DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein operating the electronic driver to move the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position also causes the pushbar to move from an extended position to a retracted position” of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7 all instances of “the driver” should read “the electronic driver”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 12-17, and 19-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8, 10-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12241280. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
In regards to claim 1, claim 1 of US ‘280 teaches an exit device system, comprising: a pushbar assembly configured for installation to a first side of a door, the pushbar assembly comprising: a latch having an extended position and a retracted position (Col 11 lines 6-14); a blocking member having a blocking position in which the blocking member retains the latch in the extended position and an unblocking position in which the blocking member permits the latch to move to the retracted position (Col 11 lines 14-20); a pushbar operable to move the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position (Col 11 line 21-23); and an electronic driver operable to move the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position (Col 11 lines 24-28); and a control system in communication with the electronic driver, the control system configured to operate the electronic driver to electrically move the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position based upon information received from a credential reader (Col 11 lines 29-36).
In regards to claim 2, claims 1- 2 of US ‘280 teaches the exit device system of claim 1, further comprising a trim assembly configured for installation to a second side of the door opposite the first side, the trim assembly including an escutcheon, a handle mounted to the escutcheon, and the credential reader (Col 11 37-41).
In regards to claim 3, claim 1-3 of US ‘280 teaches the exit device system of claim 2, wherein the handle has a fixed rotational orientation relative to the escutcheon (Col 11 line 42-43).
In regards to claim 4, claim 1 of US ‘280 teaches the exit device system of claim 1, wherein the control system is positioned within the pushbar assembly (Col 11 line 36, as the housing is a part of the push bar assembly).
In regards to claim 5, claims 1 and 4 of US ‘280 teaches the exit device system of claim 1, wherein actuation of the driver to move the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position does not cause movement of the pushbar (Col 11 lines 44-47).
In regards to claim 6, claim 1 and 5 of US ‘280 teaches the exit device system of claim 1, wherein actuation of the driver to move the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position does not drive the latchbolt to the retracted position (Col 11 lines 48-51).
In regards to claim 7, claims 1 and 6 of US ‘280 teaches the exit device system of claim 1, further comprising a cam operably coupled with the driver such that the driver is operable to move the cam between a locking position and an unlocking position; and wherein the cam is configured to move the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position as the cam moves between the locking position and the unlocking position (Col 11 lines 52-59).
In regards to claim 8, claims 1 and 8 of US ‘280 teaches the exit device system of claim 7, further comprising a position sensor in communication with the control system, the position sensor configured to sense at least one of the locking position or the unlocking position (Col 11 lines 64-67).
In regards to claim 9, claim 10 of US ‘280 teaches a method of operating an exit device system mounted to a door, wherein the exit device system includes a trim assembly mounted to a first side of the door and a pushbar assembly mounted to an opposite second side of the door (Col 12 lines 5-9), the method comprising: selectively maintaining a latchbolt mechanism of the pushbar assembly in a secured state in which a blocking member retains a latchbolt in an extended position (Col 12 lines 10-12), wherein the latchbolt mechanism is operable in an unsecured state in which the blocking member permits the latchbolt to move from the extended position to a retracted position (Col 12 lines 15-17), and wherein the pushbar assembly includes a pushbar operable to transition the latchbolt mechanism between the secured state and the unsecured state (Col 12 lines 18-20); in response to presentation of a credential at a credential reader of the trim assembly, transmitting from the credential reader to a control assembly credential information related to the presented credential (Col 11 lines 25-30); validating the credential information via the control assembly; and in response to validating the credential, transitioning the latchbolt mechanism from the secured state to the unsecured state, wherein the transitioning comprises operating an electronic driver to move the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position (Col 12 lines 29-36).
In regards to claim 10, claims 10-11 of US ‘280 teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising maintaining the pushbar in an extended position while transitioning the latchbolt mechanism from the secured state to the unsecured state (Col 12 lines 37-40).
In regards to claim 12, claims 10 and 12 of US ‘280 teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising securing a handle of the trim assembly in a fixed orientation such that the handle is not operable to rotate relative to the trim assembly (Col 12 lines 41-44).
In regards to claim 13, claims 10 and 13 of US ‘280 teaches the method of claim 9, wherein operating the electronic driver to move the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position comprises operating the electronic driver to move a cam from a locking position to an unlocking position, thereby causing the cam to drive the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position (Col 12 lines 45-51).
