DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-17) in the reply filed on 04 March 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04 March 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Owen (US Pub. No. 2019/0280641 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Owen teaches a solar array, comprising: an elongate support (70) having a proximal end and a distal end; a slew drive (100) coupled to the distal end of the elongate support (Para. 0027); and first and second pivotally coupled leaves (161, 165, Fig. 5) of solar panels (Para. 0035), wherein the first leaf is coupled to the slew drive (via 120).
In regards to claim 2, Owen teaches a base (80) coupled to the proximal end of the elongate support.
In regards to claim 3, Owen teaches the base (80) includes at least one energy storage system (Para. 0024).
In regards to claim 4, Owen teaches the base includes a cabinet (84, Fig. 2) housing the energy storage system.
In regards to claim 5, Owen teaches the elongate support (7) is coupled to a central portion of the base (80) (e.g.; see Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 7, Owen teaches a wheeled trailer (50) bearing the solar array.
In regards to claim 8, Owens teaches the solar array has maximum dimensions less than or equal to 102 inches in width and 264 inches in length in a folded configuration (Para. 0023).
In regards to claim 9, Owens teaches the first leaf is coupled to the slew drive via a torque tube (120) symmetrically extending from the slew drive.
In regards to claim 11, Owens teaches at least the first leaf (161) includes a hinged solar panel (162) rotatable with respect to a plane of the first leaf.
In regards to claim 12, Owens teaches a transport fixture (50) coupled to the proximal end of the elongate support.
In regard to claim 14, Owens teaches a system, comprising: a wheeled vehicle (50) including a bed (60) bearing at least one solar array in accordance with Claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owen (US Pub. No. 2019/0280641 A1) in view of Prentice et al. (US Pat. No. 11,247,615 B2).
In regards to claim 6, Owen teaches the base includes a load-bearing surface including a contact surface configured to support the second leaf (e.g.; see outer surface of 80 in Fig. 2). Owen does not particularly teach a low friction contact surface. Prentice teaches a low friction contact surface (117; i.e.; metal) (Col 15, Lines 11-15).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Owen’s apparatus to have a low friction contact surface. The motivation would be for the purpose of protecting the solar panel as taught by Prentice (Col 15, Lines 11-15).
Claims 10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owen (US Pub. No. 2019/0280641 A1) in view of Gerwing et al. (US Pat. No. 10,720,541 B2).
In regards to claim 10, Owen does not teach the first and second leaves are pivotally coupled by one or more hinges having a hinge axis spaced apart from the torque tube. Gerwing teaches first and second leaves (78, 80, Fig. 6) are pivotally coupled by one or more hinges (90) having a hinge axis spaced apart from the torque tube (44).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Owen’s apparatus such that the first and second leaves are pivotally coupled by one or more hinges having a hinge axis spaced apart from the torque tube. The motivation would be for the purpose of allowing solar panels to be folded over and face one another in a minimum volume-shipping configuration as taught by Gerwing (Col 5, Lines 22-44).
In regards to claim 15, Owen teaches a solar array, comprising: an elongate support (70) having a proximal end and a distal end; a slew drive (100) coupled to the distal end of the elongate support (Para. 0027); first and second leaves (161, 165, Fig. 5) of solar panels, wherein: the first leaf is coupled to the slew drive via a torque tube (120) symmetrically extending from the slew drive; a base (80) having a central portion coupled to the proximal end of the elongate support, the base including a load-bearing surface configured to support a second leaf among the multiple leaves (e.g.; see outside surface of 80 in Fig. 2).
Owen does not teach the second leaf is pivotally coupled to the first leaf by one or more hinges having a hinge axis spaced apart from the torque tube. Gerwing teaches a second leaf (80) is pivotally coupled to a first leaf (78) by one or more hinges (90) having a hinge axis spaced apart from the torque tube (44).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Owen’s apparatus such that the second leaf is pivotally coupled to the first leaf by one or more hinges having a hinge axis spaced apart from the torque tube. The motivation would be for the purpose of allowing solar panels to be folded over and face one another in a minimum volume-shipping configuration as taught by Gerwing (Col 5, Lines 22-44).
In regards to claim 16, modified Owen teaches at least one energy storage system (Owen: Para. 0024).
In regards to claim 17, modified Owen teaches a wheeled trailer (Owen: 50) bearing the solar array.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owen (US Pub. No. 2019/0280641 A1) in view of Azzam et al. (US Pat. No. 6,201,181 B1).
In regards to claim 13, Owen does not teach at least one chassis lock pin coupled to the chassis and configured to cooperate with the crossbar of the first or second leaves to secure the crossbar with respect to the chassis.
Azzam teaches at least one chassis lock pin (172, Fig. 6) coupled to a chassis (via 174) and configured to cooperate with the crossbar of a first or second leaf (4) of a solar panel to secure the crossbar with respect to the chassis.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Owen’s apparatus to include at least one chassis lock pin coupled to the chassis and configured to cooperate with the crossbar of the first or second leaves to secure the crossbar with respect to the chassis. The motivation would be for the purpose of locking the solar panel against pivotal movement during rolling mode as arrangement as taught by Azzam (Col 5, Lines 62-67 to Col 6, Lines 1-7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the PTO-892 for additional prior art related to Applicant’s disclosed invention.
/Stanton L Krycinski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631