and third driving coil 162 can be disposed on the body, see pars. [0070]).
Regarding claim 10, JANG in view of Rouvinen teaches the sensor shifting actuator of claim 1, further comprising:
a focus adjustment magnet disposed on the second moving frame (see JANG par. [0052]); and
a focus adjustment coil disposed in the housing to face the focus adjustment magnet (see JANG par. [0052]).
Regarding claim 11, JANG in view of Rouvinen teaches the sensor shifting actuator of claim 10, further comprising a yoke disposed in the housing to face the focus adjustment magnet (the yoke can be disposed on the housing, see par. [0070]).
Regarding claim 12, JANG in view of Rouvinen teaches a camera module comprising:
a lens module comprising at least one lens disposed along an optical axis direction (lens module 20 including at least one lens 21, see Fig. 1 and par. [0052]);
an image sensor having an imaging surface (image sensor 11, see Fig. 1);
a reflective member configured to reflect light toward the image sensor (optical path changing element can be included, such as a prism or a mirror, see par. [0056]); and
a sensor shifting actuator configured to move the image sensor in a direction parallel to the imaging surface and a direction perpendicular to the imaging surface with respect to the reflective member (second movable body 110 moved in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis via the optical image stabilization OIS driver 120, see Fig. 2A and pars. [0064, 0066]),
wherein the sensor shifting actuator comprises
a plurality of ball members configured to support movement of the image sensor in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface while rolling in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface (supporting balls 141 between first movable body 130 and body 170 that supports the movement, see par. [0085]).
But JANG fails to clearly specify “a bridge portion, disposed to be curved in at least a portion thereof, configured to support movement of the image sensor in the direction parallel to the imaging surface”.
However, Rouvinen teaches methods and system for image stabilization, comprising an imaging system 1, and comprises a device body 10 for mounting an image sensor 80 and a lens 60 for projecting an image on the image sensor along the optical axis of the imaging system. The lens 60 is fixedly mounted on a carrier 30. The carrier can be moved in the X-direction by a first bending actuator 42 and in the Y-direction by a second bending actuator 52. The first bending actuator 42 is mounted on an outer support frame 40 of a lens plate 20, and the second bending actuator 52 is mounted on an inner support frame 50 (see par. [0036]). Rouvinen taches “a bridge portion, disposed to be curved in at least a portion thereof, configured to support movement of the image sensor in the direction parallel to the imaging surface (actuator 42 bends to support the movement, see par. [0038])”.
References are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and/or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned because they relate to system for image stabilization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above system as taught by JANG, by combining the components as taught by Rouvinen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide image stabilization with actuators arrange differently from the traditional methods as suggested by Rouvinen (see pars. [0008-0009]).
Regarding claim 13, JANG in view of Rouvinen teaches the camera module of claim 12, wherein the sensor shifting actuator further comprises a first moving frame configured to be movable in the direction parallel to the imaging surface, together with the image sensor (second movable body 110 moved in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis via the optical image stabilization OIS driver 120, see Fig. 2A and pars. [0064, 0066]), and
a second moving frame configured to be movable in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface, together with the image sensor and the first moving frame (first movable body 130 supports and moves the second movable body 110, also it tilts the image sensor via OIS driver 160 hence tilting the sensor in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface, see Figs. 2A, 7A and 7B and pars. [0064, 0138]).
Regarding claim 14, JANG in view of Rouvinen teaches the camera module of claim 13,
wherein the sensor shifting actuator comprises a sensor substrate disposed on one side of the image sensor (sensor substrate 112 coupled to sensor holder 113 that moves together with second movable body 110, see par. [0064] and Fig. 2A), and wherein the sensor substrate comprises a first moving portion coupled with the first moving frame, a second moving portion coupled with the second moving frame and spaced apart from the first moving portion (first movable body 130 is spaced apart from the first movable body 110, see Fig. 2A), and
the bridge portion disposed between the first moving portion and the second moving portion (as combined the movement between the first movable body and the second movable body of JANG can be performed with actuators as taught by Rouvinen).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG in view of Rouvinen as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US 2022/0091398 to Smyth et al. (hereinafter Smyth).
Regarding claim 16, JANG in view of Rouvinen teaches the camera module of claim 12.
But JANG in view of Rouvinen fails to clearly specify “wherein the reflective member is a parallelogram shaped prism”.
However, Smyth teaches a camera module that uses a light folding element that may include an elongated prism (e.g., a parallelogram prism) (see par. [0024]).
References are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and/or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned because they relate to system for image stabilization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above system as taught by JANG in view of Rouvinen, by combining the components, as taught by Smyth.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to us a parallelogram prism as suggested by Smyth (see par. [0024]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6-8 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the sensor shifting actuator of claim 4, further comprising a main substrate disposed in the housing, wherein the other side of the connecting substrate is coupled to the main substrate, and the connecting substrate is disposed to surround a portion of the main substrate while maintaining a gap therebetween.
Regarding claim(s) 7-8, claim(s) depend from claim 6 and is/are allowable for the same reasons stated above.
Regarding claim 15, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the camera module of claim 14,
wherein the sensor shifting actuator comprises a main substrate disposed in a housing in which the image sensor is accommodated, and a connecting substrate in which one side is connected to the sensor substrate and another side is connected to the main substrate, wherein the connecting substrate is disposed to have a gap between the main substrate in at least one direction, among the direction parallel to the imaging surface and the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface, and wherein the connecting substrate is configured to bend in at least a portion thereof when the image sensor moves.
Conclusion
/ANGEL L GARCES-RIVERA/Examiner, Art Unit 2637
/SINH TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2637