In regards to claim 14, claims 10 and 13-14 of US ‘280 teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: sensing a position of the cam; and determining a state of the latchbolt mechanism based upon the sensed position of the cam (Col 12 lines 52-55).
In regards to claim 15, claims 1 and 6 of US ‘280 teaches the system, comprising: a mounting assembly configured for mounting to a first side of a door (Col 11 lines 6-8); a drive assembly (the push bar) movably mounted to the mounting assembly (Col 11 line 24, as the header case is the mounting assembly); a latchbolt mechanism operably coupled with the drive assembly (Col 11 line 12 and Col 11 lines 24-28, as the blocking member is operably coupled to the drive assembly), the latchbolt mechanism comprising: a latchbolt having an extended position and a retracted position (Col 11 lines 12-13); and a blocking member having a blocking position and an unblocking position (Col 11 lines 14-20); wherein the latchbolt mechanism has a secured state in which the blocking member is in the blocking position and retains the latchbolt in the extended position (Col 11 lines 14-20, corresponding to the blocking position); wherein the latchbolt mechanism has an unsecured state in which the blocking member is in the unblocking position and permits retraction of the latchbolt Col 11 lines 14-20, (corresponding to the unblocking position); and wherein the drive assembly is operable to move the latchbolt mechanism between the secured state and the unsecured state (Col 11 lines 29-36); a cam having a locking position and an unlocking position, wherein movement of the cam between the locking position and the unlocking position causes a corresponding movement of the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position (Col 11 lines 52-59); an electronic driver operable to move the cam between the locking position and the unlocking position to thereby transition the latchbolt mechanism between the secured state and the unsecured state (Col 11 line 24-28 and Col 11 lines 52-59); and a control assembly operable to cause the driver to move the cam between the locking position and the unlocking position such that the control assembly is operable to electronically transition the latchbolt mechanism between the secured state and the unsecured state (Col 11 lines 29-36).
In regards to claim 16, claims 1-2 and 6 of US ‘280 teaches the system of claim 15, further comprising a trim assembly configured for installation to a second side of the door opposite the first side, the trim assembly including a handle and a credential reader; and wherein the control assembly is in communication with the credential reader and is configured to cause the driver to move the cam from the locking position to the unlocking position based upon information received from the credential reader (Col 11 lines 37-41).
In regards to claim 17, claim 1-3 and 6 of US ‘280 teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the trim assembly is a fixed trim assembly in which the handle is secured in a single rotational orientation (Col 11 lines 42-43).
In regards to claim 19, claims 1, 4, and 6 of US ‘280 teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the driver is operable to transition the latchbolt mechanism between the secured state and the unsecured state without actuating the drive assembly (Col 11 lines 44-47).
In regards to claim 20, claims 1 and 5-6 of US ‘280 teaches the system of claim 15, wherein actuation of the drive assembly moves the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position without retracting the latchbolt (Col 11 lines 48-51 and Col 11 lines 15-18; note “permit”).
Claim 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12241280 in view of Chang US 20170051536 A1 (hereinafter Chang).
In regards to claim 18, claim 1 and 6 of US ‘280 teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the drive assembly comprises a pushbar (claim 1 describes the drive assembly as a push bar).
However, US ‘280 is silent on wherein the drive assembly is biased toward a deactuated state in which the pushbar is extended; and wherein the drive assembly is movable to an actuated state in which the pushbar is depressed. This is very common for pushbars.
Chang teaches a pushbar (see fig 11); wherein the drive assembly is biased (via 24) toward a deactuated state in which the pushbar is extended (see fig 5); and wherein the drive assembly is movable to an actuated state in which the pushbar is depressed (see fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have US ‘280’s push bar be biased toward a deactuated state in which the pushbar is extended; and wherein the drive assembly is movable to an actuated state in which the pushbar is depressed such as in Chang in order to provide for a well-known and conventional exit device pushbar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang US 20170051536 A1 (hereinafter Chang).
In regards to claim 1, Chang teaches an exit device system, comprising: a pushbar assembly configured for installation to a first side of a door (see fig 3), the pushbar assembly comprising: a latch (41)having an extended position (see fig 8) and a retracted position (see fig 9); a blocking member (46) having a blocking position in which the blocking member retains the latch in the extended position (see fig 2 and para 39) and an unblocking position in which the blocking member permits the latch to move to the retracted position (see fig 1); a pushbar (11) operable to move the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position (at least via 30, see para40); and an electronic driver (45) operable to move the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position (see figs 1 and 2); and a control system (31) in communication with the electronic driver, the control system configured to operate the electronic driver to electrically move the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position based upon information received from a credential reader (34; see para 40).
