DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2109671.4, filed on 16 August 2021.
Status of Claims
This action is in response to amendment filed on 20 August 2026. Claims 1-4, 6-17, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: The claims 1-15 are a system and claim 16-20 are a method. Thus, each independent claim, on its face, is directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C § 101. However, the claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C § 101 because the claimed invetion is dircted to an abstrict idea witout significanly more.
Step 2A-Prong 1: The independent claims (1 and 16) recite provide the following functional elements: a directory of informtion assets in which informtion assets are identified and make available for delivery to recipients; determination of profile characteristics and associated profile characteristic values for recipients for the information assets; determination of a set of content themes, wherein the theme building module is adapted to associate the information assets in the directory with the content themes; adapted to provide for at least some of the information assets, a delivery priority or a relevance to a profile characteristic value, or both; and provide determination of a plurality of actions for determining profile characteristic values from a recipient, whereby an action may be presented to a recipient on delivery of an information asset to the recipient. Theses limitations fall within "method of organizing human activity" or a "business method" (e.g., targeted marketing, content personalization), which are well-established categories of abstract ideas. Simply put, theses limitation merely describe designed to deliver "customized information”, which is clearly a business arrangement in its purest form. Claims 2-15 and 17-20 merely provide additional abstract concept perform in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) because the determining the profile step by human mind.
Step 2A-Prong 2: The addtinal elements of a computing platform are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a genric processor and a memory perfoming a genric computer functions of processing data and a generic memory storing data) such that it amounts no more adding the works „apply it“ (or an equivalent) with judical exception, or mere instrucions to implement an abstrict idea on a comptuer, or merly uses a comptuer as a tool to perform an abstrict idea – see MPEP2106.05(f).
Further included the claims:
Profiling module" & "Theme building": These represent mental processes or mathematical algorithms (categorizing and associating data) that can be performed mentally or with basic analytical tools.
"Directory" & "Sequencing": These are conventional computer functions (storing and organizing data).
Action Configuration Module: Determining how to present info to a user is a fundamental business concept rather than a technical improvement.
This generic computer compoints limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Futher, the claims lack an inventive concept to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B: As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2 and 3, these claims recite limitation that futher defines the same abstract idea noted in claim 1. Claims 2 and 3 recite additional limitation of an “artificial intelligence agent” for performing the determining step. The “artificial intelligence agent” is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., AI agent for action choice, for perfoming a generic comptuer fuction) and without provding specific, technical implementaion detatisl, the addtinal limition amounts no more adding the works „apply it“ (or an equivalent) with judical exception, or mere instrucions. Thus claim are inelligble.
Dependent claims 4 and 5, these claims recite limitation that futher defines the same abstract idea noted in claim 1. The claimed "search module" performing "hierarchical" and "multi-stage" search results is likely viewed as an abstract concept of sorting, organizing, or filtering information, which can be done manually or mentally.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longano (US Pub., No., 2020/0364746 A1) in view of Dahl et al (US Pub., No., 2020/0372073 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Longano teaches a computing platform adapted to provide a customized information delivery system to deliver information to recipients customized to the recipients( Fig. 1, 100, discloses marketplace platform system, paragraph [0002], discloses computer-implemented systems and processes that integrated content-delivery platform into programmatic environment), the computing platform comprising a processor and a memory (Fig. 2, 201 & 202 discloses processor and memory), wherein the process is configured (Fig. 2, 201 processor(s)) to :
integrate with other technology platform(Figs. 1-2, paragraph [0027], discloses SDK engine, paragraph [0029], discloses a plurality of games that includes an integrated SDK and paragraphs [0051]-[0052], discloses market place computing devices may include one or more processor..);
maintain a directory of information assets in which the information assets are identified and made available for delivery to the recipients (paragraph [0006], discloses identifying at least one previous activity with a marketplace that server the plurality of games [directory of information assets], paragraph [0071], discloses a content provider may specify that product [assets] of a particular category and paragraph [0080], discloses a list of product available for inclusion within advertisement targeted to users of a gaming application or application program by market place platform system.., CUI 400 allows for entry of a product name 401, product description 403, product category 402 product, a hyperlink to product review s 404 product tags 405 (e.e.t, attributes) reads on a directory information” , and paragraph [0107], discloses obtain elements of retail data that identify and characterize a plurality of candidate product adveritment .., obtained retail data may include among other things a product identifier (e.g., product name) and product type or class (e.g., shoes) associated with each of the product candidate advertisements );
determine profile characteristics (paragraph [0033], disclose user identify engine [a profile module] upon execution perform operation that manage and federate user profile and creation of corresponding user account that the marketplace that can access and paragraph [0034], discloses the profile data .., identifies user (e.g., the user’s name) .., and demographic data characterizing the user such as the user’s age, gender .., user specific preferences types or genres of video games and game application.., or brands of products or service) and associated profile characteristic values for recipients for the information assets (paragraph [0034], discloses identify and characterized one or more , user specific preferences types or genres of video games and game application.., or brands of products or services offered for sale through the marketplace .., and paragraph [0035], discloses AI engine 130 may perform operations that amount other things select product advertisement appropriate to a particular user and based on locally maintained profile data characterizing that user[profile characterstics value for recipient ] …., AI engine 130 may perform operation that selected product advertisements appropriate to the particular user based on an application of one or more rules to selected elements of the profile [profile characterstics value] .., and paragraph [0063], discloses one or more elements of the profile data characterizing the user, one or more elements of event data 301 historical interaction data.., characterizing prior interaction between the user and the marketplace (e.g. , );
