DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US 2018/0065208 A1, hereafter Mori) and Mori R et al. (US 2017/0282322 A1, hereafter Mori R).
Regarding Claim 1, Mori discloses a machining system comprising:
a machine tool that includes a machining chamber for machining a workpiece (Figure 1: machine tool 100, machining chamber 200);
and a second workpiece conveyance mechanism that is at least partially provided within the machining chamber and is configured to convey a workpiece horizontally within the machining chamber (Figure 1 second workpiece conveyance mechanism 21),
wherein the second workpiece conveyance mechanism includes a second travel rail, at least partially provided within the machining chamber, and extending horizontally, and is configured to convey a workpiece along the second travel rail within the machining chamber (Figure 1: second travel rail 22 is partially provided in the machining chamber 200 and is horizontal, Paragraphs 44 and 56: the second workpiece conveyance mechanism moves a workpiece between the chambers).
Mori additionally discloses a stocker that may be any that can store workpieces (Figure 1: 156, Paragraph 43) that is disposed in an external area.
Mori does not disclose a first workpiece conveyance mechanism that is configured to convey a workpiece between outside of the machine tool and the machining chamber;
wherein the first workpiece conveyance mechanism includes a first travel rail provided above the machining chamber, extending horizontally, and is configured to convey a workpiece along the first travel rail above the machining chamber.
Mori R discloses a machining system that uses a first workpiece conveyance mechanism that is configured to convey a workpiece between outside of the machine tool and the machining chamber (Figures 4a-6b: first workpiece conveyance mechanism 300 conveys the workpiece outside of the machine tool and can go into the machining chambers 100 and 200);
wherein the first workpiece conveyance mechanism includes a first travel rail provided above the machining chamber, extending horizontally, and is configured to convey a workpiece along the first travel rail above the machining chamber (Figures 4a-6b first rail 34b, Paragraph 61).
The first transport mechanism is used for the purpose of being able to transport the workpieces between multiple different machining tools and loaders (Paragraph 61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to
modify the invention of Mori by including the first transport mechanism disclosed by Mori R for the purpose of being able to transport the workpieces between multiple different machining tools and loaders.
Regarding Claim 2, Mori in view of Mori R disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses the machine tool includes a door which can be opened and closed on a front side of the machining chamber (Mori Figure 1: side cover 142 is on the front side of the machining chamber and it has aa openable and closable shutter 143 that functions as a door, Mori Paragraph 41); and
the second travel rail is provided closer to the door than the first travel rail and is set parallel to the first travel rail (Mori Figure 1: the door 142 is closer to the second travel rail 22, Mori R: Figure 1 the first travel rail 300 would go over the machine tool and would be parallel to the second conveyance mechanism).
Regarding Claim 3, Mori in view of Mori R disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses a second housing unit provided inside the machine tool and configured to store workpieces (Mori Figure 1 housing unit 156, Mori Paragraph 43),
wherein the first workpiece conveyance mechanism is configured to convey a workpiece horizontally outside the machine tool (Mori R Figures 4a-6b: the first workpiece conveyance mechanism can convey a workpiece W outside of one machine tool 100 to a second machine tool 200, Mori R Paragraph 61), and
wherein the second workpiece conveyance mechanism is configured to convey a workpiece horizontally inside the machine tool (Mori Figure 1 second workpiece conveyance mechanism 21, Mori Paragraphs 44 and 56: the second workpiece conveyance mechanism moves a workpiece between the chambers).
The combination as applied in claim 1 does not disclose a first housing unit provided outside the machine tool and configured to store workpieces.
Mori R discloses using multiple housing units provided outside of the machine tool and configured to store workpieces (Figure 1a: 12 and 22, Paragraph 25) for the purpose of being able to convey and store workpieces at different machine tools (Mori R Paragraph 61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to
modify the combination as applied in claim 1 by including a housing unit provided outside the machine tool and configured to store workpieces disclosed by Mori R for the purpose of being able to convey and store workpieces at different machine tools.
Regarding Claim 4, Mori in view of Mori R disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses the machine tool further includes one or more workpiece spindles provided in the machining chamber, to each of which a workpiece is to be attached (Mori Figures 1 and 16: spindles 112 and 117, Mori Paragraph 101);
the first workpiece conveyance mechanism is configured to convey a workpiece to be attached to the workpiece spindles and/or a workpiece removed from the workpiece spindles (Mori R Figures 4a-6b: first workpiece conveyance mechanism 300 is capable of conveying the workpiece); and
the second workpiece conveyance mechanism is configured to convey a workpiece to be attached to the workpiece spindles and/or a workpiece removed from the workpiece spindles (Mori Figure 1 second workpiece conveyance mechanism 21, Mori Paragraphs 44 and 56).