In regards to claim 4, Chang teaches the exit device system of claim 1, wherein the control system is positioned within the pushbar assembly (described in para 33).
In regards to claim 5, Chang teaches the exit device system of claim 1, wherein actuation of the driver to move the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position does not cause movement of the pushbar (as movement of 45 would not affect 11).
In regards to claim 6, Chang teaches the exit device system of claim 1, wherein actuation of the driver to move the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position does not drive the latchbolt to the retracted position (not directly as 41 is biased outward and 46 merely blocks retraction of 41 see figs 1 -2).
In regards to claim 7, Chang teaches the exit device system of claim 1, further comprising a cam (50; at least as it transfers linear motion of 45 to rotary motion) operably coupled with the driver such that the driver is operable to move the cam between a locking position (see fig 2) and an unlocking position (see fig 1); and wherein the cam is configured to move the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position as the cam moves between the locking position and the unlocking position (see fig 1 and 2).
In regards to claim 15, Chang teaches a system, comprising: a mounting assembly (at least 10 see fig 3); see configured for mounting to a first side of a door (para 40); a drive assembly (at least 11) movably mounted to the mounting assembly; a latchbolt mechanism (at least 40 and 41) operably coupled with the drive assembly, the latchbolt mechanism comprising: a latchbolt (41) having an extended position (see fig 8) and a retracted position (see fig 9); and a blocking member (46) having a blocking position (see fig 2) and an unblocking position (see fig 1); wherein the latchbolt mechanism has a secured state in which the blocking member is in the blocking position and retains the latchbolt in the extended position (see fig 2);wherein the latchbolt mechanism has an unsecured state in which the blocking member is in the unblocking position and permits retraction of the latchbolt (see fig 1); and wherein the drive assembly is operable to move the latchbolt mechanism between the secured state and the unsecured state (at least via 30; para 40); a cam (50) having a locking position (see fig 2) and an unlocking position (see fi 1), wherein movement of the cam between the locking position and the unlocking position causes a corresponding movement of the blocking member between the blocking position and the unblocking position (see figs 1-2); an electronic driver (45) operable to move the cam between the locking position and the unlocking position to thereby transition the latchbolt mechanism between the secured state and the unsecured state (see figs 1 and 2); and a control assembly (at least 31) operable to cause the driver to move the cam between the locking position and the unlocking position such that the control assembly is operable to electronically transition the latchbolt mechanism between the secured state and the unsecured state (para 38).
In regards to claim 18, Chang teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the drive assembly comprises a pushbar (see fig 11); wherein the drive assembly is biased (via 24) toward a deactuated state in which the pushbar is extended (see fig 5); and wherein the drive assembly is movable to an actuated state in which the pushbar is depressed (see fig 6).
In regards to claim 19, Chang teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the driver is operable to transition the latchbolt mechanism between the secured state and the unsecured state without actuating the drive assembly (as movement of 45 would not affect 11).
In regards to claim 20, Chang teaches the system of claim 15, wherein actuation of the drive assembly moves the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position without retracting the latchbolt (as 41 is biased outward and 46 merely blocks movement of 41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 15, and 18-20 above, and further in view of Evans US 4961330 A (hereinafter Evans) and Hickman US 20140165677 A1 (hereinafter Hickman).
In regards to claim 2, Chang teaches the exit device system of claim 1.
However, Chang is silent on a trim assembly configured for installation to a second side of the door opposite the first side, the trim assembly including an escutcheon, a handle mounted to the escutcheon.
Evans teaches a second side of the door opposite the first side, the trim assembly including an escutcheon (20), a handle mounted to the escutcheon (20h).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a trim assembly configured for installation to a second side of the door opposite the first side, the trim assembly including an escutcheon, a handle mounted to the escutcheon such as in Evans in order to provide for a well-known and conventional way of opening a door from an exterior of the door.
Additionally, Chang does not teach a trim associated with his credential reader and therefore the examiner does not consider it a part of a trim assembly. This is very common however.
Hickman teaches a similar credential reader 24 with a trim (26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the credential reader comprise a trim such as in Hickman in order to provide for a well-known and conventional way of attaching a credential reader to a door.