provide for at least some of the information assets, a delivery priority or a relevance to a profile characteristic value, or both (paragraph [0019], disclose the advertising content presented within the platform-specific GUI may be appropriate to the gaming application and futher, tailored to the interest of the user [relevance to a user profile characteristic value ] and to the user’s prior interaction with both the gaming and the digital market place, paragraph [0036], discloses executed AI engine 130 may determine one or more product advertisements for a particular customer based on profile data for that customer, the game data for the game the user is currently playing [a relevance to a profile], paragraph [0038], discloses executed recommendation engine 124 may also transmit the data characterizing the appropriate advertisements across network 118 to a corresponding one or more customer computing devices 110a, 1106 or 110C and the executed application program or gaming application may process the data and present the advertisements within one or more display screens of the marketplace GUI …, paragraph [0063], discloses select appropriate advertisement for the particular customer based an application of trained ML or AI model t,.., paragraph [0065], discloses executed recommendation engine and executed AI engine may perform any of the exemplary process .. to select advertising content appropriate to the user and to the gaming environment on accordance with a predetermined schedule …, and transmit data 303 that includes the obtained advertisements or advertising content to SDK engine 122, e.g., for transmission (e.g., via transceiver 204) to customer computing device and paragraph [0091], discloses GUI 450 may also include a category filter, that allow a user to select or filter out a category product …, candidate product advertisements appropriate to the user and the gaming application in accordance with the selected product categories and to transmit the flited product advertisements to executed gaming application 302 e.g.,, for display within GUI ); and
provide determination of a plurality of actions for determining profile characteristic values from a recipient, whereby an action may be presented to a recipient on delivery of an information asset to the recipient(paragraph [0029], discloses execute application [action configuration module] monitor an interaction of the user with the executed application .., event data characterizing the monitored interaction to marketplace platform system …, identify action a user takes withing the game such as, paragraph [0039], discloses when a user purchase a product that executed application program or gaming application (e.g., via the integrated SDK) may generate and transmit event data characterizing the initiated purchase across network 118 to the marketplace platform system.., paragraph [0066], discloses identify and characterize user activity related to the marketplace within the gaming environment .., activity includes for example activating the marketplace interface (e.g., by engaging a marketplace icon) viewing a particular product (e.g., impression) purchasing product, logging in to the marketplace, logging out of the marketplace [plurality of actions] , and paragraphs [0112]-[0113], disclose the platform may receive event data identifying and characterizing an interaction between user of a comping devices [determination of a plurlity of actions for determining profile characteristics] and paragraph [0114], discloses obtain elements of profile data associated with the user identifier, elements of gaming data associated with game identifier, and elements of retail data identifying and characterizing one or more candidate product advertisements available for presentation within the gaming environment ).
Longano teaches the above elements including marketplace platform autotmcially determines product advertisement that appropriate for presentation with the gaming environment based on an application of trained machine learning and artificial intelligence models to selected
elements (abstract) and deteriming at least product advertisements for the user based on application machine learing model ..(paragraph [0004]). Longano failed to teach a theme building module for determination of a set of content themes, wherein the theme building module is adapted to associate the information assets in the directory with the content themes.
However, Dahl teaches determine determination of a set of content themes, wherein the theme building module is adapted to associate the information assets in the directory with the content themes (Fig. 12, 1240, discloses determining themes for the clusters, paragraph [0007], discloses autotmcially generate meaningful theme-based folder for media item in a repository based on the content of the media item and expose the them-based folder structure, paragraph [0018], discloses deteriming themes for clusters [directory] and paragraph [0025], discloses the theme-based folder generation system can analyze the content of media items (e.g., images, video, audio files) in collection of media item and generate tags for each media item). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for autotmcially determines product advertisement that appropriate for presentation with the gaming environment of Longano with a feature of autotmcially generate meaningful theme of Dahl in order to cluster media items in a semantic space to generate theme-based folders [directory] (see Dahl, abstract).
With respect to claim 2, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Longano teaches the computing platform wherein the processor is futher configured to execute an artificial intelligence routine to determine which action to provide if multiple profile characteristic values are required from the recipient(paragraph [0029], discloses monitor an interaction of the user with the executed application program and with the executed application program and the GUI and to perform operation .., transmit data event data characterizing the monitored interaction to marketplace platform , the event dat identify action a user takes with the game such as …, paragraph [0033], discloses event service engine may provide the event data as an input to user identify engine which preform operation that generate an account for the user within marketplace platform system and that generate account data identifying and charactering that newly generated account and profile data and paragraph [0035], discloses executed AI engine may perform operation … select product advertismetn appropriate to a particular user based on locally maintained profile charactering that user and on addition elements of event data).
