Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20210098555).
Regarding claim 1 Kim teaches a stretchable display device comprising (fig.1, Abstract): a plurality of unit display areas (fig.1), wherein each of the unit display areas is composed of a plurality of stretchable display component placement areas, and
wherein either a stretchable wiring portion (fig.2, 180, [0119]) or a pixel portion (fig.2, SPX) is arranged in each of the stretchable display component placement areas (fig.2).
Regarding claim 2 Kim teaches wherein the pixel portion (fig.2, 111) is arranged in more than half of the plurality of stretchable display component placement areas (fig.2, 100).
Regarding claim 3 Kim teaches wherein the stretchable display device includes a first unit display area, and wherein the first unit display area includes:
a first pixel portion (fig.2, 111 in the upper left corner) arranged in a first stretchable display component placement area (fig.2);
a first stretchable portion (fig.2, 120 on the right side of 111) arranged in a second stretchable display component placement area (fig.2);
a second pixel portion (fig.2, 111 in the lower right corner) arranged in a third stretchable display component placement area (fig.2); and
a second stretchable portion (fig.2, 120 on the left side of 111) arranged in a fourth stretchable display component placement area (fig.2).
Regarding claim 4 Kim teaches wherein the first pixel portion (fig.2, 111 in the upper left corner) and the second pixel portion (fig.2, 111 in the lower right corner) are arranged along a diagonal direction of the unit display area (fig.2).
Regarding claim 5 Kim teaches wherein the first stretchable portion (fig.2, 120 on the right side of 111) and the second stretchable portion (fig.2, 120 on the left side of 111) are adjacent to the first pixel portion (fig.2, 111 in the upper left corner) and the second pixel portion (fig.2, 111 in the lower right corner).
Regarding claim 6 Kim teaches wherein the first stretchable portion (fig.2, 120 on the right side of 111) or the second stretchable portion is connected to at least one pixel portion (fig.2, 111 in the upper left corner) arranged in a second unit display area outside the first unit display area (fig.2).
Regarding claim 8 Kim teaches wherein the stretchable display device includes: a gate-in-panel (GIP) ([0064]); and a data line (0100] fig. 2, second pixel connection line 182 may serve as a data line),
wherein the data line (fig.2, 182) is wired parallel to a horizontal or vertical direction of the stretchable display device (fig. 2, stretchable display device 100).
Regarding claim 10 Kim teaches wherein the stretchable display device includes: a gate-in-panel (GIP) ([0064]); and a data line (0100] fig. 2, second pixel connection line 182 may serve as a data line),
wherein the data line (fig.2, 182) is wired parallel to diagonal direction of the stretchable display device (fig. 2, stretchable display device 100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kim (US 20210098555) in view of Lin (CN 105469765).
Regarding claim 9 Kim does not teach wherein the data lines are configured such that subpixels of a single color are controlled via a single data line.
However, Lin teaches wherein the data lines are configured such that subpixels of a single color are controlled via a single data line (at panel display device each include a plurality of pixels arranged in array, each pixel generally comprises, the sub-pixels of red, green and blue these three kinds of color, each sub-pixel is controlled by one gate line and one data line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Kim in light of Lin teaching so that it may include teach wherein the data lines are configured such that subpixels of a single color are controlled via a single data line.
The motivation is for controlling the opening and closing of the sub-pixel by data wire by different data voltage signal is applied to the sub pixel, the sub-pixel displaying different grey scales, so as to realize the display of full color picture.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kim (US 20210098555) in view of Dae (GB 2592299).
Regarding claim 11 Kim does not teach wherein the pixel portion is configured using a PenTile-type pixel structure.
However, Dae teaches wherein the pixel portion is configured using a PenTile-type pixel structure ([0015] FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of a pentile pixel arrangement;).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Kim in light of Dae teaching so that it may include wherein the pixel portion is configured using a PenTile-type pixel structure.
The motivation is to provide a flexible display allowing power consumption to be reduced.
Regarding claim 12 Kim in view of Dae teach wherein the PenTile-type pixel structure is configured in an RG or BG format (Dae: fig.4, top portion has RG or BG format).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Kim US 20220139888
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625