In regards to claim 3, Chang in view of Evans and Hickman teaches the exit device system of claim 2, wherein the handle has a fixed rotational orientation relative to the escutcheon (see Evans fig 4).
In regards to claim 16, Chang in view of Evans and Hickman teaches the system of claim 15, further comprising a credential reader (34); and wherein the control assembly is in communication with the credential reader and is configured to cause the driver to move the cam from the locking position to the unlocking position based upon information received from the credential reader (para 40).
However, Chang is silent on a trim assembly configured for installation to a second side of the door opposite the first side, the trim assembly including a handle.
Evans teaches a second side of the door opposite the first side, the trim assembly including a handle (20h).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a trim assembly configured for installation to a second side of the door opposite the first side, the trim assembly including a handle such as in Evans in order to provide for a well-known and conventional way of opening a door from an exterior of the door.
Additionally, Chang does not teach a trim associated with his credential reader and therefore the examiner does not consider it a part of a trim assembly. This is very common however.
Hickman teaches a similar credential reader 24 with a trim (26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the credential reader comprise a trim such as in Hickman in order to provide for a well-known and conventional way of attaching a credential reader to a door.
In regards to claim 17, Chang in view of Evans and Hickman teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the trim assembly is a fixed trim assembly in which the handle is secured in a single rotational orientation (see Evans fig 4).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claims 9-10 and 13 above, and further in view of Arlinghaus et al. US 20180245375 A1 (hereinafter US ‘375).
In regards to claim 8, Chang teaches the exit device system of claim 7.
However, Chang does not teach a position sensor in communication with the control system, the position sensor configured to sense at least one of the locking position or the unlocking position.
US ‘375 teaches a position sensor (330) in communication with the control system (300 para 72), the position sensor configured to sense at least one of the locking position (see fig 12) or the unlocking position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Chang with a position sensor in communication with the control system, the position sensor configured to sense at least one of the locking position or the unlocking position in order to evaluate and communicate the security state of the exit device (US ‘375: para 52)
Claim(s) 9-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Hickman.
In regards to claim 9, Chang teaches a method of operating an exit device system mounted to a door, wherein the exit device system includes an assembly (34) mounted to a first side of the door (para 40) and a pushbar assembly mounted to an opposite second side of the door (see fig 1), the method comprising: selectively maintaining a latchbolt mechanism (41) of the pushbar assembly in a secured state in which a blocking member (46) retains a latchbolt (41) in an extended position (see fig 2), wherein the latchbolt mechanism is operable in an unsecured state in which the blocking member permits the latchbolt to move from the extended position to a retracted position (see fig 1), and wherein the pushbar assembly includes a pushbar (11) operable to transition the latchbolt mechanism between the secured state and the unsecured state (at least via 30, see para 40); in response to presentation of a credential (card) at a credential reader (either a portion of 34 that reads the card) of the assembly (see para 33), transmitting from the credential reader to a control assembly (31; see para 33) and in response to a read signal, transitioning the latchbolt mechanism from the secured state to the unsecured state (para 33), wherein the transitioning comprises operating an electronic driver (45) to move the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position (see figs 2-1).
However, Chang is silent on if the assembly is a trim assembly since Chang does not teach a trim associated with the credential reader.
Hickman teaches a similar credential reader 24 with a trim (26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the credential reader comprise a trim such as in Hickman in order to provide for a well-known and conventional way of attaching a credential reader to a door.
Additionally, Chang fails to teach transmitting from the credential reader to a control assembly credential information related to the presented credential; validating the credential information via the control assembly. Chang teaches a card reader is silent on the validation of the card. This is extremely common in the art however.
Hickman teaches transmitting from a credential reader (24) to a control assembly (32) credential information related to the presented credential; validating the credential information via the control assembly (see para 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have teach transmitting from the credential reader to a control assembly credential information related to the presented credential; validating the credential information via the control assembly in Chang in order to provide a conventional and well known card reader operation.
In regards to claim 10, Chang in view of Hickman teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising maintaining the pushbar in an extended position (Chang: such as in fig 5) while transitioning the latchbolt mechanism from the secured state to the unsecured state (Chang: as movement of 45 would not affect 11).