With respect to claim 3, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Longano teaches the computing platform wherein the processor is futher configured to execute an artificial intelligence routine to indicate or provide further information assets (paragraph [0037], discloses AI engine which may perform any of the executed AI engine which may perform any of exemplary processes described herein to select the requested advertisement and to provide data characterizing these appropriate advertisement (e.g., digital images, digital videos, other elements of digital content ..)) , where a modified profile is consistent with more than one choice of information asset for provision to the recipient, wherein said information asset or assets have not already been provided to the recipient(paragraph [0030], discloses identify the creation of a new user account at marketplace platform system, which may include user profile data, paragraph [0034], discloses the profile data may, for example include information that identifies the user (e.g., the user’s name) the user’ street or shipping address, payment information that identifies and characterize a payment instrument available for purchase via any of the exemplary processes .., user-specific for type or genres of video..[more than one choice of information], paragraph [0042], discloses allocate marketplace credits to the user based on the purchased products and paragraph [0070], discloses commerce service engine may update [modify] user data for the user stored in data warehouse 116 with marketplace credit [information asset] .., where the user may exchange in-game rewards or credit ).
With respect to claim 4, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Longano teaches the computing platform wherein the processor is futher configured to execute an artificial intelligence routine to provide the information asset to the recipients and provide information assets to recipients(paragraph [0063], discloses recommendation engine may receive the selected advertisement from executed AI engine and may provide data that characterized the selected advertismtn to SDK engine for transmission to customer computing device). Longano failed to teach a search module adapted to wherein the search module is adapted to provide search results hierarchically in a multi-stage process.
However, Dahl teaches a search module adapted to wherein the search module is adapted to provide search results hierarchically in a multi-stage process(Fig. 3, 312, discloses search and Navigation, Fig. 10, 1004 & 1010 discloses receive search term and display results in descending order, and paragraph [0007], discloses automatically generate meaningful them-based folders for media items in a repository based on the content of the media times and exposed the them-based folder .., user search for a content in repository of digital item the systems, method and computer readable media intelligently can present them-based folders that include the searched content and related subfolders to refine the search ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for autotmcially determines product advertisement that appropriate for presentation with the gaming environment of Longano with a feature of search and Navigation of Dahl in order to facilitate finding a particular media item or navigation of the folders storing the media items [directory] (see Dahl, paragraph [0002]).
With respect to claim 5, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 4, failed to teach the computing platform wherein a first stage of the multi-stage process returns search results comprising information asset classes, and wherein a second stage of the multi-stage process returns discrete information assets.
However, Dahl teaches wherein a first stage of the multi-stage process returns search results comprising information asset classes, and wherein a second stage of the multi-stage process returns discrete information assets(Fig. 3, 312, discloses search and Navigation, Fig. 10, 1004 & 1010 discloses receive search term and display results in descending order, and paragraph [0007], discloses automatically generate meaningful them-based folders for media items in a repository based on the content of the media times and exposed the them-based folder .., user search for a content in repository of digital item the systems, method and computer readable media intelligently can present them-based folders that include the searched content and related subfolders to refine the search ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for autotmcially determines product advertisement that appropriate for presentation with the gaming environment of Longano with a feature of search and Navigation of Dahl in order to facilitate finding a particular media item or navigation of the folders storing the media items [directory] (see Dahl, paragraph [0002]).
With respect to claim 6, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Longano teaches the computing platform wherein determination of the plurlity of actions comprises providing a choice of action determined by the profile characteristic values already obtained from the recipient(paragraph [0029], discloses monitor an interaction to the user with the executed application program and GUI and to perform operation and paragraph [0034], discloses the profile data may also identify and characterize one or more user-specific preference for type or genres of videos games and gaming application).
With respect to claim 7, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 6, furthermore, Longano teaches the computing platform, wherein the determination of the plurlity of actions comprises providing the choice of action directed to at least one profile characteristic for which no profile characteristic values have been received for the recipient(paragraph [0034], discloses the profile data may also identify and characterize one or more user-specific preference for types or genre of video games and gaming application (e.g., role-playing games, etc.), or for types or brands of products or service offered for sale through the market place described [choice] ).
With respect to claim 8, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 6, furthermore,
Longano teaches the computing platform wherein the determination of the plurlity of actions comprises providing the choice of action directed to at least one profile characteristic for which a value has already been received for the recipient to determine whether there has been a change in profile characteristic values(paragraph [0029], discloses monitor an interaction to the user with the executed application program and GUI and to perform operation and paragraph [0034], discloses the profile data may also identify and characterize one or more user-specific preference for type or genres of videos games and gaming application).