Regarding Claim 6, Mori in view of Mori R disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses the first workpiece conveyance mechanism includes:
a first gripper configured to grip a workpiece (Mori R: Figure 1: 33a);
a first horizontal movement mechanism configured to move the first gripper horizontally (Mori R: Figure 1: 35); and
a first up-down movement mechanism configured to move the first gripper in an up-down direction (Mori R: Figure 1: 36); and
the first horizontal movement mechanism includes the first travel rail provided above the machining chamber and extending horizontally, and is configured to move the first gripper along the first travel rail (Mori R Figures 4a-6b: first horizontal movement mechanism 300, first travel rail 34b, Paragraph 40).
Regarding Claim 7, Mori in view of Mori R disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses a cover that forms the machining chamber (Mori Figure 1: cover 142);
the cover includes a shutter that is provided on a top surface of the machining chamber and can be opened and closed (Figure 1: shutter 143); and
the first workpiece conveyance mechanism is configured to convey a workpiece between the outside of the machine tool and the machining chamber (Mori R: Figures 4a-6b: the first workpiece conveyance mechanism can carry a workpiece between the outside of the machine tool and the machining chamber, Mori R Paragraph 61).
Mori additionally discloses a shutter is used for the purpose of allowing access into machining area (Mori Paragraph 56)
The combination as applied in claim 1 does not disclose a shutter that is provided on a top surface of the machining chamber and;
the first workpiece conveyance mechanism is configured to convey a workpiece between the outside of the machine tool and the machining chamber through the shutter.
Mori R discloses a machining system that uses a first workpiece conveyance mechanism that is configured to convey a workpiece between the outside of the machine tool and the machining chamber from a top location directly for the purpose of reducing the workpiece carrying time (Mori R Paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 1 by adding a shutter disclosed by Mori on the top surface of the machining chamber for the purpose of allowing access into machining area and allowing the first conveyance mechanism disclosed by Mori R to convey a workpiece between the outside of the machine tool and the machining chamber through the shutter for the purpose of reducing the workpiece carrying time.
Regarding Claim 8, Mori in view of Mori R disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses the machine tool further includes:
a workpiece spindle provided within the machining chamber, to which a workpiece is to be attached (Mori Figures 1 and 16: spindle 112, Mori Paragraph 101); and
a cover that forms the machining chamber (Mori Figure 1: cover 142);
the cover includes a door that is provided on a front surface of the machining chamber and can be opened and closed (Mori Figure 1: side cover 142 is on the front side of the machining chamber and it has aa openable and closable shutter 143 that functions as a door, Mori Paragraph 41);
the second workpiece conveyance mechanism includes:
a second gripper configured to grip a workpiece (Mori Figure 6: the robot arm 31 has multiple end effectors which includes a workpiece gripper 51); and
a second horizontal movement mechanism configured to move the second gripper horizontally (Mori, Figure 1: second horizontal movement mechanism 21, Paragraph 56); and
the second horizontal movement mechanism includes the second travel rail at least partially provided behind the door and in front of the workpiece spindle in the machining chamber and extending horizontally, and is configured to move the second gripper along the second travel rail (Mori Figure 1: second travel rail 22 is behind the door 143 and in front of the workpiece spindle 112, Mori Paragraph 58).
Regarding Claim 9, Mori in view of Mori R disclose the limitations of claim 8. The combination as applied in claim 8 discloses the second workpiece conveyance mechanism further includes an arm that is supported by the second travel rail and extends in an up-down direction (Mori Figure 1: the arm 33 is capable of extending in an up and down direction and is supported by the second travel rail 22, Mori Paragraph 59); and
the arm includes:
a gripper side end to which the second gripper is attached (Mori Figure 6: gripper side 36); and
a travel rail side end that is closer to the second travel rail than the gripper side end (Mori Figure 3: travel rail side 32) and includes a fulcrum serving as the rotation center of the arm (Mori Figure 3: 221, Mori Paragraph 60).
Regarding Claim 10, Mori in view of Mori R disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses the first workpiece conveyance mechanism includes:
a first gripper configured to grip a workpiece (Mori R: Figure 1: 33a); and
a first horizontal movement mechanism configured to move the first gripper horizontally (Mori R: Figure 1: 35);
the first horizontal movement mechanism includes the first travel rail provided above the machining chamber and extending horizontally, and is configured to move the first gripper along the first travel rail (Mori R Figures 4a-6b: first horizontal movement mechanism 300, first travel rail 34b, Paragraph 40);
the second workpiece conveyance mechanism includes:
a second gripper configured to grip a workpiece (Mori Figure 6: the robot arm 31 has multiple end effectors which includes a workpiece gripper 51); and
a second horizontal movement mechanism configured to move the second gripper horizontally (Mori, Figure 1: second horizontal movement mechanism 21, Paragraph 56);
the second horizontal movement mechanism includes the second travel rail at least partially provided within the machining chamber and extending horizontally, and is configured to move the second gripper along the second travel rail (Mori Figure 1: second travel rail 22 is partially provided within the machining chamber, Mori Paragraph 58: second gripper moves along the second travel rail); and
at least a part of the second travel rail is provided in front of the first travel rail in a front-back direction of the machine tool (Mori R Figure 1: the combination as applied in claim 1 would have the first travel rail 300 would be completely over the machine tool in a similar way to machine tools 200 and 200 in the figure).
