Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on April 09, 2026 has been entered. Claims 21, 27-28, 34-35 have been amended. Claims 21-40 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C 103
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 21-40 under U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However upon further consideration and in light of Applicant’s amendments, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Natanzon (U.S Pub # 20090132636)
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 28, 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over independent claims 1 and 9 of Patent 12346534 (reference application). Claims 21, 28, 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over independent claims 16, 24, 29 of Patent 9547369 (reference application). Claims 21, 28, 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over independent claims 1 and 14 of Patent 9720570 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the below.
Claim 21 of instant application
Claim 1 of patent 12346534
A method of interpreting user gestures on a user interface of a computing device, comprising:
displaying a stack of images sequentially with a first image showing a first object belonging to a first category;
while displaying the first image, detecting a user gesture either swiping the first image in a first direction to select the first object or swiping the first image in a second direction to reject the first object; and
while displaying the first image, using the user gesture as a bias to dynamically change a set of subsequent images in the stack of images, comprising:
in response to determining that the swiping is in the first direction, changing the set of subsequent images to a first set of images that show objects belonging to the first category; and
in response to determining that the swiping is in the second direction, changing the set of subsequent images to a second set of images that show objects belonging to a second category different from the first category.
A method for performing a backup, the method comprising:
providing a user interface for display on a screen of a mobile computing device that presents a top image of a first user in a series of images indicating an option to select the first user, wherein the series of images is presented as a stack of images
receiving, from a user, input indicating a user engagement with the top image and a swiping of the top image in at least one of a first direction and a second direction, wherein swiping the top image in the first direction indicates selecting the first user and swiping the top image in the second direction indicates rejecting the first user, wherein the first and second directions are towards different sides of the screen;
determining a first attribute associated with a first profile of the first user, the first attribute indicating an activity option preferred by the first user, the activity option is determined based at least on the user engagement with the top image and the swiping of the top image;
determining that the swiping occurred in the first direction;
in response to determining that the swiping occurred in the first direction, selecting the first user;
in response to selecting the first user, placing the top image of the first user in a first collection of images;
displaying a subsequent image of a second user in the series of images;
receiving, from the user, a second input indicating a user engagement with the subsequent image and a swiping of the subsequent image in at least one of the first direction and the second direction;
determining that the swiping occurred in the second direction;
in response to determining that the swiping occurred in the second direction, rejecting the second user;
in response to rejecting the second user, placing the subsequent image of the second user in a second collection of images, the second collection of images comprising images of users that were rejected; determining that the second attribute corresponds to the first attribute;
in response to determining that the second attribute corresponds to the first attribute, determining an image of the new user to be displayed on the screen based in part on selecting the first user, wherein selecting the first user represents a preference of the user.
Claim 21 of instant application
Claim 16 of patent 9547369
A method of interpreting user gestures on a user interface of a computing device, comprising:
displaying a stack of images sequentially with a first image showing a first object belonging to a first category;
while displaying the first image, detecting a user gesture either swiping the first image in a first direction to select the first object or swiping the first image in a second direction to reject the first object; and
using the user gesture as a bias to dynamically change a set of subsequent images in the stack of images, comprising:
in response to determining that the swiping is in the first direction, changing the set of subsequent images to a first set of images that show objects belonging to the first category; and
in response to determining that the swiping is in the second direction, changing the set of subsequent images to a second set of images that show objects belonging to a second category different from the first category.
A method for performing a backup, the method comprising:
providing a user interface for display on a screen that sequentially, not simultaneously presents a series of images representing options to accept or reject;
wherein the user interface implements acceptance or rejection of an option with swiping a respective image in a first or second direction and off the screen, wherein the first and second directions are towards different sides of the screen, and wherein one of the first and second directions includes a swipe right;
receiving input representing a user gesture of engagement with the respective image in the user interface and a swipe of the respective image in the first or second direction and off the screen; and
based on the first or second direction in the received input, accepting or rejecting the option represented by the respective image.
Claim 21 of instant application
Claim 1 of patent 9720570
A method of interpreting user gestures on a user interface of a computing device, comprising:
displaying a stack of images sequentially with a first image showing a first object belonging to a first category;
while displaying the first image, detecting a user gesture either swiping the first image in a first direction to select the first object or swiping the first image in a second direction to reject the first object; and
using the user gesture as a bias to dynamically change a set of subsequent images in the stack of images, comprising:
in response to determining that the swiping is in the first direction, changing the set of subsequent images to a first set of images that show objects belonging to the first category; and
in response to determining that the swiping is in the second direction, changing the set of subsequent images to a second set of images that show objects belonging to a second category different from the first category.