In regards to claim 13, Chang in view of Hickman teaches the method of claim 9, wherein operating the electronic driver to move the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position comprises operating the electronic driver to move a cam (Chang: 50) from a locking position (Chang: see fig 2) to an unlocking position (Chang: see fig 1), thereby causing the cam to drive the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position (Chang: see figs 1-2).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Hickman as applied to claims 9-10 and 13 above, and further in view of Evans.
In regards to claim 12, Chang in view of Hickman teaches the method of claim 9.
However, Chang does not teach further comprising securing a handle of the trim assembly in a fixed orientation such that the handle is not operable to rotate relative to the trim assembly.
Evans teaches a handle (20h) of the trim assembly (considering all trims on the same side of the door as the trim assembly) in a fixed orientation such that the handle is not operable to rotate relative to the trim assembly (see fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have securing a handle of the trim assembly in a fixed orientation such that the handle is not operable to rotate relative to the trim assembly such as in Evans in order to provide for a well-known and conventional way of opening a door from an exterior of the door.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Hickman as applied to claims 9-10 and 13 above, and further in view of US ‘375.
In regards to claim 14, Chang in view of Hickman teaches the method of claim 13.
However, Chang does not teach further comprising: sensing a position of the cam; and determining a state of the latchbolt mechanism based upon the sensed position of the cam.
US ‘375 teaches sensing a position (via 330) of a similar cam (230); and determining a state of the latchbolt mechanism based upon the sensed position of the cam (para 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Chang with sensing a position of the cam; and determining a state of the latchbolt mechanism based upon the sensed position of the cam in order to evaluate and communicate the security state of the exit device (US ‘375: para 52).
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arlinghaus US 20070246946 A1 (US ‘946) in view of Ross et al. US 7536885 B1 (hereinafter Ross) and Hickman.
In regards to claim 9, US ‘946 teaches a method of operating an exit device system mounted to a door, wherein the exit device system includes a trim assembly (assembly with 26, see fig 3) mounted to a first side of the door (see fig 3) and a pushbar assembly (13) mounted to an opposite second side of the door, the method comprising: selectively maintaining a latchbolt (36) mechanism of the pushbar assembly in a secured state in which a blocking member (32) retains a latchbolt in an extended position (see fig 9), wherein the latchbolt mechanism is operable in an unsecured state (see fig 8) in which the blocking member permits the latchbolt to move from the extended position to a retracted position (see fig 8), and wherein the pushbar assembly includes a pushbar (24) operable to transition the latchbolt mechanism between the secured state and the unsecured state (para 31).
However US ‘946 does not teach in response to presentation of a credential at a credential reader of the trim assembly, transmitting from the credential reader to a control assembly credential information related to the presented credential; validating the credential information via the control assembly; and in response to validating the credential, transitioning the latchbolt mechanism from the secured state to the unsecured state, wherein the transitioning comprises operating an electronic driver to move the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position.
Ross teaches in response to presentation of a credential (such as a card, see Col 8 lines 27-48) at a credential reader (64), transmitting from the credential reader to a control assembly (at least 56) credential information related to the presented credential (Col 8 lines 48-59); validating the credential information via the control assembly; and in response to validating the credential, transitioning the latchbolt mechanism from the secured state to the unsecured state (Col 8 line 60-67), wherein the transitioning comprises operating an electronic driver (68).
Additionally, US ‘946 does not teach the credential reader is “of the trim assembly”.
Hickman teaches a similar credential reader 24 with a trim (26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the credential reader comprise a trim such as in Hickman in order to provide for a well-known and conventional way of attaching a credential reader to a door.
In regards to claim 11, US ‘946 in view of Ross and Hickman teaches method of claim 9.
However, US ‘946 does not teach wherein operating the electronic driver to move the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position also causes the pushbar to move from an extended position to a retracted position. This is because US ‘946 is silent on the connection between 24 and 34.
Ross teaches wherein operating the electronic driver to move the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position also causes the pushbar to move from an extended position to a retracted position (as the electronic driver of Ross retracts the action rod in order to unlatch, which would retract the push bar see fig 2; the action rod of Ross is equivalent to 34 of US ‘946).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have connected US ‘946 34 and push bar similar to Ross, such that the electronic driver to move the blocking member from the blocking position to the unblocking position also causes the pushbar to move from an extended position to a retracted position, in order to provide a conventional and well known connection with a pushbar.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shen US 20180106077 A1 – teaches a device similar to change using a rotary motor.
Allen US 3504511 A – teaches sensor arrangements for detecting a blocking lever.
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675