Regarding Claim 11, Mori in view of Mori R disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses the machine tool further includes:
a workpiece spindle provided in the machining chamber, to which a workpiece is to be attached; (Mori Figures 1 and 16: spindles 112 and 117, Mori Paragraph 101) and
a controller configured to control operations of the workpiece spindle, the first workpiece conveyance mechanism, and the second workpiece conveyance mechanism; and
the following processes (A) and/or (B):
(A) a process of the first workpiece conveyance mechanism conveying a workpiece placed on the outside of the machine tool into the machining chamber (Mori R Figure 1a, 4a and 4b: the combination as applied in claim 1 would use the first workpiece conveyance mechanism 300 disclosed by Mori R to convey the workpiece from outside of the machine tool into the machining chamber Mori R Paragraph 44) and attaching the workpiece to the workpiece spindle (Mori R Paragraphs 38 and 45: the first workpiece conveyance mechanism brings a workpiece to a spindle, Mori Figures 12-18: the second workpiece conveyance mechanism is also capable of attaching a workpiece 46 to the workpiece spindle Mori Paragraph 72), and/or a process of the first workpiece conveyance mechanism unloading a workpiece attached to the workpiece spindle in the machining chamber and conveying the workpiece to the outside of the machine tool (Mori R Figure 4a-6b: the first workpiece conveyance mechanism 300 unloads a workpiece and conveys it to the outside of the machine tool 100, Mori R Paragraph 48), and
(B) a process of the second workpiece conveyance mechanism conveying a workpiece within the machining chamber and attaching the workpiece to the workpiece spindle (Mori Figures 12-18: the second workpiece conveyance mechanism attaches a workpiece 46 to the workpiece spindle Mori Paragraph 72), and/or a process of the second workpiece conveyance mechanism removing a workpiece attached to the workpiece spindle and conveying the workpiece within the machining chamber (Mori Paragraph 87: the second workpiece conveyance mechanism uses grippers to transport the workpiece out of the machining area).
The combination as applied in claim 1 does not disclose a controller configured to execute processes (A) and/or (B).
Mori R discloses using a controller to control conveyance mechanisms and spindle operations (Paragraph 9: lathe controller controls lathe and loader, Mori R Figure 7: shows multiple conveyance mechanisms on the loader 300A) for the purpose of preventing or reducing upsizing of the system (Paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US 2018/0065208 A1, hereafter Mori) and Mori R et al. (US 2017/0282322 A1, hereafter Mori R) in further view of Hidefumi et al. (JP 4651878 B2, hereafter Hidefumi).
Regarding Claim 5, Mori in view of Mori R disclose the limitations of claim 2. The combination as applied in claim 2 discloses the machine tool further includes:
a workpiece headstock provided in the machining chamber and equipped with a workpiece spindle to which a workpiece is to be attached (Mori Figure 1: headstock 111, spindle 112, Mori Paragraph 101); and
when the machine tool is viewed from above,
the first travel rail is set within a machining equipment installation area (Mori R Figure 1: the first travel rail goes above the machine tool which means it would go above the machining equipment area), where the workpiece headstock is arranged, in the machining chamber (Mori Figure 1: headstock 111), and the second travel rail is set within an in-machine traveling area between the door and the machining equipment installation area (Mori Figure 1: the second rail 22 is set within an in-machine traveling area 205 between the door 142 and the machining equipment installation area 200).
The combination as applied in claim 2 does not disclose a tool post provided above or below the workpiece spindle in the machining chamber, on which a tool to machine the workpiece is to be attached and the tool post is arranged in the machining chamber.
Hidefumi discloses workpiece conveying apparatus and processing system that uses a tool post provided below a workpiece spindle (Figure 2: tool post 23 spindle 5) for the purpose of holding different processing tools (Paragraph 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to
modify the combination as applied in claim 2 by including the tool post disclosed by Hidefumi in the machine chamber for the purpose of holding different processing tools.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bernard et al. (EP 2394779 A1) discloses a system for machining workpieces that uses conveying mechanisms, JP 4761657 B2 discloses a workpiece conveyance system with a conveyance mechanism that goes that conveys a workpiece outside of the work tool.
/J.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653