A method of interpreting user gestures received from a gesture based user interface of a computing device, including:
providing a user interface for display on a screen that presents a stack of images indicating options to accept or reject, wherein the user interface implements acceptance or rejection of an option with an indication of a swiping a respective image in a first or second direction and off the screen, wherein the first and second directions are towards different sides of the screen;
repeatedly receiving input indicating a user engagement with the respective image in the user interface and a swipe of the respective image in the first or second direction and off the screen and based on the first or second direction in the received input, accepting or rejecting the option indicated by the respective image; and
using the options repeatedly accepted and rejected, determining options to represent in subsequent images.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 25-26, 28-30, 32-33, 35-37, 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa (U.S Pub # 20110157047) in view of Natanzon (U.S Pub # 20090132636) and in further view of Simkhai (U.S Pat # 8606297).
With regards to claim 21, Nakagawa discloses a method of interpreting user gestures on a user interface of a computing device, comprising:
displaying a stack of images sequentially with a first image showing a first object belonging to a first category (Fig. 2A-2C [0039] images are arranged in order of image shooting date. In the vertical direction, images taken on the same date are arranged in such an order that images having a later image shooting time are arranged towards the back of the screen virtual space compared to those with an earlier image shooting time);
while displaying the first image, detecting a user gesture either swiping the first image in a first direction to select the first object or swiping the first image in a second direction to reject the first object ([0097] an image can be deleted by flicking the image upwards. The image may be protected by flicking the image downwards).
Nakagawa does not disclose however Natanzon discloses:
while displaying the first image, using the user gesture as a bias to dynamically change a set of subsequent images in the stack of images, comprising ([0045-0046] an image transferring and decompression plan prioritizes images such that those images that are currently not visible on a workstation display but have a high probability of becoming visible due to some interactive input of the user (e.g., user scrolling of the image stack) also have sufficiently high priority for transfer and decompression of their fine resolution layers. However, this priority may be lower than a priority for visible image layers. Upon scrolling of any available image stack, statuses of all images change, making some currently invisible images visible and making some currently visible images invisible. The status changes are communicated to subsystems responsible for image transfer and decompression).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Nakagawa by Natanzon to display a stack of images for users to interact with.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a system for image delivery in a picture archiving and communication system (Natanzon [0010]).
Simkhai discloses:
in response to determining that the swiping is in the first direction, changing the set of subsequent images to a first set of images that show objects belonging to the first category ([Col. 3 lines 46-56] updating, in response to user input, the user interface to display only those of the representations associated with ones of the other users having one or more interests consistent with interests of the user); and
in response to determining that the swiping is in the second direction, changing the set of subsequent images to a second set of images that show objects belonging to a second category different from the first category ([Col. 3 lines 46-56] updating, in response to user input, the user interface to display only those of the representations associated with ones of the other users having one or more interests consistent with interests of the user).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Nakagawa and Natanzon by Simkhai to update a series of images based on user input.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to update in response to user input, the user interface to display representation of other users (Simkhai [Col. 4 lines 1-10]).
Claims 28 and 35 correspond to claim 21 and are rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 22, Nakagawa does not disclose however Simkhai discloses:
iteratively using each user gesture on each image of the stack of images as an additional bias to dynamically change a subsequent image in the stack to another image that shows a second object that belongs to a third category to which a plurality of selected objects in preceding images within the stack belong ([Col. 3 lines 46-56] updating, in response to user input, the user interface to display only those of the representations associated with ones of the other users having one or more interests consistent with interests of the user).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Nakagawa and Natanzon by Simkhai to update a series of images based on user input.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to update in response to user input, the user interface to display representation of other users (Simkhai [Col. 4 lines 1-10]).
Claims 29 and 36 correspond to claim 22 and are rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 23, Nakagawa does not disclose however Simkhai discloses:
in response to determining that the swiping is in the first direction, sorting the set of subsequent images within the stack of images such that images belonging to the first category to be displayed before other images ([Col. 3 lines 46-56] updating, in response to user input, the user interface to display only those of the representations associated with ones of the other users having one or more interests consistent with interests of the user).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Nakagawa and Natanzon by Simkhai to update a series of images based on user input.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to update in response to user input, the user interface to display representation of other users (Simkhai [Col. 4 lines 1-10]).