With respect to claim 9, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore,
Longano teaches the computing platform wherein each of the plurality of actions is
associated with at least one information asset(paragraph [0036],discloses characterizing prior
interaction between the particular customer and the marketplace (e.g., data indicating previous
activity with the marketplace such as historical impression or purchase) application or game
data ..).
With respect to claim 10, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Longano teaches the computing platform wherein the processor is futher configured to configured the action to obtain a plurality of profile characteristic values(paragraph [0040], discloses obtain profile data identifying one or more ..).
With respect to claim 11, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Longano teaches the computing platform wherein the processor is futher configured to configured the action to have an associated communication type (paragraph [0029], discloses monitor an interaction to the user with the executed application program and GUI and to perform operation and paragraph [0034], discloses the profile data may also identify and characterize one or more user-specific preference for type or genres of videos games and gaming application).
With respect to claim 12, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 1, but failed to teach the computing platform wherein the processor is futher configured to associate the content themes with a messaging hierarchy, wherein the information assets to be provided in the messaging hierarchy differ according to profile characteristic value.
However, Dahl teaches the computing platform wherein the theme building module is adapted to associate themes with a messaging hierarchy, wherein the information assets to be provided in the messaging hierarchy differ according to profile characteristic value(paragraph [0024], discloses the generated them-based folders with their assocted-understandable themes at a clint device assocted with a user and paragraph [0120], discloses the them-based folder generation system 102 can receive a user selection of ordering preference , the them-based folder generation system 102 can offer ordering operation to the suer based on suer selection of an order preference). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for autotmcially determines product advertisement that appropriate for presentation with the gaming environment of Longano with a feature of generating theme-based folders of Dahl in order to facilitate finding a particular media item or navigation of the folders storing the media items [directory] (see Dahl, paragraph [0002])..
With respect to claim 13, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Longano teaches the computing platform wherein the processor is futher configured to configured to provide that one or more of the profile characteristic values has an associated sequence of provision of information assets(paragraph [0029], discloses monitor an interaction to the user with the executed application program and GUI and to perform operation and paragraph [0034], discloses the profile data may also identify and characterize one or more user-specific preference for type or genres of videos games and gaming application).
With respect to claim 14, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore,
Longano teaches the computing platform wherein the processor is futher configured t
configured to provide that one or more of the profile characteristic values (paragraph [0033],
disclose user identify engine [a profile module] upon execution perform operation that manage
and federate user profile and creation of corresponding user account that the marketplace that
can access and paragraph [0034], discloses the profile data .., identifies user (e.g., the user’s
name) .., and demographic data characterizing the suer such as the user’s age, gender .., user
specific preferences types or genres of video games and game application.., or brands of
products or service ). Longano failed to teach profile has an associated content theme, or
associated sub-theme in a content theme hierarchy.
However, Dahl teaches profile has an associated content theme, or an associated sub-theme in a content theme hierarchy(paragraph [0024], discloses the generated them-based folders with their assocted-understandable themes at a clint device assocted with a user ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for autotmcially determines product advertisement that appropriate for presentation with the gaming environment of Longano with a feature of generating theme-based folders of Dahl in order to facilitate finding a particular media item or navigation of the folders storing the media items [directory] (see Dahl, paragraph [0002]).
With respect to claim 15, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 14, but failed to teach wherein the computing platform is adapted to provide a strategic view for illustration of the content theme hierarchy.
However, Dahl teaches provide a strategic view for illustration of the content theme hierarchy(paragraph [0024], discloses the generated them-based folders with their assocted-understandable themes at a clint device assocted with a user ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for autotmcially determines product advertisement that appropriate for presentation with the gaming environment of Longano with a feature of generating theme-based folders of Dahl in order to facilitate finding a particular media item or navigation of the folders storing the media items [directory] (see Dahl, paragraph [0002]).
