This action is in response to application filed on March 4, 2025. Claims 1-20
are pending. Claims 1-20 represent RESOURCE RECLAIMING IN A TENANCY HAVING MULTIPLE SERVICE SUBSCRIPTIONS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dawson et al. U.S. 20110138051.
Dawson teaches the invention as claimed including Reserving Service Within a Cloud Computing Environment (see abstract).
As to claim 1, Dawson taches a method comprising:
associating a subscription of a user account with a cloud service provider (CSP) with a virtual resource of the CSP (paragraph 82);
enabling a device associated with the user account to access the virtual resource, the virtual resource available and accessible as part of a private cloud associated with the user account (paragraph 36);
determining a change to the subscription (paragraph 61); and
disassociating, based on the change, the virtual resource from the subscription such that the virtual resource is unavailable via the private cloud in association with the subscription and such that the virtual resource is available and accessible for use in association with a different subscription (paragraph 38; paragraph 81)).
As to claim 2, Dawson teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the virtual resource is associated with the subscription and not with any other subscription associated with the user account (paragraph 25).
As to claim 3, Dawson teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the virtual resource is not depended on by other virtual resources that are accessible (paragraph 52).
As to claim 4, Dawson teaches the method of claim 1, wherein disassociating the virtual resource comprises transmitting a resource management instruction, indicating the virtual resource should be deleted, to a control plane that manages virtual resources associated with the user account (paragraph 53).
As to claim 5, Dawson teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the private cloud is a second CSP (paragraph 33).
As to claim 6, Dawson teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the change to the subscription comprises: receiving a subscription identifier that identifies the subscription and a subscription state to associate with the subscription (paragraph 53).
As to claim 7, Dawson teaches the method of claim 6, wherein determining the change to the subscription further comprises receiving the subscription state from the private cloud (paragraph 72).
As to claim 8, Dawson teaches the method of claim 6, wherein determining the change to the subscription further comprises: receiving an indication associated with the subscription from a subscription billing system (paragraph 53).
As to claim 9, Dawson teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the subscription state is determined based at least in part on a length of time the subscription has been associated with a second subscription state (paragraph 73).
As to claim 10, Dawson teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving the subscription identifier, the subscription state, and an identifier of the virtual resource; and associating the virtual resource with the subscription identifier based at least in part on the subscription state (paragraph 61).
As to claim 11, Dawson teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the unavailable virtual resource comprises a terminated virtual resource (paragraph 85).
As to claim 12, Dawson teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the terminated virtual resource has a configuration associated with the virtual resource removed (paragraph 61); and
wherein the method further comprises: reclaiming, by the CSP, at least one of computing power, storage, or bandwidth allocated to the user account so that at least one of other user accounts or other subscriptions can use the at least one of the computing power, the storage, or the bandwidth (paragraph 25).
As to claim 13, Dawson teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the change to the subscription comprises determining the subscription is terminated (paragraph 60); and
wherein the method further comprises:
disassociating, based on the change, all virtual resources from the subscription such that all the virtual resource are unavailable via the private cloud in association with the subscription and such that the virtual resources are available and accessible for use in association with the different subscription (paragraph 61).
Claims 14-20 does not teach anything different from rejected claims 1-3, therefore are rejected similarly.
Conclusion
/EL HADJI M SALL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457