Claims 30 and 37 correspond to claim 23 and are rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 25, Nakagawa does not disclose however Simkhai discloses:
wherein the first image is selected to be displayed on the user interface based at least in part upon a set of historical choices of a user on a previous stack of images, the set of historical choices comprising prior selections or rejections, the set of historical choices further comprising an inferred preference to objects belonging to the first category ([Col. 3 lines 46-56] updating, in response to user input, the user interface to display only those of the representations associated with ones of the other users having one or more interests consistent with interests of the user).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Nakagawa and Natanzon by Simkhai to update a series of images based on user input.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to update in response to user input, the user interface to display representation of other users (Simkhai [Col. 4 lines 1-10]).
Claims 32 and 39 correspond to claim 25 and are rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 26, Nakagawa does not disclose however Simkhai discloses:
wherein the first category is associated with a preference of a user with respect to objects ([Col. 3 lines 46-56] updating, in response to user input, the user interface to display only those of the representations associated with ones of the other users having one or more interests consistent with interests of the user).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Nakagawa and Natanzon by Simkhai to update a series of images based on user input.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to update in response to user input, the user interface to display representation of other users (Simkhai [Col. 4 lines 1-10]).
Claims 33 and 40 correspond to claim 25 and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 24, 31, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa (U.S Pub # 20110157047) in view of Natanzon (U.S Pub # 20090132636) and in further view of Simkhai (U.S Pat # 8606297) and Haveliwala (U.S Pub # 20100293057).
With regards to claim 24, Nakagawa does not disclose however Simkhai discloses:
displaying a second image of the stack of images, the second image showing a second object belonging to the first category ([Col. 3 lines 46-56] updating, in response to user input, the user interface to display only those of the representations associated with ones of the other users having one or more interests consistent with interests of the user); and
while displaying the second image of the stack of images:
detecting a second user gesture on the second image, the second user gesture indicating a rejection of the second object ([Col. 8 lines 61-63] user may indicate some subjects to be blocked).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Nakagawa and Natanzon by Simkhai to update a series of images based on user input.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to update in response to user input, the user interface to display representation of other users (Simkhai [Col. 4 lines 1-10]).
Haveliwala discloses:
detecting an inference of feedback on the second image, the feedback comprising time spent interacting with the second image ([0066] user viewed for less than a predefined threshold of time); and
in response to detecting the second user gesture on the second image and detecting the inference of the feedback on the second image, dynamically changing a classification of the second object by removing the second object from a class of objects that belong to the first category ([0066] For example, information 209 may be used to select only documents that received significant user activity (in accordance with predefined criteria) for generating the user profile, or information 209 may be used to exclude from the profiling process documents that the user viewed for less than a predefined threshold amount of time).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Nakagawa, Natanzon and Simkhai by Haveliwala to infer user intentions based on time spent deciding on an image.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to determine a user’s interests (Haveliwala [0006]).
Claims 31 and 38 correspond to claim 24 and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 27 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa (U.S Pub # 20110157047) in view of Natanzon (U.S Pub # 20090132636) and in further view of Simkhai (U.S Pat # 8606297) and Hua (U.S Pub # 20110191334).
With regards to claim 27, Nakagawa does not disclose however Hua discloses:
before displaying a first subsequent image, determining a first similarity score between the first object and a second object shown in the first subsequent image, the first similarity score being based on at least a first attribute in common between the first object and the second object; before displaying a second subsequent image, determining a second similarity score between the first object and a third object shown in the second subsequent image, the second similarity score being based on at least a second attribute in common between the first object and the third object; determining that the second similarity score is higher than the first similarity score; and in response to determining that the second similarity score is higher than the first similarity score, modifying an order of the set of subsequent images, such that the second object is displayed after the third object ([0031] rank the digital images to be displayed. At this stage, the calculated similarity scores corresponding to the digital images may be used to sort the digital images from most similar to least similar).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Nakagawa, Natanzon and Simkhai by Hua to rank images by their similarity scores.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to retrieve and rank digital images, and display the retrieved and ranked digital images (Hua [0005]).
Claim 34 corresponds to claim 27 and is rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166