With respect to claim 16, Longano teaches a computer-implemented method for constructing a customized information delivery system for a content owner to deliver information to recipients customized to the recipients(Fig. 1, 100, discloses marketplace platform system, paragraph [0002], discloses computer-implemented systems and processes that integrated content-delivery platform into programmatic environment), the method comprising steps of:
establishing integration with other technology platform(Figs. 1-2, paragraph [0027], discloses SDK engine, paragraph [0029], discloses a plurality of games that includes an integrated SDK and paragraphs [0051]-[0052], discloses market place computing devices may include one or more processor..);
constructing a directory of information assets in which information assets are identified and made available for delivery to recipients (paragraph [0006], discloses identifying at least one previous activity with a marketplace that server the plurality of games [directory of information assets], paragraph [0071], discloses a content provider may specify that product [assets] of a particular category and paragraph [0080], discloses a list of product available for inclusion within advertisement targeted to users of a gaming application or application program by market place platform system.., CUI 400 allows for entry of a product name 401, product description 403, product category 402 product, a hyperlink to product review s 404 product tags 405 (e.e.t, attributes) reads on a directory information” , and paragraph [0107], discloses obtain elements of retail data that identify and characterize a plurality of candidate product adveritment .., obtained retail data may include among other things a product identifier (e.g., product name) and product type or class (e.g., shoes) associated with each of the product candidate advertisements );
determining, by a processor profiles of the recipients for information assets, the profiles comprising profile characteristics paragraph [0033], disclose user identify engine [a profile module] upon execution perform operation that manage and federate user profile and creation of corresponding user account that the marketplace that can access and paragraph [0034], discloses the profile data .., identifies user (e.g., the user’s name) .., and demographic data characterizing the user such as the user’s age, gender .., user specific preferences types or genres of video games and game application.., or brands of products or service) and associated profile characteristic values (paragraph [0034], discloses identify and characterized one or more , user specific preferences types or genres of video games and game application.., or brands of products or services offered for sale through the marketplace .., and paragraph [0035], discloses AI engine 130 may perform operations that amount other things select product advertisement appropriate to a particular user and based on locally maintained profile data characterizing that user[profile characterstics value ] …., AI engine 130 may perform operation that selected product advertisements appropriate to the particular user based on an application of one or more rules to selected elements of the profile [profile characterstics value] .., );
sequencing provisions of the information assets to recipients by providing for at least some of the information assets, a delivery priority or a relevance to a profile characteristic value, or both (paragraph [0019], discloses the advertising content presented within the platform-specific GUI may be appropriate to the gaming application and futher, tailored to the interest of the user [relevance to a user profile characteristic value ] and to the user’s prior interaction with both the gaming and the digital market place, paragraph [0036], discloses executed AI engine 130 may determine one or more product advertisements for a particular customer based on profile data for that customer, the game data for the game the user is currently playing [a relevance to a profile], paragraph [0038], discloses executed recommendation engine 124 may also transmit the data characterizing the appropriate advertisements across network 118 to a corresponding one or more customer computing devices 110a, 1106 or 110C and the executed application program or gaming application may process the data and present the advertisements within one or more display screens of the marketplace GUI …, paragraph [0065], discloses executed recommendation engine and executed AI engine may perform any of the exemplary process .. to select advertising content appropriate to the user and to the gaming environment on accordance with a predetermined schedule …, and transmit data 303 that includes the obtained advertisements or advertising content to SDK engine 122, e.g., for transmission (e.g., via transceiver 204) to customer computing device and paragraph [0091], discloses GUI 450 may also include a category filter, that allow a user to select or filter out a category product …, candidate product advertisements appropriate to the user and the gaming application in accordance with the selected product categories and to transmit the flited product advertisements to executed gaming application 302 e.g.,, for display within GUI ); and
determining and configuring a plurality of action for determining profile characteristic values from a recipient, whereby an action may be presented to a recipient on delivery of an information asset to the recipient(paragraph [0029], discloses execute application [action configuration module] monitor an interaction of the user with the executed application .., event data characterizing the monitored interaction to marketplace platform system …, identify action a user takes withing the game such as, paragraph [0039], discloses when a user purchase a product that executed application program or gaming application (e.g., via the integrated SDK) may generate and transmit event data characterizing the initiated purchase across network 118 to the marketplace platform system.., paragraph [0066], discloses identify and characterize user activity related to the marketplace within the gaming environment .., activity includes for example activating the marketplace interface (e.g., by engaging a marketplace icon) viewing a particular product (e.g., impression) purchasing product, logging in to the marketplace, logging out of the marketplace [plurality of actions]).
Longano teaches the above elements including marketplace platform automatically determines product advertisement that appropriate for presentation with the gaming environment based on an application of trained machine learning and artificial intelligence models to selected
elements (abstract) and deteriming at least product advertisements for the user based on application machine learing model ..(paragraph [0004]). Longano failed to teach a theme building module for determination of a set of content themes, wherein the theme building module is adapted to associate the information assets in the directory with the content themes.
However, Dahl teaches determining, and associating the information asset in the directory with content themes (Fig. 12, 1240, discloses determining themes for the clusters, paragraph [0007], discloses autotmcially generate meaningful theme-based folder for media item in a repository based on the content of the media item and expose the them-based folder structure, paragraph [0018], discloses deteriming themes for clusters [directory] and paragraph [0025], discloses the theme-based folder generation system can analyze the content of media items (e.g., images, video, audio files) in collection of media item and generate tags for each media item). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for autotmcially determines product advertisement that appropriate for presentation with the gaming environment of Longano with a feature of autotmcially generate meaningful theme of Dahl in order to cluster media items in a semantic space to generate theme-based folders [directory] (see Dahl, abstract).
With respect to claim 17, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 16, but failed to teach the computer-implemented method wherein one or more themes are associated with a messaging hierarchy, wherein the information assets to be provided in the messaging hierarchy differ according to profile characteristic value.
However, Dahl teaches wherein one or more themes are associated with a messaging hierarchy, wherein the information assets to be provided in the messaging hierarchy differ according to the profile characteristic value(paragraph [0030], discloses hierarchical folder structures , paragraph [0031], discloses the theme-based folder generation system .., soring media items, and paragraphs [0053], discloses the root folders 206 folder 208 and subfolder 210 are each on different level of a hierarchical folders structure)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for autotmcially determines product advertisement that appropriate for presentation with the gaming environment of Longano with a feature of autotmcially generate meaningful theme of Dahl in order to cluster media items in a semantic space to generate theme-based folders [directory] (see Dahl, abstract).
With respect to claim 18, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 16, furthermore, Longano teaches the computer-implemented method wherein the customized information delivery system provides a structured marketing campaign (paragraph [0043], discloses marketplace credit for in-game point or rewards .., initiate an exchange of marketplace credit for in-game points for particular game, e.g., based on input provided to the marketplace ..and paragraph [0081], discloses a particular advertising camping and to provide reward information and requirement data for the assocted products ).
With respect to claim 20, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 16, furthermore, Longano teaches the computer-implemented method for delivering information to recipients using a customized information delivery system( Fig. 1, 100, discloses marketplace platform system, paragraph [0002], discloses computer-implemented systems and processes that integrated content-delivery platform into programmatic environment), the method comprising:
constructing the customized information delivery system according to the computer-implemented method of claim 16(paragraph [0006], discloses identifying at least one previous activity with a marketplace that server the plurlity of games [directory of information assets], paragraph [0071], dislcies a content provider may specify that product of a particular category paragraph [0080], discloses a list of product available for inclusion within advertisement targeted to users of a gaming application or application program by market place platform system.., CUI 400 allows for entry of a product name 401, product description 403, product category 402 product, a hyperlink to product review s 404 product tags 405 (e.e.t, attributes) reads on a directory information” , and paragraph [0107], discloses obtain elements of retail data that identify and characterize a plurality of candidate product adveritment .., obtained retail data may include among other things a product identifier (e.g., product name) and product type or class (e.g., shoes) associated with each of the product candidate advertisements );
on delivery of one or more information assets to a recipient, providing an action to the recipient to determine profile characteristic values of the recipient(paragraph [0029], discloses monitor an interaction to the user with the executed application program and GUI and to perform operation and paragraph [0034], discloses the profile data may also identify and characterize one or more user-specific preference for type or genres of videos games and gaming application);
on receipt of a response to the action, modifying or adding one or more profile characteristic values to a profile of the recipient to form a modified profile(paragraph [0033], disclose user identify engine [a profile module] upon execution perform operation that manage and federate user profile and creation of corresponding user account that the marketplace that can access and paragraph [0034], discloses the profile data .., identifies user (e.g., the user’s name) .., and demographic data characterizing the user such as the user’s age, gender .., user specific preferences types or genres of video games and game application.., or brands of products or service and paragraph [0070], discloses commerce service engine may update [modify] user data for the user stored in data warehouse 116 with marketplace credit [information asset] .., where the user may exchange in-game rewards or credit ); and
indicating or providing one or more further information assets to the recipient on the basis of the modified profile(Fig. 6, discloses obtain elements of profile gaming and retail data, identify one or more product advertisement …, transmit one or more identified advertisement to a customer device paragraph [0070], discloses update user data for the user stored in data warehouse.., the marketplace credits, which describe herein the user may exchange for in-taming rewards or credit and paragraph [0081], discloses provide reward information and requirement data for the associated product…, ).
Claim(s) 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longano (US Pub., No., 2020/0364746 A1) in view of Dahl et al (US Pub., No., 2020/0372073 A1) and futher view of Zollo et al (US Pub., No., 2006/0229932 A1)
With respect to claim 19, Longano in view Dahl teaches elements of claim 18, furthermore, Longano teaches the computer-implemented method, wherein the structured marketing campaign (paragraph [0043], discloses marketplace credit for in-game point or rewards .., initiate an exchange of marketplace credit for in-game points for particular game, e.g., based on input provided to the marketplace ..), the user may then proceed to purchase the advertised product (paragraph [0038]) and clusters ,media item and determine themes for the clusters(paragraph [0049]). Longano and Dahl failed to teach marketing camping is associated with one or more pharmaceutical products, and wherein the information assets provide information relating to a use of the pharmaceutical products or to diseases treatable by the pharmaceutical products.
However, Zollo teaches marketing camping is associated with one or more pharmaceutical products, and wherein the information assets provide information relating to a use of the pharmaceutical products or to diseases treatable by the pharmaceutical products(paragraphs [0011], [0015]discloses generating intelligent sales and/or marketing recommendation .., pharmaceutical and medical product and paragraph [0025], discloses a pharmaceutical company could use system 100 to support its market research and sales operations at all levels of the organization or recommendation and reports ..). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for autotmcially determines product advertisement that appropriate for presentation with the gaming environment of Longano with a feature of autotmcially generate meaningful theme of Dahl with a feature recommending a pharmaceutical and medical product of Zollo in order to provide physicians with information about their products in an effort to have the physicians write prescriptions for and/or recommend the use of their products (see Zollo, paragraph [0004]).
Prior Arts:
Longano (US Pub., No., 2020/0364746 A1) discloses the disclosed exemplary embodiments include computer implemented systems, apparatuses, and processes that, among other things, provide a marketplace platform accessed within various application environments, such as a gaming environment associated with a video game.
Dahl et al (US Pub., No., 2020/0372073 A1) discloses the present disclosure relates to systems, methods, and non-transitory computer readable media for clustering media items in a semantic space to generate theme-based folders that organize media items by content theme.
Zollo et al (US Pub., No., 2006/0229932 A1) discloses systems and methods for generating intelligent promotional recommendations and reports are disclosed. The systems and methods utilize longitudinal patient or physician level data and longitudinal data regarding sales and marketing techniques and approaches employed to train intelligent processing elements such as collaborative filters, neural networks, and combinations there.
Response to Arguments
Due to the amendment to claim 20, claim objection has been withdrawn.
Due to amendment to claim 1, the 35 U.S.C 112 Sixth paragraph has been withdrawn.
Due to the amendment the 35 U.S.C 112 first and second paragraph have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments of 35 U.S.C 101 rejections filed on 20 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants’ arguments of claims are not "directed to" an abstract idea when they focus on a specific, integrated combination of computer operations rather than a high-level business concept. See Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016). In line with the holding in Enfish, amended claim does not merely claim the end-result of "customizing information delivery” is not persuasive. The claims at issue are
directed to the abstract idea of organizing, targeting, and delivering information based on user profiles (frequently classified by courts under the categories of "methods of organizing human activity" or "data manipulation").
The Claimed element mirror long-standing, non-theological concept:
Maintaining a directory and assigning themes: Equivalent to standard indexing and categorizing library books or marketing materials.
Determining profile characteristics and relevance: Equivalent to traditional market demographic targeting.
Providing a priority or relevance: Analogous to a salesman prioritizing pitches to specific clients based on their interests.
Because these tasks are fundamental business and data-organization concepts, the claim satisfies Step 2A as being "directed to" an abstract idea.
Futher, under 2B the claims do not transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application by offering a specific improvement to computer functionality itself to computer functionality itself, rather than just using a computer as a tool. The additional elements of:
Generic Hardware Limitation: The hardware elements ("a processor and a memory") are recited at a high level of generality. The Federal Circuit routinely rules that using a generic computer to automate an abstract business process does not constitute an inventive concept.
Functional Language ("What" instead of "How"): The claim describes what the system does (e.g., "integrate with other technology platforms," "determine profile characteristics," "provide a delivery priority") rather than how it achieves it on a technical level.
Conventional Routing & Tailoring: Customizing information delivery based on a recipient's profile is considered a conventional post-solution activity in modern software.
Furthermore, the Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., see below for the direct comparison of the clams at issue vs Enfish Claims:
Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp.
Claims at issue
Eligible. The invention introduced a self-referential table structure for a database.
Ineligible. The claim outlines a functional mechanism for tailoring data delivery to a user's preferences.
Improves the computer itself. It optimized database operation, allowing faster data queries and more flexible storage memory allocation.
Improves a business/user application. It improves the content and relevance of what is being delivered, not the physical functioning of the platform.
Specific technical design. The self-referential logical table structure was explicitly defined as a new architectural model for how data is structured in memory.
Generic functional concepts. "Maintaining a directory" and "associating assets with themes" are standard, high-level data organization techniques.
Identical to physical software improvements like an optimized operating system or a new computer architecture.
Highly similar to Customedia Techs. v. Dish Network (2020), where dedicated memory structures for storing targeted advertising data were ruled abstract and ineligible.
Thus, claims fall short of eligibility because it fails to improve the underlying functionality of the computer itself. Instead, it merely uses a generic computer as a tool to execute a business practice.
Applicants’ arguments of the claims recites a specific technical solution built into the configuration Of the processor, which must execute the following interlocking operations: dynamically integrate with external, disparate technology platforms; systematically maintain a centralized directory structure Of localized information assets; mathematically determine profile characteristics and specific values for recipients; automatedly associate assets to computed content theme hierarchies; and compute delivery priority/relevance matrices while concurrently determining an action vector presented upon delivery to modify recipient profiles is not persuasive. As explained above, the claims recite an abstract idea under the “methods of organizing human activity” or a “mental process” category, using generic computer components to perform routine network communication (e.g., standard API calls). The claims at issue provide no technical improvement to a computer networks.
Thus, the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection with respect to claims 1-20 is maintained.
Applicant's arguments of 35 U.S.C 103 rejections with respect to claims 1-20 filed on 20 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants’ arguments of Longano does not disclose or teach determining profile characteristics and associated profile characteristic values. For example, Longano describes a user identity engine that performs operations that manage user profiles (see Para. [0033] of Longano). The profile data can include information that identifies the user (e.g., the user's name), the user's street Of shipping address, and payment information that identifies a payment instrument available for purchases (see Para. [0034] of Longano). Unlike claim l, however, Longano has no disclosure Or suggestion Of determining Of profile characteristics. Thus, Applicant respectfully submits that claim I is different than Longano for at least this reason. Longano in paragraph [0063] teaches one or more elements of the profile data characterizing the user, one or
more elements of event data 301, historical interaction data (e.g., as maintained within data warehouse 116) characterizing prior interactions between the user and the marketplace
(e.g., data indicating previous activity with the marketplace, such as historical impressions or purchases), reads on “ profile characteristics and associated profile characteristic values”, therefore, Longano addressed the claimed limitations.,
Applicants’ arguments of Longano does not disclose or suggest the claimed feature of "provide for at least some of the information assets, a delivery priority or a relevance to a profile characteristic value, Or both is not persuasive.
Longano teaches "provide for at least some of the information assets, a delivery priority or a relevance to a profile characteristic value, Or both is not persuasive (paragraph [0038], discloses executed recommendation engine 124 may also transmit the data characterizing the appropriate advertisements across network 118 to a corresponding one or more customer computing devices 110a, 1106 or 110C and the executed application program or gaming application may process the data and present the advertisements within one or more display screens of the marketplace GUI …, paragraph [0063], discloses select appropriate advertisement for the particular customer based an application of trained ML or AI model t,.., paragraph [0065], discloses executed recommendation engine and executed AI engine may perform any of the exemplary process .. to select advertising content appropriate to the user and to the gaming environment on accordance with a predetermined schedule …, and transmit data 303 that includes the obtained advertisements or advertising content to SDK engine 122, e.g., for transmission (e.g., via transceiver 204) to customer computing device and paragraph [0091], discloses GUI 450 may also include a category filter, that allow a user to select or filter out a category product …, candidate product advertisements appropriate to the user and the gaming application in accordance with the selected product categories and to transmit the flited product advertisements to executed gaming application 302 e.g.,, for display within GUI ).
Applicants’ arguments of there is no disclosure or teaching in Longano of "provide a determination of a plurality of actions for determining profile characteristic values from a recipient, whereby an action may be presented to a recipient on delivery of an information asset to the recipient," as defined in claim l.
Longano teaches provide determination of a plurality of actions for determining profile characteristic values from a recipient, whereby an action may be presented to a recipient on delivery of an information asset to the recipient(paragraph [0029], discloses execute application [action configuration module] monitor an interaction of the user with the executed application .., event data characterizing the monitored interaction to marketplace platform system …, identify action a user takes withing the game such as, paragraph [0039], discloses when a user purchase a product that executed application program or gaming application (e.g., via the integrated SDK) may generate and transmit event data characterizing the initiated purchase across network 118 to the marketplace platform system.., paragraph [0066], discloses identify and characterize user activity related to the marketplace within the gaming environment .., activity includes for example activating the marketplace interface (e.g., by engaging a marketplace icon) viewing a particular product (e.g., impression) purchasing product, logging in to the marketplace, logging out of the marketplace [plurality of actions] , and paragraphs [0112]-[0113], disclose the platform may receive event data identifying and characterizing an interaction between user of a comping devices [determination of a plurlity of actions for determining profile characteristics] and paragraph [0114], discloses obtain elements of profile data associated with the user identifier, elements of gaming data associated with game identifier, and elements of retail data identifying and characterizing one or more candidate product advertisements available for presentation within the gaming environment ).
Applicants’ arguments of Dahl does not disclose or suggest "determine[ingl a set of content themes and associate[ing] the information assets in the directory with the content themes," as recited in amended claim 1 is not persuasive.
Dahl teaches determine a set of content themes, wherein the theme building module is adapted to associate the information assets in the directory with the content themes (Fig. 12, 1240, discloses determining themes for the clusters, paragraph [0007], discloses autotmcially generate meaningful theme-based folder for media item in a repository based on the content of the media item and expose the them-based folder structure, paragraph [0018], discloses deteriming themes for clusters [directory] and paragraph [0025], discloses the theme-based folder generation system can analyze the content of media items (e.g., images, video, audio files) in collection of media item and generate tags for each media item).
Therefore, the combination of Longano and Dahl address the claimed limitation.
Furthermore, while Longano in view Dahl address the claimed limitation, Zollo is address claim 19. Thus, the combination of the cited reference address the claimed limitation and the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections with respect to claims 1-20 is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SABA DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621
A computing platform adapted to provide a customized information delivery system to deliver information to recipients customized to the recipients, the computing platform comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to:
integrate with other technology platforms;
maintain a directory of information assets in which the information assets are identified and made available for delivery to the recipients;
determine profile characteristics and associated profile characteristic values for the recipients for the information assets;
determine a set of content themes, and associate the information assets in the directory with the content themes;
provide , for at least some of the information assets, a delivery priority or a relevance to a profile characteristic value, or both; and
provide a determination of a plurality of actions for determining profile characteristic values from a recipient, whereby an action may be presented to a recipient on delivery of an information asset to the recipient.